Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Not up to Coleman standards. Very poor design.
12/6/2013

Customer review by constantcamper

1.0 stars 12/6/2013 by constantcamper
by constantcamper

This lantern is not well designed. The lamp is in the base and points upward. Light reflects off a silvered cone that is attached to the inside of the top. The resultant light is diffuse and is not directed downward, so this is a very poor choice for anyone walking at night. It actually lights the path better when held upside down. It lights a camping tent but is not practical for reading when resting on its base. The handle is plastic and is attached by two plastic shafts that fit into holes at the sides of the top. These shafts or pins are too short, so the handle easily pulls loose. Overall, this is a product that fails to reach the standards that Coleman is famous for. It's almost as though they went looking for a cheap lantern, found one, and then had it manufactured with their name on it. A very disappointing product. There are much better LED lanterns available.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
constantcamper
Owens Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great lamp
4/1/2011

Customer review by cheevy10

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by cheevy10
by cheevy10

This lamp worked alot better than I thought it would11i live were there are alot of power outages and used in my house, lights up the whole room. Plan on buying 4 more, two for camping and two more for the house. Thanks again! Steve

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheevy10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Value
5/23/2011

Customer review by GatorGirl85

4.0 stars 5/23/2011 by GatorGirl85
by GatorGirl85

Great little lamp emits a bright light with in about 6 inches of the latern, but not farther. Was great for card games, read and inside the tent.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GatorGirl85
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good purchase
2/1/2012

Customer review by LiddellRancher

4.0 stars 2/1/2012 by LiddellRancher
by LiddellRancher

I got these for camping but had to use them at home when the power went out. When I first took them out of the box I was little surprised by how small they were. However, the light is good and did a basic job. I didn't notice any fading over the few hours we had them on, which is nice. I was raised with Coleman products and have grown up trusting the name, but I'm afraid these days the rep is not holding up as well. I would reccomend these, but not for a big lighting source. They are light weight and I worry about them being a little flimsy? Camping equipment has got to be tough.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LiddellRancher
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not impressed
3/22/2011

Customer review by bewitchedgal

3.0 stars 3/22/2011 by bewitchedgal
by bewitchedgal

This is not a terrible lantern so to be fair I did 3 stars it IS lightweight and manageable for our kids to use in their tent or to walk to the bathroom HOWEVER IT IS NOT a good lantern choice for any distance walking or even a decent radius of vision.

Was this review helpful? (32) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bewitchedgal
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good purchase
5/19/2011

Customer review by Mittsy

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Mittsy
by Mittsy

The light is bright and it has survived the abuse of a 3 year old.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mittsy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great emergency light for indoors
3/19/2012

Customer review by jgintx

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by jgintx
by jgintx

Living in Texas we often have storms that knock out our electricity so I decided to buy the LED camp lantern from Walmart. I keep it on top of our refrigerator or on the fireplace, and it provides nice lighting for the entire room. It uses 4 D cell batteries which produces a nice strong 360 degree light. I am well pleased with the purchase, the price was fair and the ship to store time was only a few days. Would recommend this lantern to others.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgintx
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
bright white light
5/31/2011

Customer review by skip92807

4.0 stars 5/31/2011 by skip92807
by skip92807

only bummer is the inability to adjust the light. that feature would make it just like the old fuel lanterns

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skip92807
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a glow!!!
7/12/2011

Customer review by proudmomandgrandmom

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by proudmomandgrandmom
by proudmomandgrandmom

To be battery powered we were surprised of the light this latern beamed. We could see as well as in the daylight. I was more than pleased with this. The bulbs are REAL bright.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
proudmomandgrandmom
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camping light!
7/30/2011

Customer review by IrishMommy2Three

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by IrishMommy2Three
by IrishMommy2Three

Loved this lantern! Batteries lasted for a lot longer than what I anticipated. It gave off enough light that I could see in our tent in spite of it being pitch black out. Definitely a keeper!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IrishMommy2Three
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/12/2011

Customer review by ljsant

4.0 stars 6/12/2011 by ljsant
by ljsant

Works well, lit up the whole tent. Better then a flashlight

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ljsant
rhode island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/13/2012

Customer review by shux

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by shux
by shux

simply awesome! I have several friends/relatives with birthdays in the near future, and these will make perfect gifts. I had won the small one at a function meeting, and use it every single day! I'm especially thankful to have it with storm season in the future- at least I know I'll have good light when the power goes out!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shux
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great.
12/25/2011

Customer review by llimon

4.0 stars 12/25/2011 by llimon
by llimon

Purchased 5 of these lamps after our recent wind storm and electrical outage. Very light in weight and illuminating.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
llimon
Highland Park, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/21/2011

Customer review by happyroses

5.0 stars 6/21/2011 by happyroses
by happyroses

Very bright.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happyroses
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent
1/27/2016

Customer review by Wayne

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Wayne
by Wayne

Quick transaction

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wayne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coleman lantern
12/30/2015

Customer review by Smitty

5.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Smitty
by Smitty

This is a great battery powered lantern. I am using them for a high school class engineering project - rebuilding them to use Li ion batteries and 20 watt LEDs. The size and overall structure is perfect. 40 lumens is way too low for a flexible lantern. The design I have students using is 2000 lumens with a dimming circuit. An amazing project!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smitty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does it's job
6/2/2013

Customer review by mgarciber

4.0 stars 6/2/2013 by mgarciber
by mgarciber
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We recently had our first time camping trip ever. We went tent camping memorail weekend 2013. We needed 2 Lanterns for our tents. One Lantern Lamp was for my mothers tent which is an ozark trail 14x8 for 8 people. The other Lantern for my ozark 17x8 which is 8-9 person tent. I bought the LED Classic Lantern ( the red one) for my tent listed for $19 and bought this green Coleman for moms tent , price I believe was $13 or $16. Bought everything online. The red one Classic LED Camp lantern lighted up my whole tent in the inside it was awesome and even used it to light the outside area of my camping site. This green one is very good also for its purpose. It gives enough light for my moms tent too although not as bright as the red one. But that is why I bought this cheaper version for my mom because she would be alone in her tent and does not need so much square footage iluminated. In my case we were 6 staying in my tent and needed all the areas of my tent iluminated. I think this lantern is great for tent camping or for electricity power off. The way i tried it once I got it was to go inside my bathroom ( which is pretty big) and light up the lantern. It iluminated the bathroom well so I knew it was going to do its purpose for the tent. Now if comparing with the red one of course the red is much more brighter , lights up more area and is better. But it all depends in each ones needs. What i would of liked is that the part where the bulb goes in and reflects to the outide would have been more clear. The Red Lantern you could see through it because its like a crystal ball so the light comes out very bright. In this one it is a milky plastic so the light is not as bright as the red one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgarciber
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/30/2012

Customer review by Belowe

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Belowe
by Belowe

Just the right size and brightness for the area I will use it. I will be using this in my storm shelter and it is the perfect size for this area. Also, a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Belowe
Madison, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very bright LED's! Nice lantern for the price.
8/12/2011

Customer review by Wilsongal

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by Wilsongal
by Wilsongal

A great little lantern, I use it inside my screened gazebo. It's bright enough so that I can read with it suspended on a hook from the top of the gazebo.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wilsongal
Wilson, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Gift for a girl
12/29/2015

Customer review by Mary

4.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Mary
by Mary

I would have liked having a choice of colors because it was for our granddaughter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews