Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
106
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 125 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews
You can't go wrong with a Frigidaire
7/19/2010

Customer review by exsearsman

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by exsearsman
by exsearsman

The boss wanted a good dehumidifier, I went to Walmart.com and started searching and reading reviews, I found the Frigidaire 70 pint (no reviews though that's why i'm writing one) and decided that was the one. I used to be a SEARS appliance repair man and I know Frigidaire has a reliable product. I got our dehumidifier and let it sit for a day then plugged it in in the basement, now we have all we can do to keep up with it, this thing pulls moisture out of the air like crazy, we knew it was a little musty in this old school basement, but we dump this thing 2 or 3 times a day so now we added a hose. One more thing, this thing purrrrs like a kitten. It's a +++++

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
exsearsman
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Frigidaire 70-Pint Great Unit!
6/15/2010

Customer review by Lukes442

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Lukes442
by Lukes442

Love this Frigidaire 70 Pint dehumidifer. Added a "little giant" pump which pumps all the water to a location of my choice as this unit fills up it's own reservoir very quickly.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lukes442
Trumansburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
1/5/2011

Customer review by GPM1

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by GPM1
by GPM1

Have gone through 3 dehumidifiers in 10 years at current home. 1st three purchases lower capacity bargain brands at home improvement stores. Shopped extensively online for high capacity units and found Walmart offered best value including price and ease of return if problem experienced. Unit arrived in 2 days after online purchase. Due to installation in December, unit has not been extremely active only sporadically running on unusually warm Saint Louis winter days. Electronic humidity setting great feature. Unit reasonably quiet but not an issue as located in basement. Immediately noticed this unit has much higher air moving capabilities than lower capacity units previously owned which should be a plus servicing 1300 square foot unfinished basement. Unit does not run continuously as previous reviewers complained. Am hoping this unit offers an improvement in service life due to higher capacity and brand quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GPM1
Saint Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great dehumidifier, but...
4/15/2011

Customer review by KenIAm

4.0 stars 4/15/2011 by KenIAm
by KenIAm

Received my dehumidifier yesterday, much faster than Walmart.com promised it. The unit appears to be well made and designed. It is much quieter than any previous dehumidifiers I've owned but it has one feature than I am not pleased with. The fan runs continuously whether the unit is dehumidifying or not. All previous units (other brands) would turn off the fan when the desired humidity level was reached. Also, I was concerned that the unit was not working properly because the outlet air is barely warm when dehumidifying. Frigidaire assures me this is normal. The noise level is both a plus and a minus. It is quiet, so quiet that one cannot tell if the compressor is running or not. The only way to know if the unit is operating is to feel the outlet air and/or check the very handy water-level indicator in the collection tank. Outside of the continuous fan noise I am pleased with the unit so far. Since all previous dehumidifiers have proved unreliable, the jury is still out on this one. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KenIAm
near Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works fine, quiter than Soleus
4/10/2011

Customer review by cep68

4.0 stars 4/10/2011 by cep68
by cep68

Bought this dehumidifier for my basement, initially it ran for 3 days straight and once the humidity level in the basement evened out it has been maintaining just fine. Running it eliminated the musty odor that was developing in the basment and for this I am grateful. While it works fine and is quieter than the equivalent Soleus dehumdifier there are a couple of quibbles that I have, one minor and one not so minor. The minor quibble is that I wish it was even quieter but compared to the Soleus (which was so unbearably loud that I ended up returning it) it is tolerable. The not so minor quibble is how this unit short cycles. What I mean by that is that the unit will run, once the humidity setting is met it will shut off but then start up a couple of minutes later. Frigidaire should put a time delay so that after the humidity setting is reached the unit should not restart for a set time (e.g. after a minimum of 30 minutes) and not a minute later.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cep68
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Hit or Miss - My second unit seems OK
5/14/2011

Customer review by Luckland

3.0 stars 5/14/2011 by Luckland
by Luckland

NOTE: This has updates for the machine(s) as the usage approached 250 hours - My first unit was noisy (Loud vibration from the compressor against the internal plastic frame), so I called Frigidaire and was told to return it, indicating the compressor could be loose. (I do not think it is. If I lift the machine while running, it quiets down the vibration - Also, I took out the filter looked inside and saw what appeared to be a noise/vibration insulation strip poorly placed by the compressor and frame - Seemed it was off-set - Note: The second unit looked OK, with no appearance of an off-set noise/vibration insulation strip). The second unit I ordered had the noise briefly, but it quieted down. I run this machine in the basement where it is 60 degrees and the compressor shuts down quite a bit, due to freezing up (The fan keeps running). I normally run for 12 hours at a time each day, but have run up to 15 hours. My basement is at 55% humidity and only goes down slightly. After 15 hours, the float is just about ready to move for the level indicator in the bucket. Time will tell how this runs in warmer weather. OK, I ran this for three days for 16 hours each day and then about two hours the next day (about 50 hours) and it finally filled and did an auto shut off. The bucket is about 10 quarts, with a plastic lid secured in place, which makes it not that easy to empty. I poured the water into another bucket (11 quart) and then poured down my drain in the basement. I expect I have 250 hours on this machine now, since the filter light glowed this morning (I shut off the machine and the light went out, but glowed again when the machine was turned back on - The filter re-set button needed to be pressed). I took out the filter (it appeared clean), cleaned it, replaced it, turned on the machine, and pressed on the filter re-set button - All is well, the filter re-set light is off and the machine is running. Overall, this seems to be OK, especially in a basement that is now between 60 to 63 degrees. I expect the compressor will run longer as the basement gets warmer in the next several months. The noisy unit takes about the same amount of water out of the air, when tested at a 16 hour timeframe. I returned the noisy machine to a local store that accepted the return, including delivery charges for a defective unit. Hope this helps, j.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Luckland
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very effective!
6/25/2010

Customer review by t75wes4

4.0 stars 6/25/2010 by t75wes4
by t75wes4

I don't yet know what kind of a bite it will be on my electric bill yet (685 watts,) but it really does a great job of taking the moisture out of my basement. From what I have measured, it's actually removing more pints per day that what it is rated (70 ppd.)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
t75wes4
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
crawl space moisture
9/9/2010

Customer review by billpay

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by billpay
by billpay

After being told that the best way to combat a significant ductwork condensation problem in a crawl space of 2200 sq. feet would be a dehumidifier, I read a ton of reviews of various products. I actually ordered another brand but returned it when it arrived broken. I tried this one because of the reviews. After running continuously for 4 days all ductwork moisture was gone. It has been a month and the standing moisture is mostly gone after changing the setting to auto. I have teamed the unit with an exterior pump to take the water away. They work well together. The Walmart price was the best I could find. Home shipping was inexpensive and fast. The reviews I read indicate longevity might be a problem and it is too soon to address that but I am very satisfied so far. Because so many reviews indicate early operational problems I suggest a purchase from a place with a generous return policy. Thankfully I did not need it with this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
billpay
tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I was looking for
12/21/2010

Customer review by chris

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by chris
by chris

My house is a split level with the lower level half way underground on a cement slab foundation. I also live 100 feet from water. Needless to say, I have a problem with humidity. I was amazed how much water this thing pulled out of the air. It ran for a week straight when I first plugged it in but once it got the air to a reasonable level it cycled on and off. My electric bill was not any higher than I would normally expected. I love that I can set the humidity level and just forget about it. Now that it's winter it hasn't run at all but I keep it plugged in for the peace of mind. It's also fairly nice looking. I don't mind having it visible. It's on wheels, so I can easily move it if I need to. I dump the bucket in my laundry/utility sink but have spilled a little. No big deal though. It's a little noisy, but not enough to make me lower my rating. Overall a great purchase and I would highly recommend it.

chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great - so far!
12/21/2010

Customer review by vpm

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by vpm
by vpm

We had a small to moderate humidity problem. The reviews I read around the Internet mostly said that the Frigidaire product was the best one for the money, although some reported reliability problems after a year or so, and then a hassle getting the product repaired. Anyway, I went ahead and bought the Frigidaire 70 pint. It works great! Not the most quiet machine I've ever heard, but not too noisy, and so efficient at bringing the humidity down that it does not run all the time. Instructions were clear, the machine was easy to set up and use, and does the job well. It is heavy - we had visions of moving it from floor to floor, but in reality we don't do that much. We've had it a couple of months and I'm delighted with the purchase. I just hope that the reports of reliability problems and problems getting it fixed are unfounded - or else I will be doing battle with Frigidaire in the public airwaves!

vpm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well worth it..apparently!
7/31/2010

Customer review by markie59

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by markie59
by markie59

Last weekend we had nine inches of rain in two days...thank the lord for sump pumps...as we probably would have been four to six feet deep. Anyhow... after the clean up..our unfinished basement was still extremely damp and clammy. Saw this unit online...it shipped real quickly for $4.95...right to the porch. Plugged it in, and within an hour...we were believers. It is extremely portable (casters and handle) I have used it with and without the drain hose. (If you're concerned about attaching the drain hose..it's a snip..Lowe's sells em for $5). The air and cement floor look smell and feel a whole lot better already. Dont know what the electric bill will look like... but the darn thing is awesome!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
markie59
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent Product!! You will not be disappointed
7/30/2010

Customer review by PR123

4.0 stars 7/30/2010 by PR123
by PR123

I purchased this dehumidifier a few days ago for my finished basement to get rid of the moisture coming through the basement floor and the slightly musty odor and I must say that I'm impressed with the amount of moisture this thing is sucking out of the air. Pros: Easy setup. Just plug it in, turn it on. The controls are pretty self explanatory. The large bucket holds a lot of water; which is good because this thing really sucks the moisture out of the air. The unit automatically turns off when the bucket is full so there are no concerns about overflow and cleaning up a mess. Shipping from Walmart.com was very fast. I ordered it on a Saturday. Shipped it to my home and got it on Tuesday. I paid for standard shipping which was only $4.99 Cons: The unit can be a bit noisy especially when on high speed. The unit does such a great job that you will have to keep emptying the bucket so maybe a bigger bucket is needed ; Or you can use the hose attachment to direct the water to a drain. Summary: The pros outweigh the cons. The product shamelessly does what it's intended to do and is well worth the price. If you want a dry, musty and insect free basement, this product is for you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PR123
New Haven, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works like a charm
9/18/2010

Customer review by Steef2

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Steef2
by Steef2

Feels solid and well made. Used it for about 1 month and my only complaint would be that the unit removes so much water from the air that I can't keep up emptying the water container. I will have to get a hose and hook the unit up to the sump pump pit. Supposedly this can be done with a standard garden hose and connectors that are available from your local DIY store. This is a energy star unit and therefore my state will also issue a $25 rebate check. The Walmart price and rebate will make this unit a very competitive priced item.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steef2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Still not wroking right
9/10/2010

Customer review by Agent1111

2.0 stars 9/10/2010 by Agent1111
by Agent1111

Sadly this dehumidifier will not function as promised with the hose attachment. It will work for a short time and then everything collects in the bucket instead of draining through the hose. Tried 2 different hoses and attached over and over to make sure it was on properly. This machine may right needs if you are watching and emptying the container frequently but I was not happy with results since I wanting to have it work with the hose function.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Agent1111
Wilmington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
JUNK !!!
11/23/2010

Customer review by Porkahontis

1.0 stars 11/23/2010 by Porkahontis
by Porkahontis

I bought this item in June 2010. It worked great for a while. I noticed yesterday it is not working at all. My last dehumidifier, another brand, lasted for 5 years with no problems. I'm very disappointed in this one. Past 90 days for a return to the store so I'm going to contact manuf. and see what they have to say. Ugggghhh !

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Porkahontis
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
excellent if you want something that works great!
7/2/2011

Customer review by boomerspad

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by boomerspad
by boomerspad

I use this for my first floor im my house and it actually takes care of the whole downstairs. This is three rooms, totalling well over 3500 Square feet. With the capabilities of this machine and the quality of it I was amazed at how well it works. It keeps the whole downstairs at a comfortable 45% humidity and that is on days of 75% outside. The ability to choose the humidity level you want and between two speeds, it pulls water out of the air so fast that we had to empty the bucket within ten hours. Amazing Then it keeps it at the level you set it automatically. It's also very quiet. I can't hear it over mu tv and can talk in the same room and hear the person's answers without any problem and I am partially deaf. It's just an incredible buy for an incredible machine. it even allows my air conditioner to run alot more efficeintly and the refridgerator too!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boomerspad
Oil City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works Well
12/22/2010

Customer review by Richard

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by Richard
by Richard

I purchased this dehumidifier to replace a 50 pint Sears unit that I suspected was inefficient. I have had needed a dehumidifier in my basement for more than 20 years, basically from the day I moved in. Summers bring excess moisture. Fortunately the humidity is no longer a problem by the time fall sets in. The Frigidare unit worked very well for the two months that I used it. Yes, there was some noise and some heat. All dehumidifiers produce noise and heat. But neither heat nor noise were judged to be excessive or a problem. It did a great job of removing water from the air. Since I use the basement for storage of all kinds of things such as clothing and books and moisture can ruin these things, I would not be able to store items in the basement w/o it. I can't comment on longevity but I am optomistic.

Richard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
12/21/2010

Customer review by Sugadas

4.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Sugadas
by Sugadas

I bought Frigidaire 70 Pint to replace my Kenmore unit that broke down after two years. The new Frigidaire dehumidifier is working perfectly- mushy smell of my basement is gone. It makes very little noise- about the same level as a typical table fan, and certainly much less compared to the old Kenmore. There is one aspect that I don't like- the timer. This dehumidifier does not cycle between ON and OFF. I want to keep it ON for few hours everyday automatically; there is no way I can do it. I have to manually turn it ON everyday and set the timer for the number of hours I need, and it turns itself OFF after that time. There is no way I can connect an external timer as well. I wish the company would change their design for the timer circuit. Other than that, this is a great product.

Sugadas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Quiet
9/5/2010

Customer review by NorthVAMom

5.0 stars 9/5/2010 by NorthVAMom
by NorthVAMom

I was looking for the quietest dehumidifier I could find and this one delivers. I understand that this product may be limited for cold temperatures, but it is a high functioning and quiet dehumidifier for my use. We are trying to dehumidify an upstairs which is very humid. This one works can pull 70 pints a day and is super quiet. It is a super value. It really takes the water out of the air. It is more attractively styled then I'm used to. And there is a cover inside to prevent the bucket from spillling when you take it out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthVAMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It does exactly what it's built to do
7/14/2010

Customer review by Bart2Brett

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Bart2Brett
by Bart2Brett

When my old dehumidifier died, I tried to get it repaired. When the estimate came back as $200+, I went on a search for a replacement. The Frigidaire 70-Pint unit wins! I had very high humidity in my basement along with that musty odor. I noticed an almost immediate improvement. I currently don't have the unit using the drain hose option, so I have to empty the bucket. That's how I know how well it works. I have to empty it twice a day! Now the basement is very comfortable and usable again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bart2Brett
Waterloo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 125 total reviews
1-20 of 125 reviews