Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

93 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 stars
18
1-20 of 84 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Easy to use
8/16/2016

Customer review by Red devil

4.0 stars 8/16/2016 by Red devil
by Red devil

This is my 4th dirt Devil. the first one I bought a couple of years ago lasted for a long time. I used it a lot and when it finally gave out I bought another one that did not last very long. So I bought another one and it did not last very long either. I probably should have done something under the warranty but I didn't. So when they came on sale again just a month ago I went to buy one, but had to take a rain check and just got it on the 12th of August. So far so good, but it has only been 5 days!! I hope this one will last as long as the first one, and if it doesn't I won't be buying anymore. I really like it because it is much easier for small crumbs and bits than the vacuum cleaner. So cross your fingers!!!!

Red devil
Nova Scotia, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacement
10/16/2016

Customer review by Judy Wan

5.0 stars 10/16/2016 by Judy Wan
by Judy Wan

I have two dust busters in my home, one upstairs and one in my sewing room. I have bought others over the years but the Scorpion outlasts the others 2-1. I had no hesitation when my old one died on what to replace it with.

Judy Wan
NL, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent buy
10/12/2016

Customer review by rhkeyser1

5.0 stars 10/12/2016 by rhkeyser1
by rhkeyser1

This is our second Dirt Devil handheld, it is just really great. Works super on any type of spill or easy clean up job. Both my husband and I use it and we keep it handy at all times.

rhkeyser1
Azusa, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Inconvenient design with some issues
3/8/2014

Customer review by Nickname2014

2.0 stars 3/8/2014 by Nickname2014
by Nickname2014

Pluses: * The battery seems to be holding up well after perhaps a year or so of use. * The vacuum is fairly powerful -- excellent for picking up crumbs, which is mostly what I use it for. Minuses: * The unit hangs on its wall-mounted recharging station with opening down. The flap does seal fairly well, but leaks a small amount whenever the unit is hung. If you bump the "open" button, the entire dust container falls to the floor! * The unit is difficult to hang on the recharging station. All they needed was to hang it with the contacts firmly against the charger's contacts, but for some reason they make you impale it onto a support to accomplish this, and that proves difficult to do. * The discharge vents are on the sides of the unit and discharge sideways, rather than up or back. Hence, if there's dirt all around the unit, that to the side is blown away by the discharge. Vents should have pointed completely away from the aria being vacuumed. * I hate the red color. There is no closet for me to mount this in, so it's right out there, a big bloody spot on the wall of my kitchen! * The flip-up "snout" for tight corners does not always secure properly in either position.

Nickname2014
New Jersey, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Battery dies out with no use, and after a while stops working at all
8/15/2015

Customer review by jessicazanni

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by jessicazanni
by jessicazanni

Bought this about a year ago and followed the instructions about letting it die out before putting on the charger, to increase battery life. The battery lasted about one minute, when fully charged, but that was fine to me. Then I started taking it out of the charger when charging was complete, as instructed. Bad idea: when I tried to use again, it had no battery. Yes, you read it well, the battery dies out EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT USING IT. Solution: keep the vac connected to the charger all the time (what is not recommended by the manufacturer). They say you have to charge if for 24 hours before using, but you can't keep it charging constantly, or in other words you have to KNOW 24 HRS IN ADVANCE WHEN YOU WILL NEED THE VACUUM. I decided to keep it charging constantly anyways, because I used it for quick pickups. After a few weeks with no use, the vacuum simply doesn't work anymore. The indicator light keeps blinking (no instruction for that in the manual), and it doesn't turn on. Filter is clean, charger connectors are clean, nothing unusual. Don't know if it was because of the constant charging, or because the product is really disposable after a year. Would never recommend it to anyone.

jessicazanni
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Regretful Purchase
4/28/2016

Customer review by Angela K

2.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Angela K
by Angela K

I bought this about a month ago for use in my rv, and I now wish I had just spent the extra bit of money to buy something more powerful. Sure, on hard surfaces this works ok, but it's essentially useless on carpet. I watch as bits of dirt, grass, or pet hair are just flicked back and forth without being vacuumed up. It's especially clear that it has done little when I go to empty it and only a sprinkling of dust is inside. Beyond that, it takes 24 hours to recharge for only about 6 minutes of use. Even if it is only meant for "small jobs," those jobs typically take longer than 6 minutes because of the poor suction!

Angela K
Preston, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great, little dirt picker-upper!
5/22/2016

Customer review by Tommy S

5.0 stars 5/22/2016 by Tommy S
by Tommy S

I read some of the negative reviews and was surprised to read the negative remarks made my a few. This little Dirt Devil is light weight, has powerful suction, and the charge lasts a long time - I couldn't or didn't want to run it for longer than 10 minutes and even after that, it was still going strong. The only thing I can say that I have to get use to doing is putting it back in the charging unit that I mounted on the wall. It's a bit tricky to find the area that you need to hold it in place in the charger.

Tommy S
Mechanicsburg, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dirt Devil
7/9/2016

Customer review by Winstons

5.0 stars 7/9/2016 by Winstons
by Winstons

This is a replacement for a different model that I originally had and am very pleased with this unit. I use it around a cat litter box and it does a great job. It has lots of suction and the charge is excellent. So far so good! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Winstons
Bradenton, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacement Dirt Devil
7/20/2016

Customer review by Marcat

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by Marcat
by Marcat

We are enjoying the convenience of our new Dirt Devil [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Marcat
windsor,ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
charcoal starter
7/2/2015

Customer review by Mike JFP

3.0 stars 7/2/2015 by Mike JFP
by Mike JFP

I don't use it as a vacuum. I took the front end off and put duct tape over the right side air outlet. I start my real charcoal not the kingsford kind, but the real kind in my barbecue grill. I use a propane torch and set it on fire all around the base for a minute or two. Then I turn on the vacuum and blow air toward the embers. Don't get too close and work your way around. You will be grilling in minutes. And when you are done grilling, take your watering can and sprinkle water on the coals and close the cover. It stops the burning and you can reuse the charcoal. Don't put water on the grill, move it to the side. You might crack it if you get it wet. I agree that the battery life is too short.

Mike JFP
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
battery is junk
5/30/2016

Customer review by jimpetty

1.0 stars 5/30/2016 by jimpetty
by jimpetty

just like EVERYONE else, I am having the SAME ISSUE, with this piece of junk that will not take a charge. The light flashes for a few seconds then goes dark and the machine will not charge. Completely USELESS. One star is too many for this machine. I think we used it twice in the year we have had it.

jimpetty
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great performance.
4/27/2016

Customer review by jenny penny

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by jenny penny
by jenny penny

I wanted a small, light workhorse for quick, small jobs.. this is great. I need it to do quick clean-ups on steps and under bird cages;;; seeds/feathers. Perfect. I use it for times where and when I don't want to have to pull out the main vacuum. Love it!

jenny penny
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than I expected
3/25/2016

Customer review by Bonnie1934

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Bonnie1934
by Bonnie1934

Mine was a free replacement for one that did not hold a charge from the very beginning. This one is terrific and holds a charge for a very long time. Hooray!!!!

Bonnie1934
Louisville,Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
second one and enjoying it as much as the first.
3/25/2016

Customer review by Eileenbear

5.0 stars 3/25/2016 by Eileenbear
by Eileenbear

a little picker upper with a lot of power that makes cleaning quick and easy.

Eileenbear
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First one did not live up to promos.
3/4/2016

Customer review by Ruth

4.0 stars 3/4/2016 by Ruth
by Ruth

The second one seems to be much better. No problem contacting company and they were very prompt dealing with my issue.

Ruth
Pine Hill, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
nice size
2/4/2015

Customer review by grandma3

3.0 stars 2/4/2015 by grandma3
by grandma3

I purchased this vacuum 1 year ago when I also bought a full size Dirt Devil vacuum. It worked very well when I used it for small jobs. In the past 2 months it dies almost instantly upon use and now the charger will not recharge at all, the light just blinks. I like the vacuum portion, but the charger seems to be the problem. It is difficult to fit the vacuum into and take back out upon use. The charger cost almost the same as the product which would make purchase of a new one crazy.

grandma3
Heilwood, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Usage frequency:Weekly
Level of expertise:Advanced
Only good for quick, very light jobs
12/13/2015

Customer review by akbass

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by akbass
by akbass

Not at all impressed with this. It can sit on the electric charger for days, even weeks, and on first use, the power starts running down in about 15-20 seconds. It also seems to be very finicky as far as the exact angle you have to hold it at for it to pick things up. The filter is kind of a pain to clean. All in all, not impressed.

akbass
Anchorage, AK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great in the workshop
1/15/2016

Customer review by Bill41

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Bill41
by Bill41

Ideal for quick machine cleanup in wood shop, rather than dragging out the shop vac. Wide mouth for big chips, and the nozzle is perfect for nooks and crannies on and around the machines. Should have gotten one long ago.

Bill41
mystic,ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Product
12/16/2015

Customer review by Roger123

1.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Roger123
by Roger123

It worked well for about two months, then it was difficult to recharge the battery and, when it did, it didn't last more than 2 minutes. I threw all the components in the recycling bin. It was still on the warranty, but it was not worth to have it replaced.

Roger123
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Quality nonreplaceable battery pack
10/21/2015

Customer review by stungbyascorpion

1.0 stars 10/21/2015 by stungbyascorpion
by stungbyascorpion

I bought 2 of these. They have a battery pack that is not replaceable and the battery pack has a very low life, therefore if you buy one, don't expect it work after a couple months, even if it has not been used, just charged and waiting to be used. it's a throwaway vacuum to top off the already filled landfills.

stungbyascorpion
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews