Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 97 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

97 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
11
1-20 of 91 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
Good not Perfect
9/7/2011

Customer review by Designtech

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Designtech
by Designtech

I have recently purchased and installed three of the Carex Toilet Support Rails. Over all the quality is good and they are very sturdy when installed. There are several design flaws to be taken into account before installing. 1. The holes in the mounting plate that the toilet seat bolts go through are not large enough to accept the bolts on all brands of toilet seats. The better quality Bemis brand of seat with metal hinges will not work. This required buying a new seat or drilling out the holes to 5/8". I went with the toilet seat. (Not that I don't enjoy a challange, but a new 5/8" drill bit cost almost as much as a new seat!) 2. The bolt and hardware provided for the back upright supports only allow the tightning knobs to be installed on the outside. It should be designed to work either way as the knobs can get in the way when outside.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Designtech
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
EASY TO USE
1/9/2011

Customer review by ALLTHEFACTS

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by ALLTHEFACTS
by ALLTHEFACTS

THIS IS VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER, MAKE SURE YOU PAY ATTENTION TO A AND B ON THE BACK BARS ........THE PUSH IN BUTTONS DON'T LINE UP AND SNAP INTO PLACE IF THEY ARE BACKWARDS. VERY EASY TO PUT TOGETHER...REALLY NICE NOT TO HAVE A BAR ALL THE WAY ACROSS THE FRONT LIKE SOME MODELS........VERY SECURE. NOT FOR PLUS SIZE TO NARROW. WOULD WORK WELL FOR KNEE REPLACEMENTS AS WELL AS SENIORS. MY PARENT LOVED IT.

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALLTHEFACTS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/28/2010

Customer review by SensibleLittleLady

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by SensibleLittleLady
by SensibleLittleLady

I'll be having a hip replacement in the next few months and this support rail really helps with getting up and down, without fear of slipping or falling.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SensibleLittleLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Support rail
6/16/2016

Customer review by Chuck

4.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Chuck
by Chuck
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Product does what it is supposed to do, but the assembly instructions are poor. The parts are incorrectly marked so it takes a bit to figure out how it exactly goes together to fit a toilet seat. Also the screw holes must be drilled out larger in order for the assembled piece to fit tightly together. If you are able and willing to do that, the rails work ok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big Help
10/10/2011

Customer review by twogee

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by twogee
by twogee

As an older lady living alone this sure is a life saver. Younger people don't realize that when they get older they will need this kind of equiptment too. Go ahead and say NO now, but the day will come when you'll change your tune. I know as I had to.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twogee
Taft, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Carex toilet support for my mother
6/2/2012

Customer review by Kmood

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Kmood
by Kmood

Excellent for 2nd bath at my mother's home who is independent at 95 in her own home. This model is very nice. The Carex model that was purchased previously is the one with feet that is a few dollars less than this one, but it is more intrusive. I would recommend this model over the prior one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kmood
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product for it's purpose.
9/27/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a total knee replacement Sept. 15th. In order to do my rehab at home, I needed a high toilet and some kind of support to lower myself gently, without bending my knee. I decided to stay on the 1st floor and use our powder room. We searched online to see what was available and I chose the Carex Toilet Support Rail. It is absolutely perfect for my needs. It's compact, sturdy and doesn't take up a lot of space in our small powder room. In addition, it was a cost-effective way to solve my situation. It is much better than the arrangement I had to use in the hospital during my post-op stay. It does not prevent anyone else from using the toilet and has made my recuperation so much easier! Best of all, when I am finished with it, it can be removed and stored in the closet until the next time someone needs to use it. It's definitely better than the high plastic toilet seats sold in other stores, or the floor frames which take up so much floor space. It will also work on any toilet and is super easy to install! I definitely recommend it to anyone having a need for such a piece of medical equipment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
padded arm rests - impossible to sanitize
3/24/2013

Customer review by KathyCSMR

1.0 stars 3/24/2013 by KathyCSMR
by KathyCSMR

Product made well EXCEPT for the armrests. Absorbent, so impossible to properly sanitize.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KathyCSMR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Easy to install
12/18/2013

Customer review by allan121234

5.0 stars 12/18/2013 by allan121234
by allan121234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I replaced a toilet support that had teo legs to the floor and it was not stable. This toilet support feels sturdy when pushing down on the arms.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allan121234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works fine
1/10/2012

Customer review by themoose9

4.0 stars 1/10/2012 by themoose9
by themoose9

When I was putting this on, it didn't seem to be as sturdy/stable as I was expecting since the front legs are merely resting on the toilet bowl. However, when weight is applied (as when using the rails to help push up from the toilet) it feels quite stable and doesn't seem to slide around. No problems noted so far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
themoose9
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simple but very effective
7/1/2013

Customer review by marystwinsister

5.0 stars 7/1/2013 by marystwinsister
by marystwinsister
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to install or remove, no floor frame to trip over. I'm on crutches, no weight bearing on one leg, so I needed something to help me stand from the toilet. Even though we have comfort height toilets, this simple device makes it even easier to rise by using the handrails for support. Easy to keep clean and installs in minutes with no modification to the existing toilet seat. I highly recommend this device over other products I have seen. The toilet seat can be left in the normal position or raised for the fellas in the household (since most don't return the seat to the normal "down" position, the handrails can also be used to keep you from falling in!).

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marystwinsister
Demarest, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/6/2011

Customer review by nannycollins

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by nannycollins
by nannycollins

While regaining his mobility after a stroke, we determined that my husband needed something to assist him when using the toilet. Our bathroom is small and this product looked like the perfect answer. I installed this in less than 10 minutes on the toilet and found it to be very stable and sturdy. It has been a tremendous help for him to keep his balance when sitting or rising from the toilet.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nannycollins
Keller, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
helps with safety
1/30/2011

Customer review by numerocinco

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by numerocinco
by numerocinco

It was easy to assemble and the directions were very clear. The support rail makes it easier for my dad to get up and down in the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
numerocinco
Houghton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returning item
3/25/2016

Customer review by caregiver

1.0 stars 3/25/2016 by caregiver
by caregiver

The arms swivel away with liitle force. Good idea but they shouldn't move at all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caregiver
Would recommend to a friend? No
great support for weak,elderly,or partially disabl
7/10/2014

Customer review by 73longhair

4.0 stars 7/10/2014 by 73longhair
by 73longhair
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My legs are very weak and I have difficulty getting up from a sitting position. My support rails make it much simpler to get up safely. Only complaint is, arms are so narrow it makes cleaning oneself quite difficult. It can be accomplished with great difficulty. Overall they work well unless you are quite a large person.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
73longhair
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice product
3/14/2013

Customer review by MPBHM

5.0 stars 3/14/2013 by MPBHM
by MPBHM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to assemble, took less than 15 minutes total. Sturdy, fits my elongated toilet bowl and provides the support I needed to stand up safely. Compact and doesn't get in the way since it rests on the bowl lip and not metal legs that I could stub toes on. I like that feature a lot. Great price for peace of mind and safety.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MPBHM
Birmingham, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Toilet rails
4/27/2016

Customer review by makeaquilt

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by makeaquilt
by makeaquilt

Sturdy. Easy to install. Gives one a sense of security when sitting or rising from toilet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
makeaquilt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good things come in small packages....
6/28/2013

Customer review by hoTia

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by hoTia
by hoTia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Purchased for parents with very limited space in their bathroom -- other styles of supports took up valuable room in the cramped quarters. After a very easy install, we tried to have the arms in the smallest/tightest/most-narrow setting not only to save a little room but because it seemed like it would be sturdier that way; but, the commode wouldn't flush -- so we had to use the widest setting, and it seems more than sturdy enough. The price is great ... so far we're very happy....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hoTia
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good..
8/3/2014

Customer review by Mika33

4.0 stars 8/3/2014 by Mika33
by Mika33
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good product. I am a physical therapist and bought this for my mother. It's nice because it doesn't go to the floor like others. The only thing I don't like about it is, if you fall backwards and try to assist yourself with this, it will lift up seat and all. It does stay connected in the back If you don't have this balance problem it is an excellent product. Easy to install.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mika33
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TO SMALL
9/27/2013

Customer review by futervest1

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by futervest1
by futervest1

The unit itself isn't bad quality. but it is to small. We got it for my wife who just had steel rods implanted in here lower back, so getting up and down is very painful. The bars themselves are first to low, she in 5"4" and I still have to help her the rest of the way the last 6 or 8". When its a pain issue it might as well be 6 feet. Second it is to narrow, it about the width of the toilet witch makes wiping more difficult, and people with shall we say larger bottoms will create problems. I don't now who designs these but they should do some product testing before selling

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
futervest1
Shawano, wi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews