Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
44
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 stars
11
1-20 of 152 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
takes some work
8/22/2010

Customer review by Gilliansage

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Gilliansage
by Gilliansage

I was really impressed by the optical zoom on this camera. As anyone knows that's ever read up on cameras, it's all in the optical zoom. Digital means nothing. Anyway, took to Seattle for GW8. I'm thinking I should either read the manual or spend more time getting to know this camera as half my pictures came out blurry. Granted I had only had it about a week at this time. I find I need to hit the shutter button half way a few times to get it to focus right. All in all I enjoy the use I've gotten out of it. Bought several batteries and a charger elsewhere but didn't even need to change the battery for my whole weekend up in Seattle even took a great pic from my window seat in the plane and one from a moving car.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gilliansage
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Happy Cruiser
6/4/2010

Customer review by FirstTimeCruiser

4.0 stars 6/4/2010 by FirstTimeCruiser
by FirstTimeCruiser

I bought this product after consulting several of my friends. I wanted to know what camera had the best quality and would not cost me an arm and a leg! I was told the Sony Cyber-shot over and over. There were few others listed. I was buying this camera because I was going on my first cruise ever and it was to Alaska! I knew the scenery would be beautiful and I needed a camera that could capture that. I was not disappointed at all. I caught some amazing shots of whales, eagles, bears, mountains, etc. Even when cropping a picture, I was able to zoom in pretty far before the picture started to distort. I also love the burst mode!!! I am very, very pleased with this camera and will recommend it to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstTimeCruiser
Belton, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not Worth it
5/19/2010

Customer review by lokibellacricket

2.0 stars 5/19/2010 by lokibellacricket
by lokibellacricket

OK i gave this camera a week using all settings to be fair before exchanging it.First u can zoom in and out while recording movie mode which was good.That was it nothing else is good about the pics when you zoom in for pics half come out OK and half blurry.The burst mode as well half pics are blurry. Also when you take pics they are to dark and way over saturated with color to see peoples faces or pets eyes clearly they are extremely dark, no matter which ISO setting you use.This camera leaves dark shadows on subjects making the pics very hard to see the subject well.I tried every setting on camera and you have to edit half your pics on camera who wants to edit 200 outta 300 pics for hrs. on computer.Very dissatisfied with half the pics not coming out weather in house or outside or with flash on or without.It should have been half the price!!! Good bye Sony back to store you go! I have a 8mp Canon that takes better pics, don't be fooled by this 14mp like i was!

Was this review helpful? (5) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lokibellacricket
Amsterdam NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Camera
12/21/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I use to own Canon and a Nikon and they were both good camera but since they broke I wanted something different. I love taking pictures because my hobby is making scrapbooks and I needed a good quality camera that was going to produce excellent pictures. I searched, searched, searched, and searched for a good camera. I went to Best Buy several times because there you can test out the cameras and play with them. I went on-line to get reviews on different cameras. Then I saw this Sony camera that had tremendous amount of reviews with a rating of 4 out of 5. At first I was very skeptical of purchasing a Sony camera. I am glad I did. It is a very excellent camera. Picture quality is out of this world, very crisp pictures. It is easy to use, has a lot of picture functions to choose from. The videos are very clear. I love the take panoramic shots. The only two problems I have with this camera is the battery life and very blurring pictures when taking action possess. But other then that I love my camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hampton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SUPER WORTH IT
8/25/2010

Customer review by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE
by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE

this camera is the best. i would recommend it to experienced people with cameras or just beginners.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE
Knoxville,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent wide angle shots from small camera
6/9/2011

Customer review by Drivefastturnleft

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by Drivefastturnleft
by Drivefastturnleft

We've had three Sonys. First one spent two years in China and gave excellent movies and photos. Wore it out. Second one still works fine but was 43-430 zoom. This one has the 25-250 zoom so we can get wide angle photos. It's slightly thinner and the lens has a retractable cap, which the second one did not have. The old batteries and memory card work with the new one so we didn't need to purchase anything new. I had the flip up mirror back which protects the screen, so I removed it from the old one and it fits fine on this new one. Overall we are very pleased with the quality of the photos, and the smaller lighter size. And the price is about half of what our first one cost 6 years ago.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drivefastturnleft
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
*~ Big Wow In A Box~*
9/1/2011

Customer review by Mari651

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Mari651
by Mari651

I bought this camera and received it yesterday. I love it!! Its a really good camera. I think that before anyone that rates this camera should really read the instructions from the book and CD that they offer. This camera takes really good crisp and clear photos. I have a 5 year old and a almost 2 year old. My littlest never can sit still and take a picture she is always on the move!! There is a setting just for that and she can run, jump and roll around and I still can snap a shot of her in action and it is not blurred. People that talked about the display and the colors and stuff that shows up on the display it does not show up on your photos. I uploaded my pictures really fast and they look great, no flaws. This is a really good starter camera. I have had a sony before and that took great pictures also. My sister takes professional senior pictures and has done a few weddings, with her almost $600 camera. That camera has an 18x zoom and 10mg. This camera has 10x zoom 14mg. This camera takes pictures just as great as her camera and the zoom is really nice :) In the picture I posted my daughter is rocking back and forth! NO BLUR!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mari651
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/22/2011

Customer review by TheZap

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by TheZap
by TheZap

It's all and more of what I expected !!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheZap
Leesburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pretty decent camera
9/15/2010

Customer review by MerissaC

4.0 stars 9/15/2010 by MerissaC
by MerissaC

I have been very pleased with the performance of this camera so far. Takes beautiful outdoor pictures. I haven't yet figured out all the features of the camera, but that doesn't keep me from being able to take good pictures. It offers the option of easy picture taking or choices to adjust and refine. My only complaint so far is that I still haven't been able to take good low-light pictures. I need to continue to learn the features of the camera to see if that is possible.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MerissaC
Ft Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great camera
1/31/2011

Customer review by customer188885

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by customer188885
by customer188885

This is a great camera for taking pictures of any scenery, wedding, children, pets, moving vehicles, but the macro mode is difficult to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customer188885
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Educated Point and Shoot
12/2/2010

Customer review by SeniorSnapper

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by SeniorSnapper
by SeniorSnapper

I was looking for a smart point and shoot camera. This one more than fills the bill. I am learning what can do with it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeniorSnapper
Alexdandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Cyber-shot H55
10/21/2012

Customer review by Luckysailor

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by Luckysailor
by Luckysailor

We travel and like to have pictures and videos. Our favorite camera for this is our Sony Cyber-shot (extremely easy to use and carry). We decided after 2 years to purchase a second one so we could each carry a camera and everything would be compatible when downloaded, plus batteries and chips would be exchangable during trips. An additional function we found with this camera is using the zoom feature as binoculars, especially from a high point to "scout" terrain as we look for our next adventure.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luckysailor
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/4/2012

Customer review by mcodd

5.0 stars 6/4/2012 by mcodd
by mcodd

This camera was a Mother's Day gift from my daughters and my husband, and I absolutely love it. The pictures are great and the zoom is amazing. It does good videos. I was recently using a camera that recorded videos but no sound so this Sony camera definitely makes it all so much better. The bigger screen makes it easier to see the subject. The settings are easy to use..well overall the camera is easy to use. Landscape pictures come out really wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcodd
Friedens, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sony H55
8/15/2010

Customer review by michiganhistory

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by michiganhistory
by michiganhistory

Nice camera---easy to use---quality pictures---easy to recharge----easy to download---buy it and you'll like it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
michiganhistory
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Camera
8/22/2010

Customer review by DaveTinNH

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by DaveTinNH
by DaveTinNH

I would give this camera a 5, but there are a couple of minor things I didn't like. First, the manual is a PDF. That's fine, but it would have been nice if they could send a normal manual in addition. The software that comes with it is not as good as some others I've used. The AutoCorrect has been of no use so far. I haven't used the Burst feature yet, but why isn't it selected on the rotary button at the top of the camera, where you can select Scene shooting or Panorama? You have to select it using the menu, which takes longer. I'll use Burst much more than Panorama. The camera takes excellent shots. Don't know why some people that did reviews thought otherwise. Use a good SDHC card, one that is Class 6 (not 2 or 4). At the time I bought the camera, Amazon had the same one for $5 cheaper. Fortunately after reading carefully, I saw that one didn't include a rechargeable battery or charger as the one from Walmart does.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveTinNH
Bethlehem, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DO NOT Purchase This Camera
6/20/2010

Customer review by TMay

1.0 stars 6/20/2010 by TMay
by TMay

I have a digital SLR camera and wanted a point and shoot camera to take out when I meet up with friends or just don't feel like lugging my D-SLR around. I wanted to get a high quality point and shoot, so I did a lot of research. This camera was rated rather high, with a few dissatisfied customers. I can now add myself to the list of highly dissatisfied customers. Within 5 minutes I knew that I would be returning this camera. The picture quality was awful, the flash is overpowering and every person had beety red eyes. I was not impressed in the slightest. Again, I have a very high quality D-SLR and now how to use the various features within the camera, so it's not like I didn't know how to make appropriate adjustments to take good quality pictures. I did more research and decided to go with the Canon Powershot 1400IS and this is by far the best point and shoot camera I have EVER owned! Therefore, I DO NOT recommend the Sony CyberShot H55. It is not at all worth your money!

Was this review helpful? (16) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TMay
Would recommend to a friend? No
A MUST BUY CAMERA
4/14/2010

Customer review by krb61

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by krb61
by krb61

I was worried about buying a product not yet rated, and I am very happy that I decided to go for it . This camera is fantastic. It is easy to use , and the pictures are very sharp. The anti shake feature really does work , my hands were shaking and I thought the pictures were going to be a big blur. I was very happy and impressed when I reviewed the shots and found NO BLURING at all. The auto function is great and makes taking pictures easy right out of the box. The Panaroma feature is amazing, but can be a bit of a headache to get it to work at times, that aside the outcome is great. If you know your way around a camera the several options will serve you will. If you are new to cameras , the auto function/s will give you the best options and crisp photos with a push of a button. The software is quite user friendly even if you are new to digital cameras. The colors are so crisp you will be amazed . I tried still , action , close-ups, and zooming at a good distance and every picture looked great. My hands were shaking while taking many of the pictures, yet as mentioned above, came out just fine. This camera is well built , has a nice size screen, and is easy to navigate. With so many options available, this camera has something for every type of user. I bought another brand of digital camera that is a 12 mp , and while this one is a 14mp, I compared several auto function shots between the two cameras and this one is hands down so much better. I have average knowledge of digital cameras and find this camera easy to use all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (201) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
krb61
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buying the WX1
4/1/2010

Customer review by BicycleBiker

4.0 stars 4/1/2010 by BicycleBiker
by BicycleBiker

I bought this camera at Best Buy recently, and I think it is a very good camera. However, I like some of the features more on the DSC-WX1: 10 picture/second burst mode, hand held twilight mode, smaller size/weight, and the Exmore R sensor. Don't get me wrong, this is a great camera, but some of the features of the WX1 will be better for me. With either of these cameras, I would say they are more oriented to point and shoot users, not users who want a long of manual controls. I do think that the menus could be a little bit more intuitive, but overall I am very impressed at what features Sony packs into such a small package. I would recommend this camera to someone who really wants the zoom feature instead of the other options in the WX1, but doesn't want to pay for the HX5V. On a side note, I would have never considered Sony before because of their proprietary memory sticks. All of the newer models that I have looked at can take SCHC cards, so that was a huge plus for me.

BicycleBiker
Ham Lake, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!
2/6/2011

Customer review by BMBSP

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by BMBSP
by BMBSP

I did a lot of reseach on a good "point and shoot" camera. I have a Canon S30, which was getting kinda old. I needed an updated one with a larger viewing screen and higher zoom. This Sony DSC-H55 is great! It has 14.1 mp, 10x zoom, and 3'' screen. Easy to use, sharp pictures, great color, and I haven't even used all the features yet.....still reading the manual (which you need to down load...138 pages) Only thing I didn't like was the CD/DVD they provided in the box for software installation was old (2007) All info had to be updated online - which took more time. It's a great small camera that takes great pic's. I would recommend it to anyone - no experience needed. :)

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMBSP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Definitely worth it
6/25/2010

Customer review by GamesoulMaster

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by GamesoulMaster
by GamesoulMaster

I did a lot of research before settling on this camera. I wanted something that wasn't expensive like a DSLR, but that had very solid features and picture quality. I had originally been looking at Canon and Nikon cameras, and while a couple caught my eye, none had all the features I was looking for at a decent price (good optical zoom, image stabilization, great image quality, good indoor performance, and solid build were my top concerns). Then I came across this camera and saw what it offered for the price, and I almost knew right at that point that it would be mine. I tried it out at my store, and it seemed exactly what it sounded like online. And now that I've had it for a few weeks, I must say that I'm very impressed by it. I tend to avoid the "Easy" shooting mode because the pictures came out only so-so, but using the Intelligent Auto mode for simple point-and-shoot is quite amazing. And for when I want the perfect shot, the manual settings provide more than enough customization to get it. The image stabilization works amazingly. Shooting free-hand with 10x zoom, as soon as you go to take the shot, it manages to eliminate pretty much all natural shake involved with free-handing a 10x zoom shot. And the pictures come out beautifully. Keeping in mind this *isn't* a DSLR, it still manages to provide amazing quality. Some cameras with high megapixel counts still manage to look a bit grainy when you view them, but this camera is not one of them. Overall, after playing with all the features on the camera, and testing it in various conditions, I feel that this is definitely the best camera I could've bought for the money I paid. And the fact that Sony added support for SDHC cards last year (which includes this camera) made it so much nicer (and cheaper) to get a good memory card to go with it. You will be hard-pressed to find a better camera under $250, and I'd recommend this camera to anybody who wants a great quality camera with great features, but doesn't want to drop the extra money on a DSLR.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GamesoulMaster
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews