Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

23 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-19 of 19 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great for the money
9/17/2010

Customer review by shopenvy

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by shopenvy
by shopenvy

I do have mixed reviews on this. I read reviews that said this item stopped working after a very short time. We went camping, and it worked the few days we were there. We came home and my daughter tried to turn it on, but it would not. I was ready to return it to the store, but before I did, I unscrewed the top and made sure the light bulb was screwed in all the way. It worked after that.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopenvy
Laconia, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
A must have item for every camper and homeowner
7/3/2010

Customer review by HillCountryRVer

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by HillCountryRVer
by HillCountryRVer

Hard to find so I had to order four. I have two for the camper and now for the house for Electrical outages. They are are great for illuminating a room or for use to and from the cam[ground facilities at night. Especially like the focusing feature that adapts to room use or trail. Great battery life too! Buy some from the online store as the stores are usually out of stock!

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HillCountryRVer
SanAntonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not worth it
11/22/2010

Customer review by BJG1

1.0 stars 11/22/2010 by BJG1
by BJG1

This product was turned on and off aprox. four times after I bought it and the blub burned out. Now I cannot find a replancment bulb so the light is useless.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BJG1
Katy,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better than Expected
8/13/2010

Customer review by 1EagleASM

4.0 stars 8/13/2010 by 1EagleASM
by 1EagleASM

Because the lantern was priced so low, I had lower expectations about performance; however, this lantern worked better than many others 3x's its price. Excellent value and very good performance. I bought 40 of them at once for our 2010 National Boy Scout Jamboree troop, and only a couple of them failed to perform adequately, despite withstanding significant rain, winds, flooding & lightening storms. Better than anticipated battery life, too, given constant use. I will definitely purchase this brand again if necessary.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1EagleASM
Thousand Oaks, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well made bright lamp
8/10/2010

Customer review by Tonypags1

5.0 stars 8/10/2010 by Tonypags1
by Tonypags1

I bought this lamp for camping. It proved very usefull. The light is bright and the fact that you can adjust the beam makes the lamp good for lighting my 12X9 tent or the picinic table. We also used it as a flashlight. It is compact and feels like quality. I'm buying two more next trip to our local Wal-mart. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tonypags1
Boston, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Very nice
1/12/2011

Customer review by Bengal66681

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by Bengal66681
by Bengal66681

I bought these after our power kept going out and we couldn't find any flashlights that worked... These are very nice lanterns. We havn't used them long or for really long periods so I can't say how long they last but for power outages and camping they work great. The light is very bright and you can 'aim' it with the switch. The handle has 2 parts so it can free stand at an angle to assist when you don't have extra hands. They are somewhat smaller not too big not too small but good size for travel and packing... I really like these.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bengal66681
Fortuna, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Unfortunately got my moneys worth
4/9/2010

Customer review by michiganscoutmom

2.0 stars 4/9/2010 by michiganscoutmom
by michiganscoutmom

I bought this for my sons who are getting into camping. I wanted something a little cheap so if they broke it I wouldn't worry too much. The light works and is very bright. The problem is even turning it off doesn't work. I had to take the batteries out to shut it off. Unfortunately I got my moneys worth.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michiganscoutmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Good product
9/10/2010

Customer review by LovesToSave16

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by LovesToSave16
by LovesToSave16

Works great and seems to be a good value--I wish it had a hook like other ones I've seen, but not a big deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesToSave16
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
sturdy
1/24/2013

Customer review by robert889

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by robert889
by robert889

Good solid construction. I've dropped it several times. It still works.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robert889
Laughlin, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/29/2012

Customer review by MartR

5.0 stars 10/29/2012 by MartR
by MartR

I have four of these and they work weh we have a bad power failure. I use them all year round and batrry life is for two years .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MartR
Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
8/14/2013

Customer review by EasyToPleaseII

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by EasyToPleaseII
by EasyToPleaseII

Compact design and brighter than expected. Stores easy in a car or camping bin. Ended up buying a second one to have when needed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EasyToPleaseII
Thompson, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heavy duty LED Light
2/26/2014

Customer review by sharon1948

5.0 stars 2/26/2014 by sharon1948
by sharon1948

This was brought because of the electrical outages in my area. The coleman lantern is heavy duty, very well made. It take 4 "D" cell batteries. It has different settings of light output. Great light to have in an emergency.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sharon1948
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Worth the Money
4/25/2012

Customer review by ListenUpFolks

1.0 stars 4/25/2012 by ListenUpFolks
by ListenUpFolks

I bought two of these lanterns for a camping trip. The lantern isn't very bright. We had both lit at night but still had to walk around with flashlights because we couldn't see anything. The biggest frustration is that they wouldn't turn on when we turned them on. We had to shake them and turn them on and off till they worked. I would have thought it was just a faulty lantern but we had two and it was the same with both. Definitely not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ListenUpFolks
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Had two, broke in less than a year
5/26/2013

Customer review by Kaylan7

1.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Kaylan7
by Kaylan7

Bought two of these for power outages for children to use. They did not drop them, however, in less than a year (probably less than half a year) both no longer worked. They are lightweight, however, after inserting the big batteries they are heavy. Worked good for trips to the bathroom when power went out but can't read by it well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaylan7
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Not worth the small amount you pay
6/28/2010

Customer review by picotin

1.0 stars 6/28/2010 by picotin
by picotin

As with a previous review, I bought this cheap lantern for my young son so that he could turn it on if he felt he needed to while in the tent. Turning it on wasn't a problem but turning it off was a problem. The beam works well but it would be nice if a product with an off switch actually turned off. I'll be returning it today and spending the extra $10 to get a more standard lantern. I obviously don't recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
picotin
Newfoundland, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great flashlight!
7/13/2010

Customer review by OutdoorsFAN

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by OutdoorsFAN
by OutdoorsFAN

I was able to use it not only as a lantern, but also as flashlight! Very well made product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutdoorsFAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good lantern though it uses D cells quickly.
7/27/2012

Customer review by silverandspice

4.0 stars 7/27/2012 by silverandspice
by silverandspice

It is conveniently portable. I've found the D cells need replaced after a full night's use. It hangs or sits well and illuminates a small room like a bathroom if there is a power outage and can be quickly used. Inserting or changing the batteries is slightly troublesome as the dome must be inserted aligning with the slots plus having the batteries polarity correct.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
silverandspice
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/6/2010

Customer review by Explorer007

4.0 stars 4/6/2010 by Explorer007
by Explorer007

Light focusing is the useful function of this lantern

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Explorer007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
barely good enough to use as a flashlight
1/16/2013

Customer review by bucketgirl

1.0 stars 1/16/2013 by bucketgirl
by bucketgirl

I have a Coleman lantern that is 190 lumens and is amazing for camping and power outages. I was looking for a cheaper alternative. This was not the answer. The other Coleman lantern lights a whole room. Rest it on a table and all is visible in the whole room with a bright white light. This Coleman lantern has that faint yellow glow that a flashlight provides and is barely visible. I highly recommend the Coleman classic lantern product listed below in Related Products instead. Well worth the simple $20 for a much better product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bucketgirl
Fairfield CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.