Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

101 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 89 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews
Works very well & worth every penny!
12/30/2010

Customer review by sg4ever

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by sg4ever
by sg4ever

Bought this on sale and so glad I did! Although it takes 8 batteries, which makes it a little heavier than most lanterns, the quality of workmanship along with the use options is perfect. Not only does it put out alot of light, but it has the amazing feature that you can actually remove one or all of the light chambers and use it for multiple purposes at once! I've read other reviews where they stated that the base would not stay on... no problem here with mine on that issue. I will say that after inserting the batteries, it was a little difficult to secure the bottom panel back on. Once it was on, it was good to go! Would buy this again, and it would make a perfect gift for any man in your life. It has a nice sturdy handle on the top, and each quad has a handle and will stand on its' own. I'm also going to order several more for our kids, as it is a very nice item to have on hand for emergencies, or just every day use. Coleman makes quality products, and this one measures up to what I expected from this company. It's nice looking, works perfect and I highly recommend this for everyone.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sg4ever
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
What a great purchase!
10/3/2010

Customer review by Juliomama

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Juliomama
by Juliomama

My husband found this online and we used it for the first time last weekend camping. So much more user friendly than the oldfashioned camp lanterns. The ability to remove panels worked for bathroom trips or as individual reading lamps at bedtime. The couple that we camped with have already added it to their Christmas wish list!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Juliomama
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great, very functional
5/29/2010

Customer review by mominusa

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by mominusa
by mominusa

This lantern is really cool. Each side is detachable and can be used as a stand alone light. The sides charge while attached to the lantern. The lantern itself is quite bright and each side is also plenty bright, eliminating the need for a flashlight. We let the kids take one into the camper as a night light. We layed it face-down (because it was so bright). We also let the kids walk to the bathrooms, giving each one a light. We could see them the entire way. Definitely a great lantern, great for camping.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mominusa
Omaha NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Quad Lantern
5/13/2011

Customer review by indykar

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by indykar
by indykar

This is the best LED lantern going, as it has 4 separate lights in one and each unit is good for 1.5 hours before it needs to be placed back onto the main lantern body to recharge. I found out about this lantern from a friend who was camping with me out in the Arizona desert near Quartzsite. It cost just over $50, but has worked excellent and will be handy should we experience a power outage. I would highly recommend this unit as LED lights draw less power. This unit needs 8-"D" cell batteries but is worth it's weight in gold!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indykar
Linden, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Coleman Quad Lantern
9/30/2011

Customer review by OtoeCountyJoe

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by OtoeCountyJoe
by OtoeCountyJoe

Very handy lantern--exceeded my expectations on every level. You are able to detach the four panels and they act as a separate lights. Used on a recent elk hunt in the mountains for 8 days straight and didn't see any battery life issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OtoeCountyJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BRIGHT IDEA
6/9/2012

Customer review by louise8

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by louise8
by louise8

I love this Coleman Quad Lantern....just know if it doesn't work right when you get the batteries into it that you need to adjust the spring...took me awhile to figure it out but finally I got some pliers and pulled the spring up so it could make a better contact and it worked fine from then on...before it would flicker if touched just so but after the adjustment it was just fine. It is very bright and even separate they are bright.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
louise8
South Bend, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product
11/9/2010

Customer review by blkcoffee4me

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by blkcoffee4me
by blkcoffee4me

We have several power outages per year in my neighborhood, so I wanted back-up lighting that did not burn fuel in the house. We bought two of the LED Quad lanterns at a discount mall this past spring and I'm really pleased with the purchase. They are much brighter than the fluorescent lanterns that we purchased a few years ago and they use less battery power, too. I like that I can a take a panel to go elsewhere in the house while leaving the rest for someone else to have enough light make meals or read. We use the lanterns also on the patio on weekend evenings when we sit back there. Would like to see Coleman add a rechargeable 12volt battery pack for this light so that 8 alkaline D-cells are not going into landfills per charge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blkcoffee4me
Cleveland Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The Best
11/19/2013

Customer review by MRSD123

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by MRSD123
by MRSD123

THIS IS THE BEST LANTERN, come with 12 rechargeable batteries 3 EACH TOTAL OF 12 ARE included for the Four lantern lights.... but not for the lantern base....the lantern lights are rechargeable .... as long as you have batters in the lantern bast.(8) D.... it will stay chard all the time so you are never with out lights.... the lantern lights are very light they stand up a long.. are very well made .has 6 led lights each lantern.. The first one I got I paid $79.00 did not get it at walmart ....wish I did, but now I got 3 of them.And got two more as gifts.YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS LANTERN. it has four lantern in one you can take them a part or used them together.no one gos with out a light.You are only paying like $13.00 each for the four with batteries. it has a 10 star on my list.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MRSD123
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/12/2012

Customer review by OldNewEnglander

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by OldNewEnglander
by OldNewEnglander

We are very impressed with this lantern. There are three reasons I didn't give it 5 stars. It is because the four panels have batteries that recharge from the 8 D cells all the time. We bought this lantern for emergency light, so it will be in storage otherwise. Leaving the batteries in will be a constant drain and I don't want the batteries dead when I need it most. I think we will remove the panels in storage or remove the batteries. Also, putting the eight D batteries in is no problem but screwing the bottom back on is a two person operation. I'd hate to have to do it by myself in the dark. Lastly, the handle on the top of the lantern isn't as easy to grab as the panel handles which are higher up. The tendency is to grab one of those instead of the lantern handle which isn't as high and folds down. I have visions of grabbing a panel handle and having the panel pop off in mid air crashing the unit on the floor. Otherwise it sheds plenty of light and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldNewEnglander
Shelton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Happy Camper
5/6/2011

Customer review by MovieColecker1

5.0 stars 5/6/2011 by MovieColecker1
by MovieColecker1

(WOW) What a Lantern.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MovieColecker1
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
7/19/2011

Customer review by Tcross2001

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Tcross2001
by Tcross2001

Love this light, great for cooking at night, trips to the restroom, for hanging in tents for light at night, and we even played a few outdoor games with it too. The light is very brite, but doesn't seem to attracted bugs. I have not yet replaced the batteries and have used it on 7-9 Camping trips. Very Very happy with this buy. Well done Coleman!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tcross2001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
So much better than buying multiple lanterns!
9/30/2011

Customer review by Lyndag98

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Lyndag98
by Lyndag98

Amazing amount of 360 degrees of light when latern fully assembled. When you take a section with you the light is still more than a high powered flashlight.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lyndag98
North Attleboro, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/15/2013

Customer review by ChickyNJ

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by ChickyNJ
by ChickyNJ

I purchased one of these for myself and another one for my mom so that if another storm comes I don't have to worry about her having lit candles around and still be able to have light. Although I originally thought it was a plug in that recharges it is fine with me that it runs off batteries. We mostly liked that you can detach each light I'm sure it will give us many years of use. The illumination on each light is great and I have been using it at night when I walk and go into my yard. It's bright enough that I won't go back there and run into a bear or something

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChickyNJ
Hamburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lantern
1/8/2014

Customer review by Algreat

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by Algreat
by Algreat

Would recommend -- very sturdy. Great for working on your car- great for loss of electricity,camping, fishing. You can four individuals off if needed. Can use for walking your dog in the evening. Very nice product. Bought this as a Christmas gift.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Algreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product! Exactly what I was looking for.
4/7/2014

Customer review by elliedaisie

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by elliedaisie
by elliedaisie

I was apprehensive by some of the reviews I read on this product about being able to close the compartment after inserting batteries. I had no problem whatsoever and I love the brightness of the lantern. Also love that you can pull one of the quad panels off and use it as a separate light if needed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elliedaisie
Harlem GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
worth the money
4/22/2014

Customer review by chuggsgirl

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by chuggsgirl
by chuggsgirl

this was my main light best ever takes alot of batteries but u can invest in rechargeable ones. i only used it for a wk camping but good for black outs

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chuggsgirl
brooklyn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great but expensive batteries
8/3/2012

Customer review by djnascar48

4.0 stars 8/3/2012 by djnascar48
by djnascar48

So we bought this and it's a great product. Especially for camping. Heading to the restrooms, you're just lugging a very lightweight powerful light. The problem is to keep it charged, you have to buy 8 "RECHARGABLE" D BATTERIES. Which costs almost $100 for the batteries and charger. Great for kids.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djnascar48
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
12/25/2010

Customer review by Snellsd

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by Snellsd
by Snellsd

Gave this as a Christmas present. He loves it!! It will be great for camping.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Snellsd
Tahlequah, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Better than expected
7/15/2011

Customer review by carlm1397

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by carlm1397
by carlm1397

We were nervous after some of the neg reviews at Amazon and Walmart but this thing is SWEET! We went camping (2 adults, 2 kids, 11 and 10 and a bunch of friends) at a primitive site and slung it over a branch with a rope and it lit up the whole campsite. After the campfire it was very convienient to snap off the panels and each of us carry one to the bath house for showers. We even used the individual panels to ride our bikes at night to star gaze in the clearing. Never had an issue with snapping the panels in and out. 11 year old says it is great, 10 year old says it is awesome. Sceptical wife says it was the best lantern she ever saw. Blew away our friends' propane and florescent styles. First saw it at Cabelas but priced right at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carlm1397
Crete, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Just got us through three days without power
9/3/2011

Customer review by efga

5.0 stars 9/3/2011 by efga
by efga

From hurricane Irene. Cannot say enough good things about it. VERY bright. The separating design is genius. When used while sitting outside the light didn't seem to attract as many bugs as the traditional ones. Love the fact that there are no safety issues in lighting it or storing the fuel. You can send a kid of any age off with one of the quad pieces and not worry! A must for any prepared minded person.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
efga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1-20 of 89 reviews