Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 697 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

697 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

697 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
497
4 stars
131
3 stars
24
2 stars
11
1 stars
34
1-20 of 573 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 573 total reviews
1-20 of 573 reviews
Nine Stars Motion Sensor Slim Touchless 13-Gallon
1/6/2011

Customer review by GoRaWa1

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by GoRaWa1
by GoRaWa1

We bought one of these over a year ago as a recycle can. We recently purchased an identical one as a garbage can from Walmart via internet and home delivery. Obviously, we were pleased with the first one and its service for a year. In fact, I have no complaints at all. Even the battery life exceeded my expectations. I believe that the batteries lasted well over six months, and we probably opened and closed the can five to ten times per day. The old has worn well, and it is all but impossible to tell the old one from the new. We do use plastic bags as a liner, and these last about a week for both the garbage and the recycle (our family is fairly small). Note that there is a plastic retaining ring in the can which allows you to configure the bag such that you cannot see it from the outside. I have no complaints at all about these cans after more than a year of service. Walmart's ordering and delivery time were all well beyond expectations.

Was this review helpful? (226) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoRaWa1
Tomball, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Product
6/8/2010

Customer review by Rebecca743

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by Rebecca743
by Rebecca743

We've gone through several other brands of the sensor cans (iTouchless) that we obtained from Costco. They all stopped working after just a few weeks. This product from Nine Stars is a very space saving design and works very quietly and smoothly. The sensor isn't so sensitive that it opens every time you walk by it - which was very annoying with the other cans we had before. We're very pleased with the Nine Stars product and found the best price at WalMart. Highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (81) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rebecca743
Carmel Valley, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice Product For The Money
5/30/2010

Customer review by agg03

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by agg03
by agg03

Ordered this first on the site to store, got home and it was damaged. Disappointed in that, but liked it so much I gave it another shot & had it delivered to our home instead. Really like the way it looks & love that you don't have to touch the lid to throw stuff away. However it does seem like it will dent fairly easy, as the bottom part is thinly made. But overall seems to be a great addition to our kitchen. Have already gotten compliments!

Was this review helpful? (53) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
agg03
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GARBAGE!
12/16/2011

Customer review by yourdardar

1.0 stars 12/16/2011 by yourdardar
by yourdardar

I received this product as a gift. I was thrilled it was exactly what I wanted and it worked perfectly for a few months. But then it stopped working. I followed all of the troubleshooting tips on the company's website with no results, so I began my attempt to contact them for a warranty replacement. No dice. You contact Nine Stars Products who tell you it's not their problem you need to contact Nine Stars Group USA, and the latter company is completely unreachable. Bottom line: if you buy this product it will work for a short time and then stop working and you will need to buy a replacement - the company will not honor any warranty they advertise.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yourdardar
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Big Improvement
9/15/2010

Customer review by Logic4U

5.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Logic4U
by Logic4U

We had the DZT-42-1 and were fairly satisfied except it opened when you walked by or if the cat (yes, even a cat) would walk close with his tail up in the air. It also closed even while food was being scraped into it. This DZT-50-9 is better looking, far less likely to open when walking by, and stays open while plates are being scraped into it. It also hold more and has a larger opening. A big improvement without a bigger price.

Was this review helpful? (52) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Logic4U
Morris County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Short 2 months of Life
12/2/2010

Customer review by acleanmom

1.0 stars 12/2/2010 by acleanmom
by acleanmom

This garbage can is a waste of money, broke within 2 months and the company Nine Stars want me to pay to send them in to fix, why should I have to pay for anything, I already bought the garbage can, poor customer service, do not buy. Based on other people's reviews, I'm not the only one has such problem.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acleanmom
Conklin, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Saved alot of money and living much better
6/18/2010

Customer review by savingmoneylivingbetter1

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by savingmoneylivingbetter1
by savingmoneylivingbetter1

WHAO!!! this trash can is priced to sale. I've bought it at regular price and I thought it was cheap already. Have had it for a good four months nows, still running on the same set of batteries! This can didn't meet my expectations, it beats it way over my expectation!! The style is great, the height is just~o~perfect. You could say i'm in love with it!! If your read my title, I mention I saved alot, well because I bought one of those pricey cans, you know the ones with same funtion as this one but costed alot more. I don't want to throw any names out their but it starts with an "i", now days theirs so many i's, iphones, ipads, ipods, and something like "i don't have to touch". Well you get the point (hopefully), so that can cost about twice the price as this one and "OMG" did i had a hard time with it. (Lets me alway from my complaints on that can, it'll be too much to say). "Living Much Better" With this hands free trash can, kitchen chores have never been more easier. My two hands would be holding a bunch of trash can and guess what? the lids opens and just when you empty your trash in to the can. it closes.... what an amazing unit! Something to sure with you! So I was over at my sisters home the other day, after dinner, I helped out did some cleaning. SO; I grabbed a bunch of trash on my hand and standed by her trash can for like a minute. I frozed and BOOOM I'd realize this is not my automatic can. Hey, thanks for reading, I'd totally recommend this company's line of trash can. I have about three different cans from this company and all of it running very well.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savingmoneylivingbetter1
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stay Away, Poor Quality
11/30/2010

Customer review by WhyMeHere

1.0 stars 11/30/2010 by WhyMeHere
by WhyMeHere

I have purchased three of these and after less than 6 months none of them are working. On one can the plastic gear that operates the hinge broke. On another, the plastic lid broke where the hinge attaches. And on the third, the sensor just stopped working. I like the handsfree idea but just not this cheap brand again. I will try ordering the touchless brand.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhyMeHere
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this trash can!
11/25/2011

Customer review by HappyGrandmaToo

5.0 stars 11/25/2011 by HappyGrandmaToo
by HappyGrandmaToo

After six months of use, I am now purchasing as gifts for three grown daughters. Everyone likes this trash can including my two young grandsons. This thing holds lots of trash and fills up to the top, no wasting of space when you pull the bag out. My old container would be half empty when I pulled the bag out. It is easy to change out the bag, holds in smells good, and is so easy to use. I just wipe it down with a antibacterial wipe to clean, and it looks nice in the kitchen. Highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyGrandmaToo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Better than the Costco one
10/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Costco sells a similar one for about the same price, but it is 30 gallon. That sounds like a "deal," but it is so big it crowds out the kitchen, and, it holds so much (the 30 gallon one) that it sits there extra days, and smells up the room. The 13 gallon one is better! Also, when you get it, there is a black plastic ring that sits on top of the can before putting the electric opener on top of it. I didn't see where it says this, but, put the bag in the can hanging about 3 inches over the edge, THEN the black ring on the can. Pull the bag overhang back INTO the bag, then put the top on. It ENTIRELY HIDES the top edge of the bag! No "sloppy shirt-tail" look from a bag hanging out on the can. This makes your kitchen look much neater! Yep! Get the Walmart one, not the Costco one that is too big.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Gilroy, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed with my purchase
11/19/2010

Customer review by SueBB

1.0 stars 11/19/2010 by SueBB
by SueBB

All of my friends know me as the person to come to for recommendations and I was excited about this product until about 3 months after using it. It just stopped working!! I went through 2 packs of new batteries rationalizing that it "might be the batteries" but it is definitely the unit! I have exchanged it twice and had to pay shipping to do that. I couldn't be any more disappointed with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SueBB
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/12/2011

Customer review by CA1215

1.0 stars 1/12/2011 by CA1215
by CA1215

The sensor didn't work so I requested a replacement. the sensor on the replacement also didn't work either so I returned again. It is sleek looking but it doesn't function properly.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CA1215
Would recommend to a friend? No
Was DOA
1/2/2012

Customer review by BigDinAL

1.0 stars 1/2/2012 by BigDinAL
by BigDinAL

Unfortunately, I have to give it one star as the electronics were dead upon opening the box. I gave this to my wife for Christmas and could never get the control panel to light up in any way, much less make the lid open automatically. Thinking I might have bad batteries, I went to a store and got fresh batteries with the same results. It looks good and might hold promise if it worked. I had to return it to my local Wal-Mart store for a refund. D

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDinAL
Alabaster, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Doesn't work as I expected
12/12/2011

Customer review by rh3662

1.0 stars 12/12/2011 by rh3662
by rh3662

Maybe I have a defective unit. I bought this trash can as a replacement for a manual one controlled by stepping on a lever with your foot. The can is located in my kitchen. After using this new one for a day of heavy cooking I'm taking it back. I can't reliably get the lid to open no matter how I wave my hand. I had two other people have a shot at opening it and they also couldn't reliably get it to respond. The instructions say you need to be within inches of the sensor and we made sure we were that close. It's frustrating to have a your hands full of food waste, etc. and have to struggle to get the lid on the trash can open. I'll stick with my manual lid can. It always opens when I step on the lever.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rh3662
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lid poorly made - requires replacing after a while
12/3/2013

Customer review by Carnie12

1.0 stars 12/3/2013 by Carnie12
by Carnie12

While the can itself is beautiful - the lid requires replacing after a few years ... and it is not cheap. It is nearly the cost of replacing the entire set. When I looked to replace the lid, most places were sold out which is not a good sign. Beware of the faulty lid.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carnie12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Auto Trash Can
6/22/2011

Customer review by KLP1215

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by KLP1215
by KLP1215

This trash can is everything it says it is. It looks great, works great, and fills a bag completely. The online write-up says D batteries, but my unit took C batteries. My son likes to pretend he's a Jedi Knight opening and closing the trash can, LOL. It's fun to use, and the dog can't get into it. LOVE IT!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KLP1215
Burke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Liked it While It Lasted
8/21/2010

Customer review by ChristaInNC

2.0 stars 8/21/2010 by ChristaInNC
by ChristaInNC

Don't know if I just got a dud or not, but my Nine Stars 13 Gal Motion Sensor Trash Can is packed back in the box ready to return to the store. Loved it for the 3 whole weeks it worked. Great price, looks nice, good size, fun to use, but malfunctioned when the top was removed to change the bag for the second time. Lid would only open halfway and would not start working correctly no matter what I did - pushed both buttons, removed batteries and replaced. Nothing would get it back into the right sequence. So glad it can be returned to my local store since it was only available to purchase online.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristaInNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Takes WAY TO LONG for the lid to open!
10/12/2011

Customer review by linksys202

1.0 stars 10/12/2011 by linksys202
by linksys202

I had bought my daughter the 13 gallon itouchless and it works much better. This one takes up to 4 seconds to open. So you stand their with your hands full of trash waiting for the lid to open. I've put new batteries in it so I know it's not that. I now just leave the lid open and the sensor turned off. Much quicker than wasting my time waiting for it to open. Looks nice though but what I paid for it not worth it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linksys202
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't waste your money
12/3/2010

Customer review by LovesTampa

1.0 stars 12/3/2010 by LovesTampa
by LovesTampa

I didn't get to use this Trash can because when I opened the box I noticed several dents. The stainless steal is very thin. Would not be durable. I thought it was a good buy after reading several reviews. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LovesTampa
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Piece of junk, don't waste your money!
12/27/2011

Customer review by EricaJL78

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by EricaJL78
by EricaJL78

We got this for our grandmother as a Christmas gift, ordered online through site to store, when we recieved it thankfully we checked it before gifting it because it was dented, the lid was all scratched up and had been gouged then to cover the gouge the manufacture decided to spray paint it silver to attemp to cover up the damage!!!! WHY? I have no clue why any company would sell something with their name on it in the condition we got this in! I highly suggest going for one that is also not automatic because when the batteries die theres no way to open the lid until you replace the batteries! Piece of Junk, try another brand and don't buy this one!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EricaJL78
Windham, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 573 total reviews
1-20 of 573 reviews