Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 992 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

992 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

992 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
671
4 stars
203
3 stars
40
2 stars
23
1 stars
55
1-20 of 937 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 937 total reviews
1-20 of 937 reviews
excellent for pizza cookies taco bowls or anything
9/18/2012

Customer review by tigelmo

5.0 stars 9/18/2012 by tigelmo
by tigelmo

we have already made red baron large pizza's in it and bought some of those taco bowl pans from walmart 4 for $10 and made taco salad and as you can see from the pictures this cooks great and we made chocolate cookies also.

Was this review helpful? (95) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tigelmo
WORLDS ONLY CORN PALACE MITCHELL, S.D.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I must have gotten the lemon !!!
1/30/2013

Customer review by MisterMo

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by MisterMo
by MisterMo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Sorry about all of you who give your oven bad ratings ... I've had mine for about a month and it has performed EXACTLY as advertised !!! I've completely abandoned my range's oven. I'll even bake a dish on the upper rack, in a 9x13 pan and near the end of it's cook time, slide a leftover side onto the bottom rack to re-heat. I have measured the temperature of this oven (I keep the thermometer hanging in it now), and it is dead on. I put the oven on a counter-top next to the stove, pushed it as far back as it would go, till the "nipple" of the bulbous protrusion was against the wall. My unit doesn't get overly hot and I can even lay hands on the sides & top after baking at 350º for 30 minutes! Honestly, I haven't really used the broiler yet, except to put a little "browning" on cheese topped dishes), nor have I ventured into the foreign (to me) world of convection cooking. I bought this oven for the baking aspect, to discontinue the use of my stove's oven and I got EVERYTHING I WANTED & paid for. OBTW, I can't judge it's "Durability" at this point, that's the ONLY reason I didn't give it a "5" in "Durability".

Was this review helpful? (191) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterMo
the Burg of Rust, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great to use in place of oven!
6/22/2011

Customer review by katanna05

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by katanna05
by katanna05

I only rated durability at 4 because I've only had it about 1 month. So I can't really tell on that yet. The price was good for the size and features. Walmart site-to-store was great. Love the rounded back that lets you cook a large pizza. My 9x13 fits great and I like the convection feature, something I've been wanting. But there aren't any real instructions for converting from regular oven to convection, regarding the time difference. Still, I'm working with it and it's doing ok. It has a feature called 'warm' which I assume means it will keep something warming for 30 minutes (or you can set for lesser time) but there are NO instructions in the booklet about WARM, and I'm not sure if that is going to be good. Still working with it. I wish I had more counter space -simply to keep the unit out from under the cabinet more - it warms up the underside of the cabinet a lot when I'm cooking, and the short cord doesn't allow for much positioning. I understand why the short cord (safety) but it should be a little longer. Otherwise, it cooks great and I love it so far! Love not heating the big oven up for casseroles, etc. ONE other thing- you can't cook past 1-1/2 hrs (90 minutes) - unless you adjust it when it's done to start again. It's not a slow cooker and you can't run off and leave it all day. So go use the slow cooker :D BTW, the broiler pan in the picture came with it, and it also has 2 racks and 2 rack positions (low and midway high) in the oven.

Was this review helpful? (158) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katanna05
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a very nice oven but,
4/17/2014

Customer review by RBailey

3.0 stars 4/17/2014 by RBailey
by RBailey

This oven is beautiful and it seems to work well.It's plenty big but I have two issues. The oven in the video is different than the one i got. it shows that the bake pan has its own rack, well it does not and also no red power light at the bottom. My bigger issue is the quality control with this oven as they applied the digital control pad all cockeyed and it ruins the ovens looks (see photo) These items are not deal breakers but I am not happy about it so I gave it an overall average rating

Was this review helpful? (37) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RBailey
Cleveland,Oh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great but!
1/18/2016

Customer review by BigRed

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by BigRed
by BigRed

I've had this for about three weeks. I use it daily. My teenager even uses it! 9x13 Pyrex glass bakeware easily fits, even with handles. I had a really hard time finding a 10x15 in cookie sheet that would fit. I wanted it for cooking tater tots & French fries. It can ONLY be 15 inches long! Despite several pans stating the outer measurements were exactly 15 inches...I found usually only the bottom of the pan was 15 inches. So, I purchased and returned 3 cookie sheets before I finally found one that worked. The Chicago Metallic 10x15 inches True Cookie Sheet/Jelly Roll pan fits perfectly. Also, my 9x13 and 15 inch round Pampered Chef stones both fit as well. I did have to purchase a 9x13 inch cake pan, as neither of my glass ones would fit on the bottom shelf (with the upper shelf in use). The distance between the bottom and upper shelf is abt 2 1/4 inches...so, it's pretty tight. No issues cooking. I have been using the convection oven and can usually reduced the cook time by 1/3...but when using a stone, I do not reduce the cook time. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigRed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Performed better than expected
2/1/2016

Customer review by GardenerB

5.0 stars 2/1/2016 by GardenerB
by GardenerB

I bought the first product in 2009. It has finally wore out after 7 years, so we will be replacing it with the newer version. I have baked cakes, cookies, and basically replaced my conventional oven, as it has always done a far better job. We have cooked large pizzas, whole chickens, and lasagna in this oven on a weekly basis. I have cooked three Thanksgiving turkeys in this oven (12 to 14 lbs) over the years and they have come out tender and juicy (with basting). We are seeing two slightly different styles of this product. The model in stores has a flat handle. Also notice the newest models don't have the red on button. We have used the convection feature, which produces a slight noise, but not unbearable. In my opinion, for such an appliance to last 7 years at this price, is a great buy. Many conventional ovens don't last this long.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GardenerB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Oster Designed For Life Extra-Large Convection Cou
4/17/2013

Customer review by airwolf

5.0 stars 4/17/2013 by airwolf
by airwolf

First let me point out the picture shown is the Model: TSSTTVXLDG-001 while the video shows Model: TSSTTVXLDG. I called Oster about the difference and besides the control panel, door handle and Broil pan/rack the Model: TSSTTVXLDG-001 has a 5 year warranty while Model: TSSTTVXLDG is a 1 year warranty but besides that both ovens are the same. This is also less than 13" tall about 12.5" if you have height issues like I did. Now, this is a very nice oven and yes the top gets hot, hot enough to heat the metal wire rack above it. I need to lower the rack the oven sits on to create a bigger air space, more than 1". Sadly it doesn't have a Rotisserie like my other 2 toaster ovens but I use the conviction action more now. It's taller than my old one, about 2" taller but the rack spacing is smaller, you need a very low sided pan to cook on both racks together like in the photo. This is wider and that comes in handy, very handy. It has no light unlike other Oster ovens do which is a bummer but not a deal breaker.

Was this review helpful? (159) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
airwolf
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Terrific Value
10/8/2012

Customer review by PickyMomwhoshopsatWalmart

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by PickyMomwhoshopsatWalmart
by PickyMomwhoshopsatWalmart

Since I have owned this less than a month, I cannot be sure about durability. But performance is excellent. I got this to transition to a new kitchen design when my old oven died a bit prematurely. I have been so pleased. The convection mode allows me to cook even a 7 pound turkey breast with excellent results. The convection does cook a bit faster so you will need to make adjustments, but it seems to do everything very well. It sits on a counter where I can pull it out a bit to minimize heat to the above cabinet. Since it is not a real insulated oven it gets very, very hot. It is easy to touch a finger during checking or removing your item, so I solved this problem by placing a potholder to the side and making its use mandatory for the family. This solved the problem of accidentally touching a hot spot. I love this extra roomy oven, and I am hoping its durability will prove to be as good as the rest of its performance. Cannot beat this product, especially at the price.

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyMomwhoshopsatWalmart
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Extra Large Oven is Extra Helpful!
12/22/2015

Customer review by CaptainJacksLass

4.0 stars 12/22/2015 by CaptainJacksLass
by CaptainJacksLass

I found the Oster Extra Large Convection Countertop Oven to be a great product overall. In the beginning it was a little difficult to learn to use. It does not cook like anything I've cooked in before so there was a learning curve in using it to perform baking and toasting...the two main things I use a product like this for. It does do a great job now that I have learned how to get it to do what I wanted. It is very large, which makes it a huge helping hand in the kitchen. It's size also makes it easy to bake almost anything in and provides a welcome addition when cooking a lot of food at the same time. It's size does, however, make it difficult to find a permanent location for in most kitchens. Overall, I would recommend this oven to people with large kitchens who cook large meals frequently. It is also great for anyone who loves to make pizzas at home as it can make two at once! I was given this product in exchange for an honest review of my experience.

CaptainJacksLass
Montgomery, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Best Buy of 2010
12/17/2010

Customer review by ClydeToMe

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by ClydeToMe
by ClydeToMe

First and only negative "very short" cord, and oh the top get's quite hot so careful what you place on top and around children. Ok now to the good stuff, this oven is EVERTHING I was hoping for. It's large, easy 2 loaf pan's fit and like they say a 10x13 and a large 6qt. dutch oven. I can put a 3 course meal in there for my husband and myself easily, lot's of room ( haven't tried a pizza yet, but am sure it will be great ) It is so easy to program the temp. and the cooking time and so quiet when cooking, also cooks faster than reg. oven (when on convection, which I LOVE) It's very nice and clean looking and just what I've been looking for, for year's. I can't say enough good about this oven and trust me you wouldn't be happy with the smaller one, so if you're serious about wanting a oven that does it all and efficently you'll love this as much as I do. Agian nice looking, easy to read and set setting, many different options, quiet, large interior, 2 rack's and broiler pan and worth every penny, you won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful? (131) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClydeToMe
Cheraw, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent alternate convection oven option
11/25/2013

Customer review by Bearmtntrader

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Bearmtntrader
by Bearmtntrader
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just purchased the Oster Extra Large Countertop Convection Oven several weeks ago, and so far it has been excellent. It is large enough to accommodate two 9x13 " cake/casserole pans, if the pan used on the second rack is quite shallow, and the top rack easily offers the space for a large chicken or medium size La Creuset casserole. I wish that Oster offered a dial control option instead of electronic push button controls, which are always a pain, as you have to keep pressing the various temperature controls to get to the temperature desired. The oven automatically shuts itself off after 30 minutes, unless you program it for as long as 90 minutes, which is the longest time cycle allowed, and in order to program it, you have to read the enclosed directions very carefully in order to utilize the time extensions permitted. Our regular Kitchenaid oven control panel self destructed, so this is a great alternative while we are searching for a new oven.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bearmtntrader
Crockett, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my toaster oven
10/29/2010

Customer review by dashorse

5.0 stars 10/29/2010 by dashorse
by dashorse
Top 500 contributor

We purchased the toaster oven to have a more efficient oven. My husband was very critical of the ones we looked at in several stores. We liked the size and appearance of the Oster and that it is a convection oven. I love to cook and did not want one so small that I couldn't do a sizeable meal in it. The convection option is wonderful, I'd recommend it to anyone. Food comes out evenly cooked. The 1st item I baked was chicken breasts - perfect. No overcooked outside to get the inside up to temp (without a covering). The toaster oven is very simple to use. The stainless steel looks great and we like the design. You really can fit large items in the oven. I had trouble at first remembering to press the start after I'd done the temp and time settings. Wondered why it wasn't working! The toaster oven gives me an extra oven to use without the expense of a wall oven. My range plus this are all I can imagine needing. And I'll probably use the toaster oven most of the time. It must save on electric, given the size. It's easy to clean so far, haven't done many messy itmes yet.

Was this review helpful? (828) (108)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dashorse
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Works like a Champion!
12/21/2015

Customer review by Mej0310

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Mej0310
by Mej0310
Spark Reviewer - received free product

This toaster oven does what you expect it to and a little more. It is a BIG toaster with a good many options. I'm am still trying to figure it out. I have cooked toast, 1" thick NY strips, bacon, and brownies in it. The only thing that didn't cook up well was the brownies. (I believe it was a user error :/ ). I very much like how Oster designed the oven to be big enough for a family size frozen pizza. The stainless steel design makes it catch the eye and the setting options make it great for any cook. It really is a lot better than having to use a big oven and end up heating up the whole kitchen. I have really enjoyed having the ability to cook, bake, or toast something and faster than a normal oven. The only reason I am giving it it 4.5 stars is I wish there would've been a small low watt light bulb on the inside. My kitchen can be on the darker side and it would be very nice to have the option. Other than that there is nothing bad to say about this toaster. Disclaimer: I received the toaster as a sample to try out and be able to leave a review.

Mej0310
Wellford, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Great size but unreliable temp.
1/18/2016

Customer review by LovetoChat

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by LovetoChat
by LovetoChat

Purchased in Dec. 2015. It takes quite a while to come to temp. Oven thermometer I placed inside is accurate. When I opened the door to put pan inside, the temp dropped 25 degrees and would not come back to correct temp after 10-15 min. I had to increase the temp 50 degrees to get it back to the 400 degrees that it originally was. The brownies were burned on the top and not done in the middle. It overcooked the pizza before the baking time was up. The glass door needs to have a metal frame around it so that the glass doesn't lay on the cold counter when hot. Due to its size (which I love), the handle hangs over the counter and I'm afraid without a towel under the door, it could crack. When you set the timer for preheat, it shouldn't read "END" and turn off; the buzzer is nice that it lets you know when the pre-heat is done, but my oven is not at set temperature when the buzzer goes off. I'm hoping that either Oster customer service can solve my problems and replace my oven. I had a smaller Oster oven previously for about 8 yrs. and loved it so I purchased another Oster hoping I would have the same quality.

LovetoChat
Simi Valley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Huge, really huge X-L Convection Toaster Oven!
12/21/2015

Customer review by Will_

4.0 stars 12/21/2015 by Will_
by Will_
Spark Reviewer - received free product

It's big, it is really, really big! The box that it came in didn't prepare me for how big the toaster oven is, it really is more oven than a mere toaster. As such, it is far more useful and flexible for cooking meals. I have toasted 6 pieces of bread at once, baked a pizza as well as fries, and even roasted a chicken with great results. I really love this toaster oven! I did receive this unit to review. Good: Convenient as a second oven (we had a big turkey going in the conventional oven and a casserole going in the X-L Convection Toaster Oven. As an alternative to your oven, it can bake or broil with the convection setting more efficiently than a conventional oven all without heating the kitchen. Bad: the electric 26" cord is way too short, especially given the size of the Toaster Oven. For some, it is too big, taking too much counter space. The clock is inaccurate (fast). A number keypad would be a useful improvement.

Will_
Richmond, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Nice product but could improve
12/19/2015

Customer review by Heather08

3.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Heather08
by Heather08
Spark Reviewer - received free product

The convection oven is very nice in appearance, but is in fact very large. I have a rather large kitchen and it takes quite a bit of space up on my counter. The nice thing about it though is you can fit a whole cookie sheet (a smaller one) in the oven. The directions were a little difficult since I have never used a convection oven before and it was a little bit of a learning curve. I don't recommend using the bake function only the turbo convection function. When I used the product in the bake mode the product emitted so much heat that I could feel the heat through the cabinet. I do have a small child and that concerns me since he feels the need to touch everything, this very well could burn him. When running the oven in the turbo convection mode it didn't get as hot. Overall, the product works great but I wouldn't recommend for someone with small children as it does get very hot to the touch. I also wouldn't recommend to someone who has a smaller kitchen or not a lot of counter space. I received this item for free to sample for my honest opinion.

Heather08
Oklahoma City, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Spark Reviewer - received free product
Inconsistent temperature
1/18/2016

Customer review by LovetoChat

1.0 stars 1/18/2016 by LovetoChat
by LovetoChat

My husband bought this in mid December, 2015. The instruction manual is not very clear and leaves a lot to be desired. I wanted it because it has two racks and is large enough to bake pizza that is 12 inches or larger. The oven door needs to be framed in the stainless steel so that it doesn't hit the counter. Because of its depth, the handle hangs over the counter. It takes longer to heat than I expected and does not hold the temperature. I use 2 oven thermometers in it that I know are reliable as they are accurate when used in my wall oven. I baked cornbread last night at 400 degrees. As soon as I put the pan in and closed the door, the temp went down to 375 and after 10-15 min. still would not come back to 400. The top of the bread got very brown after a short time, but the bread was not done in the center. It has also overcooked the frozen pizza when there was still 6-7 minutes left on the recommended baking time. I baked brownies at 350 and the top burned before the brownies were done in the center. I will contact Oster as I am not happy with the performance - maybe I got a defective oven. I had an smaller Oster many years ago and it performed well. I bought another brand and had it for 9 years before it finally died. I am very used to cooking in a toaster oven, making adjustments, etc. but this oven just doesn't cut it. Lets hope Oster can make it right or replace it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/28/2016

Thank you for your review, and your feedback is much appreciated. If you would like to speak personally about different toaster oven options, call us at (800) 334-0759. I want to do all I can to keep you cooking with Oster. Thank you!

LovetoChat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall Good Oven "Just Big Enough"
7/12/2015

Customer review by ABCDE00

4.0 stars 7/12/2015 by ABCDE00
by ABCDE00

I chose this oven after having some smaller sized ones with a turn dial for settings. In both cases there were issues with the knob. You could only do a thin crust pizza in those. I decided to go up a size. This is an awesome digital oven without a lot of "bells and whistles". For the $99 price it is good. A light would be nice. Also some of the outer surfaces get very hot so I would not reccomend this if you have small childen....otherwise I would give it a 5 star rating. The oven is deep, almost like the old style TV's with the big bulky back. It is more the size of a large microwave. l It is a far more economical alternative to using a big oven for cooking or heating smaller portions....not so sure about the safety of using a microwave on a daily basis....certainly not for cooking anything. This oven appears to be a good alternative. You can put a 9x13 baking dish in it with room for the handles (something the slightly smaller ovens do not allow).

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABCDE00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Huge toaster oven great for a second oven
10/29/2015

Customer review by Margaret

4.0 stars 10/29/2015 by Margaret
by Margaret

I own a commercial style stove which is a great for large meals but its overkill for every day needs so I decided I could use a large toaster oven. I love the size of this toaster oven because a full size pizza does fit. Another advantage is the short time it takes to heat up. When I saw it in the store I grabbed several sizes of baking dishes and tried them out in the display toaster oven. The draw backs are:1. (This might only be a problem with mine.) After 30 minutes it turns off, so I don't cook anything that takes more than 20 minutes in it. 2. If you Cancel/Stop the timer it also stops the oven. 3. Setting the temperature over 400 isn't accurate. It goes quite a bit higher. I have an oven thermometer to keep track and the lower temperatures are fine but the higher the less accurate. If this is going to be your only oven these issues may be a problem for you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Margaret
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall nice product
1/28/2016

Customer review by Quantumfizz

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Quantumfizz
by Quantumfizz

I have waited almost a year before I reviewed this oven to put it thru it's tests. Overall I'm very satisfied with this unit. I haven't used my full sized oven more than a few times since getting this and my electricity bill has gone down also. I literally use it every day! It's great for a one or two person household. My only complaint, along with others, is the poor broiling feature. I have tried it with the door closed, door open, door partially open and nothing makes it better, so if you're looking for a "toaster oven" this isn't for you, this is an oven. It's temp seems to be pretty spot on, as I tested it with an oven thermometer. Heat up is pretty quick, although I wish there was a light or bell that tells you when it's up to temp. The convection feature works well although can be a bit noisy (doesn't bother me). Be careful with some things you bake as it tends to cook things a bit faster due to it's small size ( I've lost many pizzas...). Be sure to cover the lower pan and pull out tray on the bottom in foil to make clean up a breeze. Overall a good unit and the 3 yr warranty is the icing on the cake, can't go wrong for $100.00!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quantumfizz
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 937 total reviews
1-20 of 937 reviews