Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 45 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

45 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
1-20 of 45 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews
Great Panoramic Photo
7/30/2010

Customer review by honiekai

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by honiekai
by honiekai

Love this camera esp the panorama feature.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honiekai
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
2/23/2011

Customer review by gatorwatcher

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by gatorwatcher
by gatorwatcher

We've had an older Sony Cyber-shot camera for years and we loved it. We bought this one because of the zoom feature. The camera is easy to use and small enough to fit in a purse. The instructiona CD included was very helpful. I can now get close enough to get great gator pictures!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gatorwatcher
Lake Wales, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE IT!!!
9/29/2010

Customer review by FresnoMommyTo2

5.0 stars 9/29/2010 by FresnoMommyTo2
by FresnoMommyTo2

I bought this to replace my Olympus camera that my 2y/o broke and I love it! I can take pictures at my daughters' soccer games from across the field and it looks like I'm not even 10 ft away, the optical zoom is great and I love the panoramic pictures. I can't take this underwater like my Olympus but the other features more than make up for that. The pictures are so clear, I have printed a few out as 8x10's to hang on my walls. All this and I haven’t even started learning about some of the other features....great camera and I love the price, it was $30 cheaper at Walmart than any other store/website I looked at.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FresnoMommyTo2
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice Camera
5/20/2010

Customer review by Ghebear

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by Ghebear
by Ghebear

The camera is very nice and easy to use, the battery must be removed to charge which is annoying compared to the way that the old sony cyber shot charged. Otherwise it is a great camera.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ghebear
Clarksburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
7/5/2010

Customer review by JackFrost

1.0 stars 7/5/2010 by JackFrost
by JackFrost

I was terribly disappointed with this camera. This camera replaced another Sony camera, the DSC-W50, which I loved. I decided to upgrade because I am going on a trip to Japan in a couple of weeks. Received this camera and the first thing I noticed was the long shutter lag. Sometimes it will take up to 2 seconds before the image will snap. Playing around with the settings, I was able to reduce the time, however it is still unacceptable. The biggest complaint is the video. When recording video, even if the camera is on a table recording a static object, it will go in and out of focus, almost constantly. It seems like the camera is trying to auto focus when it doesn't need to. Because of this, also, you hear a clicking in the video that corresponds to the blurry sections. I had really high hopes for this camera, especially since I was so happy with my other Sony camera. Unfortunately, it is now out of the return period, and I don't have enough time to have it sent in for repair before my trip to Japan. For now I am stuck with a sub-par camera. I have read about other owners of this camera with the same problems.

JackFrost
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Purchase
12/12/2010

Customer review by mckymse1

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by mckymse1
by mckymse1

After months of reading reviews on the internet and borrowing different brands of digital cameras from friends I decided to buy the Sony Cyber-shot W370. I played around with my mother-in-law's Coolpix and found it hard to operate for a beginner. I also watched my mother-in-law (65) take forever to get her camera to do what she wanted. We went over to her house yesterday and she fumbled with her camera trying to take pictures. Some of her shots were blurry while I could hold my Cyber-shot with one hand and a take a photo and it would come out perfect. If she wanted to take a photo of the whole family she would have to have everyone sit really close together. I could use the panoramic mode and get the whole family in as they sat on the sofa and love seat that were feet apart from each other. I have to say after only 2 weeks of use, I love this camera.

mckymse1
OFallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/22/2010

Customer review by donnaree

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by donnaree
by donnaree

This is a great product. Takes great pictures. At times, my pictures are a little blurry BUT that my problem, a little bit shaky hands. I'm learning. I wish that the camera was a little bit lighter, but how much can you put into a small light weight product. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
donnaree
shirley, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do NOT buy this camera
3/8/2011

Customer review by witchiepoo

2.0 stars 3/8/2011 by witchiepoo
by witchiepoo

I bought this camera after the salesman raved and raved about it thinking that I was getting something wonderful. How disappointed was I when I finally started using it. The actual user features at first appear to be very limited but as you get deeper and deeper into the menu there is more to offer. Even with all these options I was still not happy with the final results. The camera was very unresponsive to what I wanted it to do. It would focus in perfect, only to go out of focus immediately before it would snap the pic. Low light?? You might as well draw yourself a memory of the moment because this camera will not capture it for you. Movement?? Hope you like picutes of blurs... I've seen some reviews that people say this camera is the best they've ever used so I have to wonder if I've gotten a lemon of the bunch. Maybe it's just my camera thats defective. I don't see anything about this camera that is worth the $149 I paid for it or equal to half of the raves the salesman had. I've never been so disappointed in a Sony product as I am with this one. I don't know how yet, but I am going to get my money back one way or another. Do yourself a favor and get a Cannon or Nikon.

witchiepoo
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Simply Awful
10/19/2010

Customer review by lutefisk69

1.0 stars 10/19/2010 by lutefisk69
by lutefisk69

Having had three Cybershot's already I did not hesitate to purchase this one. However, there is a massive shutter lag. Maybe about 1.5 sec from the time the button is pushed to the time when the camera takes the shot. This would be ok if you were posing for a picture, but to try to take a shot at the right moment is just not hapening with this camera. The shutter lag has caused me to miss several precious momment photos, and for this I cannont recommend this camera. It does not function as a point and shoot should. I thought this would be a step up from the last cybershots, but it looks like sony decided to let 100 monkeys design this camera rather then the engineers that designed my last Cybershots. I would not recomend this camera to anyone but someone who is taking still photos.

lutefisk69
westmisnter, md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice camera with big zoom
6/23/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Good product, pictures came out sharp and clear, taken with the Auto mode and I particularly enjoyed the 7x zoom. The Panorama feature is also very easy to use. The only thing I didn't like was the considerable long shutter lag, which its not good if you're taking pictures of moving objects, but besides that, its a good camera for its price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed - Blurry for Moving Subjects
12/21/2010

Customer review by ProSnapshooter

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by ProSnapshooter
by ProSnapshooter

I wanted to get a new sony camera to replace my W290 (No manual) and looked for a high quality compact camera. After checking and testing W370 at Fry's, I really disappointed with this camera. At first, I thought W370 must be better than my W290 but not: 1/ W370 doesnt have great Carl Zeiss lens 2/ W370 doesnt offer Manual Mode 3/ Shutter is slow at 1/30 when low light results in blurry pictures when taking photos in club or wedding's night (since people moving around) Motion detects doesnt help much. All the high end of sony W series in the past had Manual Mode but not this one. If it has manual mode, I can take sharp pictures of moving people at 1/125 sec easily without go to confusing and unneccesary auto modes of this camera.

ProSnapshooter
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor picture quality
6/21/2010

Customer review by Crispy

3.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Crispy
by Crispy

I returned my DSC-W290 to purchase this camera, thinking newer is better. I was wrong. The only thing this camera does that the 290 didn't is panoramas and 7x zoom. the 14.1 megapixels would be a good thing, if this camera would actually take good photos. the w290, with it's 12.1 megapixels, was far superior to this. Comparing the battery life between the two, this battery went from 100% to 75% after i was just taking a few pictures in my living room to test it. the w290 stayed at 100% for far longer. Also this one goes into twilight mode too easily on iAuto, rarely goes into macro mode, doeas worse at backlit portraits, and doesnt detect faces as well. I plan to return this one and get something else. i haven't decided what though

Crispy
Loganville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Red Cyber Shot
1/6/2011

Customer review by TallyGirl1

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by TallyGirl1
by TallyGirl1

Actually I bought this camera for my husband and he loves it. He had a sony before but it was old. There is alot more specifics that can be done with this camera and the pictures come out beautiful. So he is very happy with the choice I made. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TallyGirl1
Hammonton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Birthday Present
10/22/2010

Customer review by PitbullDad

5.0 stars 10/22/2010 by PitbullDad
by PitbullDad

What my daughter asked for because she wanted Sony and it meets her needs exactly for a compact (pocket size) camera that takes great pictures...when she would rather have that than her single lens reflex camera.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PitbullDad
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't Buy It
9/27/2010

Customer review by SCGRANDMA

1.0 stars 9/27/2010 by SCGRANDMA
by SCGRANDMA

I bought this camera for a trip and for my granddaughter's wedding. On the trip the zoom would not work, the settings were off, the self timer came on and prevented me from taking pictures. If I took a picture and tried to look at it every picture on the memory card starting showing and the only way to stop it was to turn the camera off. I missed a lot of pictures because of the time involved in trying to get the camerato work. I took it to Best Buy and they sent it to Sony for repair. I has been gone for 3 weeks and I have missed my granddaughter's wedding. I have always like Sony products but I will think twice next time.

SCGRANDMA
Pacolet, S. C. 29372
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful Camera!
6/4/2010

Customer review by Wolf

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by Wolf
by Wolf

I was actually waiting for an Olympus camera when I bought this Sony W370. However as I had a trip coming up I wanted a camera and found this beauty. Its startup speed is amazing and the quality of pictures is above and beyond what I imagined. Video is top notch when it works. Pertaining to video, it is true that I have also noticed the blurry video. But I have found that it does not blur when in well lit rooms or outside, so this can be a workaround. All in all I take far more pictures and this camera takes amazing shots! Plus the zoom is incredible! I would give this camera a look if I were you.

Wolf
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am so disappointed
12/28/2010

Customer review by aSillySonyFan

2.0 stars 12/28/2010 by aSillySonyFan
by aSillySonyFan

I was a big fan of SONY camera. I have SONY P8, P90, W100, and this W370 and other SONY TV, DVD player and camcord. I think I can say this camera is the worst SONY product I have ever bought. the image quality is really so so. It doesn't perform well in low light and high speed as most other cameras in the same price range. However, the worst thing is, the time from you click the button to it actually takes a shot is so long. This almost makes it unusable to take living family photos. If possible, I really want to return this camera and buy a different one.

aSillySonyFan
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
good camera
5/23/2010

Customer review by arianna

4.0 stars 5/23/2010 by arianna
by arianna

I just bought this camera recently and since then I have hardly put it down. I found that you can get some really nice pictures with this and I would definately recomend this camera for someone looking for an update. The camera is easy to use and I love the option to take panoramic photos. It also can take some nice close up fotos and focus nicely. Some other reveiws said the battery does not last that long, but i have found that if you fully charge it then it is fine for a day out with a camera.

arianna
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not too bad camera...that is if it doesn't give up
2/8/2011

Customer review by wannabiewaniewan

3.0 stars 2/8/2011 by wannabiewaniewan
by wannabiewaniewan

I bought the camera in September last year, and it worked perfectly fine until about December when the lens stopped communicating with the camera. As in, I would have to try to physically twist the camera to get it to even produce an image, and it wouldn't even stay there for a while. Before it broke I used the camera almost everyday, it IS a point-and-shoot camera so I didn't expect much functions wise, but I wish there was a little more.

wannabiewaniewan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very uncomplicated...
2/24/2011

Customer review by canative1938

3.0 stars 2/24/2011 by canative1938
by canative1938

Haven't used enough yet to find out just "how" good or bad this camera is. If the other reviews I've read are anywhere close to accurate...then, I will be very disappointed for a second time with a Sony Point & Shoot camera. The first was a DSC-H2; picture quality was great. That said the operation of the camera was way too complicated. And for a P&S at that time I paid nearly $500.00. Gave it to my granddaughter... Oh well.

canative1938
San Jacinto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1-20 of 45 reviews