Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1234 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1234 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

1234 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
715
4 stars
290
3 stars
51
2 stars
42
1 stars
136
1-20 of 1147 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1147 total reviews
1-20 of 1147 reviews
Cleans well and easy to use
2/17/2017

Customer review by Beach Princess

4.0 stars 2/17/2017 by Beach Princess
by Beach Princess

This is a perfect size carpet steamer for my apartment. It is a powerful little shampooer and its tanks clean out so easily!

Beach Princess
San Francisco, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hoover Carpet cleaner
2/12/2017

Customer review by Jlgmain

3.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Jlgmain
by Jlgmain
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this about a month ago, I was expecting something different than I received. It is like my old Hoover Carpet cleaner, so exact quality....but you can not really tell by description or picture, what will be delivered to your home.

Comment from Kenya - 2/13/2017

Hi Jlgmain! Hmm, that seems strange. The product you ordered should match the unit on the product description page. We need a bit more information so we're sending you a private email to better assist!

Jlgmain
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vac but poorly designed
1/9/2015

Customer review by Ticked in Ottawa

3.0 stars 1/9/2015 by Ticked in Ottawa
by Ticked in Ottawa

I've used my steam vac for three years. This week, while cleaning carpets the water supply failed. I phoned repair shops and was told that water pump failure was a common occurrence. But due to slow shipping of parts, costly parts and effort to repair the part, it was not worth while to repair the unit. They recommended purchase of a new vac and did not recommend purchasing another Hoover product. This was a shock to me because I liked the vac. Although it was plastic in construction I'd gotten many years of clean carpets with it. It angers me to suspect that Hoover has planned obsolescence into the product. Hoover seems to assume that I have unlimited resources and enjoy filling landfills with large purchase items. If the vac were better engineered and built, I would gladly have it repaired (at reasonable cost) and continue to use it for many more years. Also consider that this is also a product that is used rarely by the average consumer. The life cycle of this vac is abysmal.

Comment from John - 1/10/2015

Hi Ticked in Ottawa, We understand your frustration. When you buy something, especially a Hoover product, you should expect it to last. We are sending you an email to provide further assistance. Thanks!

Ticked in Ottawa
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Rating of A+
6/20/2012

Customer review by Happydays54

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by Happydays54
by Happydays54

After years of hauling home the store rentals and cleaning carpet for 12 hours to get it done in a day before being charged extra, I bought this machine. The assembly was done in less than half an hour, which was mostly spent reading the manual first. As the little woman of the house, I was quite please with myself when I was finished. I was pleasantly surprised when I used it the first time, at its ease of operation. The powerful suction and heating element leaves the carpet almost dry when finished. The hose attachment is wonderful for cleaning the stairs. I like being able to clean a few rooms at a time, rather than having to finish in a single day. It's not heavy, or complicated to operate. After cleaning the tanks, I usually leave them to dry in the bathtub and then reassemble the unit. I've owned this machine for over a year, and have used it many times. Each time it has worked beautifully, without any problems. It's a wonderful machine, and my personal thanks to the designer at Hoover.

Happydays54
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Disappointed - Wasted Money
8/28/2014

Customer review by mg71

1.0 stars 8/28/2014 by mg71
by mg71

This machine isn't built like the older model Hoover Carpet Cleansers.  This machine has leaked when you use the hand brush cleaner so I brought it to a service center.  I checked it when I picked it up but didn't need to use it and it leaked very little like a drop.  Went to use it when we returned from being away for the winter which by then was out of warranty and it leaked all over the place and didn't matter what you tried to do to the tube which delivers the cleaning detergent leaks where it fits in. Poor design now so can't use it unless we take our furniture outside to clean them.  I am looking for a different companies cleaner because you can't move steps etc outside and you loose so much of your cleaner.  Hoover said it is out of warranty and won't do anything.  We have only used it maybe 3 or 4 times the machine which did carpet which is no problem when we did that. We don't use one that often when you don't have animals or children and you travel so you don't need one very often.  

Comment from Giselle - 8/28/2014

Hi mg71, you SteamVac carpet washer should not leak. We want to help make this right. You will receive a private email shortly for further assistance. Thank you.

mg71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Awesome cleaning!
10/18/2014

Customer review by Memi12023

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by Memi12023
by Memi12023

This is my 4th Hoover steam cleaner.  My first was way back and had no brushes.  My 2nd I still use at our lake home.  The 3rd was still working, but was used a lot and we just decided to go for a new one with more features. This machine is amazing!  It got spots out I didn't even realize were there.  I was confused as to what the difference was with this and the Pet Complete so I called Hoover and asked.  I had seen many asking this question on other sites.  Basically, the difference is in the hand tool, which is designed for cleaning furniture and stairs with lots of pet hair.  As I live in a condo with no stairs and leather couches, I went with this one.  I thank Hoover for clarifying the differences.  My only issue is the power surge button.  It is kind if hard to hold down, but played with it and found a way that is not too difficult. You can't go wrong with either one.  It is well made and by far the best one I have owned.  Keep up with the quality work and improvements.  Thanks Hoover!!

Memi12023
Villa Park, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Broken Impeller in Turbine Assembly
1/22/2017

Customer review by Jax Vic

2.0 stars 1/22/2017 by Jax Vic
by Jax Vic

Looks like I'm not the only one with brushes not turning after using for less than 8 hours. When I disassembled the turbine assembly which drives the brushes, I found the impeller split in two and now I find out you have to buy the entire turbine assembly. Very disappointing!

Comment from Kenya - 1/25/2017

Hi Jax Vic! That sure doesn’t sound like Hoover quality. We want to help. Your SteamVac will need servicing. The good news is this model carries a 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects. For a list of authorized repair centers in your area visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Please let us know if you still need us!

Jax Vic
Jacksonville, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a happy customer
12/19/2014

Customer review by MHWit

1.0 stars 12/19/2014 by MHWit
by MHWit

My steam vac arrived today. I vacuumed thoroughly and used the steam vac to clean my family room this evening. I used it for about 45 minutes with no problems. After emptying the dirty water tank the second time, I started cleaning and the steam vac stopped working. I verified that the plug was completely inserted in the outlet. I checked the circuit breakers and all were fine. I checked placement of the 2 tanks and they were properly inserted. The steam vac will not turn on. I have been searching the internet for 2 hours now and am very frustrated with my purchase. I have owned two Bissels that worked for years. I was hoping to get a steam vac that was lighter, less expensive and did a better job cleaning the carpet. The reviews are misleading. They should say that it cleans well if it works at all, or if the tanks don't leak! I have owned this unit for less than a day, attempted to clean one room and was unsuccessful. What a total waste of time and money!

Comment from John - 12/19/2014

Hi MHWhit, We are sorry to hear your new SteamVac isn't working like it should. We're sending an email now to help. Thanks!

MHWit
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Works soooo well
3/27/2013

Customer review by dpandy

4.0 stars 3/27/2013 by dpandy
by dpandy

I've never owned my own carpet cleaner before this one. My husband sells these in his department at work, so he knew all about this particular model. A little back story: We have 2 small children (one of which is going through a phase and urinates all over the carpet). We also live in the midwest where the sales for carpet cleaners are highest in the US (winter is a bad season for carpets). Our carpet was eggshell white when installed. Suction is great on this model. I can do 2 dry strokes after a wet or clean surge and the carpet is nearly dry. Stick a fan in the room, and the whole carpet is dry within 3 hours tops. With minimal pretreatment this thing got out a 6 month old red Kool-Aid stain, kid urine, and 4 months of tracked in sludge from this wretched winter weather. I definitely recommend this product to anyone who knows how to MAINTAIN their appliances. It's obvious that if you don't read the manual front to back and perform necessary maintenance on something, it will stop working sooner rather than later.

dpandy
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Christm as present day 1
12/27/2016

Customer review by HooverGirl1959

2.0 stars 12/27/2016 by HooverGirl1959
by HooverGirl1959

I noticed white around cap for cleaning solution which I thought looked pre used. I used on small area 8x12, rinsed everything and rubber gasket pooped out and was not a solid piece. The larger rubber gasket also was loose. It seriously seems used. Very disappointed.

Comment from Karissa - 12/29/2016

Hi HooverGirl1959! The gaskets on your Steam Vac should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

HooverGirl1959
Would recommend to a friend? No
I personally like the way this machine works.
11/9/2014

Customer review by Dondoc

4.0 stars 11/9/2014 by Dondoc
by Dondoc

I have had this machine about 2 years now. I have used it about 5 times, and it has worked pretty good up to this point.The trigger sprayer has stopped working. I took apart the handle assy. and found that the trigger supports have broken. They can be made with better support in revision B of the handle trigger support. I have to treat this machine with extreme TLC. I mean like what do you expect for the price of the machine. I wish Hoover would build the same machine and make it HEAVY DUTY. I know it would cost more money, but I already know it works great if you take real good care of it. I will bet that most of the problems out there on this machine are the seals. The seals are very weak and kinda lose. When we wash out the waste tank, the seals can come out. Your all right when we say that it should last longer. And it should. The machine should come with a spare seal set. Dam it Hoover, you have a great machine, now build it right and get some good quality build checks. This good machine should be built in the USA.

Dondoc
Sacramento, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Disappointed
12/11/2016

Customer review by frammacarol

1.0 stars 12/11/2016 by frammacarol
by frammacarol

I bought this last month and used for the first time today. I need to do all my carpets for the holidays. Have always had Hoover vacuums and figured their carpet cleaners must be as good. Used it today and found a puddle under the unit. Turned out the one corner of the dirty water tank has a crack in it. Now I can't do the rest of my carpets. I think it did a good job, but have to wait for it to dry to be sure. I hope this can be resolved in time for the holidays. Not too much time left.

Comment from Karissa - 12/13/2016

Hi frammacarol! The dirty water tank for your SteamVac should not be leaking. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

frammacarol
Long Island, NY
Easy peasy CLEAN!
12/21/2016

Customer review by Just Delighted

5.0 stars 12/21/2016 by Just Delighted
by Just Delighted

I've borrowed this from a friend and it is awesome. Easy to use and it picks up so much dirt, I'm astonished. I came on this site to see how expensive it was an am very pleasantly surprised with the value. It does feel sturdy even though it is largely plastic.

Just Delighted
Bloomfield, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Second use, brushes stopped rotating
12/23/2016

Customer review by Oh well

1.0 stars 12/23/2016 by Oh well
by Oh well

This is only the second time we have used this machine, and the brushes stopped rotating. Nothing we do helps. Heard something snap while using. Good grief.

Comment from Kenya - 12/27/2016

Hi oh well! You shouldn’t be having any issues with the brushes spinning on your SteamVac. We want to help. Please disconnect the brushes by grabbing the outer housing firmly and pulling. Inspect the drive pin for damages. Rotate the brushes, they should be able to complete a 360º turn. If there is any damage to the brush assembly it will need to be replaced. Replacement brushes are always available here: http://bit.ly/1P4hrYA. We hope this helps!

Oh well
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Too Heavy, Works Great!
12/16/2016

Customer review by BonBon

5.0 stars 12/16/2016 by BonBon
by BonBon

I've had the Hoover SteamVac for over a year and give it 5 stars. I'm 65 years old and was pleased with the easiness to operate. Most importantly, it really does a great job cleaning stains. We have off-white carpet and a dog. The spot-cleaning feature is awesome. This SteamVac has served us well. We LOVE it! A+++++ NOTE: Next, I plan to try it on a recliner. (fingers crossed)

BonBon
Middle Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have purchased 2 in 3 years
11/28/2016

Customer review by Bigtruckin1980

1.0 stars 11/28/2016 by Bigtruckin1980
by Bigtruckin1980

The first one purchased quit having suction after about 6 months it was returned and replaced. The replacement scrub brushes seized up after about a year and 3 months. The second one had also began leaking all turned off the clean water tank was left attached. Since it was out of warranty and did a decent job cleaning for the price I purchased a second one but having had trouble with it leaking and the 360 spin brushes has seized up also. Although this product does do a good job cleaning the floor and is heated and convenient for carpeted stairs and very unlikely to purchase another one

Comment from Karissa - 12/6/2016

Hi Bigtruckin1980! Your SteamVac Carpet Cleaner should last longer than this. We want to help. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance in this matter. We look forward to hearing from you!

Bigtruckin1980
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of junk!
6/18/2013

Customer review by nothappyatall

1.0 stars 6/18/2013 by nothappyatall
by nothappyatall

I bought this one week ago, opened the box today and set it up just as the instructions said. I treated all of the stains on my carpet, got everything ready and started to clean. I had a 4'X4' area saturated before I noticed that the brushes were not moving and the unit was not sucking up the dirty solution. I called customer service for trouble shooting and was told that if the white area where the brushes link in to was not moving then it was an internal problem and I needed to return the machine to the store. Which means taking it apart, boxing it back up and shipping it back-no easy solution when my carpets are wet and I have stain treatment on the spots. I assumed a brand new out of the box product would work and put my confidence in that and now my super quick clean the carpet in the living room before company comes has turned into an absolute disaster. My husband is on his way to rent a machine from the store so I can get the mess that has been made cleaned up before our company arrives tomorrow. Thanks Hoover, stellar product!!

Comment from Ian - 6/19/2013

Hi! Before you send the SteamVac back, we had an idea that we hope will get you working again. We put together a quick video for you. You can see it here: http://youtu.be/dgnThXUX3vQ Please let us know if you still need any assistance afterwards. Thanks so much!

nothappyatall
Council Grove, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
The best machine for the money
12/8/2016

Customer review by sweetpea

5.0 stars 12/8/2016 by sweetpea
by sweetpea

I bought this a few weeks ago. I couldn't wait to get it. When I did I used it right away. I was amazed how clean it got my carpet and how fast the carpet dried. I love this machine.

sweetpea
Lexington, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not really a "Steam Vac" but works well.
12/9/2013

Customer review by Shinjiduo

4.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Shinjiduo
by Shinjiduo

The negative: Although the unit does heat the wet floor with a jet of warm air to assist drying, this unit does not have any steam and hence is not a "Steam Vac" like it's title explicitly states. The power cord is also fairly short so you may need an extension cord. Although the cleaning path is wide enough for me I could see some people wanting a wider track. The positive: The unit cleans well and sucks up water exceptionally well. The unit is easy to assemble, the tanks are easily removed, filled and emptied. The clean surge feature helps with stubborn stains and is easy to use with a simple switch press on the handle of the unit. The brush speed is also easy to control with a simple switch that is located on the left side of the unit. The hand utilities are easy to attach and use as well. Overall I think the Steam Vac is worth the purchase and I would recommend it to anyone who needs to have their carpet cleaned. Even if the Steam Vac Lacks the actual steam. It cleans the carpet and is easy to use, in the end that is where this unit shines.

Shinjiduo
Valrico, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I am pleased with this product!
11/12/2011

Customer review by Dee

5.0 stars 11/12/2011 by Dee
by Dee

Just received my cleaner today and started using it. I am so pleased I felt compelled to stop in the middle of my carptet cleaning to add this comment. I've owned several cleaners from Bissell; no more. I know this Hoover model is not the top of the line but it is so worth the money. It's powerful, has great suction, the scrubbers are pulling the nap up. I'm using the cleaner that came with it so I'm not sure if it's one of these, or all of the above that is giving me great results. I know when I should see a large amount of dirt being sucked through in certain traffice areas - and I see it. I also see it pulling in all the water. I don't have a wet carpet; it's barely damp. When I empty the dirty water, I see fine particles of dirts and sand, like a sludge on the bottom of the tank, (hey-I live in the country and dirt gets tracked in big time). With a grandchild crawling on the rug, I want it clean. I'm really pleased!

Dee
Kenosha, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 1147 total reviews
1-20 of 1147 reviews