Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
26
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
1-20 of 54 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
This Hoover doesn't suck (up pet hair)
5/6/2011

Customer review by Jaxattack

2.0 stars 5/6/2011 by Jaxattack
by Jaxattack

This product fails to meet it's intended purpose to make sure it gets every last little pet hair. When I was vacuuming our couch that has lab mix hair on it, the little brush just spun around and didn't catch the hairs. I had to use the regular hose instead. The retractable plug might seem nice but it's a real pain in the butt. It retracts when you don't want it to. As you'll be across the room vacuuming, not even pushing that button and it starts to retract unplugging you from the outlet. Then when you're finished vacuuming and are pushing the button for it to retract it doesn't go in all the way and leaves some cord hanging out. The hose also comes loose while you're vacuuming, thus you're not picking up anything and notice this halfway. Hoover should've made it where it clicks into place. I hate this vacuum but it was a gift so I'll be using it till it breaks or I get sick of it. Save yourself the frustration and pass up this piece of junk.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jaxattack
Saint Louis, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
belts
2/10/2016

Customer review by boatracer

2.0 stars 2/10/2016 by boatracer
by boatracer

This vacuum is very hard on belts. The rug height adjustment is a problem as it will not stay at selected level. The unit is kind of difficult to empty and clean up. It is somewhat larger and weighs more which makes it a little cumbersome. wcThe good thing is that it has plenty of vacuum pickup. It also has a good flexible hose and nice tools with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boatracer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Powerful and great for pet owners!
8/18/2010

Customer review by Cherxxjem

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Cherxxjem
by Cherxxjem

I bought this because I had a similar past version that I absoultely loved and lasted a long time. The only down side to this vaccum is that it's heavy! A little hard to haul up and down our very narrow staircase, but other than that, I love this vacuum. We have 2 pitbulls including one mixed breed that sheds a lot! The attachments pick up pet hair great and don't fall off the tower like other vacuums I've had. You can also actually tell the difference when you switch the setting to low and high carpet. A little spendy for me, but worth the buy assuming it lasts!

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cherxxjem
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Was good at first....
11/3/2010

Customer review by KyleighKS

3.0 stars 11/3/2010 by KyleighKS
by KyleighKS

We really enjoyed this vacuum at first, but after awhile things started going down hill. The in canister filter began getting really gross, and it's hard to clean. The pet brush attachment doesn't work at all and there is nothing wrong with it. The suction has decreased a ton, and now one of the belts (that I'm having a hard time finding) is stretched and so the brushes wont turn. We've only had this vacuum for a year, you'd think it would have lasted longer than that for $160. Not to mention this vacuum seems extremely heavy! I do like the cord retraction and all of the other buttons are super easy to use, but very disappointed that I'm unable to use it anymore due to some malfunctions. Beautiful vacuum, but it's leaving my floors not so beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KyleighKS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Agitator Agitates
3/26/2013

Customer review by Dolly01

3.0 stars 3/26/2013 by Dolly01
by Dolly01

I have been a sold to Hoover customer for almost 20 years.  This is my third vacuum.  My second vacuum was still working and I gave it to a neighbor.  I bought this model because I got tired of buying bags.  I have now had this vacuum for 14 months.  One day the vacuum caught a shoe string and I turned the machine off and pulled the shoe string out of the brushroll.  Then when I tried to finish vacuuming the brushroll would not work nor could I hear that heavier engine sound.  I stepped on the brush control and it showed that it was on but the brushes would not move.   I downloaded your manual read to check the condition of brushes and the brushes were okay..  I removed the bottom plate and both belts looked okay.  It would be nice if I can fix this problem myself without having to take my vacuum to someone to fix it.  My poor floors need to be vacuumed so that I can clean them with my old Hoover Steam Vac.  I've had that on for almost 17 years and it still does a great job!

Comment from Ian - 4/1/2013

Hi Dolly, That can be a bit of a doozy when shoestrings or other objects get caught in that brushroll. If your belts are in good condition, then the endcaps on your brush may have seized or wore down due to the friction caused by the jam. We'd recommend purchasing a new brushroll for your sweeper here at http://hoover.com/parts/details/59156548/agitator-wooden. You may also want to engage your brushroll on/off pedal to be sure that the brush is set up to engage when your vacuum is on. We're confident this will fix the issue. If for some reason it does not, please do not hesitate to contact us. You have an awesome sweeper there at home and we want you to continue enjoying your Hoover for years to come. Thanks.

Dolly01
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Awesome!
3/31/2011

Customer review by jesusfreak27

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by jesusfreak27
by jesusfreak27

We bought this vacuum a couple of weeks ago and we absolutely love it! It's lighter weight than I imagined, very powerful, so many different attachments and the pet hair attachment is the best! It gets every single hair off our furniture! Oh, and the one-touch emptying is awesome! No more dust on your hands and it holds tight when in use. I love the one-touch cord rewind too. There's nothing about this vacuum I hate actually. 110% recommend!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jesusfreak27
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum
5/20/2011

Customer review by goodgriefforgetit

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by goodgriefforgetit
by goodgriefforgetit

So far so good! We like the vacuum very much. It cleans well, not terribly bulky or heavy. Really like that it is quieter than expected! The one and only thing that we don't like so far is the cord. It is auto-rewind ... which is cool ... but, the location it comes out of the machine is less than great. It is down low which causes it to be difficult to hold on to when in use and also causes it to end up UNDER the vacuum much of the time. : (. Over all a good machine but, the cord location is not well thought out.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goodgriefforgetit
Yukon, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Hoover Perfect for Pets
11/21/2015

Customer review by spotter5

1.0 stars 11/21/2015 by spotter5
by spotter5

Picks up pet hairs but nothing else. Possibly the most worthless piece of equipment I have had the misfortune to purchase. Must too heavy and unmanageable.

Comment from Kenya - 11/22/2015

Hi spotter5! That doesn’t like Hoover quality. We want to help. Typically when a vacuum loses suction it’s due to some type of blockage either in the hoses or the filters. We recommend checking the lower hose and intake area for clogs as well as replacing your filters every 1-2 years depending on maintenance. Replacement filters are available here http://bit.ly/1dzWU90 under the parts/accessories tab. Hope this is helpful!

spotter5
Would recommend to a friend? No
I LOVE MY HOOVER!
11/29/2014

Customer review by Lobalinda2

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by Lobalinda2
by Lobalinda2

Years ago I had a Hoover I bought off an old couple who couldn't push it around any more. Hoovers have always had excellent suction and this one is no exception. This Hoover has great suction but it seems to almost propel itself. I have cats. I'm amazed at how much hair and dirt it picks up. I first tried the Shark Navigator because the professional reviewers liked it best. Then I brought this one home for a side by side comparison. The Hoover won hands down! I ran the Hoover over the same area as the Shark and it picked up tons more dirt left behind by the Shark. Then I ran the Hoover over an area not swept and followed with the Shark. The Shark didn't pick up anything! I love the retractable cord, too. I don't like the clean-up from the bagless but it's the same with all the bagless vacs. Hoover, if you're listening, would you consider making a clean-out brush for the canister? Other than that, you're the tops!

Lobalinda2
San Diego, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Pet Cyclonic Vacuum
10/29/2010

Customer review by HockleyHeat

1.0 stars 10/29/2010 by HockleyHeat
by HockleyHeat

This product is good for cleaning carpets etc, but does tend to cut out if you use it too long. The biggest problem is the combination brush and dusting tool. The machine is so top heavy that as soon as you use this device, the machine topples over. There doesn't seem to be any way to hold it upright unless two people are there. A shame really, as it does clean well, but the toppling has forced me to accept defeat, and I will seek another brand and donate this one to a family member who might enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HockleyHeat
Ellenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far so good...
11/7/2011

Customer review by RobM2938

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by RobM2938
by RobM2938

Our older Dirt Devil lasted quite awhile...almost 7 years. But it wasn't picking up very well anymore. Put on a new belt and it worked great for about a week, then burned up. We had just vacuumed a few nights before with the old one, then our new one arrived. Put it together in a couple of minutes and couldn't BELIEVE how much this new one picked up...especially the fine particles in the HEPA filter. (Our older one had a HEPA filter too, so we were surprised to see how much more this new one picked up). I would definitely recommend this to a friend. We have not had any problems with this new vacuum...had it for about a month or so now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobM2938
Belleville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Used for three years
9/18/2015

Customer review by JTaylor

5.0 stars 9/18/2015 by JTaylor
by JTaylor

I have had this vac for 3+ years and have loved it! It does what it is advertised to do, and did an awesome job on my "previously thought-to-be clean" carpet. If I ever need to buy a new one, I hope they're still making this one!

JTaylor
Pennsylvania, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great for dog hair
10/14/2012

Customer review by NanaPardy

4.0 stars 10/14/2012 by NanaPardy
by NanaPardy

I love this vacuum. It really picks up the dog hair. I've had an Oreck for years. Was very tired of buys bags for it, and It only picked up the surface items. When I got my Hoover Wind Tunnel I was amazed at the amount of sand that i picked up put of my carpet. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it is heavy and the rewind cord is at the bottom so the cord gets in the way when vacuuming, So I have to thread it through the handle.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NanaPardy
Jensen,Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for dog hair !!!
9/1/2015

Customer review by Annh69

5.0 stars 9/1/2015 by Annh69
by Annh69

Have had for almost 7 yrs., it has been wonderful picking up dog hair !!!

Annh69
Bolingbrook, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What's Up With This?
1/18/2012

Customer review by itsandi

1.0 stars 1/18/2012 by itsandi
by itsandi

I have had this vacumn for several months with no problems. About a month ago it started shutting itself off after only about 5 mins of use and will not turn back on for 30 mins. or longer. Thinking it was something I was doing to cause this I checked the plug in, emptied the cannister (there was barely anything in it), wiggled the cord, checked the hoses, even disassembled the entire vacumn, cleaned everything, checked the belt, and reassembled it. Started vacumning and - once again!! - shut off within 2 or 3 minutes!! I've been trying to find a solution and, in doing so, see that there are MANY more with exactly the same issue. I had, originally, wanted to purchase another brand of vacumn but my husband bought this one. Sorry Hoover, but, it seems, you may have contributed in the selling of a rival companies product.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 1/18/2012

We apologize about the issues you are having your vacuum and understand your frustration. Shut down of the unit indicates a possible clog. Double check and clean the lower base hose, the main hose and the dirt cup filter. Your owners manual will have troubleshooting assistance, or call our Customer Care Department at 1-800-944-9200. Thank you!

itsandi
cordova, tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far, so good...
5/24/2012

Customer review by Momof2inouterspace

4.0 stars 5/24/2012 by Momof2inouterspace
by Momof2inouterspace

I ordered on Monday, got it this morning (Thursday, 9:15 a.m.). It took me longer to read the assembly instructions than it took me to follow them. I used it right away, dog hair was everywhere! (I have to vacuum every other day.) It's a bit on the heavy side, but it has a WIDE base, which picks up more at a time. I'm used to "dumping" the canister a minimum of 4 times while vacuuming my entire house. With this one, I did NOT have to empty until the end, and that was by choice because I hate having to clean it before using. As I said, so far, so good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof2inouterspace
Jupiter, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE LOVE LOVE IT
3/28/2013

Customer review by 6packcatmom

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by 6packcatmom
by 6packcatmom

we just bought our Pet Cyclonic Bagless upright and we love it..we have 6 cats 3 of them are long hair.. and with our old vac.. it just wouldnt pick up there hair. but this Hoover Pet cyc.. hay  I was surprised.. I love this not having too go over the same spot time after time to just get some of it up... two sweeps and the hair is gone... its so easy to push and clean.  I do have one question how do you remove the top canister cone too get the hair out of it.. for some reason there is hair in there..???  I cant afford to alway buy the top cone filter being on Disability. what type of tool is there too remove those screws that hold the plastic container for the cone filter inside.. I tried a phillips but that did not work.. so what do I need...  

6packcatmom
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Terrible - Stay away
3/22/2013

Customer review by Disappointed2

1.0 stars 3/22/2013 by Disappointed2
by Disappointed2

I have never written a review before but felt compelled because of my complete displeasure with this machine.I got this vacuum as a gift. At first it seemed powerful, but I questioned its suction. Besides finding it heavy and bulky, it simply does not pick up items. I had to go over areas again and again and the vacuum failed to pick up. There was a loose string on the rug. I went over it several times and the vacuum did not pick it up. I picked the string up to make sure it was deeply imbedded in the rug. I dropped the string on the rug and again went over it with the vacuum. Again it did not pick up the string. There were many other items it failed to pick up as well. I would never recommend this product.

Comment from Ian - 4/2/2013

Hi Ddalena, Sorry to read about your troubles. You may want to confirm that the brushroll is spinning when your vacuum is operating. If it is not, please press the brushroll on/off pedal. If this is not effective, you may want to check the belt that spins the brushroll. Take a look at this manual for instructions and please contact us is you need more assistance. Thank you so much. http://hoover.com/file/561/

Disappointed2
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Lasted a year...
12/21/2010

Customer review by OurFamily2010

3.0 stars 12/21/2010 by OurFamily2010
by OurFamily2010

We bought this product last year (2009) during a Black Friday deal and were VERY impressed at how much better it worked then our previous vacuum. However throughout the past couple months it has started to make funny noises that became increasingly worse until today when the noises became REALLY loud and the vacuum just stopped working! :( Also, the brushes get VERY easily tangled with pet hair especially if you have a long-haired dog like we do. The handheld attachment for pet hair worked well throughout the past year and I liked how the other attachments worked as well, though.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OurFamily2010
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't Buy Without An Extended Plan
5/20/2012

Customer review by sfc7

1.0 stars 5/20/2012 by sfc7
by sfc7

I bought the Hoover Windtunnel and the silver adjustment button broke off within a year and then at 1.5 years the vaccuum stopped working. I was not able to exchange it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sfc7
Roseville, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews