Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 35 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Gorgeous Pictures!
6/15/2010

Customer review by fxygrl

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by fxygrl
by fxygrl

I'd strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a stylish waterproof, breakproof, dustproof camera. The other ones I'd seen all LOOKED like water cameras - big and bulky. Plus most of the reviews on those complained of the picture quality. The Sony TX5 not only takes gorgeous, perfect pictures, it looks like a very nice sleek camera. The touchscreen is very easy to use and makes it worth it. I would strongly recommend this to everyone!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fxygrl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent camera!!!
8/15/2010

Customer review by vinnyh

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by vinnyh
by vinnyh

Purchased the Sony TX-5 for the trip to Cozumel. It had met all my expectations, from pictures quality to movie camera and underwater usages ( I brought it down to 10 ft. easily, without problem.) I would highly recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vinnyh
Fairfax,va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sony's Indestructible TX5
6/7/2010

Customer review by crsmith76

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by crsmith76
by crsmith76

I was considering purchasing an Olmpus Stylus Tough 6080, and then saw this camera. Already had a HX1 and absolutely love it, but wanted something waterproof and vibration proof to take on water trips and ATV trips. Bought this camera and was not disappointed. Excellent pictures, excellent video (stereo would be nice, but HD video makes up for it), and nice size. Had it strapped to the rack on my atv and it shot EXCELLENT video. Only thing other than the stereo sound I would change would be that the volume was higher on the camera itself (played back on a computer, tv, etc. it's perfect), and more zoom (the description is wrong - it says 3x zoom, it has 4x zoom - would like 10x zoom). Definite would buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crsmith76
Bentonville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Pictures
11/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We replaced our Olympus camera with this one. Both are water and shock resistant but the Sony takes much better pictures and is much smaller. Great camera so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
So easy to use!!
6/9/2010

Customer review by WENDLE24

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by WENDLE24
by WENDLE24

This camera was exactly what I was looking for. The HD video is great, picture quality is awesome and the touch screen menus are responsive and easy to use. Add in the great battery life and the fact that is really is waterproof (accidently tested that my first day on the beach), you can't get a better camera for the money. I have always been a fan of Sony products and this is no exception. Only thing I would change is the isweep feature. It would be nice to be able to determine the size of the picture in isweep mode - not just have the predetermined 180 degree option. Otherwise, this is a fantastic camera which I would recommend to anyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WENDLE24
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/16/2010

Customer review by packrat54

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by packrat54
by packrat54

Camera is very versatile, in both physical durability and photographic options. Would definitely recommend this camera for use in backcountry hiking and other off the beaten trail activities.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
packrat54
Raymond, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome camera
12/30/2010

Customer review by Stanmenna

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by Stanmenna
by Stanmenna

i was looking for a new camera and was split between the tx9 & the tx5. what ultimately sold me on the tx5 was its ruggedness and the many positive walmart reviews. I got it a week before christmas and found it very intuitive and easy to use, very small learning curve. while not every picture was perfect, a little fiddling and I was satisfied with most shots. also the intelligent auto feature gave me many shots to pick and choose from.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stanmenna
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/31/2010

Customer review by IHeartCameras

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by IHeartCameras
by IHeartCameras

This is the best camera that I have ever owned. I usually get a new camera every year but this time I believe I will keep this one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IHeartCameras
Lexington, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is an outstanding camera!!!!
12/31/2010

Customer review by AgentX

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by AgentX
by AgentX

This camera is a great camera. I once had a camera that took AA batteries. The camera would just drain the batteries. This camera has a battery pack with a charger. It works great!!!! It has a pretty good battery life. I also love many of the cool features including face detection, Panoramic photos, a full touch screen in the back, and it's underwater photo capabilities. I think this camera is truly great and I would recommend this camera to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AgentX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
8/24/2010

Customer review by mommyofPeyton

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by mommyofPeyton
by mommyofPeyton

Had to have this once I saw my friend jump into the pool with it! WOW! Takes awesome underwater videos and pics. Is simple to use and the touch screen is a nice feature. Love the camera and the bundle price from Walmart was by far the best deal I could find.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyofPeyton
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Quality
9/15/2010

Customer review by aghs

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by aghs
by aghs

This camera does everything a point and shoot is expected to do...great picture quality and amazing videos too...and above all this standard things the panaromic i-sweep mode and the waterproofing makes it the best amongst rest...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aghs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
THE DIGITAL CAMERA EVER!!!!
8/15/2010

Customer review by OSAMABINS13

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by OSAMABINS13
by OSAMABINS13

1st just want to say thank you to sony for making this kind of product. this camera is awsome, i can use it everywhere i go. esp. in the beach. more power sony. PEACE

OSAMABINS13
CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/2/2010

Customer review by skthit21

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by skthit21
by skthit21

My wife and I tried took about 500 pics in Puerto Rico. This is a great product for a first Sony Cybershot waterproof camera. We were at the beach, waterfalls and the Yunque Forest in P.R and it responded perfect. It adapts to the environment. If flash is needed, it will detect that and shoot it. If no flash needed it will still take great pictures. The auto focus is also fenomenal. the battery life is very long. We took about 200 pics on one day and we still had half of the battery life left. Its worth the value.

skthit21
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
amazing camera :D
12/27/2010

Customer review by believeinsomething

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by believeinsomething
by believeinsomething

even though ive only had this camera for a few days, i love it! it works really well both inside and out and the picture quality is great. today it snowed a lot, so i got to test my new camera out with a few of my friends. all the pictures look really clear and the camera still works fine. i took a few videos too and the sound came out great. the touch screen is really easy to get used to, and it also has a great flash. its fun to have the panoramic shot as well and you can draw on your pictures and do some editing. the only thing that i could say badly about the camera is that the battery life doesnt last very long, so i'll probably end up buying another battery. otherwise, its a great camera and you should buy it :)

believeinsomething
Montreal, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Highly recommended
7/9/2010

Customer review by S10V8

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by S10V8
by S10V8

Best point and shoot camera I have ever bought. If you live or play near water this is the camera for you. Has all the great Sony features and it's waterproof, what more could you want?

S10V8
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very satisfied!
12/21/2010

Customer review by Rocha41

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Rocha41
by Rocha41

This was my best purchase ever! I waited for a long time to get this camera. I tried to put some money on other inexpensive brands but it was a waste of time. I've had kodak, fuji, among others, yet none of those can beat sony. It's simply the best value for your money. I love my TX5, it's shockproof, dustproof, freezeproof and waterproof! Nobody can beat that!!!

Rocha41
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME CAMERA
1/10/2011

Customer review by Bird

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by Bird
by Bird

I TAKE THIS CAMERA WITH ME EVERYWHERE. It has replaced my sony camcorder. This camera has saved me so many time on jobs when my expensive units would'nt respond properly, CYBERSHOT and save the PAY. The battery life could be longer and the tele and wide could be better. BFoster

Bird
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another amazing SONY product!
6/3/2010

Customer review by CG115

5.0 stars 6/3/2010 by CG115
by CG115

I recently took a trip to Jamaica and was bummed that I couldn't take my digital camera to a lot of the water related activites so I figured I would buy a waterproof digital. I first bought an Olympus Tough and used it for a few days and then saw the new TX-5. I bought the Sony and did a side by side with my Olympus and all I can is my next trip was back to Best Buy to return the Olympus! The Sony far surpassed my expectations of any digital camera and takes amazing pictures! The boot up time was near instant (Olympus took about 5 seconds). Navigating through the menus was a snap and the touch screen is very responsive and accurate. I generally have used digitals which offered a few more manual controls however I can honestly say that I really don't seem to need them with this camera. The Intelligent Auto feature is amazing and the camera lives up to it's reputation for it's ability to take pictures in low light. For the price range and the amount of features you get in it's compact size, I don't think that anything can compare. I highly recommend this camera to anyone!

CG115
Orange County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect
1/2/2011

Customer review by gianco

5.0 stars 1/2/2011 by gianco
by gianco

I was very scared when I was ordering this camera.. I had read a few reviews and even though many where great, some scared me into thinking I was gonna buy a camera that wouldnt last past a week.. saying that it died the second it hit the water... well.... this camera has been AMAZING... went beyond any expectations I ever had and then some... the underwater pics are great and the sweep panorama feture is.. just... NO WORDS... here are some ive taken.. I know that seeing pics that others had taken ultimately persuaded me into buying mine.. overall... perfect tiny little thing..

gianco
Cartagena, Colombia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Words cannot describe how amazing this camera is!
6/6/2010

Customer review by PinkTX5

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by PinkTX5
by PinkTX5

Being worried this wonderful camera wouldn't make it here by my vacation, Sony provided me with the estimated date it would be here by... 1 day BEFORE my trip. So I was hoping this was accurate. Well... it was! I got this camera and was instantly IN LOVE! The huge touchscreen on this small sleek masterpiece is GORGEOUS. The panoramic pics are way better than expected. Actually, this camera is WAY better than I expected (and I expected a LOT). Ok, enough of me, I'm just so excited. I've NEVER wanted to write a review on ANYTHING, until this camera, I just want everyone to share this wonderful experience with me haha. I saw in another review that a message always popped up, and although I am unsure of what it was for sure, you do receive messages, but they are just safety features telling you to check the battery compartment and what not to keep the waterproof-ness at it's maximum, not that there is a problem. Overall, if you are considering this camera... PLEASE don't hesitate any longer. I spent YEARS finding this beauty. Going through other "waterproof cameras", this one by far exceeded my expectations. Again, sorry for the long review, I just can't say enough about this camera.

PinkTX5
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews