Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

106 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
89
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 94 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews
Works very well & worth every penny!
12/30/2010

Customer review by sg4ever

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by sg4ever
by sg4ever

Bought this on sale and so glad I did! Although it takes 8 batteries, which makes it a little heavier than most lanterns, the quality of workmanship along with the use options is perfect. Not only does it put out alot of light, but it has the amazing feature that you can actually remove one or all of the light chambers and use it for multiple purposes at once! I've read other reviews where they stated that the base would not stay on... no problem here with mine on that issue. I will say that after inserting the batteries, it was a little difficult to secure the bottom panel back on. Once it was on, it was good to go! Would buy this again, and it would make a perfect gift for any man in your life. It has a nice sturdy handle on the top, and each quad has a handle and will stand on its' own. I'm also going to order several more for our kids, as it is a very nice item to have on hand for emergencies, or just every day use. Coleman makes quality products, and this one measures up to what I expected from this company. It's nice looking, works perfect and I highly recommend this for everyone.

Was this review helpful? (44) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sg4ever
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
worth the money
4/22/2014

Customer review by chuggsgirl

5.0 stars 4/22/2014 by chuggsgirl
by chuggsgirl

this was my main light best ever takes alot of batteries but u can invest in rechargeable ones. i only used it for a wk camping but good for black outs

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chuggsgirl
brooklyn ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
12/12/2012

Customer review by OldNewEnglander

4.0 stars 12/12/2012 by OldNewEnglander
by OldNewEnglander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are very impressed with this lantern. There are three reasons I didn't give it 5 stars. It is because the four panels have batteries that recharge from the 8 D cells all the time. We bought this lantern for emergency light, so it will be in storage otherwise. Leaving the batteries in will be a constant drain and I don't want the batteries dead when I need it most. I think we will remove the panels in storage or remove the batteries. Also, putting the eight D batteries in is no problem but screwing the bottom back on is a two person operation. I'd hate to have to do it by myself in the dark. Lastly, the handle on the top of the lantern isn't as easy to grab as the panel handles which are higher up. The tendency is to grab one of those instead of the lantern handle which isn't as high and folds down. I have visions of grabbing a panel handle and having the panel pop off in mid air crashing the unit on the floor. Otherwise it sheds plenty of light and I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldNewEnglander
Shelton, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy for this lantern!
7/23/2016

Customer review by CryBaby555

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by CryBaby555
by CryBaby555

I have been interested in this lantern for awhile. I waited for a great price and I am excited about the purchase although, I haven't received it yet. I expect the quality to be as good as it's trademark name. Oh, I read many reviews also.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CryBaby555
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, very functional
5/29/2010

Customer review by mominusa

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by mominusa
by mominusa

This lantern is really cool. Each side is detachable and can be used as a stand alone light. The sides charge while attached to the lantern. The lantern itself is quite bright and each side is also plenty bright, eliminating the need for a flashlight. We let the kids take one into the camper as a night light. We layed it face-down (because it was so bright). We also let the kids walk to the bathrooms, giving each one a light. We could see them the entire way. Definitely a great lantern, great for camping.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mominusa
Omaha NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
What a great purchase!
10/3/2010

Customer review by Juliomama

5.0 stars 10/3/2010 by Juliomama
by Juliomama

My husband found this online and we used it for the first time last weekend camping. So much more user friendly than the oldfashioned camp lanterns. The ability to remove panels worked for bathroom trips or as individual reading lamps at bedtime. The couple that we camped with have already added it to their Christmas wish list!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juliomama
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Quad Lantern
5/13/2011

Customer review by indykar

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by indykar
by indykar

This is the best LED lantern going, as it has 4 separate lights in one and each unit is good for 1.5 hours before it needs to be placed back onto the main lantern body to recharge. I found out about this lantern from a friend who was camping with me out in the Arizona desert near Quartzsite. It cost just over $50, but has worked excellent and will be handy should we experience a power outage. I would highly recommend this unit as LED lights draw less power. This unit needs 8-"D" cell batteries but is worth it's weight in gold!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
indykar
Linden, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
COLEMAN QUAD LANTERN
6/13/2016

Customer review by CAROLANN

5.0 stars 6/13/2016 by CAROLANN
by CAROLANN
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I LOVE THIS COLEMAN QUAD LANTERN. IF WE FLORIDIANS GET A HURRICAINE I AM READY FOR IT. THIS LANTERN HAS LED LIGHTING THAT EASILY LITES OPEN SPACE OF 2 WELL SIZED ROOMS. IT ALSO HAS 4 LITE PANELS THAT COME OFF AND CAN BE USED IN SMALLER SPACES. IT TAKES 8 D BATTERIES. WE ARE OVERDUE FOR A HURRICAINE SO GET PREPARED FOLKS. CAROLANN

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAROLANN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BRIGHT IDEA
6/9/2012

Customer review by louise8

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by louise8
by louise8

I love this Coleman Quad Lantern....just know if it doesn't work right when you get the batteries into it that you need to adjust the spring...took me awhile to figure it out but finally I got some pliers and pulled the spring up so it could make a better contact and it worked fine from then on...before it would flicker if touched just so but after the adjustment it was just fine. It is very bright and even separate they are bright.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
louise8
South Bend, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Handy Emergency Lantern
4/2/2016

Customer review by TopNavy9

4.0 stars 4/2/2016 by TopNavy9
by TopNavy9

This Lantern is very good at handling power outages and other low lighting issues. Since it has 4 separate removable light units that can be carried or placed in different locations as needed. When you put them back onto the base nit, the lights recharge so they are ready for the next time you need them. OR you can simply use the entire lantern as a single unit. Lightweight and easy to handle, it is a very good light.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TopNavy9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
11/9/2010

Customer review by blkcoffee4me

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by blkcoffee4me
by blkcoffee4me

We have several power outages per year in my neighborhood, so I wanted back-up lighting that did not burn fuel in the house. We bought two of the LED Quad lanterns at a discount mall this past spring and I'm really pleased with the purchase. They are much brighter than the fluorescent lanterns that we purchased a few years ago and they use less battery power, too. I like that I can a take a panel to go elsewhere in the house while leaving the rest for someone else to have enough light make meals or read. We use the lanterns also on the patio on weekend evenings when we sit back there. Would like to see Coleman add a rechargeable 12volt battery pack for this light so that 8 alkaline D-cells are not going into landfills per charge.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
blkcoffee4me
Cleveland Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great camping light
5/16/2016

Customer review by Butch

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Butch
by Butch

I used it in my tent on my last camping trip and it works great. you can use just a one at a time or all four at once. It is the best light I own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than expected
7/15/2011

Customer review by carlm1397

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by carlm1397
by carlm1397

We were nervous after some of the neg reviews at Amazon and Walmart but this thing is SWEET! We went camping (2 adults, 2 kids, 11 and 10 and a bunch of friends) at a primitive site and slung it over a branch with a rope and it lit up the whole campsite. After the campfire it was very convienient to snap off the panels and each of us carry one to the bath house for showers. We even used the individual panels to ride our bikes at night to star gaze in the clearing. Never had an issue with snapping the panels in and out. 11 year old says it is great, 10 year old says it is awesome. Sceptical wife says it was the best lantern she ever saw. Blew away our friends' propane and florescent styles. First saw it at Cabelas but priced right at Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
carlm1397
Crete, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
The Best
11/19/2013

Customer review by MRSD123

5.0 stars 11/19/2013 by MRSD123
by MRSD123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS IS THE BEST LANTERN, come with 12 rechargeable batteries 3 EACH TOTAL OF 12 ARE included for the Four lantern lights.... but not for the lantern base....the lantern lights are rechargeable .... as long as you have batters in the lantern bast.(8) D.... it will stay chard all the time so you are never with out lights.... the lantern lights are very light they stand up a long.. are very well made .has 6 led lights each lantern.. The first one I got I paid $79.00 did not get it at walmart ....wish I did, but now I got 3 of them.And got two more as gifts.YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS LANTERN. it has four lantern in one you can take them a part or used them together.no one gos with out a light.You are only paying like $13.00 each for the four with batteries. it has a 10 star on my list.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MRSD123
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Lantern!!!
7/24/2012

Customer review by FrankandJessesmom

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by FrankandJessesmom
by FrankandJessesmom

This is such a wonderful lantern! I am extremely pleased with it and I use it quite a bit. Not only did it provide all of the light we needed for our large tent, but the little lanterns were fun for the boys to have their own lights when they walked around outside with the other Boy Scouts. It is extremely bright and rugged. It has been dropped so many times. . . I use it when I have to check on the horses, go out to the barn, work on my car, and when the lights go out during a storm. I haven't had to change the batteries since I originally installed them -- 2 years ago. I keep the lantern next to my bed instead of a flashlight. I would like to buy at least 2 more; one to put in the garage and one to put upstairs for emergencies. Do not look at the light when lit -- it is just way too bright!! LOVE IT!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrankandJessesmom
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Coleman Quad Lantern
9/30/2011

Customer review by OtoeCountyJoe

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by OtoeCountyJoe
by OtoeCountyJoe

Very handy lantern--exceeded my expectations on every level. You are able to detach the four panels and they act as a separate lights. Used on a recent elk hunt in the mountains for 8 days straight and didn't see any battery life issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OtoeCountyJoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/15/2013

Customer review by ChickyNJ

5.0 stars 10/15/2013 by ChickyNJ
by ChickyNJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased one of these for myself and another one for my mom so that if another storm comes I don't have to worry about her having lit candles around and still be able to have light. Although I originally thought it was a plug in that recharges it is fine with me that it runs off batteries. We mostly liked that you can detach each light I'm sure it will give us many years of use. The illumination on each light is great and I have been using it at night when I walk and go into my yard. It's bright enough that I won't go back there and run into a bear or something

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChickyNJ
Hamburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm prepared!
11/18/2012

Customer review by 69Wildcats

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by 69Wildcats
by 69Wildcats
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Heard of this product from a relative who had it for Superstorm Sandy. Wished I had learned of it sooner however I am now prepared should there be any future power outages. It really packs a punch in illuminating the darkened area. The snap away quads are such a great feature of this lantern. It allows you to walk around bringing one section of the light with you. A bonus that is not mentioned in the description is that the lantern comes supplied with AA batteries necessary to burn the snap out sections. Overall a very good product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
69Wildcats
Carlstadt, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful!!!
11/25/2013

Customer review by JUSTCUPCAKES

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by JUSTCUPCAKES
by JUSTCUPCAKES
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this lantern it is so versatile and I love the removable side lanterns so when the power is out the grandchildren holding on of the quad sides can find their way without being afraid. And my daughter does a lot of camping and this would be a great gift for that. I love that is has a easy carrying handle and is easy and light weight to carry. Overall I love it and will be making another purchase, thanks so much for the fast delivery. YOU ROCK WALMART!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JUSTCUPCAKES
ASHEVILLE NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/19/2011

Customer review by Tcross2001

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by Tcross2001
by Tcross2001

Love this light, great for cooking at night, trips to the restroom, for hanging in tents for light at night, and we even played a few outdoor games with it too. The light is very brite, but doesn't seem to attracted bugs. I have not yet replaced the batteries and have used it on 7-9 Camping trips. Very Very happy with this buy. Well done Coleman!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tcross2001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1-20 of 94 reviews