Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 41 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 35 reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Not up to Coleman standards. Very poor design.
12/6/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lantern is not well designed. The lamp is in the base and points upward. Light reflects off a silvered cone that is attached to the inside of the top. The resultant light is diffuse and is not directed downward, so this is a very poor choice for anyone walking at night. It actually lights the path better when held upside down. It lights a camping tent but is not practical for reading when resting on its base. The handle is plastic and is attached by two plastic shafts that fit into holes at the sides of the top. These shafts or pins are too short, so the handle easily pulls loose. Overall, this is a product that fails to reach the standards that Coleman is famous for. It's almost as though they went looking for a cheap lantern, found one, and then had it manufactured with their name on it. A very disappointing product. There are much better LED lanterns available.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great lamp
4/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lamp worked alot better than I thought it would11i live were there are alot of power outages and used in my house, lights up the whole room. Plan on buying 4 more, two for camping and two more for the house. Thanks again! Steve
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value
5/23/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great little lamp emits a bright light with in about 6 inches of the latern, but not farther. Was great for card games, read and inside the tent.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good purchase
2/1/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got these for camping but had to use them at home when the power went out. When I first took them out of the box I was little surprised by how small they were. However, the light is good and did a basic job. I didn't notice any fading over the few hours we had them on, which is nice. I was raised with Coleman products and have grown up trusting the name, but I'm afraid these days the rep is not holding up as well. I would reccomend these, but not for a big lighting source. They are light weight and I worry about them being a little flimsy? Camping equipment has got to be tough.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not impressed
3/22/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is not a terrible lantern so to be fair I did 3 stars it IS lightweight and manageable for our kids to use in their tent or to walk to the bathroom HOWEVER IT IS NOT a good lantern choice for any distance walking or even a decent radius of vision.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (36)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great emergency light for indoors
3/19/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Living in Texas we often have storms that knock out our electricity so I decided to buy the LED camp lantern from Walmart. I keep it on top of our refrigerator or on the fireplace, and it provides nice lighting for the entire room. It uses 4 D cell batteries which produces a nice strong 360 degree light. I am well pleased with the purchase, the price was fair and the ship to store time was only a few days. Would recommend this lantern to others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
bright white light
5/31/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
only bummer is the inability to adjust the light. that feature would make it just like the old fuel lanterns
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good purchase
5/19/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The light is bright and it has survived the abuse of a 3 year old.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a glow!!!
7/12/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
To be battery powered we were surprised of the light this latern beamed. We could see as well as in the daylight. I was more than pleased with this. The bulbs are REAL bright.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great camping light!
7/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Loved this lantern! Batteries lasted for a lot longer than what I anticipated. It gave off enough light that I could see in our tent in spite of it being pitch black out. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
simply awesome! I have several friends/relatives with birthdays in the near future, and these will make perfect gifts. I had won the small one at a function meeting, and use it every single day! I'm especially thankful to have it with storm season in the future- at least I know I'll have good light when the power goes out!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great.
12/25/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased 5 of these lamps after our recent wind storm and electrical outage. Very light in weight and illuminating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does it's job
6/2/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We recently had our first time camping trip ever. We went tent camping memorail weekend 2013. We needed 2 Lanterns for our tents. One Lantern Lamp was for my mothers tent which is an ozark trail 14x8 for 8 people. The other Lantern for my ozark 17x8 which is 8-9 person tent. I bought the LED Classic Lantern ( the red one) for my tent listed for $19 and bought this green Coleman for moms tent , price I believe was $13 or $16. Bought everything online. The red one Classic LED Camp lantern lighted up my whole tent in the inside it was awesome and even used it to light the outside area of my camping site. This green one is very good also for its purpose. It gives enough light for my moms tent too although not as bright as the red one. But that is why I bought this cheaper version for my mom because she would be alone in her tent and does not need so much square footage iluminated. In my case we were 6 staying in my tent and needed all the areas of my tent iluminated. I think this lantern is great for tent camping or for electricity power off. The way i tried it once I got it was to go inside my bathroom ( which is pretty big) and light up the lantern. It iluminated the bathroom well so I knew it was going to do its purpose for the tent. Now if comparing with the red one of course the red is much more brighter , lights up more area and is better. But it all depends in each ones needs. What i would of liked is that the part where the bulb goes in and reflects to the outide would have been more clear. The Red Lantern you could see through it because its like a crystal ball so the light comes out very bright. In this one it is a milky plastic so the light is not as bright as the red one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/12/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Works well, lit up the whole tent. Better then a flashlight
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very bright.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just the right size and brightness for the area I will use it. I will be using this in my storm shelter and it is the perfect size for this area. Also, a very good price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very bright LED's! Nice lantern for the price.
8/12/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A great little lantern, I use it inside my screened gazebo. It's bright enough so that I can read with it suspended on a hook from the top of the gazebo.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Lantern for Camping
8/1/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall, this is a good lantern for camping. The light is bright and it helps you see a lot better whether your in the tent, walking outside etc. Even though the light is bright, this lantern is mostly helpful in trying to find your way around if you're trying to go somewhere. Because it is a lantern, you cannot point the light in a specific spot, it just lights up the area that you are in, in general. This is not beneficial for finding something(example:your shoes). However, the first night we used this, the handle of the lantern fell off and after that it kept falling off, so we had to hold it on the side.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's OK
1/31/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The ones they had before these I liked better. I have one of the older ones like it better because it has a knob on it that you can adjust from a dim light like a night light to a bright light. The dim light works great in the kids room for a night light when electricity goes out. And when you turn light up it's bright enough to light a room. So I gave it 3 stars gave the older one 5 stars. Would have gave this one 5 stars if it had a knob or switch on it to make it dim or bright.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coleman lantern
12/30/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great battery powered lantern. I am using them for a high school class engineering project - rebuilding them to use Li ion batteries and 20 watt LEDs. The size and overall structure is perfect. 40 lumens is way too low for a flexible lantern. The design I have students using is 2000 lumens with a dimming circuit. An amazing project!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-