Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
excellent camera!!!
8/15/2010

Customer review by vinnyh

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by vinnyh
by vinnyh

Purchased the Sony TX-5 for the trip to Cozumel. It had met all my expectations, from pictures quality to movie camera and underwater usages ( I brought it down to 10 ft. easily, without problem.) I would highly recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vinnyh
Fairfax,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/16/2010

Customer review by packrat54

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by packrat54
by packrat54

Camera is very versatile, in both physical durability and photographic options. Would definitely recommend this camera for use in backcountry hiking and other off the beaten trail activities.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
packrat54
Raymond, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous Pictures!
6/15/2010

Customer review by fxygrl

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by fxygrl
by fxygrl

I'd strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a stylish waterproof, breakproof, dustproof camera. The other ones I'd seen all LOOKED like water cameras - big and bulky. Plus most of the reviews on those complained of the picture quality. The Sony TX5 not only takes gorgeous, perfect pictures, it looks like a very nice sleek camera. The touchscreen is very easy to use and makes it worth it. I would strongly recommend this to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fxygrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a really fun camera to have
10/19/2010

Customer review by Jessi58

5.0 stars 10/19/2010 by Jessi58
by Jessi58

I've had my TX5 for 6 months and LOVE IT!! It's compact size makes it easy to carry in your pocket. though you have to be careful. When it slides open, it's "on" and you can accidentally drain the battery. I bought an extra battery though so this hasn't been a problem. THe waterproof feature makes this camera so much fun at pool parties, the beach and waterparks and everyone wants to try their hand at taking underwater shots and the results are amazing! I opted to buy the extra floating strap. ..something I would recommend for the ocean, lake or water park use. There are so many unique features that the phographic possibilities are endless and it holds over 1500 pictures too!! it uploads quickly into your computer and the software is really easy to work with to fine tune your pictures. I would buy this camera again in an instant. My only request to Sony would be to move the viewfinder so it's not so close to the upper left corner. It makes it too easy to accidentally get your finger in the shot. The best digital camera I've ever owned!

Jessi58
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another amazing SONY product!
6/3/2010

Customer review by CG115

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by CG115
by CG115

I recently took a trip to Jamaica and was bummed that I couldn't take my digital camera to a lot of the water related activites so I figured I would buy a waterproof digital. I first bought an Olympus Tough and used it for a few days and then saw the new TX-5. I bought the Sony and did a side by side with my Olympus and all I can is my next trip was back to Best Buy to return the Olympus! The Sony far surpassed my expectations of any digital camera and takes amazing pictures! The boot up time was near instant (Olympus took about 5 seconds). Navigating through the menus was a snap and the touch screen is very responsive and accurate. I generally have used digitals which offered a few more manual controls however I can honestly say that I really don't seem to need them with this camera. The Intelligent Auto feature is amazing and the camera lives up to it's reputation for it's ability to take pictures in low light. For the price range and the amount of features you get in it's compact size, I don't think that anything can compare. I highly recommend this camera to anyone!

CG115
Orange County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this camera. I really do, BUT...........
9/11/2010

Customer review by maxam67

3.0 stars 9/11/2010 by maxam67
by maxam67

We purchased this camera for two reasons. We wanted a waterproof camera, and we wanted a Sony camera. We are huge fans of Sony. We own a lot of Sony products and have never been disappointed by them, until now. The camera takes great pictures. My only complaint is that I wish it had a better zoom, but I knew beforehand that it was limited as far as that is concerned. What happened with ours was 3 months after purchasing it, having used it many times in many different pools, (we have all of the underwater pics and movies to prove it - they're way cool!) the seal was somehow compromised and we got condensation in the lens. We were so bummed and upset. We returned it to the store where we purchased it, and thankfully, they were super helpful. They sent it out to Sony to have it repaired. We just got it back last night and are eager to get it in a pool to try it out again. We love the camera so much and are hoping the problem has truly been taken care of, but are very skeptical about it. What if the same thing happens 3 months from now and the warrantee runs out? Here's to hoping that doesn't happen.

maxam67
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Water resistant, Not Water Proof!!!!!
8/9/2010

Customer review by duststang

2.0 stars 8/9/2010 by duststang
by duststang

I bought this camera and loved everything about it. Takes great pictures (day or night), cool fun options and will fit into a pocket no problem. The second day myself and the family went to the pool. Everyone playing, taking pictures and my son spraying everyone with water hose. The camera was in the water for about 3 minutes barely submerged. long story short I seen the LCD touch screen had water inside. I let it sit on a towel and called Sony. Sony told me to ship it in (no cost) to get it repaired. If it cannot be repaired they will replace within 2 weeks. This is not an acceptable option for me. First of all this camera is 2 days old and already having issues. If I wanted a refurbished camera I would have purchased one. Second my wife and I are expecting any day. I DON"T HAVE TWO WEEKS!!!! Luckily I took the camera back to the store and they gave me a refund! I have always bought Sony camera's and had good luck with them but I will not purchase another TX5 and Truly debating on leaving Sony as a customer because of their warranty policy. Good Luck hope this helps! P.S. the manual is on a disc. instead of a book ANNOYING!!

duststang
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sony's Indestructible TX5
6/7/2010

Customer review by crsmith76

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by crsmith76
by crsmith76

I was considering purchasing an Olmpus Stylus Tough 6080, and then saw this camera. Already had a HX1 and absolutely love it, but wanted something waterproof and vibration proof to take on water trips and ATV trips. Bought this camera and was not disappointed. Excellent pictures, excellent video (stereo would be nice, but HD video makes up for it), and nice size. Had it strapped to the rack on my atv and it shot EXCELLENT video. Only thing other than the stereo sound I would change would be that the volume was higher on the camera itself (played back on a computer, tv, etc. it's perfect), and more zoom (the description is wrong - it says 3x zoom, it has 4x zoom - would like 10x zoom). Definite would buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crsmith76
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for beach and pool goers!
6/14/2010

Customer review by Tucker

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Tucker
by Tucker

I was sold when i saw that this was waterproof. I was going to get the TX7 but, seeing that this had all the key features of the TX7 it was hands down that the TX5 was a better camera. It is extremely easy to use, and it is so smart that your mind will be blow. It will focus on faces and landscapes like a charm...as well as anything else you want. Video is very clear and fast and colorful. Only problem I had was the slider that protects the lens and the battery. If it gets wet it is really annoying to dry under it as well if you take it to the beach sand will get under it. A quick solution is take a thick piece of paper and slide it under, you can pull out the sand really easily. And the battery is a bit short, but lasts for most will need it to. Just do not forget to charge it when you are done.

Tucker
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Words cannot describe how amazing this camera is!
6/6/2010

Customer review by PinkTX5

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by PinkTX5
by PinkTX5

Being worried this wonderful camera wouldn't make it here by my vacation, Sony provided me with the estimated date it would be here by... 1 day BEFORE my trip. So I was hoping this was accurate. Well... it was! I got this camera and was instantly IN LOVE! The huge touchscreen on this small sleek masterpiece is GORGEOUS. The panoramic pics are way better than expected. Actually, this camera is WAY better than I expected (and I expected a LOT). Ok, enough of me, I'm just so excited. I've NEVER wanted to write a review on ANYTHING, until this camera, I just want everyone to share this wonderful experience with me haha. I saw in another review that a message always popped up, and although I am unsure of what it was for sure, you do receive messages, but they are just safety features telling you to check the battery compartment and what not to keep the waterproof-ness at it's maximum, not that there is a problem. Overall, if you are considering this camera... PLEASE don't hesitate any longer. I spent YEARS finding this beauty. Going through other "waterproof cameras", this one by far exceeded my expectations. Again, sorry for the long review, I just can't say enough about this camera.

PinkTX5
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If God had a camera...this one would be his.
5/8/2010

Customer review by JBFromAustin

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by JBFromAustin
by JBFromAustin

I have never had such a great piece of technology in my life that rivals this camera. I was skeptical at first but when I held this camera in my hands...I was blown away. It does everything it says it does. Takes beautiful pictures even if its 10.1MP, you can't tell the difference. Takes pics fast and effortlessly. So fast that when some ones try's to put there hand in the way to stop you from taking a picture of them, you're already snapped the picture. I never could do that with my past cameras I've had. Easy to use. Navigation is a breeze. Touch screen is very responsive. Battery lasts a long time. Lots of options to take certain pictures in. Anyone could use this camera. This TX5 couldn't have been any better. I have to give my props to Sony this time. Job well done... :)

JBFromAustin
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing camera :D
12/27/2010

Customer review by believeinsomething

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by believeinsomething
by believeinsomething

even though ive only had this camera for a few days, i love it! it works really well both inside and out and the picture quality is great. today it snowed a lot, so i got to test my new camera out with a few of my friends. all the pictures look really clear and the camera still works fine. i took a few videos too and the sound came out great. the touch screen is really easy to get used to, and it also has a great flash. its fun to have the panoramic shot as well and you can draw on your pictures and do some editing. the only thing that i could say badly about the camera is that the battery life doesnt last very long, so i'll probably end up buying another battery. otherwise, its a great camera and you should buy it :)

believeinsomething
Montreal, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pictures
11/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We replaced our Olympus camera with this one. Both are water and shock resistant but the Sony takes much better pictures and is much smaller. Great camera so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect
1/2/2011

Customer review by gianco

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by gianco
by gianco

I was very scared when I was ordering this camera.. I had read a few reviews and even though many where great, some scared me into thinking I was gonna buy a camera that wouldnt last past a week.. saying that it died the second it hit the water... well.... this camera has been AMAZING... went beyond any expectations I ever had and then some... the underwater pics are great and the sweep panorama feture is.. just... NO WORDS... here are some ive taken.. I know that seeing pics that others had taken ultimately persuaded me into buying mine.. overall... perfect tiny little thing..

gianco
Cartagena, Colombia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
System Error
12/27/2010

Customer review by Demoliux

3.0 stars 12/27/2010 by Demoliux
by Demoliux

I got this camera 2 weeks ago, with 8Gb Kingston Class 6 133X SD Card and configured it at 7 Mp resolution (max resolution in 16:9 format available). After taking 240 pictures aprox, a message appears: Check memory card. So, i shutdown the camera, got the memory off and put it again. When i turned on the camera a message appears: System error. I downloaded the pictures on my pc and put the memory again. The camera works again without any error message, but i couldn´t get any christmas pictures... cause of this problem. Is There a way to fix this problem?

Demoliux
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
TX5 is now officially rated beer proof too.
5/10/2010

Customer review by zzzzmd

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by zzzzmd
by zzzzmd

Have the TX5 now for 3 days. First day my camera got soaked in 24 oz of Corona beer as the couple of bottles broke inadvertently in my jetski storage box. Took crisp n clear pics right after. So its now offically rated beer proof too.Thereafter took pics in the pool n the ocean....all good. w great clarity n color.I did notice a tiny watermark behind the LCD screen which disappeared after a few mins of direct sunight exposure and returned back. Going on a beach vacation next week, so it will be put thru the real test w kids. Stay tuned!

zzzzmd
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is Brilliant Piece of Technology
6/18/2010

Customer review by SonyFanboy

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by SonyFanboy
by SonyFanboy

Words cannot describe this camera and all that it can do. I went to New York for a holiday and I have the Sony HX1 but got tired of carrying it around so I went to Sony Style on 5th Ave and looked at small cybershots. This one was a great price and had a lot of features (more than I would use for a simple point and shoot) but to know it does all that I will learn to use it. In the week I was there I took over 1300 pictures with it and all I can say is WOW! The clarity and color, and quality of the pictures are PERFECT! NOT one of the pictures I took looked bad or un-usable. I shot in just about every situation you can, Fast moving trains, Times Square at night, TALL buildings with the Panoramic feature which is BRILLIANT, the a sweeping panoramic in Central Park was PERFECT. I used it when it was raining and got some stunning pictures of NYC in the rain and I didn’t worry about the camera, I just wiped it off and moved on. I took a few video clips as well in HD and they looked flawless on the TV like a DVD, it was an amazing clear picture, who needs a video camera anymore this will do it better. This Sony Cybershot camera is worth the money, every cent I spent I got back in BRILLIANT pictures and video. I tried little cameras from Sony in the past (I’ve had about 5 other models in the past few years) and I end up getting rid of them because they just don't work right or live up the hype but this one DOES! BUY IT you won't be sorry at all.

SonyFanboy
Southwest United States.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/2/2010

Customer review by skthit21

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by skthit21
by skthit21

My wife and I tried took about 500 pics in Puerto Rico. This is a great product for a first Sony Cybershot waterproof camera. We were at the beach, waterfalls and the Yunque Forest in P.R and it responded perfect. It adapts to the environment. If flash is needed, it will detect that and shoot it. If no flash needed it will still take great pictures. The auto focus is also fenomenal. the battery life is very long. We took about 200 pics on one day and we still had half of the battery life left. Its worth the value.

skthit21
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So easy to use!!
6/9/2010

Customer review by WENDLE24

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by WENDLE24
by WENDLE24

This camera was exactly what I was looking for. The HD video is great, picture quality is awesome and the touch screen menus are responsive and easy to use. Add in the great battery life and the fact that is really is waterproof (accidently tested that my first day on the beach), you can't get a better camera for the money. I have always been a fan of Sony products and this is no exception. Only thing I would change is the isweep feature. It would be nice to be able to determine the size of the picture in isweep mode - not just have the predetermined 180 degree option. Otherwise, this is a fantastic camera which I would recommend to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WENDLE24
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A good buy
9/14/2010

Customer review by LookASquirrel

4.0 stars 9/14/2010 by LookASquirrel
by LookASquirrel

I got this camera for the purpose of recording me and my co-workers doing our profession, which is Commercial Plumbing. The enviroment is harsh, with dust from concrete, sheet rock, grime from pipe, and also it's plumbing...so exposure to water is high! It's done very well for this since it's easy to clean! Dip into water and it all goes away. We work in blazing hot days, down pouring rain, and many not so fun enviroments. It's "Rugged" alright. I've made many video's and pictures so far.

LookASquirrel
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews