Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 76 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
I too have red flashing lights
2/11/2013

Customer review by Tamz

1.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Tamz
by Tamz

I will attempt to get support on this tomorrow, but so far, nothing can be found on the scanner's support site. Appears to be related to the scanner software as the lights are green and solid until the software is loaded. This device is a bit too expensive to not function properly. I am quite disappointed. If I receive the same response as the other review person with red flashing lights I will return the unit. I don't have the time or the patience for companies that do not support their products. I will follow up with additional comments after I attempt to get support.

Tamz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very poor tech support
4/29/2011

Customer review by RWKerch

1.0 stars 4/29/2011 by RWKerch
by RWKerch

Purchased scanner and followed all the directions on the install and hook up. The scanner powered up and green lights, attached to computer and green lights turned red and started flashnig( never a good sign). Call the listed phone number got a salesman and asked for tech support and he said I would need to purchase a 1 year warrenty to get tech support, but I said I just purchesed the scanner and he said I would need to use their E-mail support. I did get a reply, but it did not relate to my problem. Bottom Line I returned the scanner

RWKerch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Good investment.
3/9/2012

Customer review by fastf250ps

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by fastf250ps
by fastf250ps

The only problem I had is that no software CD was included in the package. Downloading and installing was considerable slower and more difficult. Also it would be better if the software program would allow storing scanned documents to a network drive. As it is now, I have to scan, and then copy the files to my network drive. Finally, recognition of data scanned is not quite what I'd hoped for. Things could be improved upon, but not much!

fastf250ps
Southeastern Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Scanner Crashes and poor customer service
3/6/2014

Customer review by Maduro

2.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Maduro
by Maduro

I purchased the neat scanner 11/27/2013. It crashed in early February. I had to contact Neat online and was promised that I would receive a replacement. However that person never completed the task, I had to reopen a "ticket" and finally received my replacement scanner 3/3/2014. It crashed 3/5/2013. I have had to reopen a "ticket". I would love to return this scanner and get my money back. It is a major headache.

Maduro
Clearwater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Limited Utility Device
4/22/2012

Customer review by goneshoppin

3.0 stars 4/22/2012 by goneshoppin
by goneshoppin

This device suffers from weak support for the associated software. Prior scanning experience is beneficial for it to be used in an optimum situation. The price point is excessive.

goneshoppin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Much More Trouble Than Expected
10/1/2013

Customer review by SweetMama

1.0 stars 10/1/2013 by SweetMama
by SweetMama

I don't know if it is because my computer is old or what, but I've had all kinds of technical difficulties. I had trouble registering the software and needed special instructions/procedures for my computer, my daughter apparently tried to scan a quarter, which jammed it, and now it just won't scan anything, not sure yet what the problem is this time. Neat customer service only operates M-Th during business hours. If you have a question outside of that time you can submit by their website, which hasn't always worked for me either. Then, if you can submit your question they might answer it within a few hours, or it might take a few days for them to get back with you to begin the process of figuring out what's wrong. The troubleshooting section of the website has not been helpful as it gives too many unhelpful results for what I think should be simple inquiries, like I shouldn't have had to write in a question to find out that the blinking red lights means a jam (and how to clear it). The software does not have a built-in help section. You have to go online and login to access help. When it works it's like magic, only I don't always like the results. I don't like that I've had to do so much editing and typing. I don't like that I haven't yet located my files on my computer except to access them through neat or found out how to change the location where my files are saved, so that I can view or copy documents outside of Neat or e-mail them. I don't like that it takes so long between scanning and when the document is available for review. It has worked best for me for business cards and simple receipts. Unfortunately, I have a lot of documents and statements I would also like scanned, but it is not working out for me. If I had figured out earlier that it wasn't working for me I would have returned it and just bought a plain scanner.

SweetMama
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
This is a great purchase
2/18/2011

Customer review by Ginny5952

5.0 stars 2/18/2011 by Ginny5952
by Ginny5952

I have the portable one which is ok but this one is better and the quality of the scan is better. yes i would recommend this product.

Ginny5952
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Does what it says
5/27/2011

Customer review by lmkwinery

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by lmkwinery
by lmkwinery

Easy to set up and begin adding receipts and records. You do have to take some time determining how to set up folders.

lmkwinery
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Great decision to purchase to clean up my desk...
4/17/2013

Customer review by 24hrShopper

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by 24hrShopper
by 24hrShopper

Cleaned up months of paperwork in just a few hours. My area now resembles an office.

24hrShopper
Stone Mountain, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
WORST PRODUCT EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4/24/2014

Customer review by MADCUSTOMER91

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by MADCUSTOMER91
by MADCUSTOMER91

LET ME START OFF SAYING THAT THIS PRODUCT DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE A STAR!!!! I purchased this product over a year ago. At first I thought the product was great and easy to do. Then I didn't use it for a few months and thats where all the trouble began. I would try to open the program and it would say can't find the database when I didn't even move the database anywhere. I've had to have it backed up and restored 4 different times in the past 6 months. Now it makes you have to sync all your data to the cloud. It won't let you see the images that you downloaded until you finish syncing it. Well at 2% sync a problem code comes up "CODE 138" saying one of the images is preventing it to completely sync. So I did what it told me and it went to 4% complete and the code came up again. So I called the company and talked to them about it. I was on the phone over 3 hrs with them trying to get it to work and they can't figure out the issue. I will not reccomend this product to anyone. SAVE YOUR MONEY, ITS NOT WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MADCUSTOMER91
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Bad product/horrible customer service
4/22/2014

Customer review by Speliotes

1.0 stars 4/22/2014 by Speliotes
by Speliotes

Bought Neat Connect for 499 in January 2014. Immediately got it connected to Neat's cloud and my Dropbox but not my email. Each time I tried to connect to my email I got a message that my password was incorrect -- it wasn't Two weeks later, I couldn't connect with my Dropbox. Tried to call customer service but they don't want to talk to you so you have to email them. Have spent my business partner's time, other staff time, my IT consultant's time and my time to figure out what's wrong and still no help from NEAT. Posted a negative review and they responded by email -- they' don't want to talk to you. Finally called and tech guy couldn't get it to connect to anything but the Neat Cloud. Asked for refund -- was told no refund since I bought it from a third party vendor. Check out all the reviews on different websites-- trouble connecting and no, zero, zip customer support. Run away fast -- very fast. I want a refund.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Speliotes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Did not work...
1/11/2011

Customer review by BBTexas

2.0 stars 1/11/2011 by BBTexas
by BBTexas

I read a ton of reviews before buying this product and on average, they were good. Once I got the software loaded and device hooked up, I tried my first scan of a legal document. I immediately got an error: "The acquire operation failed". For those who might be interested, I'm running Win7x64. I'm very tech saavy (degrees in EE & Computer Science, build my own PCs, etc.) and tried several trouble shoot steps to no avail. I emailed tech support and did not hear back for a week. When they finally emailed me back, they told me it was a driver error. I never got to try the solution because I boxed up the NeatDesk and took it back. I bought the Fujitsu ScanSnap and I'm MUCH happier with that product. It scans quickly and does not leave the images crooked like the NeatDesk (a common complaint). Go with ScanSnap!

Was this review helpful? (107) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BBTexas
WPB, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Keeps it Nice and Neat
1/9/2014

Customer review by Kirkman2014

4.0 stars 1/9/2014 by Kirkman2014
by Kirkman2014
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is as it says keeps the Desk Neat by scanning documents, receipts and business cards. The on line instructions is basically learn as you go. You can organize your folders as you want them. It does cut down on the paper pile up. Yes the IRS will accept the images on file with the system. However, it is a learn as you go experience. Also some of the boxes do not allow you to rename them. They have titles for the headers and you have to use them. Also the reports that you can print are basically what they have in the system. I have not figured out how to print a report with just the information I want. As for price it is still a little high and since it has been around you think they would have dropped the price a little. The best price I found was with Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kirkman2014
Bethlehem, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Usefull in keeping records
10/3/2010

Customer review by BuZZ1

4.0 stars 10/3/2010 by BuZZ1
by BuZZ1

I had a software issue and had to uninstall twice before I used an uninstaller (Revo) that removed registry info that did not get removed with the Windows uninstaller. After going through the troubleshooting steps and adding a scanner etc. then reinstalling the downloaded updated software, that it worked fine. I am using Windows XP with service pack 2, so this may have been a contributing factor. A later version of Windows may not have any problems installing. Overall I am happy with the product. I would have liked to have been able to talk with a tech support person, that they DO NOT have. So if you do have trouble, you will have to figure it out yourself or waiting for a trouble ticket solution.

Was this review helpful? (110) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BuZZ1
Albany, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Technical Support
10/14/2010

Customer review by Scannerbuyer

1.0 stars 10/14/2010 by Scannerbuyer
by Scannerbuyer

This was my sencond purchase of a Neatdesk scanner. The first one I purchased installed and worked fine. So I purchased another unit and tried to install on another computer here at the office. It did not install correctly. That is when I found out that Neat NO LONGER OFFERS TECHNICAL SUPPORT via the phone. It all has to be done through e-mails which is a very lengthy process of trying one thing and when that fails, e-mail them back and wait another day for another response to try something else. I ended up just giving up and I am going to return it. After spending nearly $400, you would think they could assist for about 5 minutes to resolve their software/hardware issues.

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scannerbuyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Jams, shreds pages and horrible software
3/7/2010

Customer review by GoodSol

1.0 stars 3/7/2010 by GoodSol
by GoodSol
Top 100 contributor

The feed tray jams for no good reason with just regular copier / printer paper. Receipts get shredded and ruined creating the hope the IRS never audits us for that expense since we just fed our proof into the Neat Desk. The software is a different nightmare, the installer demands 1GB+ of hard drive space and still fails to detect and work after wasting 30 minutes and two reboots to finish. The confusing install process asks for a destination directory but just ignores your selection burying itself deep into %programfiles%\common files.\.\.\.\blah-blah-blah. Scan jobs aren't recoverable if jammed and have to be rescanned but the pages scanned thus far aren't deleted, aren't recovered and waste disk space until hunted and deleted. Scanned images aren't PDF but heavy TIF files stored in Microsoft SQL Server Express requiring export to PDF which seems to work only half the time but the failed export leaves image artifacts wasting disk space until manually deleted. The OCR is disappointing, failing to recognize name and address blocks and misreading common words others scanners handle with ease. TechSupport is superb, they respond quickly and offer live phone and chat support since it seems they've had excessive practice but overall this scanner is a nightmare.

Was this review helpful? (156) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoodSol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Excellent Product
6/12/2010

Customer review by Arup

5.0 stars 6/12/2010 by Arup
by Arup

I have used the mobile version of this product ( Neat Receipts ) for quite a while. I decided to upgrade to the Desktop version, and I am very impressed on how well everything works. It scans both sides of paper quickly in one pass, and several sheets can be scanned in no tme at all. You can then export several sheets into one PDF file if you need to see them together. Overall, this is an excellent concept and will make life so much easier with less paper being kept. Just make sure you back up your hard drive that you store your scanned images on, if you throw away the paper after you scan it !!!

Was this review helpful? (230) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arup
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cleaned my desk up quickly!
1/27/2011

Customer review by AllyandTroy

3.0 stars 1/27/2011 by AllyandTroy
by AllyandTroy

I had several boxes of paperwork just piled next to my desk, and I was always meaning to get to it. I tried this neat desk scanner and I was somewhat pleased. I was shocked at the price I had to pay. That was too much money for a scanner and software. However, I also imagined how much I would pay to have someone else declutter those boxes. I so I purchased it at walmart to save money, nearly $40 cheaper than TV. The scanner works really fast, and that was good. The software does not recognize your documents as they claim it would on the TV. The scanner did recognize the buisness cards, but I found that it used the wrong info at times, so I had to make many corrections. I was pleased that the scanner was really fast, almost 15 pages a minute was great. But the pages wold not load straight unless I held them. So every document or reciept or paper was slightly crooked. I purposfully held in place the documents that were needed to reprint later. After a week, I was able to get rid of all 4 boxes by my desk and I can use my computer to retrieve anything I labeled. But I had to label and file everything in my computer. The software doesnt do it, as we were all hoping. As for the Taxes part, I was hoping that the software would know what to do, and it does not. You have to know everything and tell the screen what catagory and if it was tax deduatable and what tax form to put it on. It was not easy. So Overall, the machine was average, and the software was average, but they will upgrade it in the future. I will keep this item, as I dont want another pile next to my desk, and it was fast at getting a big project scanned ito the computer. I reccommend that you buy a spare portable drive, that after you have scanned files that you dont want to lose, that you download them to a spare hard drive as a back up.

Was this review helpful? (268) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AllyandTroy
Lake Worth, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Scanner will break as soon as warranty ends
3/12/2014

Customer review by artlover65

1.0 stars 3/12/2014 by artlover65
by artlover65

The idea of this system is great. The software however, does not live up to the promise that it will scan information from each document. After almost a year of entering in everything manually my scanner began to fail. Every week or so I would call customer support and get it going again until finally it died. Even though my scanner began to fail within the warranty period, the company refused to honor it and insisted I buy a new one. More than once, customer service people I dealt with on the phone admitted my return emails had not been read...which was enough to push me past the 1 year warranty period. Do not buy this product or anything else from this company.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artlover65
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product would probably be great if it worked.
7/20/2013

Customer review by Notneat

1.0 stars 7/20/2013 by Notneat
by Notneat
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have not been able to get this scanner to sync with Neat Cloud, or Outlook. I contacted Neat Customer service almost 2 weeks ago (via chat session that I had to wait 45 min for, was on chat 45 min) the service person said she would have to get with software personnel to work on this one, but they were gone for the day. It was 3:30 CST and they work 9:30-5:00 EST. I still have not had anyone get back to me and have followed all the suggestions on their site. Poor Customer service, does not work as easily as described in their videos, no documentation on software compatibility. I am still trying to install and uninstall different software to see if it changes. I am very familiar with computers and software and would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Notneat
Toney, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews