Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 676 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

676 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

676 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
467
4 stars
131
3 stars
23
2 stars
21
1 stars
34
1-20 of 606 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 606 total reviews
1-20 of 606 reviews
Eureka! I finally found one works like it should!
7/1/2012

Customer review by ColoradoHermit

5.0 stars 7/1/2012 by ColoradoHermit
by ColoradoHermit

I've been on a quest since November 2010 to find a convection toaster oven that works like it should. So far I've tried four others and none of them worked like they should. I've gone through 2 Black & Decker ovens, a GE, and the last one was a Hamilton Beach. Now this one works like its supposed to. It's easy to set the cooking time and temperature on it. The presets for CONVECTION BAKE and BAKE is 350 degrees and 30 minutes. It has a preset for PIZZA that is 400 degrees for 20 minutes. A DEFROST setting is for 150 degrees for 30 minutes. It also has a preset for WARM 30 minutes but the book doesn't say what the preset temp is for that and it doesn't show in the display. After testing it I found that it gets too and holds at 175 degrees. The best aspect with this thing is that it actually gets to, and holds within ten degrees, the temperature that its set for! This is the only one out of the five that I have tried that will get to the temperature that its set for, and hold it within 100 degrees of that setting. Most of the ones that I've tried were off from 100 to 150 degrees, or more, of what they are set for. When using the convection setting it is nice and quiet. The Hamilton Beach that I tried last, the fan was so loud I could hear it running in the other room. This one is so quiet that I can barely hear it running while standing right in front of it. The other thing that I really like with this one is the inside light. It comes on automatically when you press the start button and it shuts off when the timer runs out. You can also turn it on and off with its own button. Its plenty bright enough to see how done what ever is cooking in it is and is something that the other toaster ovens should have. The ovens door closes tight and seems to seal pretty good and the rack inside fits tight enough in its groove that it can be pulled out a few inches without tilting down making it easier to take out what ever your cooking. There's only a couple of things that I don't particularly care for. One is that the power cord sticks out of the bottom of the oven instead of the back or side. Its no big deal but it makes it a bit awkward keeping it out of the way when moving the oven. The other thing is the crumb tray fell out of it first time I went to set it on the counter and landed edge wise on my bare foot. Again, no big deal really, but it sure did hurt! Over all, I do believe that this one is a keeper! At least till Oster makes one with a rotisserie in it. I thought I had added that a 9"x13" cake pan, without handles, just fits inside. I uploaded pictures showing one inside of my oven. The actual size is 9 5/8" x 13 5/8", the 9"x13" is the inside. I also have a nice 2 1/2qt casserole deep dish with lid that just fits nice in it too. The other thing I forgot to add is that it heats up pretty quick too. Some of the others that I had would take 10 or 15 minutes to get up to 350 to 375 degrees. This one takes about 5 to 6 minutes to get up to 375 and a couple more to make 400. It takes about 6 to 8 minutes to heat up and lightly toast a pan of Honey Buns. At 350 they will be hot and a little soft, at 400 they will start getting a little crunchy on the edges and the frosting turning to caramel. Some of the smaller toaster ovens will toast faster and the bigger ones take a lot longer of course. Any who, I'm very happy with this one, it all depends on how long it will last. The toast cycle works pretty good too. But, you have to remember that this was designed to be a convection oven first that can also do toast. Not a toaster, that can also be used as an oven. Several people have complained about toaster ovens burning their bagels and such. One guy complained that his toaster oven almost burned down his kitchen when the bagel caught on fire inside the toaster oven, while he was off in another room doing something. In the book it tells you not to leave it unattended while using the toast cycle. You have to remember that with a normal toaster, when it gets to the end of its cycle the toast pops up, removing it from the heat. When using the toaster oven to make toast, when it gets to the end of the toast cycle it shuts off. But YOU have to remove the toast from the oven or it will continue to toast until the oven cools down enough to stop toasting or you come along and remove the toast. They guy that almost burned down his kitchen with a flaming Bagel while he was off in another room doing something else, just couldn't grasp this concept. I timed mine when toasting some whole wheat buns for Sloppy Joe's. It took 3 and half minutes for the buns to start to toast. Once they first started to toast it only took 30 seconds for them to get a nice golden brown and I had to remove them. Like I said, remember that this was made to be an oven first, that can also be used to make toast. I've been using this oven for a year and a half now. I always use a good oven thermometer and I've found that mine consistently runs 15 to 25 degrees higher that what its set for. When set at 375 it holds its temperature at 390 to 400. Set it at 425 and it holds it at 440 to 450. And that is the closest that I have ever seen any oven hold a temperature. Counter top oven or fancy built in oven.

Was this review helpful? (502) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColoradoHermit
Canon City, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Excellent product!
7/25/2010

Customer review by Beeracuda

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by Beeracuda
by Beeracuda

I bought this as a temporary replacement for my regular oven, until it got fixed. It's been about 20 years since I last owned a toaster oven, so I wasn't expecting much. I was extremely surprised!! This oven does everything my regular kitchen oven does. I live alone, so I don't need a lot of oven space to cook my meals. However, this oven is plenty big enough for cooking meals for several people. It will hold a 9x13 pan, but as others have said, there can be absolutely no handles or lip on the edges of the pan. The convection feature is nice too. However, if you're cooking meat, you might want to either turn off the convection fan, or at least cover the meat, as the circulating air might dry out the edges of the meat. The digital controls are a real bonus, as well as the turn off feature. Once you learn how long to cook something, simply set it and forget it. No need to keep checking on it. The oven will beep when the time is up, and will turn itself off. Clean up is extremely easy, as the crumb tray simply slides out and can be easily cleaned. Also, the oven does not put out a lot of heat into the kitchen, which is a real plus in the hot summer. Overall, I am extremely pleased with this oven, and I might just forget about fixing the regular kitchen oven, since this one does everything I need. It has become a daily-use appliance for me! Great job, Oster!!

Was this review helpful? (398) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beeracuda
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
7/17/2010

Customer review by CarefulVegasShopper

4.0 stars 7/17/2010 by CarefulVegasShopper
by CarefulVegasShopper

Overall this is a great oven. I bought it mainly to cook french fries in without heating up the kitchen. I live in Las Vegas and this is very important in the summer. I have had the oven for about 2 months. I returned a Hamilton Beach oven that put out a lot of heat. I can feel very little heat so I am very pleased. I like the "Warm" feature and the "Pizza" feature. It is very easy to use, my husband even cooked a pizza in it. First time in 35 years. My only complaint is that for the price that it didn't come with a baking sheet that would fit the oven. Standard 9 X 13 pans won't fit if they have any handles so you have to buy them extra if you want to utilize the larger size of the oven. I bought a Oneida cake pan that is 9 1/2 X 13 1/2 and it just fits.

Was this review helpful? (351) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarefulVegasShopper
Henderson, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT
6/15/2010

Customer review by NAN1938

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by NAN1938
by NAN1938

I LOVE THIS OVEN. I THINK THE BIGGEST ITEM ON THE LIST IS THE DEFROST. I CAN PUT HAMBURG IN AND DEFROST IT AND IT DOESN'T COOK ANY SIDE OF THE MEAT LIKE MY MICROWAVE DOES. TO ME THIS IS SOMETHING EXTRA THAT I DIDN'T EXPECT. I HAVE ONLY HAD THE OVEN FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS BUT AM REALLY ENJOYING THE MANY USES OF IT.

Was this review helpful? (225) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NAN1938
MANCHESTER, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
BUY THIS!
6/27/2010

Customer review by AuntPatsy

5.0 stars 6/27/2010 by AuntPatsy
by AuntPatsy

My $2,000.00 Jenn Aire oven broke and it would cost $1,000 to fix! Unsure what to do, for the short term I bought this Oster Toaster Oven. Good decision. I have worked to learn how to cook everything in it that I cooked in my Jenn Aire, from delicious baked goods to roasts. I bought smaller baking pans at Dollar Store, which I use several times, toss, and replace. My only regret is that I did not buy the biggest Oster Toaster oven, which I see on this site! (My electric bill is 'way down - I had no idea what a draw my fancy oven was on my electric bill!)

Was this review helpful? (233) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntPatsy
upstate N.Y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Well worth the investment...
6/20/2011

Customer review by Abkeda

5.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Abkeda
by Abkeda

I was in the market for a new toaster oven as my B&D's top element burned out. I read many reviews for the Oster, liked the look and it is also a best buy from Consumer Reports. I have used it everyday since receiving and some days mutiple times. You do have to watch the temp setting as it does seem to cook hotter then recommend temp for your cooking instructions. But a little adjusting is not problem...cause nothing is perfect. Toaster works great...start on setting 1 and adjust from there as that gives a pretty good toast. Convection works great and the defrost is wonderful as another customer previously mentioned. I do have concerns about the handle as it is a rather cheap material...and the outside does get hot as all toaster ovens seem to do...so just be careful. The inside light does come on with every setting, I just turn it off unless needed. Overall I am very happy and yes not heating up the whole house is nice...I broiled some sirloin last night and they came out perfect.

Was this review helpful? (76) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Abkeda
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too big for just a toaster oven....
10/22/2011

Customer review by PaulaBakesCakes

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by PaulaBakesCakes
by PaulaBakesCakes

If you're looking to replace a toaster oven....this will do the job but it is a large piece of metal and takes up plenty of counter space. This oven is better suited for multi-purpose cooking in place of your stove's oven. It will hold baking pans, casseroles, and many slices of bread for toasting but because of its size it takes longer to toast than a smaller oven like the DeLonghi or Cuisinart. Unlike the Cuisinart, the crumb tray is easy to access for cleaning but the top metal surface scratches easily so don't slide anything even slightly abrasive along the top and the wire rack is flimsy but seems to support heavy pans without bending. If you simply want to toast something or bake a few potatoes this is not the machine for you. If you want a multi functional electric counter oven with convection this will do the job. I believe I shoulda' just bought a toaster! Delivery was lightening fast and the machine arrived in perfect condition.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulaBakesCakes
Western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/30/2011

Customer review by SLCConsumer

3.0 stars 5/30/2011 by SLCConsumer
by SLCConsumer

I wanted this product because of the digital display and oven size. Shortly after I purchased this product and the bulb blew out. I contacted the manufacturer and was told that the unit's light can't be replaced. I like the oven so I'm still working to resolve this issue of the light bulb. The manufacturer says the model is out of stock and wants to replace my unit with a smaller, cheaper unit.

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SLCConsumer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Oven
6/5/2011

Customer review by Databox

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Databox
by Databox

This toaster oven is excellent. It performs superb ans is very accurate. Most toaster ovens may say they go to 400 or 450 degrees, but never quite make it. I've tested the temp several times with a thermometer and it always gets to the set temp and the convection is great. Plenty of room ... highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Databox
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
better than a microwave
6/21/2010

Customer review by OsterUser

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by OsterUser
by OsterUser

we've made banana bread, egg rolls, pizza, lots of toast since it does that too and the power bill was down to $80 this month! It does fit 9x13 but not with handles. Wish it came with a second rack. Like that is shuts itself off when the times up

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OsterUser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for me!
8/25/2010

Customer review by happyinstpete

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by happyinstpete
by happyinstpete

I never use my regular oven so it was important that the interior be large enough to accomodate anything I want to cook (other than something like a turkey). I bought a 5.25 lb chicken and it slid in with room to spare. I used the convection feature and it came out as good as any rotisserie chicken I have ever eaten. I did cheat a little and put foil over the breast for the first 25 minutes and also turned the bird 180 degrees so both ends would get the direct blast from the fan. (I'm still getting used to convection cooking.) One of the features that I love is that I can bake with or without the convection fan. I haven't had it long enough to comment on durability, but they make you rate it. The light is very helpful, runs quietly. CONS: Big as a microwave. sides get hot and buttons and displays are difficult to see.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyinstpete
St. Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great addition to the kitchen
1/10/2011

Customer review by ABNTGR

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by ABNTGR
by ABNTGR

This is a great addition to your kitchen. We got it in Nov. 2010 to replace a smaller one that had stopped working. It is large, make sure you have the room, but the trade off is it will use some of your real cookie sheets and cake pans, they just can't have the handles on them! The convection is nice but if you haven't used it before it takes some trial and error. I really like the digital displays, the 'done' beep is not annoying like others are. When you toast make sure the rack is in the top position and keep an eye on it until you find the setting you like. Yes, the outside gets hot, but remember, it's an OVEN! This is somehting I have come to expect from toaster ovens. Overall I am very happy with this, with the expanded capabilities due to its size and the digital controls. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for something more than a toaster, it has alreay taken on many of the tasks our larger over used to do and I know I'm saving money on electricity! The 4-star on features is only because I need a 1.5 setting for my toast, it only have 1,2,3,4,5 and 6...

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABNTGR
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this mid sized Oster Convection oven.
2/2/2014

Customer review by RememberBENGHAZI

5.0 stars 2/2/2014 by RememberBENGHAZI
by RememberBENGHAZI

I have had this oven for just under a month but I am in love with it already. It cooks quick, evenly and without a fuss. The fact it has a light is a major plus for me. It is so quiet and reasonably priced for budget conscious folks. It does not cook a full sized pizza but that was not an issue for me. I did buy some smaller pans to fit, but they were affordable and decent quality so no fuss there. The unit itself is handsome on the granite counter top and the electronic display is an upgrade from the hideous dials. Overall do your research, know your cooking habits and what features you want. The size of the oven will matter if you cook full sized items or multiple items so you do want to know how you are going to use this oven. Oster offers a larger size, but you need a lot of counter space. This unit is mid size with one cooking shelf.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RememberBENGHAZI
Las Vegas NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great but gets really hot
3/15/2014

Customer review by IamCool247

4.0 stars 3/15/2014 by IamCool247
by IamCool247

We are loving this toaster oven. It is a little bigger than our last Oster Toaster Oven but it still fits where we had our last one. However, it gets so much hotter than our last one that we needed to move it to a whole new place so it has extra space around it. We also had to get used to the new settings: there are 6 settings to toast with so we undercooked and burnt a few things before figuring out how the settings work. After a few trial and errors we appreciate the different settings. Instead of guessing how long to time to toast something we pick the number setting which states how toasted it'll be. It works great cooking, toasting and even reheating our food. It runs quietly but you do hear the fan (still pretty quiet though) when you use the convection setting. It beeps when finished but even that isn't loud or obnoxious. Overall we really love this new toaster oven.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IamCool247
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A QUALITY TOASTER OVEN
8/9/2011

Customer review by pickyjoan

5.0 stars 8/9/2011 by pickyjoan
by pickyjoan

I studied reviews and compared toaster ovens thoroughly before deciding to spend the extra money to get this extra-nice toaster oven. And ..... I'm finding that I love it! I've made frozen pizza a number of times - turned out great. I've toasted English muffins & made Sr. Schubert rolls -- turned out great. I baked ribs for a couple of hours -- worked great. Digital controls are nice and feel like a luxury. The clock is accurate ... doesn't gain (or lose?) time like some reviews mentioned. I've had it just about a month and I use it every chance I can. It's so nice not to have to heat up my big oven. (And I'm looking forward to the convenience of having a good sized "second oven" when it's time for holiday baking.) My husband who usually doesn't get too excited over our kitchen appliances has mentioned more than once about how nice it is. If you can spend the extra money, go for this one over the cheaper models. This is my second toaster oven - my previous one was a medium priced one which worked "okay" ... but there is definitely a difference in quality from this one. This one is bigger, but not "too big." And I don't miss the ticking timer at all!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pickyjoan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful design, works great!
3/5/2011

Customer review by LadyKlein

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by LadyKlein
by LadyKlein

Great: Drawer-style crumb tray that slides STRAIGHT out, no tipping and spilling the crumbs Sturdy racks and trays Simple, intuitive controls Interior light Lots of space for multiple pieces of food Outside doesn't get too hot Does a wide variety of baking, heating, browning, and toasting Could be better: Digital controls always reset to default after use and have to be readjusted for each use Preheating requires either a separate cycle of use or separate timer The mid-level toast setting burns ordinary bread; I can't imagine what the high-level toast settings are for! My husband sees the red items in the display and keeps thinking that the oven is on (even though the large red indicator light near the bottom is not on! lol)

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyKlein
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Much Better Than I Expected!
1/18/2014

Customer review by HappyHappyChef

5.0 stars 1/18/2014 by HappyHappyChef
by HappyHappyChef

I am so happy that I ordered this oven! I had read reviews for several brands and when I read this one I was a bit on the fence since many reviews were from people who had received one free from Oster to use and review . . . wish I knew how you get in on that gig:) So far I can only RAVE about this oven - have used it as a toaster with excellent results - hot, evenly browned toast . . . and as a convection oven - fits so much more food than I imagined - my friend brought over four frozen gourmet potatoes and garlic bread . . . this oven did an amazing, quick job! Everything cooked all the way through and evenly - saves me from using my big oven and I know I will find it super convenient when I need more oven space for get togethers! Highly recommend, great deal especially for the price!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyHappyChef
Longwood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Large oven
7/13/2011

Customer review by 54market

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by 54market
by 54market

This is a great convection toaster oven. But get to know it's function. If you leave the rack on top adjust your heat because the food will burn. So lower the rack. Take some time, check out the instruction booklet. I can use my pampered chef clay tray with the rack on top .Nice looking on the counter. I'm not sure about cleaning it, the back wall is not stainless and if something burns on it , I don't know how it will clean up. I think all toasters are like that . The window is large, it shows everything. I wipe it down right away.Maybe because I hate grungy toasters . I also line the crumb tray with foil. I got reviews on other toasters and this one fit my need for a large toaster oven and you won't burn your hand on the door opening it. It's chrome looking plastic.I don't mind , no burns.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
54market
LANOKA HARBOR NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Hate it!
6/28/2011

Customer review by dkreview

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by dkreview
by dkreview

I bought this after reading all the great reviews! However, mine is horrible! It burns everything! If I'm supposed to bake something for 10 minutes, by 7 it's burnt on the outside & still not cooked in the middle! I will definitely be taking it back!! Total waste of money!!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dkreview
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works well and keeps kitchen cooler!
7/28/2011

Customer review by sgoree7595

5.0 stars 7/28/2011 by sgoree7595
by sgoree7595

My mother wanted to get this for me since she has the same one in her house and likes it so much. I started using it right away. I've cooked breads, fish sticks, cupcakes, etc., and it takes a fraction of the time without heating up the kitchen for hours. It does get extremely hot, however, it cools quickly and it takes 7 minutes to preheat. I'm glad I have it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sgoree7595
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 606 total reviews
1-20 of 606 reviews