Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.7out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 | 112 reviews
5 stars
95
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 100 reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Works very well & worth every penny!
12/30/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this on sale and so glad I did! Although it takes 8 batteries, which makes it a little heavier than most lanterns, the quality of workmanship along with the use options is perfect. Not only does it put out alot of light, but it has the amazing feature that you can actually remove one or all of the light chambers and use it for multiple purposes at once! I've read other reviews where they stated that the base would not stay on... no problem here with mine on that issue. I will say that after inserting the batteries, it was a little difficult to secure the bottom panel back on. Once it was on, it was good to go! Would buy this again, and it would make a perfect gift for any man in your life. It has a nice sturdy handle on the top, and each quad has a handle and will stand on its' own. I'm also going to order several more for our kids, as it is a very nice item to have on hand for emergencies, or just every day use. Coleman makes quality products, and this one measures up to what I expected from this company. It's nice looking, works perfect and I highly recommend this for everyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
worth the money
4/22/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this was my main light best ever takes alot of batteries but u can invest in rechargeable ones. i only used it for a wk camping but good for black outs
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/12/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We are very impressed with this lantern. There are three reasons I didn't give it 5 stars. It is because the four panels have batteries that recharge from the 8 D cells all the time. We bought this lantern for emergency light, so it will be in storage otherwise. Leaving the batteries in will be a constant drain and I don't want the batteries dead when I need it most. I think we will remove the panels in storage or remove the batteries. Also, putting the eight D batteries in is no problem but screwing the bottom back on is a two person operation. I'd hate to have to do it by myself in the dark. Lastly, the handle on the top of the lantern isn't as easy to grab as the panel handles which are higher up. The tendency is to grab one of those instead of the lantern handle which isn't as high and folds down. I have visions of grabbing a panel handle and having the panel pop off in mid air crashing the unit on the floor. Otherwise it sheds plenty of light and I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a great purchase!
10/3/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My husband found this online and we used it for the first time last weekend camping. So much more user friendly than the oldfashioned camp lanterns. The ability to remove panels worked for bathroom trips or as individual reading lamps at bedtime. The couple that we camped with have already added it to their Christmas wish list!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great, very functional
5/29/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lantern is really cool. Each side is detachable and can be used as a stand alone light. The sides charge while attached to the lantern. The lantern itself is quite bright and each side is also plenty bright, eliminating the need for a flashlight. We let the kids take one into the camper as a night light. We layed it face-down (because it was so bright). We also let the kids walk to the bathrooms, giving each one a light. We could see them the entire way. Definitely a great lantern, great for camping.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coleman Quad Lantern
5/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best LED lantern going, as it has 4 separate lights in one and each unit is good for 1.5 hours before it needs to be placed back onto the main lantern body to recharge. I found out about this lantern from a friend who was camping with me out in the Arizona desert near Quartzsite. It cost just over $50, but has worked excellent and will be handy should we experience a power outage. I would highly recommend this unit as LED lights draw less power. This unit needs 8-"D" cell batteries but is worth it's weight in gold!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
11/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have several power outages per year in my neighborhood, so I wanted back-up lighting that did not burn fuel in the house. We bought two of the LED Quad lanterns at a discount mall this past spring and I'm really pleased with the purchase. They are much brighter than the fluorescent lanterns that we purchased a few years ago and they use less battery power, too. I like that I can a take a panel to go elsewhere in the house while leaving the rest for someone else to have enough light make meals or read. We use the lanterns also on the patio on weekend evenings when we sit back there. Would like to see Coleman add a rechargeable 12volt battery pack for this light so that 8 alkaline D-cells are not going into landfills per charge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BRIGHT IDEA
6/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this Coleman Quad Lantern....just know if it doesn't work right when you get the batteries into it that you need to adjust the spring...took me awhile to figure it out but finally I got some pliers and pulled the spring up so it could make a better contact and it worked fine from then on...before it would flicker if touched just so but after the adjustment it was just fine. It is very bright and even separate they are bright.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than expected
7/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We were nervous after some of the neg reviews at Amazon and Walmart but this thing is SWEET! We went camping (2 adults, 2 kids, 11 and 10 and a bunch of friends) at a primitive site and slung it over a branch with a rope and it lit up the whole campsite. After the campfire it was very convienient to snap off the panels and each of us carry one to the bath house for showers. We even used the individual panels to ride our bikes at night to star gaze in the clearing. Never had an issue with snapping the panels in and out. 11 year old says it is great, 10 year old says it is awesome. Sceptical wife says it was the best lantern she ever saw. Blew away our friends' propane and florescent styles. First saw it at Cabelas but priced right at Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coleman 190
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great light
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Lantern!!!
7/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is such a wonderful lantern! I am extremely pleased with it and I use it quite a bit. Not only did it provide all of the light we needed for our large tent, but the little lanterns were fun for the boys to have their own lights when they walked around outside with the other Boy Scouts. It is extremely bright and rugged. It has been dropped so many times. . . I use it when I have to check on the horses, go out to the barn, work on my car, and when the lights go out during a storm. I haven't had to change the batteries since I originally installed them -- 2 years ago. I keep the lantern next to my bed instead of a flashlight. I would like to buy at least 2 more; one to put in the garage and one to put upstairs for emergencies. Do not look at the light when lit -- it is just way too bright!! LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coleman Quad Lantern
9/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very handy lantern--exceeded my expectations on every level. You are able to detach the four panels and they act as a separate lights. Used on a recent elk hunt in the mountains for 8 days straight and didn't see any battery life issues.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best
11/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
THIS IS THE BEST LANTERN, come with 12 rechargeable batteries 3 EACH TOTAL OF 12 ARE included for the Four lantern lights.... but not for the lantern base....the lantern lights are rechargeable .... as long as you have batters in the lantern bast.(8) D.... it will stay chard all the time so you are never with out lights.... the lantern lights are very light they stand up a long.. are very well made .has 6 led lights each lantern.. The first one I got I paid $79.00 did not get it at walmart ....wish I did, but now I got 3 of them.And got two more as gifts.YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS LANTERN. it has four lantern in one you can take them a part or used them together.no one gos with out a light.You are only paying like $13.00 each for the four with batteries. it has a 10 star on my list.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased one of these for myself and another one for my mom so that if another storm comes I don't have to worry about her having lit candles around and still be able to have light. Although I originally thought it was a plug in that recharges it is fine with me that it runs off batteries. We mostly liked that you can detach each light I'm sure it will give us many years of use. The illumination on each light is great and I have been using it at night when I walk and go into my yard. It's bright enough that I won't go back there and run into a bear or something
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm prepared!
11/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Heard of this product from a relative who had it for Superstorm Sandy. Wished I had learned of it sooner however I am now prepared should there be any future power outages. It really packs a punch in illuminating the darkened area. The snap away quads are such a great feature of this lantern. It allows you to walk around bringing one section of the light with you. A bonus that is not mentioned in the description is that the lantern comes supplied with AA batteries necessary to burn the snap out sections. Overall a very good product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
wonderful!!!
11/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love this lantern it is so versatile and I love the removable side lanterns so when the power is out the grandchildren holding on of the quad sides can find their way without being afraid. And my daughter does a lot of camping and this would be a great gift for that. I love that is has a easy carrying handle and is easy and light weight to carry. Overall I love it and will be making another purchase, thanks so much for the fast delivery. YOU ROCK WALMART!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this light, great for cooking at night, trips to the restroom, for hanging in tents for light at night, and we even played a few outdoor games with it too. The light is very brite, but doesn't seem to attracted bugs. I have not yet replaced the batteries and have used it on 7-9 Camping trips. Very Very happy with this buy. Well done Coleman!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We have found this lantern exceeds our expiations. For some unknown reason we have a lot of power outages. With the individual pods make it possible for each of us to have light during the night. It is a very bright lantern that keeps two rooms well lit. We live on the coast so have many storms each year. No home or camper should be without one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Gives off nice light..power outage is why I got it
11/25/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I haven't had a chance to use this lantern yet so the only thing I can comment on is the amount of light it gives off. I took it down to a room with no windows..lit the little bathroom up quite nicely so am sure I will like it when we have our 2 or 3 power outages over the next year in our neighborhood. Much nicer light than just a beam from a big single beam flashlight. I noticed people commenting about how hard it was to close the cover once you install the batteries. I have really bad hands from Rheumatoid Arthritis and no hand strength..I got it closed back up with only 2 tries and didn't think it was that big a deal. I will try to review it again once I have actually had the chance to use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great lantern
1/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Would recommend -- very sturdy. Great for working on your car- great for loss of electricity,camping, fishing. You can four individuals off if needed. Can use for walking your dog in the evening. Very nice product. Bought this as a Christmas gift.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-