Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

110 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 94 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
don't by family size
7/19/2011

Customer review by err1955

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by err1955
by err1955

This has the same amount of lums as the family lantern but 11.00 less. I bought this for camping in a cabin that has no electric and was pleasently suprised that it is nice and bright,used off and on for 6 nights inside the cabin and still using the same batteries. It doesn't look like much but it gives off a good amount of light.

Was this review helpful? (91) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
err1955
johnstown pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Handy little lantern
7/11/2011

Customer review by paval

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by paval
by paval

Bought this for temporary use when I had to have power shut off to the stable for some electrical work. Liked it so much, ended up using for a "night light" in the stable ( I don't like anything electrical turned on over night if I don't have to). Throws illumination about 19 feet, so it shines about half way down our aisle. I was using four D batteries, but then I bought the optional power pack charger. Don't waste your money on the charger, I couldn't get more than 18 hours use off one charge (chatted with Coleman after the fact and they told me up to 25 hours was average depending on what it's being used in)... which for me, wasn't worth it since leaving it on all night wouldn't get me even two nights use. I still have the charger, but I have to remember to plug it in and recharge after each night's use. Instead I would buy the Tenergy rechargeable Premium D batteries.

Was this review helpful? (52) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paval
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
batteries lasted only one night
1/17/2012

Customer review by cleanreviews

3.0 stars 1/17/2012 by cleanreviews
by cleanreviews

This lantern does put out a pretty decent amount of light, allthough it is nowhere even close to the propane lanterns. One thing I think everyone likes about it is it does not get hot, so it is safe for the kids to carry around and to have inside the tent. The thing I do not like about it is the batteries did not even last me though a weekend. It says on the box 122 hours on lowest setting, yet i did not even get 15 hours even when mostly only used on low! I used duracell batteries which cost about $6 at walmart, so you can see how this lantern may get a little costly compared to the propane lanterns. ...... I will still use this lantern for the purpose of using inside the tent only, and maybe for power outages but will defiantely be investing in a propane lantern for the next caming trip.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cleanreviews
south florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Not metal
9/19/2010

Customer review by wonderingwhy

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by wonderingwhy
by wonderingwhy

It is a plastic replica of the original metal and glass lanterns. It worked great! Hung it from the inside top of the tent and was able to read at night. Used it for 8 nights and never needed to change the batteries.

Was this review helpful? (74) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wonderingwhy
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lantern is sturdy,well made, has good light output
12/2/2012

Customer review by LStrick115

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by LStrick115
by LStrick115

I am pleased with the light output of the lantern. Brightness rating is 190 lumens on "high". It has two settings - turn the switch to the right for "high", and left for "low". Lantern seems to be well made. Coleman products are known to last. The lantern handle, switch, and battery holder appear to be sturdy and not likely to break. The model that we have takes four "D" batteries. (A rechargeable battery pack is optional.) Lantern uses LED's so it is cool to the touch and will have longer battery life. The lantern body is plastic and lightweight, so after you put the batteries in, the lantern becomes more weighted at the bottom and is not likely to tip over. The lantern bottom is smooth, so it will slide if the object that it rests on is tilted. This did not bother me. You will need to add some adhesive rubber feet to the base if you want the bottom to be grippy. The lantern’s appearance is very nice and the looks are a reminder of the vintage Coleman lanterns.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LStrick115
Stratford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Lantern w/6V XPS rechargeable battery pack
4/23/2012

Customer review by SwimmingRU

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by SwimmingRU
by SwimmingRU

Great lantern serves its purpose well. I opted to get the 6V XPS rechargeable battery pack since it is only $4.97 at my store. Gives off plenty of light for our needs but will purchase a second later on.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SwimmingRU
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Nice Lantern.
5/11/2012

Customer review by pipedigger007

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by pipedigger007
by pipedigger007

I bought this lantern for an emergency light when the power go's out, it lights up the whole room and is bright

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pipedigger007
fargo, nd.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Great Lantern
8/1/2013

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by BUTX
by BUTX

I use these in case the power goes out and they work great. I also purchased the rechargeable battery pack with these (I bought two lanterns and battery packs). I have only charged the packs once in a year and they are still working. I would recommend you buy the battery packs and some D batteries for that just in case moment. The lantern puts out enough light and has two settings (high and low), I have not had to use the high setting. Also, I love this thing because it does not use fuel making it better to use inside. If you camp a lot you might just want to buy one that uses fuel (since you might be taking some with you anyway) meaning you would not have to carry batteries. Finally, buy this item online because it is about $4.00 or more cheaper than what they sell it in the store for.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 250 contributor
Great product for the price
7/7/2012

Customer review by HarleyBabe18

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by HarleyBabe18
by HarleyBabe18

Bought this lantern for camping and it works great! Used it all weekend without having to change the batteries. Very bright and lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HarleyBabe18
Orrville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Puts out a lot more light than expected.
10/16/2012

Customer review by TootiesCue

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by TootiesCue
by TootiesCue

We lost power for six days. Thank god for this lantern. Every night for 6 hours with one set of batteries, and they still were working when we got our power back. It lights up an entire room.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TootiesCue
Bristol, Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Worth every penny!
8/3/2012

Customer review by IlikeOrangeSkittles

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by IlikeOrangeSkittles
by IlikeOrangeSkittles

When that strange line of storms called "derecho" slammed the eastern part of the U.S. about a month ago, I already had two of these Coleman LED Classic Lanterns. I needed them since my electric was out for a couple of days. They served me so well that I ordered two more for my mother and another for myself. For the price, it can't be beat. Excellent purchase!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IlikeOrangeSkittles
Kearneysville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Lamp
11/3/2012

Customer review by ineptune

5.0 stars 11/3/2012 by ineptune
by ineptune

So much better than the older fluorescent lanterns! Way brighter & the lED's light will outlast the rest of the latern. I use alkaline batteries, last a long time. Will use mainly for power outages,,, with my flourescent lamps. Coleman does make some nice products.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ineptune
Akransas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TERRIFIC LANTERN
5/17/2014

Customer review by LOOP2708

5.0 stars 5/17/2014 by LOOP2708
by LOOP2708

GIVES OFF VERY GOOD LIGHT, BUT REALLY NEVER HAD TO USE IN EMERGENCY. TESTED LANTERN WITH HOUSE DARK AND PERFORMED VERY WELL. I ALWAYS BELIEVED IF ITS COLEMAN ITS GOT TO BE GOOD.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LOOP2708
AUGUSTA, GEORGIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cute Lantern that gives off lots of light
11/10/2012

Customer review by glmich

4.0 stars 11/10/2012 by glmich
by glmich

This Coleman LED Classic Lantern is just what I was looking for. I bought it in case we lose electricity at our house this winter. I like everything about the lantern except the installation of the batteries was difficult and tedious. Specifically, step 2 "press snap feature to open the 4D battery pack top cover" was the difficult to do. Also, in step 3 "install 4 batteries in correct orientation" it was difficult to see and it was not obvious which end to install first. It took me about 10 minutes to install 4 batteries. It shouldn't take that long. I wouldn't want to have to install the battries in the dark for the first time. I would have rated the lantern a "5" if it wasn't for the battery installation. The lantern is less than 12 inches tall and is perfect for one person to use. I'm going to buy one for each person in my family.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
glmich
Grand Ledge, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
NO Good
8/14/2012

Customer review by Dippydeb

1.0 stars 8/14/2012 by Dippydeb
by Dippydeb

Started flashing like a strobe llight after an hour of use. Would work and stay on consistantly if I pressed it down so I thought maybe the battery pack had come loose. Pulled the battery pack out and put them right back in and the lantern would not come back on.

Was this review helpful? (9) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dippydeb
Long Beach, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great lantern of power outage
11/21/2012

Customer review by Nightroad

5.0 stars 11/21/2012 by Nightroad
by Nightroad

One of many lessons I learned from Hurricane Sandy is during a power outage you need a good lantern to light an area of your house, like your kitchen when you are cooking food, or taking a shower in the bathroom early in the morning. A flash light wether it be and LED one--just doesnt cut it. You need a lantern. I ordered the the Coleman LED Classic Lantern as soon as I got my power back. Did my research first on what lanterns are good. My best info came from youtube, with many ordinary people just reviewing stuff. When I finally got my lantern I tested it. Turned off all the light in the kitchen and in the bathroom. It works great. I could see what I am cooking and can see where the soap and shampoo is. The features I like about it is that it gives off no heat and fire compared to traditional lanterns so safety factor great. I plan to buy 2 more. Thank you Coleman for a great product. And thank you Walmart for selling this item. For $19.99 not including tax and shipping. You can't go wrong---not unless you find it for a cheaper price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nightroad
Jersey City, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Safe for kids and bright
7/29/2010

Customer review by paulinak

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by paulinak
by paulinak

I picked this lantern mainly because it's LED and doesn't get hot so it's safe for my toddler to touch. It also won over other LED lanterns because of its low cost, clean-lines, portability, and versatality. You can use alkaline batteries, or a rechargeable battery pack (sold separately).

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paulinak
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
7/24/2010

Customer review by firefighter101

5.0 stars 7/24/2010 by firefighter101
by firefighter101

for the price, I don't think you can beat it. It puts out plenty of light and the batteries are still going.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
firefighter101
Stuttgart, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Second one we purchased!
12/8/2013

Customer review by Joygie

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by Joygie
by Joygie

We purchased this lantern for a block party and wound up using it 2 months later when Hurricane Sandy struck and we had no electricity for 9 days. It was bright and long-lasting. It runs on 4 D batteries, which we prefer since we always have extras in case they run out. I would recommend this lantern and trust the Coleman name!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joygie
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for Storm Shelter
6/16/2014

Customer review by NicknameIlliterate

5.0 stars 6/16/2014 by NicknameIlliterate
by NicknameIlliterate

We bought this to use in our storm shelter. Lights up the whole area real good. Much better than a flashlight.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NicknameIlliterate
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews