Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

78 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
8
1 stars
15
1-20 of 69 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Performs As Expected
9/17/2013

Customer review by Crazee4Walmart

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by Crazee4Walmart
by Crazee4Walmart
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this item despite the negative comments by other reviewers. This is a cordless hand vac and it performs as it should, in this reviewer's opinion. The suction is powerful and better than expected. The motor sounds strong. It has worked to pick up small items (ie, crumbs, dust bunnies, dirt, lint etc). Those are the items that I plan to use it on, not nuts, bolts or bowling balls. The flip-out extension is handy as all heck. The only negative comment that I agree with is that it's somewhat difficult to blindly hang the hand vac in it's wall holster. With that said, I was fortunate to be able to hang the holster at eye level and still have an outlet to plug it into. Now I can visually line up the hook on the holster with the hole on the hand vac with 100% accuracy. I can't comment on battery length because I've only used it for short periods of time. I would recommend this item, expecially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazee4Walmart
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quick vac
1/18/2016

Customer review by cat lady

4.0 stars 1/18/2016 by cat lady
by cat lady

Good for quick pick , lite ups and service from Dirt Devil is great!

cat lady
PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great in the workshop
1/15/2016

Customer review by Bill41

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Bill41
by Bill41

Ideal for quick machine cleanup in wood shop, rather than dragging out the shop vac. Wide mouth for big chips, and the nozzle is perfect for nooks and crannies on and around the machines. Should have gotten one long ago.

Bill41
mystic,ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great
1/5/2016

Customer review by gaspara

5.0 stars 1/5/2016 by gaspara
by gaspara

now that I have a replacement, it works like a dream

gaspara
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay for the price
9/2/2011

Customer review by Number1PAgirl

3.0 stars 9/2/2011 by Number1PAgirl
by Number1PAgirl

I disagree with "an anonymous user" in CA. These hand-helds are only meant to be run for a few minutes anyway, for cleaning up little messes. It was not designed to be used for regular house cleaning, which it sounds like she's mis-using it to do. That's what a vacuum cleaner is for. It works fine for the price...and for what it was designed to do, cleaning up small messes.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Number1PAgirl
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/9/2012

Customer review by svoss1025

4.0 stars 2/9/2012 by svoss1025
by svoss1025

My primary reason for choosing this vacuum was that it was one of the few that I could find that had a wall mountable charginging cradle. I use the vacuum in the kitchen to clean up small messes and for that it seems to work rather well. I only use it for maybe 5 minutes tops and the battery doesn't seem to wear down.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
svoss1025
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Product
12/16/2015

Customer review by Roger123

1.0 stars 12/16/2015 by Roger123
by Roger123

It worked well for about two months, then it was difficult to recharge the battery and, when it did, it didn't last more than 2 minutes. I threw all the components in the recycling bin. It was still on the warranty, but it was not worth to have it replaced.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/23/2016

Hi Roger123! Oh no, we don't recommend that you throw any components away to your Scorpion and please keep in mind, that our units come with limited manufacturer warranties that cover against motor/mfg. defects. If there are any issues, please don't hesitate to let us know by calling 1-800-321-1134 (Monday-Friday 8:00-6:00 p.m. EST.) We're always here to help out, thank you!

Roger123
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Only good for quick, very light jobs
12/13/2015

Customer review by akbass

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by akbass
by akbass

Not at all impressed with this. It can sit on the electric charger for days, even weeks, and on first use, the power starts running down in about 15-20 seconds. It also seems to be very finicky as far as the exact angle you have to hold it at for it to pick things up. The filter is kind of a pain to clean. All in all, not impressed.

Comment from Kenya - 12/14/2015

Hi akbass! On a full 24 hour charge you should get a run time of about 5-7 minutes from your Scorpion. A simple reset should restore the run time. To reset the battery simply unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. Run the hand vac until it completely goes dead and then re-charge for a complete 24 hours. That should do it. Keep in mind your Scorpion carries a 3 year warranty, so let us know if this doesn’t work for you!

akbass
Anchorage, AK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't waste your money
12/13/2015

Customer review by 2 artists

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by 2 artists
by 2 artists

I purchased the Scorpion 6.0V. Only used it 5 or 6 times. About the fourth time it was evident that it was only partially charging. At the sixth use I only received 30 seconds of gasping power.

Comment from Kenya - 12/14/2015

Hi 2 artists! On a full 24 hour charge you should get a run time of about 5-7 minutes from your Scorpion. A simple reset should restore the run time. To reset the battery simply unplug the charger for 1-2 minutes. Run the hand vac until it completely goes dead and then re-charge for a complete 24 hours. Your Scorpion carries a 3 year warranty, so let us know if this doesn’t work out for you!

2 artists
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good
3/31/2014

Customer review by gin123180

5.0 stars 3/31/2014 by gin123180
by gin123180
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can't speak for the battery life, but I'm very happy with the sucking power. Gets the job done well and quickly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gin123180
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this little Vacuum!
7/16/2012

Customer review by Trunka

5.0 stars 7/16/2012 by Trunka
by Trunka

I bought a second one for our RV, because I use one at home also. Perfect size! Highly Recommend!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trunka
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This product works like it says..lubbin it!,,
10/21/2013

Customer review by Busybee888

4.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Busybee888
by Busybee888

I orderd this product I spite of a few bad reviews saying it wouldn't pick up but I don't know what they were using it for but it works just fine for my purposes,I'm a crafter and I use it to pick up paper particles fabric particles string lint and crumbs on my couch and bed because I also love snacking in bed lol,I used it on my carpet to spot pickup ,I would have given it 5 stars but I don't like the fact that you need filters but they are cheap on amazon four of them for ten or one I think for four also walmarts carry them..in store...all in all I'm pleased with my purchase and it works well!..hopes this helps

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busybee888
Detroit,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Battery dies out with no use, and after a while stops working at all
8/15/2015

Customer review by jessicazanni

1.0 stars 8/15/2015 by jessicazanni
by jessicazanni

Bought this about a year ago and followed the instructions about letting it die out before putting on the charger, to increase battery life. The battery lasted about one minute, when fully charged, but that was fine to me. Then I started taking it out of the charger when charging was complete, as instructed. Bad idea: when I tried to use again, it had no battery. Yes, you read it well, the battery dies out EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT USING IT. Solution: keep the vac connected to the charger all the time (what is not recommended by the manufacturer). They say you have to charge if for 24 hours before using, but you can't keep it charging constantly, or in other words you have to KNOW 24 HRS IN ADVANCE WHEN YOU WILL NEED THE VACUUM. I decided to keep it charging constantly anyways, because I used it for quick pickups. After a few weeks with no use, the vacuum simply doesn't work anymore. The indicator light keeps blinking (no instruction for that in the manual), and it doesn't turn on. Filter is clean, charger connectors are clean, nothing unusual. Don't know if it was because of the constant charging, or because the product is really disposable after a year. Would never recommend it to anyone.

jessicazanni
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/18/2012

Customer review by BuyerLI

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by BuyerLI
by BuyerLI
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great To use on steps . Thats why I bought it , so I wouldnt have to lug a big vaccuum all around .. Great for the little messes or crumb spills in corners . Easy to clean out and charge ..Of course its not a monster on big messes , but for the quick little 2 minute cleanups .....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuyerLI
Long Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Pleased with the Warranty Service
10/27/2015

Customer review by Archie

4.0 stars 10/27/2015 by Archie
by Archie

We had one fail after 2 years and after one call and the mailing of the label we received a replacement vacuum. My mother uses it to suck up flies the best tool, no mess like a fly swatter. The vacuum has good suction, is light and easy to handle.

Archie
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Quality nonreplaceable battery pack
10/21/2015

Customer review by stungbyascorpion

1.0 stars 10/21/2015 by stungbyascorpion
by stungbyascorpion

I bought 2 of these. They have a battery pack that is not replaceable and the battery pack has a very low life, therefore if you buy one, don't expect it work after a couple months, even if it has not been used, just charged and waiting to be used. it's a throwaway vacuum to top off the already filled landfills.

Comment from Kenya - 10/22/2015

Hi stungbyascorpion! We don’t consider the Scorpion a throw-away vacuum. Your Scorpion should stand the test of time. We have a few more questions. We are sending you a private email to better assist. Thanks!

stungbyascorpion
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too difficult to get off charger
3/14/2014

Customer review by Snvan

2.0 stars 3/14/2014 by Snvan
by Snvan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this red hand vac because I had the white one (an older model) almost identical to it and needed a new one. With this model the vac plugs into a charging tray. It is SO difficult to get it off the tray. My kids used to clean up around the kitchen table after dinner with the old one; they can't even get this one off the charger. I gave it two stars because it's still a great price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Snvan
Youngstown, oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just sent this as a replacement and it is working Great!
10/22/2015

Customer review by Sandye

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by Sandye
by Sandye

I had to get a different dirt devil and this is the one they replaced it with. It is working well so far. The customer service was excellent and helpful!!!

Sandye
San Diego County, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works well on bugs in the garden
10/9/2013

Customer review by Momwithtwoyoungboys

4.0 stars 10/9/2013 by Momwithtwoyoungboys
by Momwithtwoyoungboys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this to vacuum up garden pests. It does the job, without damaging the plants. I have had it for 3 weeks and am choosing to leave it unplugged after charging it in order to preserve the battery life...seems to hold charge well between uses. I have only charged it once since initial charge. Front part that flips down is handy. I also own the corded hand vac with the same name, and the suction on it is WAY stronger. If my garden was closer to the house and the corded one was easier to maneuver, I would use it instead just for the pure power (although it might suck the leaves in too!).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momwithtwoyoungboys
Roopville GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dirt Devil Scorpion
10/16/2015

Customer review by srby

1.0 stars 10/16/2015 by srby
by srby

I bought this last year and I think it worked properly 2 or 3 times...it does not hold a charge now....I would not recommend anyone buy this item.

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/16/2015

Hi srby! Your Scorpion should be holding up to its standards. We have a battery reset procedure you can try to get your hand vac working like new! Occasionally it is necessary to reset the battery & charger to restore the run time. Please try these steps. 1. Unplug the charger from the wall. It must be unplugged for at least 1 minute. 2. Run the unit until it completely shuts down. 3. Place the unit back on the charger and charge it for a complete 24 hours. 4. Run the unit again until it turns off (keeping track of exactly how many minutes it runs.) Please let us know how long the unit runs for after completing these troubleshooting steps by calling 1-800-321-1134. Thank you!

srby
Manitoba, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews