Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

80 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 77 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Great For Pet Hair, Walkway & Stairs
4/28/2016

Customer review by Sheeta

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by Sheeta
by Sheeta

Things I Love; 7 amp Great power, small & light weight, 20 ft nice long cord, No bags to buy!! When you put the adapter w/ the hose on there is not much suction... but I can live with that.... otherwise would have been 5 stars! Walmart was $10 cheaper then the Dirt Devil web site.... Go Walmart!!! I have four cats & two big messy Amazon Parrots. This unit gets the job done. Can go around and under their cages and around and under and on the other furniture. Did the cat beds the day I got it and they look like new, Anyway, what more can I say... I Love This Little Vac! Fits my needs!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sheeta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best hand vacuum I have used.
8/20/2011

Customer review by hlw2829

4.0 stars 8/20/2011 by hlw2829
by hlw2829

I have used this vacuum for 3 weeks and it works great, the brush roller has lots of power & it picks up everything, including pet hair & it leaves the carpet on my stairs looking like new. However, the suction when using the attachments is very poor, thus, I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I have read reviews about problems cleaning the filter. I have found that if you use a medium tooth brush to help loosen the dirt between the filter slots the filter cleans just fine. But you DO NEED to clean the filter after each use so there is no dirt build-up. Pros: It is not too heavy, is easy to empty & the cord length is a plus. All in all I would recommed this vacuum, if filter cost is not a issue. Cons: Filters not sold in stores & need to be ordered on line, so with the shipping costs they are somewhat expensive & this should be considered when decideing to buy the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (71) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hlw2829
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent on stairs and pet hair!
10/9/2012

Customer review by UniqueReviewer

5.0 stars 10/9/2012 by UniqueReviewer
by UniqueReviewer

I have 2 large dogs and work from home - the stairs get a pretty good work out throughout the day/week. The dogs are always in tow wondering "what we're going to do next''. We've used a traditional upright vacuum with hose and attachments for the stairs - which is a complete pain. This is the BEST $40 I've spent in awhile! I love that you can empty the contents each time and you truly get to see how well this works after you finish. I've only had it a couple of months, but even if I had to buy 1 per year, it would be well worth it! Try it out. The other good thing is that WalMart takes it back if you don't like it - even used! I was shocked and impressed with that one. Also, do site to store for free. Arrives quickly.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UniqueReviewer
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great for quick clean up jobs!
3/25/2012

Customer review by MisterEdReview

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by MisterEdReview
by MisterEdReview

This vacuum is very handy for quickly cleaning up small jobs around the house as well as doing carpeted stairs quickly. I even use it to clean out the dog shed of hair and the garage of dirt brought in by the vehicles. The cannister is very easy to empty so even though it can fill quickly you can keep a larger container right near by for these more heavy duty projects. I had an older one for many years, but like the new features on this one.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterEdReview
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worth Every Penny!
5/9/2016

Customer review by Cat Lover Lady

5.0 stars 5/9/2016 by Cat Lover Lady
by Cat Lover Lady

I've had many Dirt Devils over the years and they have never let me down. You Will Not Find a more powerful vac in this size and price range! My expectations were high for this little guy and I was Not disappointed! Picking up the pet hair, feathers and dander (five cats and two Amazon Parrots) as good as my Dyson upright. I'm getting up there in years and everything is so heavy for me so I wanted something powerful that didn't weigh a ton. This model has been great! I can get around all of my hard to reach places with ease. Haven't had a chance to do the stairs or sofa yet, but I'm sure I will be happy. The one thing that wasn't 5 stars was the hose attachment.You lose most of the suction when it is on, but it does an ok job with the crevice tool. Also "Don't" use the flip open door at the bottom! I guess the button eventually wears out. You are much better off taking the whole cup off and cleaning the filter each time you empty. You will double the life of your filter this way and won't have to worry about replacing the cup when the little door won't close anymore ( have read in other reviews about the button going bad). Thank You Dirt Devil for another Fine unit! Oh yes, thank you also for the 20 foot cord! I won't buy anything with a shorter one!

Cat Lover Lady
Springfield, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lightweight and Powerful
5/4/2012

Customer review by DanVofOrange

4.0 stars 5/4/2012 by DanVofOrange
by DanVofOrange

Sucks up well and needs regular emptying of the filter case (good thing). A little hard to get dust out without taking whole back area off though.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DanVofOrange
Orange, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST handheld vac!!!!
4/15/2016

Customer review by LadeeDJ

5.0 stars 4/15/2016 by LadeeDJ
by LadeeDJ

I am a professional house cleaner. I purchased this vac so many years ago that I can't even remember how long it has been. It has served me for many many years. It has a powerful beater bar which is the main reason I bought it. The suction is incredible for such a small unit. I use it on stairs and furniture and areas that are too small for my upright vacuum to reach. I seriously cannot emphasize enough how tough and efficient this little vacuum is. I attached a pic of my old one which is still good by the way. The only issue with it is the electric cord must have developed some kind of short/break in it so that sometimes it doesn't get power. But it runs like a champ! I was sooooo pleased to see that it is still available for purchase!

LadeeDJ
San Marcos, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect Size For My Stairs
4/26/2016

Customer review by Reenaroc

4.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Reenaroc
by Reenaroc

Really picking up the dust and pet hair. I have four cats so it's a big job. I would have given 5 stars if the hose attachment sucked better. I was pretty disappointed with that. I can get more out of the cracks with my whisk broom. But overall Love the little vac itself. Also, no bags to buy is always a plus & 20 foot cord helps a lot. TY Dirt Devil :)

Reenaroc
Springfield, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wouldn't buy another brand.
4/27/2016

Customer review by bam44

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by bam44
by bam44

I have purchased two of these for myself and several as gifts for others. I love this hand vac.

bam44
Cadillac, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great suction
4/22/2016

Customer review by Lynn66

5.0 stars 4/22/2016 by Lynn66
by Lynn66

I got this gizmo a couple weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised.This little gadget actually works better than my house vacuum.I love the extra long cord and the suctioning is amazing.such power.i highly recommend this product

Lynn66
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, and seems to have enough power
8/22/2013

Customer review by JDJDpleasechooseadifferen

4.0 stars 8/22/2013 by JDJDpleasechooseadifferen
by JDJDpleasechooseadifferen
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this since I have an older (original?) Dirt Devil which is still being used in the camper. This one is for the stairways in the house; and is certainly handy and quick for that task. It gets done 2x per week with the heavy foot traffic. I like the dirt cup/filter better than the old cloth dust bag on the old one. I tried the hose/crevice tool, and it's ok for light cleaning, but would say the shop vac is needed for more serious cleaning. Again, this vac generally has enough power to get er done. "Like" it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDJDpleasechooseadifferen
So Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It has a beater brush and suction power compared to an upright floor vac
4/15/2016

Customer review by ANNATT

5.0 stars 4/15/2016 by ANNATT
by ANNATT

I have owned this vac for 10 years or more and have only had to replace the hepa filter on occasion. It is great for cracks and crevices and also cleaning the sofa and chairs. I repeat... I LOVE IT!!

ANNATT
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Hand Vac
7/3/2013

Customer review by Veganlo

5.0 stars 7/3/2013 by Veganlo
by Veganlo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vacuum works great. It has a excellent suction power. True that by the time you install the attachments, it loses suction power but it still does the job. Overall, I'm happy with this product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Veganlo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for a small vacuum
12/23/2013

Customer review by DogHairCentral

4.0 stars 12/23/2013 by DogHairCentral
by DogHairCentral
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It picks up dog hair well, but you have to go slowly and keep the head flat against the surface you're cleaning. The cord is nice and long for doing stairways. We didn't notice much dust being exhausted into the room when in use. The dirt cup is very small but we're able to clean the entire stairway before cleaning it out. The filter was a mess from the first use, and we're not sure how much that will affect the efficiency of the unit as time goes on. I need to find a small stiff brush with which to clean it. Overall its a nice addition to our cleaning arsenal and we're going to keep it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogHairCentral
Naperville IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Hand Vac
8/21/2013

Customer review by FurDog

5.0 stars 8/21/2013 by FurDog
by FurDog
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I Have used 5 different hand vacs to clean my vehicle from pet hair. I have A Lab Retreiver and the dog sheds constantly. This is the only vac that I know of that picks up the pet hai from my vehicle carpet. With the 7 amp motor and brush roll was the best I could find for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FurDog
San Diego,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
strong little hand vac
4/13/2014

Customer review by FlowerPower3000

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by FlowerPower3000
by FlowerPower3000
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed something to clean the stairs and the couch since we have a dog and a cat. The shedding was getting out of control! Having to lug around the stand up vac was getting to be annoying with all of it's attachments. This hand vac is easy to use. I put the filter in back where it goes and I was off cleaning the stairs & couch within 5 minutes of opening the package. The stairs were an eye opener. I didn't know how much dirt and fur was on them until I looked at the clear canister on the back and saw it was full of dirt and fur. My stairs were cleaner then ever and better then when I use that Kirby I bought years ago. The one thing that bugs me is the filter and having to clean it after almost every use. The filter has small crevasses or folds that require a small stick or something to gently scrap it clean. I found tapped it outside in the garbage can keeps the dust down in the house. If you can deal with a filter that needs to be cleaned (I clean mine every third use unless the canister gets completely full) every 6 months, then this is a great hand vac for you. Wal-mart.com does sell the replacement filters last time I checked.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlowerPower3000
Northern Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heavy but great at picking up pet hair
5/12/2014

Customer review by Mamareid

4.0 stars 5/12/2014 by Mamareid
by Mamareid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We just recently bought the Dirt Devil Hand Vac in order to clean our stairs more efficiently and to pick up dog hair on a daily basis from our dark gray sofa. The hand vac is a little heavier than I anticipated, however, the suction this small machine puts out is great! My yellow lab's hair clings to everything and this vacuum picks it up in an instant and then some. I think that because the suction is so good, it picks up the fibers on my sofa and the carpet on the stairs and really makes the area look clean and new. If you don't mind the weight of the machine then I really recommend the product based on performance. It does come with several attachments which I have not tried out yet but its only because I bought the product to quickly pull out of the closet and do a quick clean without having to hassle with all the extras.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mamareid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little vacuum
1/13/2014

Customer review by alice79

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by alice79
by alice79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have a motor home and a dog. I have used full sized vacuums and they didn't do half the job this lil dirt devil is doing. I am very impressed w/ how it picks up dog hair an is pulling up dirt that is deep in the carpet. It also works well on the upholstery. I remember these lil vacs. as a kid and wish I would of bought 1 sooner. Normally I wouldn't write a review but this product actually works very well and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (16) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alice79
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dirt Devil Classic
12/24/2015

Customer review by Luke

4.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Luke
by Luke

I got a Dirt Devil Classic because a friend has one and I liked his. I ordered it and the next day it was at my door step. It is a great little vacuum and great timing! I had a problem with the belt. It came off and would not stay on. I sent the unit in for replacement and cannot wait to get it back. It is really handy for small jobs because it has power yet is is light and easy to handle. It has a sturdy and long chord. I did not have mine long enough to get into details but I have used it many times before and that's why I bought it. It comes with 5 handy attachments. It needs to be emptied after each job to function properly. The power head has great power considering its size. Overall I would reccommand it to a friend. Great value!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Vacuum
7/1/2014

Customer review by blane

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by blane
by blane

This machine is awesome - fills the dirt cup when re-vacuuming after the big hoover upright finished. The motor sound is strong, but it's worth it given the power of the vacuum - and also as a handheld it's operating closer to the ear than a conventional upright. I wouldn't compare this to a 'dustbuster' -- much more power and has the beater-brush to clean even better. But it's heavier and larger than a dustbuster - each has it's purpose. The support group is very helpful, answering questions and suggesting the best ways to use the features. As for some of the negative observations I've seen in the reviews, I've experienced no blow-back but I can imagine that might happen if the vacuum head contacts the carpet at an angle - the rotating brush would create a wind blowing in the direction of it's rotation.. the opening should be parallel and pressed against the carpet.

blane
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews