Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
100
4 stars
44
3 stars
9
2 stars
10
1 stars
11
1-20 of 152 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews
A MUST BUY CAMERA
4/14/2010

Customer review by krb61

5.0 stars 4/14/2010 by krb61
by krb61

I was worried about buying a product not yet rated, and I am very happy that I decided to go for it . This camera is fantastic. It is easy to use , and the pictures are very sharp. The anti shake feature really does work , my hands were shaking and I thought the pictures were going to be a big blur. I was very happy and impressed when I reviewed the shots and found NO BLURING at all. The auto function is great and makes taking pictures easy right out of the box. The Panaroma feature is amazing, but can be a bit of a headache to get it to work at times, that aside the outcome is great. If you know your way around a camera the several options will serve you will. If you are new to cameras , the auto function/s will give you the best options and crisp photos with a push of a button. The software is quite user friendly even if you are new to digital cameras. The colors are so crisp you will be amazed . I tried still , action , close-ups, and zooming at a good distance and every picture looked great. My hands were shaking while taking many of the pictures, yet as mentioned above, came out just fine. This camera is well built , has a nice size screen, and is easy to navigate. With so many options available, this camera has something for every type of user. I bought another brand of digital camera that is a 12 mp , and while this one is a 14mp, I compared several auto function shots between the two cameras and this one is hands down so much better. I have average knowledge of digital cameras and find this camera easy to use all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (201) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
krb61
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Camera
8/22/2010

Customer review by DaveTinNH

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by DaveTinNH
by DaveTinNH

I would give this camera a 5, but there are a couple of minor things I didn't like. First, the manual is a PDF. That's fine, but it would have been nice if they could send a normal manual in addition. The software that comes with it is not as good as some others I've used. The AutoCorrect has been of no use so far. I haven't used the Burst feature yet, but why isn't it selected on the rotary button at the top of the camera, where you can select Scene shooting or Panorama? You have to select it using the menu, which takes longer. I'll use Burst much more than Panorama. The camera takes excellent shots. Don't know why some people that did reviews thought otherwise. Use a good SDHC card, one that is Class 6 (not 2 or 4). At the time I bought the camera, Amazon had the same one for $5 cheaper. Fortunately after reading carefully, I saw that one didn't include a rechargeable battery or charger as the one from Walmart does.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaveTinNH
Bethlehem, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Definitely worth it
6/25/2010

Customer review by GamesoulMaster

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by GamesoulMaster
by GamesoulMaster

I did a lot of research before settling on this camera. I wanted something that wasn't expensive like a DSLR, but that had very solid features and picture quality. I had originally been looking at Canon and Nikon cameras, and while a couple caught my eye, none had all the features I was looking for at a decent price (good optical zoom, image stabilization, great image quality, good indoor performance, and solid build were my top concerns). Then I came across this camera and saw what it offered for the price, and I almost knew right at that point that it would be mine. I tried it out at my store, and it seemed exactly what it sounded like online. And now that I've had it for a few weeks, I must say that I'm very impressed by it. I tend to avoid the "Easy" shooting mode because the pictures came out only so-so, but using the Intelligent Auto mode for simple point-and-shoot is quite amazing. And for when I want the perfect shot, the manual settings provide more than enough customization to get it. The image stabilization works amazingly. Shooting free-hand with 10x zoom, as soon as you go to take the shot, it manages to eliminate pretty much all natural shake involved with free-handing a 10x zoom shot. And the pictures come out beautifully. Keeping in mind this *isn't* a DSLR, it still manages to provide amazing quality. Some cameras with high megapixel counts still manage to look a bit grainy when you view them, but this camera is not one of them. Overall, after playing with all the features on the camera, and testing it in various conditions, I feel that this is definitely the best camera I could've bought for the money I paid. And the fact that Sony added support for SDHC cards last year (which includes this camera) made it so much nicer (and cheaper) to get a good memory card to go with it. You will be hard-pressed to find a better camera under $250, and I'd recommend this camera to anybody who wants a great quality camera with great features, but doesn't want to drop the extra money on a DSLR.

Was this review helpful? (62) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GamesoulMaster
Muskego, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this camera!
2/6/2011

Customer review by BMBSP

5.0 stars 2/6/2011 by BMBSP
by BMBSP

I did a lot of reseach on a good "point and shoot" camera. I have a Canon S30, which was getting kinda old. I needed an updated one with a larger viewing screen and higher zoom. This Sony DSC-H55 is great! It has 14.1 mp, 10x zoom, and 3'' screen. Easy to use, sharp pictures, great color, and I haven't even used all the features yet.....still reading the manual (which you need to down load...138 pages) Only thing I didn't like was the CD/DVD they provided in the box for software installation was old (2007) All info had to be updated online - which took more time. It's a great small camera that takes great pic's. I would recommend it to anyone - no experience needed. :)

Was this review helpful? (33) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMBSP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Happy Cruiser
6/4/2010

Customer review by FirstTimeCruiser

4.0 stars 6/4/2010 by FirstTimeCruiser
by FirstTimeCruiser

I bought this product after consulting several of my friends. I wanted to know what camera had the best quality and would not cost me an arm and a leg! I was told the Sony Cyber-shot over and over. There were few others listed. I was buying this camera because I was going on my first cruise ever and it was to Alaska! I knew the scenery would be beautiful and I needed a camera that could capture that. I was not disappointed at all. I caught some amazing shots of whales, eagles, bears, mountains, etc. Even when cropping a picture, I was able to zoom in pretty far before the picture started to distort. I also love the burst mode!!! I am very, very pleased with this camera and will recommend it to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirstTimeCruiser
Belton, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
takes some work
8/22/2010

Customer review by Gilliansage

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by Gilliansage
by Gilliansage

I was really impressed by the optical zoom on this camera. As anyone knows that's ever read up on cameras, it's all in the optical zoom. Digital means nothing. Anyway, took to Seattle for GW8. I'm thinking I should either read the manual or spend more time getting to know this camera as half my pictures came out blurry. Granted I had only had it about a week at this time. I find I need to hit the shutter button half way a few times to get it to focus right. All in all I enjoy the use I've gotten out of it. Bought several batteries and a charger elsewhere but didn't even need to change the battery for my whole weekend up in Seattle even took a great pic from my window seat in the plane and one from a moving car.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gilliansage
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
awesome buy
4/25/2010

Customer review by tough123

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by tough123
by tough123

i bought this camera cause im due to have a baby in a few months an we needed a camera that would be able to take pics of a moving baby an so far this camera has been wonderful i would recommend this camera to anyone especially people with children!

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tough123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SUPER WORTH IT
8/25/2010

Customer review by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE
by IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE

this camera is the best. i would recommend it to experienced people with cameras or just beginners.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IWANNABEABILLIONAIRE
Knoxville,Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Camera
5/3/2010

Customer review by Meriga

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Meriga
by Meriga

Wow. This is an excellent camera. I bought this just within the 1st week of its release. The zoom is awesome. The picture Quality is amazing even after the maximum zoom. Panorama is also so good. I would recommend this camera.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Meriga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera!
8/27/2010

Customer review by bigtate

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by bigtate
by bigtate

This is a great camera! We have a Sony A100 and it's great and all...but if you want a camera that'll do just about everything for you...it's a great buy. Took it on a trip recently and where my Canon point-and-shoot would blur everything...this took crystal clear pics. Very easy to use. Finds faces easily. Panoramic is easy to use. The zoom is amazing. Proud I didn't step down a notch to save a few bucks. This really is cheap for what you get.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigtate
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
DISAPPOINTED!!
5/23/2010

Customer review by pepper1

1.0 stars 5/23/2010 by pepper1
by pepper1

First of all we were debating between the cannon and the sony, we chose sony because of the sales guy we spoke to (not from Walmart). Ok, yes the PICTURE quality was great when it took good pics, BUT.... the picture quality was never consistant!! There was a reddish tint to our pictures, blue lines would show up before and after the picture from our hanging lights, and no matter what flash we would adjust to, the picture would come out to bright. But again when the picture was good it was good, but when it was bad it was bad. And it would have been different if maybe one or two pictures were bad but it was like everyother picture we took. So we took the camera back the day after we bought it and got the cannon.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pepper1
Ofallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great camera
4/24/2010

Customer review by clteffeteller

5.0 stars 4/24/2010 by clteffeteller
by clteffeteller

I always try to write reviews on all of the important items I own because I always read reviews before I buy something expensive because I want the best quality items, at least for the price I am going to pay. This camera is definitely worth the amount you pay for it. Before I had a Kodak M1093 IS, and even though it was a great camera and took great pics, I just had to have a bit of an upgrade. The quality of these pictures are so clear and I love the 10X zoom. For a 22 year old, this is definitely something that I pretty much have with me at all times. If your thinking about buying this camera, don't think twice.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clteffeteller
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
*~ Big Wow In A Box~*
9/1/2011

Customer review by Mari651

5.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Mari651
by Mari651

I bought this camera and received it yesterday. I love it!! Its a really good camera. I think that before anyone that rates this camera should really read the instructions from the book and CD that they offer. This camera takes really good crisp and clear photos. I have a 5 year old and a almost 2 year old. My littlest never can sit still and take a picture she is always on the move!! There is a setting just for that and she can run, jump and roll around and I still can snap a shot of her in action and it is not blurred. People that talked about the display and the colors and stuff that shows up on the display it does not show up on your photos. I uploaded my pictures really fast and they look great, no flaws. This is a really good starter camera. I have had a sony before and that took great pictures also. My sister takes professional senior pictures and has done a few weddings, with her almost $600 camera. That camera has an 18x zoom and 10mg. This camera has 10x zoom 14mg. This camera takes pictures just as great as her camera and the zoom is really nice :) In the picture I posted my daughter is rocking back and forth! NO BLUR!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mari651
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not worth the money
7/4/2010

Customer review by Tijana

3.0 stars 7/4/2010 by Tijana
by Tijana

I bought this camera and was very excited about the 10X optical zoom and the 14mp. I had a Canon prior to this (10mp and 4x optical zoom) that took shots much better than this camera did. The photos look very nice when you review them on the camera but when you transfer them on the computer and you zoom in to a 100% view, the photos are very grainy and there is a lot of noise (type of photo grain) on them. I am camera experienced and I took the photos on settings that the photos needed to be set on. It's a nice camera if you don't look at stuff like that but that bothered me. The only thing I liked about this camera was the sweep panorama mode. It took nice panoramic pictures. I give it 5 stars for the panoramic mode. Other than that - not worth the money. You can get a cheaper camera for better quality pictures

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tijana
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT Purchase This Camera
6/20/2010

Customer review by TMay

1.0 stars 6/20/2010 by TMay
by TMay

I have a digital SLR camera and wanted a point and shoot camera to take out when I meet up with friends or just don't feel like lugging my D-SLR around. I wanted to get a high quality point and shoot, so I did a lot of research. This camera was rated rather high, with a few dissatisfied customers. I can now add myself to the list of highly dissatisfied customers. Within 5 minutes I knew that I would be returning this camera. The picture quality was awful, the flash is overpowering and every person had beety red eyes. I was not impressed in the slightest. Again, I have a very high quality D-SLR and now how to use the various features within the camera, so it's not like I didn't know how to make appropriate adjustments to take good quality pictures. I did more research and decided to go with the Canon Powershot 1400IS and this is by far the best point and shoot camera I have EVER owned! Therefore, I DO NOT recommend the Sony CyberShot H55. It is not at all worth your money!

Was this review helpful? (16) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TMay
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
1/22/2011

Customer review by TheZap

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by TheZap
by TheZap

It's all and more of what I expected !!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheZap
Leesburg, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
AMAZING CAMERA
7/3/2010

Customer review by MinniePM

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by MinniePM
by MinniePM

AMAZING CAMERA! I AMA A PRIOR NIKON OWNER AND WAS LOYAL TO NIKON FOR A FEW YEARS THEN RECENTLY WHEN I WANTED TO UPGRADE AN ASSOCIATE SHOWED ME THIS CAMERA COMPLETELY AMAZING TAKES AMAZING PICS AND COULD ZOOM INTO THE PACKAGING ON THE OTHER WALL AND READ IT.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MinniePM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camera for high expectations and low budget
4/20/2012

Customer review by rollyn

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by rollyn
by rollyn

This is actually the second of this camera I've owned. I bought one two years ago but was stolen within the past few months. The camera is great especially for the price. The auto setting is the best I've seen. At larger sizes pictures become grainy quickly, but if you're only going to be printing at 5x7 this is a great camera, even though the model is 2 years old.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rollyn
Tinley Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love the zoom!
9/23/2012

Customer review by helpfulmom123

4.0 stars 9/23/2012 by helpfulmom123
by helpfulmom123

Zoom and flash are great on this camera! only think i don't like is it takes a few extra seconds to snap the next picture - i tried the burst mode to speed things up but then they get blurry over all a am happy with the pictures it take and the extra modes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
helpfulmom123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty decent camera
9/15/2010

Customer review by MerissaC

4.0 stars 9/15/2010 by MerissaC
by MerissaC

I have been very pleased with the performance of this camera so far. Takes beautiful outdoor pictures. I haven't yet figured out all the features of the camera, but that doesn't keep me from being able to take good pictures. It offers the option of easy picture taking or choices to adjust and refine. My only complaint so far is that I still haven't been able to take good low-light pictures. I need to continue to learn the features of the camera to see if that is possible.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MerissaC
Ft Worth, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 152 total reviews
1-20 of 152 reviews