Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

97 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
28
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
14
1-20 of 91 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
You get what you pay for!
10/9/2013

Customer review by Jemsey

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Jemsey
by Jemsey

I read a lot of reviews on this before purchasing. There were a lot of complaints I didn't understand. If you want a Dyson, buy a Dyson. If you want an Oreck, buy and Oreck. I needed a vacuum that would do a good job and I wasn't going to pay a lot of money because I knew it would be abused here (seems like we never stop remodeling our 1900's home). My previous vacuum was the earlier model of this and I got it from my mother-in-law who purchased it because it was light weight, that was 15 years ago! Once again, since we owned it, I know what kind of abuse it has taken, and that is why I decided to purchase another one. We have mainly wood flooring, some linoleum, some tile, and two area rugs. As for suction, I was going too slow on the linoleum, and it sucked it up right up off the floor! (Since then I have learned you just can't sweep slow, you have to keep it moving, and it still does a wonderful job.) I typically run the sweeper through the house a couple of times a week and so far I have had no complaints. Someone said it was noisy, I have never had one that isn't, and so what? It sounds like a sweeper! Someone complained about the cord being too short, they must have huge rooms because I haven't had that problem either, but an extension cord is a cheap fix for that problem! I like the idea of having bags, just wish Wal-Mart carried them in store, but I ordered the vacuum online, guess it's only to reason that I should have to order the bags online as well. I hope this helps, I typically don't write reviews, but if this one last half as long as the last one, I figure $50 for 7 years I would be happy! (Something added I wouldn't have looked for is the light on it as well, it's amazing what you see with it and then sweep it up!!!)

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jemsey
Home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Average for surface cleaning and not deep cleaning
7/21/2011

Customer review by bigd31

2.0 stars 7/21/2011 by bigd31
by bigd31

I've owned this vacuum cleaner for about 3 yrs now and never really liked it. I only bought the item out of convenience and price point. However, the true adage goes..you get what you paid for. First off, this vacuum cleaner, in my opinion, is terribly loud. Ear piercing loud!! At times I have to put ear plugs on or bathroom tissue to plug my ears from the noise. Now, no vacuum cleaner can ever be quiet but there are some that are quieter that this one. The vac is only marginally good for surface dirt cleaning for carpets/bare floors and not for true deep cleaning for carpets. I mentioned marginally good because at times I have to vacuum (pass) the dirty area(s) twice/three times to pickup the heavier particles. This goes for both carpet and bare floors!! Now, I do have deep carpets so this is possibly why this vac doesn't clean sufficiently as I'd like. Of course, your mileage may very depending if you have deep vs short piled carpet. But overall vac unit mode suction, in my opinion, is not very strong. However, this vac unit is on the lighter side weight (12lbs) and a bit easier to carry upstairs/downstairs (for me). The hose feature mode does have very good suction. But having a strong hose suction also means super loud noises when in use. These are probably the only 2 decent features I can point out for this vac. There is no stair hand gripe feature on this unit so cleaning the stairs is a bit cumbersome. Of course not all vac units have this feature but would be a plus in my opinion for those who have stairs to clean. Overall, wouldn't recommend this vac unit to anyone. As cheap gift to a friend/inlaws ;) maybe but for your own home use...never!! Pros: - light weight (12lbs) - hose suction is very strong - price - auto height adjustment from carpet to bare (no need to flip a switch) - bagged (no containers to empty out) - good for surface cleaning carpets/bare floors - made mainly of plastic parts but I think vac unit is somewhat durable (have owned for 3yrs now w/ no broken pieces yet) Cons: - extremely loud - overall vacuum mode suction is not strong - not good for deep cleaning on carpets - no stair gripe feature (optional plus) - hose attachment feature is a bit short even with extension tube - super loud!!!! (just needed to point this out again)

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigd31
San Jose, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
dirt devil
5/3/2011

Customer review by marsh243

3.0 stars 5/3/2011 by marsh243
by marsh243

well it is powerful does a good job on floor. my wife wanted one that was light like our old one.. it says under 12 lbs... our old one weight was 11 lbs.. but i got tired of cleaning the filter all the time.. we wanted something light to do the stairs.. it weighed 14 lbs on my scale.. too heavy for us to use on stairs. we decided to keep it and get something light for the stairs.. i wrote dirt devil about the weight .. they offered a refund.. the point is it says under 12 lbs.. thanks

Was this review helpful? (35) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marsh243
carrollton,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good vacuum
3/12/2014

Customer review by goldsasha

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by goldsasha
by goldsasha

I bought this vacuum to use in my upstairs so I wouldn't have to carry my Shark upstairs all the time. I went with bagged like a lot of other reviewers because of the nuisance of emptying the bagless ones. This vacuum has great suction and does a good job on carpets and smooth floors. It is very, very noisy though. The thing that was the most annoying and the reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it comes in a lot of parts that you have to assemble. I never had a vacuum that was such a pain to assemble. They should package it better so you only have a few parts to snap together. Also, when you want to use the attachments you have to shut the vac off and release the hose from the bottom where it is snapped in, instead of just lifting it off and attaching the parts like most other vacs. For its price though it is a decent vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldsasha
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect Economic Choice
5/5/2014

Customer review by SunshineHikerGirl

5.0 stars 5/5/2014 by SunshineHikerGirl
by SunshineHikerGirl

I bought this vacuum based on a review I saw on TV where they said this one did well on all their performance tests (suction, maneuverability, etc). It is a VERY BASIC vacuum and has a bag (apparently the research says this is better), but it works really well on both my thick carpet and tile floors. It doesn't have a knob to adjust for thickness - apparently does it on it's own. And it drags a bit on my thick carpet, but that doesn't bother me at all. I am really impressed and you can't beat the price; you get a top performing vacuum for the least amount of money. SO WORTH IT!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SunshineHikerGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent vacuum!
3/3/2014

Customer review by Dlaws142

5.0 stars 3/3/2014 by Dlaws142
by Dlaws142

After having several unsuccessful experiences with bagless vacuums, I happily returned to this bagged model and, quite frankly, I couldn't have made a better choice. Since we have pets (two cats), pick up is particularly important. Well, the Dirt Devil Featherlite Bagged Upright didn't fail us, plus it wasn't overpriced like so many similar vacuums. I am happy with this purchase!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dlaws142
Detroit, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price
9/5/2013

Customer review by MJCGirl

4.0 stars 9/5/2013 by MJCGirl
by MJCGirl

This vacuum costs so little, I wasn't sure how it would perform, but I read some good reviews, so I bought it. It is lightweight, and has great suction. It's a bit noisy, but a great deal. I paid only $45 for it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJCGirl
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good vacuum, at a good price.
6/3/2013

Customer review by housewifez

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by housewifez
by housewifez

This is my second Featherlite vacuum. First one lasted about 4yrs..... the bearing on the rotator brush froze up and broke the belt. A new rotator brush with the bearings would have cost $34.00, then also would have needed the belt. After pricing, decided to just purchase new vacuum. New model has had few changes and expect good use out of it as well. Would recommend. I personally do not like the bagless vacuums due to high cost of changing filters repeatedly, even though bags are needed, feel it is a more economical way to go.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
housewifez
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deal!
8/22/2013

Customer review by InkietheCat

4.0 stars 8/22/2013 by InkietheCat
by InkietheCat

It isn't as well made as my old bagged Dirt Devil (made in USA) but it is lightweight and easy to handle, a great price, and nearly sucked the carpet loose from the floor. I hope it holds up for quite a while.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InkietheCat
Odenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little vacuum for the price!!!!
3/22/2014

Customer review by meticulousmolly

4.0 stars 3/22/2014 by meticulousmolly
by meticulousmolly

Love that it is light-weight and the suction is amazing!!! Even has a light! The only negative things I have to say about it is that the cord is a little too short, and I wish it came with a longer hose and floor attachment tool. Other than that, it is an awesome little vacuum! You can't beat it for $44.00!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meticulousmolly
Northern Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it
6/18/2014

Customer review by bargainhunterinpittsburgh

5.0 stars 6/18/2014 by bargainhunterinpittsburgh
by bargainhunterinpittsburgh

Its my 2nd Dirt Devil Featherlite. Great at picking up dog hair...hope they don't stop making these. I noticed though that the cord on this one is shorter than the cord on the last one I purchased.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainhunterinpittsburgh
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good vacuum
6/20/2013

Customer review by bongobum

4.0 stars 6/20/2013 by bongobum
by bongobum

this vacuum works great! good suction. easy to put on attachments.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bongobum
everett,wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
excellent vacuum
11/23/2013

Customer review by mildren1958

5.0 stars 11/23/2013 by mildren1958
by mildren1958

I've been a cleaning woman most of my life. I've used every type of vac from a super cheap stick up to a very expensive back pack model. I really am impressed with this little dirt devil. It works just as advertised. Light weight, very powerful, not clunky, and easy to work with. For $50 you can not possibly beat this great machine!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mildren1958
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very good light weight vacuum
4/23/2014

Customer review by paininthenickname

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by paininthenickname
by paininthenickname

I use this vacuum in the upstairs bedrooms of my home. Easy to handle because it is so light. It has good suction. It sells at a reasonable price and gets the job done. Very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paininthenickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/26/2012

Customer review by skinKnee

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by skinKnee
by skinKnee

I really like it, it sucks really well and it is really light in weight but heavy duty in clean and cheap so you cant beat that

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skinKnee
canyon country, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price, I always like the vacuums w/bags!!!
1/21/2014

Customer review by Ridy25

3.0 stars 1/21/2014 by Ridy25
by Ridy25

I Like Bag vacuums better verses non-bag less vacuum, I hate it when u empty the container and dirt flys everywhere my face,hands,arms and the floor!!! Do not want another bagless vacuum...ever!!! I love my Dirt Devils vacuum that's all I buy. Now my vacuum has a faulty bracket that the cord gets wrap around the top and bottom prones,the top suppose to go up and the bottom goes down; my top prone goes down!!! I can't turn it up either!! I need a replacement bracket.I have the vacuum all put together, so can I get my replacement part as soon as possible? Very good customer! Thank u...;(

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DirtDevil - 2/13/2014

Hi Ridy25, we want to help but may need a little more information. Please give us a call at 800-321-1134 so that we can better assist you. Thanks!<br /><br />-Ian<br />Dirt Devil Customer Care

Ridy25
Cinti.,Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
4/9/2013

Customer review by packerfan757

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by packerfan757
by packerfan757

Is it loud? Yes. but it's a $50 vacuum. Is it powerful? Yeah, actualy. Is it a great value for the price? O my gosh yes. This is my 2nd one. the first one lasted 5 years!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
packerfan757
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good little vacuum
6/15/2014

Customer review by carpediem1967

4.0 stars 6/15/2014 by carpediem1967
by carpediem1967

This is a good little vacuum and is my second purchase of this particular item. The first vacuum was purchased over 6 years ago and still works but has a few cracked parts and the beater bar is pretty worn out. You really can't beat the price on this vacuum. It has great suction and cleans the carpet very good. Make sure to clean off the beater bar regularly, especially if you have long hair or anyone with long hair in your household. If the beater bar clogs up and you'll burn up your belts quickly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
carpediem1967
Aurora, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very hard to push
7/21/2014

Customer review by Jim1065

2.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Jim1065
by Jim1065

My wife and I only tried this for a minute. We have an area rug over laminate. The vacuum was so hard to push, my wife could barely move it. We returned it with no problem. If you have hardwood, laminate, or low pile carpet, this would be excellent, bu for other types of rug, not a good solution.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jim1065
Rotterdam, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TERRIBLE!!! It would work better as a leaf blower!
3/28/2012

Customer review by Eminem129

1.0 stars 3/28/2012 by Eminem129
by Eminem129

BATTEN DOWN THE HATCHES!!!! This is THE worst vacuum in the WORLD!!! Since I have bare floors, the air that comes out of the front of the vacuum blows everything out of the way before it can even pick it up! I vacuum daily, and I have to say it has almost brought me to tears watching what I want to vacuum be constantly blown just out of reach! I'm at the point now where I'm willing to PAY $40 for someone to take this profoundly useless hunk of junk off my hands! This item is worth NO AMOUNT OF MONEY!

Was this review helpful? (8) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eminem129
Spring Hill
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews