Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

80 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 67 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Cleaned my desk up quickly!
1/27/2011

Customer review by AllyandTroy

3.0 stars 1/27/2011 by AllyandTroy
by AllyandTroy

I had several boxes of paperwork just piled next to my desk, and I was always meaning to get to it. I tried this neat desk scanner and I was somewhat pleased. I was shocked at the price I had to pay. That was too much money for a scanner and software. However, I also imagined how much I would pay to have someone else declutter those boxes. I so I purchased it at walmart to save money, nearly $40 cheaper than TV. The scanner works really fast, and that was good. The software does not recognize your documents as they claim it would on the TV. The scanner did recognize the buisness cards, but I found that it used the wrong info at times, so I had to make many corrections. I was pleased that the scanner was really fast, almost 15 pages a minute was great. But the pages wold not load straight unless I held them. So every document or reciept or paper was slightly crooked. I purposfully held in place the documents that were needed to reprint later. After a week, I was able to get rid of all 4 boxes by my desk and I can use my computer to retrieve anything I labeled. But I had to label and file everything in my computer. The software doesnt do it, as we were all hoping. As for the Taxes part, I was hoping that the software would know what to do, and it does not. You have to know everything and tell the screen what catagory and if it was tax deduatable and what tax form to put it on. It was not easy. So Overall, the machine was average, and the software was average, but they will upgrade it in the future. I will keep this item, as I dont want another pile next to my desk, and it was fast at getting a big project scanned ito the computer. I reccommend that you buy a spare portable drive, that after you have scanned files that you dont want to lose, that you download them to a spare hard drive as a back up.

Was this review helpful? (264) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllyandTroy
Lake Worth, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent Product
6/12/2010

Customer review by Arup

5.0 stars 6/12/2010 by Arup
by Arup

I have used the mobile version of this product ( Neat Receipts ) for quite a while. I decided to upgrade to the Desktop version, and I am very impressed on how well everything works. It scans both sides of paper quickly in one pass, and several sheets can be scanned in no tme at all. You can then export several sheets into one PDF file if you need to see them together. Overall, this is an excellent concept and will make life so much easier with less paper being kept. Just make sure you back up your hard drive that you store your scanned images on, if you throw away the paper after you scan it !!!

Was this review helpful? (227) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usefull in keeping records
10/3/2010

Customer review by BuZZ1

4.0 stars 10/3/2010 by BuZZ1
by BuZZ1

I had a software issue and had to uninstall twice before I used an uninstaller (Revo) that removed registry info that did not get removed with the Windows uninstaller. After going through the troubleshooting steps and adding a scanner etc. then reinstalling the downloaded updated software, that it worked fine. I am using Windows XP with service pack 2, so this may have been a contributing factor. A later version of Windows may not have any problems installing. Overall I am happy with the product. I would have liked to have been able to talk with a tech support person, that they DO NOT have. So if you do have trouble, you will have to figure it out yourself or waiting for a trouble ticket solution.

Was this review helpful? (109) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BuZZ1
Albany, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Did not work...
1/11/2011

Customer review by BBTexas

2.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BBTexas
by BBTexas

I read a ton of reviews before buying this product and on average, they were good. Once I got the software loaded and device hooked up, I tried my first scan of a legal document. I immediately got an error: "The acquire operation failed". For those who might be interested, I'm running Win7x64. I'm very tech saavy (degrees in EE & Computer Science, build my own PCs, etc.) and tried several trouble shoot steps to no avail. I emailed tech support and did not hear back for a week. When they finally emailed me back, they told me it was a driver error. I never got to try the solution because I boxed up the NeatDesk and took it back. I bought the Fujitsu ScanSnap and I'm MUCH happier with that product. It scans quickly and does not leave the images crooked like the NeatDesk (a common complaint). Go with ScanSnap!

Was this review helpful? (101) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BBTexas
WPB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Jams, shreds pages and horrible software
3/7/2010

Customer review by GoodSol

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by GoodSol
by GoodSol

The feed tray jams for no good reason with just regular copier / printer paper. Receipts get shredded and ruined creating the hope the IRS never audits us for that expense since we just fed our proof into the Neat Desk. The software is a different nightmare, the installer demands 1GB+ of hard drive space and still fails to detect and work after wasting 30 minutes and two reboots to finish. The confusing install process asks for a destination directory but just ignores your selection burying itself deep into %programfiles%\common files.\.\.\.\blah-blah-blah. Scan jobs aren't recoverable if jammed and have to be rescanned but the pages scanned thus far aren't deleted, aren't recovered and waste disk space until hunted and deleted. Scanned images aren't PDF but heavy TIF files stored in Microsoft SQL Server Express requiring export to PDF which seems to work only half the time but the failed export leaves image artifacts wasting disk space until manually deleted. The OCR is disappointing, failing to recognize name and address blocks and misreading common words others scanners handle with ease. TechSupport is superb, they respond quickly and offer live phone and chat support since it seems they've had excessive practice but overall this scanner is a nightmare.

Was this review helpful? (155) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoodSol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
Horrible Technical Support
10/14/2010

Customer review by Scannerbuyer

1.0 stars 10/14/2010 by Scannerbuyer
by Scannerbuyer

This was my sencond purchase of a Neatdesk scanner. The first one I purchased installed and worked fine. So I purchased another unit and tried to install on another computer here at the office. It did not install correctly. That is when I found out that Neat NO LONGER OFFERS TECHNICAL SUPPORT via the phone. It all has to be done through e-mails which is a very lengthy process of trying one thing and when that fails, e-mail them back and wait another day for another response to try something else. I ended up just giving up and I am going to return it. After spending nearly $400, you would think they could assist for about 5 minutes to resolve their software/hardware issues.

Was this review helpful? (85) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Scannerbuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
STAY AWAY FROM NeatDesk
1/10/2011

Customer review by justacustomer1269

1.0 stars 1/10/2011 by justacustomer1269
by justacustomer1269

I recieved this product and installed as instructed. The software could not even start in Windows 7 X64 Enterprise edition. They are referring to .Net version 2. .Net 4 is the current one. I am programmer and very savy in computers and I cannot get itto work. This software is outdated, the product is worthless. it looks good though. I believe you can do better with $360 than waisitn on this product. There is no phone number for support. Noone answers at sales department. THIS IS THE WORST EQUIPMENT I HAVE EVER PURCHASED. RETURNING IT TO WALLMART TODAY.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justacustomer1269
Would recommend to a friend? No
Keeps it Nice and Neat
1/9/2014

Customer review by Kirkman2014

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Kirkman2014
by Kirkman2014

It is as it says keeps the Desk Neat by scanning documents, receipts and business cards. The on line instructions is basically learn as you go. You can organize your folders as you want them. It does cut down on the paper pile up. Yes the IRS will accept the images on file with the system. However, it is a learn as you go experience. Also some of the boxes do not allow you to rename them. They have titles for the headers and you have to use them. Also the reports that you can print are basically what they have in the system. I have not figured out how to print a report with just the information I want. As for price it is still a little high and since it has been around you think they would have dropped the price a little. The best price I found was with Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kirkman2014
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what it seems
11/25/2013

Customer review by digidan

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by digidan
by digidan

problems so far: the digital scan can be not clear enough as a real copy , some data can be copied as digital unclear data. the scan requires you to review each scan for accuracy . so it is not as simple as pressing the button.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
digidan
LA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tool for a family
5/31/2011

Customer review by WaterdragonLover

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by WaterdragonLover
by WaterdragonLover

The NeatDesk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System is very easy to use. I did have some problems installing it onto my computer because I originally had the NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner program installed. NeatCo had updated their program which I was unaware of at the time. NeatCo Customer service helped me solve the problem. They were great! The NeatDesk Desktop is much easier to use than the mobile scanner and much faster. Put the document or receipt in; touch scan; and it is done. Then you go to the inbox and complete the history of the document; and file it into the folder -- you are done. You can scan lots of pages at once and it is so quick.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WaterdragonLover
Sunset Beach, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Be patient with the setup, then you'll love it!
7/8/2012

Customer review by smpechar

5.0 stars 7/8/2012 by smpechar
by smpechar

The NeatDesk Scanning System is excellent.  It took some work to get it set up, but then things worked perfectly.  It’s very important to follow the setup instructions as written.  Even then, I ran into a problem with installation. Specifically, “An error occurred while installing system components for Neat; Setup cannot continue until all system components have been successfully installed,” was the message.  Per the Neat website, it is due to a manufacturing defect with the CD included in recent shipments.  The solution is simple - go to http://neatreceipts.custhelp.com/app/home “Most Popular Answers” and follow the instructions associated with that error message. My reason for getting NeatDeak was so I could scan receipts and then export the data to Quicken.  It’s amazing how it reads receipts; note, however, that they go in the slot face up BOTTOM first.  I thought the scanner was a piece of garbage until I figured out how to feed them correctly.   Also, I found that you cannot position a narrow document at either edge of the document slot - you must feed it CENTERED or the scanner will not read it. The PDF manual that can be accessed from the NeatDesk website is very good.  It very nicely walks you through the import export instructions so data can be exported to Quicken.  When “reviewing” scanned receipts, it’s best to use the same payees and categories that you use for Quicken.  When the scanner reads whether you used MasterCard or Visa or Discover, it’s a little annoying that it won’t pick a previously used account name that has the term “MasterCard” (or Visa or Discover) in it, but instead it creates a new account called “Master Card” even if you’ve deleted that name from the original list.  I can live with that annoyance since the scanner is so fast and does such a good job.  I love it! The 16GB Flash Drive came bundled with the scanner but arrived separately.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smpechar
Concord, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
As Advertised
11/26/2010

Customer review by mindybluerose

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by mindybluerose
by mindybluerose

The Neat Desk is EXACTLY AS ADVERTISED! It is wonderful. It installed quickly and easily and works like a dream. It is simple and straight forward, you don't have to bother with directions. It chooses (if you like) the category and if it isn't right, simply click and drag it to where you want it. I have and will continue to reccomend this to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mindybluerose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
NeatReceipt
1/22/2011

Customer review by Nell77

5.0 stars 1/22/2011 by Nell77
by Nell77

The NeatDesk is great! I was concerned with all of the negative commets regarding the installation and overall performance, but thought I would try it anyways. The NeatDesk has been a great tool to keep track of all receipts electronically. It scans multiple receipts, including the crinkled ones! The software for filing your receipts to the appropriate category is very easy to use as well. I would suggest the NeatDest to anyone who has to keep a record of their receipts.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nell77
Littleton, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Much too cumberson to use
2/20/2011

Customer review by GrandpaJGB

2.0 stars 2/20/2011 by GrandpaJGB
by GrandpaJGB

Produce took 8-10 min to scan into computer a 2 page invoice. If there was only a couple scans a day product would be workable. Worked with it 2 full days and decided to return for credit.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaJGB
St. Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4/24/2014

Customer review by MADCUSTOMER91

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by MADCUSTOMER91
by MADCUSTOMER91

LET ME START OFF SAYING THAT THIS PRODUCT DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE A STAR!!!! I purchased this product over a year ago. At first I thought the product was great and easy to do. Then I didn't use it for a few months and thats where all the trouble began. I would try to open the program and it would say can't find the database when I didn't even move the database anywhere. I've had to have it backed up and restored 4 different times in the past 6 months. Now it makes you have to sync all your data to the cloud. It won't let you see the images that you downloaded until you finish syncing it. Well at 2% sync a problem code comes up "CODE 138" saying one of the images is preventing it to completely sync. So I did what it told me and it went to 4% complete and the code came up again. So I called the company and talked to them about it. I was on the phone over 3 hrs with them trying to get it to work and they can't figure out the issue. I will not reccomend this product to anyone. SAVE YOUR MONEY, ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MADCUSTOMER91
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Wouldn't buy again
11/16/2010

Customer review by ChefBob22

3.0 stars 11/16/2010 by ChefBob22
by ChefBob22

I've seen this advertised so many times on TV, it looked really great...not NEARLY as simple as it appears. It is not intuitive or easy to work. The paper does not line up properly (and the guides are not adjustable) and the software isn't that good.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChefBob22
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great helper
1/16/2011

Customer review by Cseyler

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by Cseyler
by Cseyler

Easy to install software. Only problem is you can't load 15 receipts at once, I was able load about 6 at a time. The receipts have to be in fair condition to work right. It really is a nice product! Easy to use and understand. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cseyler
Greensburg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/20/2011

Customer review by sgres320

1.0 stars 4/20/2011 by sgres320
by sgres320

Walmart was Great but the product stinks, it gave me an error on three different computers !!!!! You can not talk to a person unless u want to pay 30 bucks an hour. Everything is by email. I could not get it to load on any of the computers. The Customer Service STINKS !!!! I am taking it back !!!! BEWARE if it sounds to good to be true it usually is . I would not tell anyone to buy this product. But ii is not a Walmart error it is a NeatDesk disaster !!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgres320
Villa Rica Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Check Quicken compatibility before purchase!
10/13/2011

Customer review by stlouismom2

1.0 stars 10/13/2011 by stlouismom2
by stlouismom2

I REALLY wanted (and needed!) this solution to work. However, after trying to tame the Paper Monster by purchasing an up-to-date version of Quicken, an external hard drive, NeatDesk, and spending two days trying to make it all work together, I learned that NeatDesk is NOT COMPATIBLE with Quicken 2012!! There is currently NOTHING on the box, display, or the website's technical specs to indicate it is only compatible with Quicken 2011 or earlier; this info is buried in the Support files. NeatWorks is aware of the problem but isn't publicizing it to potential customers...after purchase, they will suggest waiting for a fix to be available at some undetermined future date. So...if you get/have Quicken 2012, check for updated specs or with the company to be SURE you can TRY to make it work as advertised!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stlouismom2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Died in two weeks and poor customer service
9/18/2012

Customer review by joewater2222

1.0 stars 9/18/2012 by joewater2222
by joewater2222

This product would not install. The customer service was poor. Found out that there was many errors with the driver. With some difficulty I have the driver installed. Lasted several weeks and then it just died. It just would not turn on. When I called support, they wanted me to install the drivers and uninstall and reinstall over and over. I finally told them no and returned for a refund. If it did not start, what would a driver do?

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
joewater2222
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews