Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

188 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
109
4 stars
39
3 stars
13
2 stars
13
1 stars
14
1-20 of 187 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
red nikon s4000 review
11/11/2010

Customer review by maxmommy

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by maxmommy
by maxmommy

this camera is amazing i have had a nikon previously and recently had to settle on another brand camera i saw this s4000 on sale and purchased it and sold the other brand camera i knew nikon would deliver like it had before the other brand didnt even have half the features of this one , this camera has its own little stylus the user face is relatively easy to use the dlighting feature is awesome on nikon cameras nothing compares to it it takes amazing pics everytime just got this morning and am very happy with this camera there is so many features you wont be dissapointed it has a editing thing on the screen for editing pics and has pictbridge which links right to your printer if it has pictbridge capability it also has a charger that you can plug in the wall or charge through your computer that is great feature so you dont have to keep taking the battery out and plugging in like other brand am very glad i went back to nikon, the color is very rich on the photos taken with the nikon versus dull off colors of other brand cameras. grab it while it is on sale its well worth it and the pics are beautiful i wont ever settle on anything but a nikon again:)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maxmommy
north smithfield ri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy and fun to use!
7/30/2010

Customer review by beachlvr115

5.0 stars 7/30/2010 by beachlvr115
by beachlvr115

This camera is perfect to take on trips,it fits right in your pocket! It takes great pictures and is easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beachlvr115
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great camera for price
8/5/2010

Customer review by photobucket

4.0 stars 8/5/2010 by photobucket
by photobucket

for the price of the s4000, I cannot argue at all. Takes great pictures, and the ability to edit them after I take a picture is wonderful. The zoom is not to terribly great, yet you can take the picture from far out and then zoom in and crop after you take the pictures. I just got pictures of two football players at training camp, standing nearly fifty yards away from me, and after zooming and cropping you would swear that I was standing right next to them! The touch screen is not so touchy, often times it is really hard to get it to read what you are trying to do, but with anything it just takes a little practice and once again for the price I can't complain. The camera does take a little bit to turn on, so if your expecting pictures to happen, you have to leave the camera on which is hard on the battery. This is one of the things about older camera's I preferred, the ability to turn on and shoot but the trade off of all the other features makes it very easy to get over!

photobucket
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent little camera
5/12/2010

Customer review by BoughtIt4TheWife

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by BoughtIt4TheWife
by BoughtIt4TheWife

I shopped all stores for this camera, but no one had. When I finally got it from Walmart I was so happy. It works great! Awesome resolution and ease of use. The touch screen is really just something to show off, but my wife likes it...and it works great! The menus are easy to use and there are two buttons to give easy access to see pictures and take pictures without going into the touch screen. The design is compact and modern. I chose this camera because it also had optical zoom as opposed to only digital zoom in the other Nikon camera. The optical zoom takes cleaner and pictures. Two thumbs UP!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BoughtIt4TheWife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Digital Camera
7/20/2010

Customer review by Beetle

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Beetle
by Beetle

A bit daunting at first, with all the settings to review and change. One less-than-helpful thing is that the "Owner's Manual" presumes you have a computer with you wherever you are. A full, printed manual that's big enough to read should be included as a matter of course. Pictures are surprisingly bright and crisp, even with the telephoto lens cracked all the way. Image stabilization seems to work well. Default resolution is far too great for emailing pictures. Maybe it's because this is my first digital camera, but in addition to the printed owner's manual (see above), a very useful feature would be to notify new users of the need to reduce the resolution if they intend to send pictures via email. A card included in the packing should take care of that. All in all, I'm happy so far with my S4000. I haven't used (or tried) all of the features yet. I'm old enough that I still hold it up to my eye, looking for the view finder before I realize what I'm doing. Others do this too, I've noticed. It's an elder thing. ≋<8-)x

Beetle
Bremerton WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
neat little camera
1/2/2011

Customer review by blondey

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by blondey
by blondey

This is a neat little camera. i had a Canon powershot a470, i got it last year and this year i wanted to get a newer camera and thought i'd try out Nikon. Their are pros and cons between it and my old Canon. But for this Nikon s4000, it's a pretty good little camera for it's category. PROS: ~color quality is amazing ~the scenes are pretty good ~it's small and light weight ~love the big size of the screen ~the picture is so clear! ~the video is very clear ~the picture is really bright ~many picture options ~the black and white picture is amazing CONS: ~the zoom clearity isn't as good as my Canon was ~the battery takes over an hour to charge ~onley one cord fits it (nikon's cord) don't lose it ~you have to sometimes hit the buttons more than once on the touch screen But over all it's a good camera. I would recomend it to a friend. This is the camera you can take anywhere, partys, on the road, camping, fishing ect... pretty good. ---the pictures I uploaded didn't upload as clear as they are on my camera and computer fyi

blondey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Slow between pictures
7/21/2010

Customer review by Cindy

3.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Cindy
by Cindy

I have several Nikon cameras. Got this one on vacation when the battery died in my other Nikon and didn't have the charger with me. The S4000 was set up to view the picture on the screen after taking it. I noticed the picture stayed on the screen for what seemed like a long time causing me to miss shots. I tried to find a setting to decrease the delay time the photo was viewed but couldn't find one. I emailed Nikon and was told I would have to turn off the picture viewer portion to speed the camera up between pictures. Well guess what.... it didn't help. The camera is still slow in storing the picture to the camera meaning that you miss a lot of good pictures waiting and waiting and waiting! Another thing I don't like about it is the battery has to be charged while inside the camera. How much more would it have been to include a charger, you still have to use cables to connect it to the power source.

Cindy
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
love!
11/4/2010

Customer review by CandyGirl9513

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by CandyGirl9513
by CandyGirl9513

i bought this after my previous coolpix's screen messed up. i love it! it's great at taking pictures of memories and perfect for my photography class! the only drawback i'd have to say is that it takes a long time to delete pictures and has a long waiting time after you take a picture.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CandyGirl9513
TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Next time around I will choose something else
5/23/2011

Customer review by Olive

2.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Olive
by Olive

I recently bought this camera after my other camera was accidently dropped in the water. My older camera was a Kodak and it was easy to use. I decided that I would like to just check out Nikon since I know they are a good brand. I liked the camera at first but afterwards I realized that the pictures didn't turn out half as good as my Kodak and like a lot of people said, it will not take good night photos. You can't take just quick shots either you have to hold it EXTREMELY still (even more than you should for just a little pocket camera. It's nothing special, it shouldn't need to be on a tripod for every photo), even then its not that great. I was really upset and next time around I will not go with this camera. I'm not extremely big into photography but I do like taking pictures at events and compared to my Kodak, this one is not that great and I think I will just stick with Kodak.

Olive
Snowmass Village, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Camera, few problems
11/25/2011

Customer review by Katwan123

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Katwan123
by Katwan123

I got this camera S4000, for last Christmas. Abolsutely loved it! Great, sharp photos and nice videos. Nice features (ex- sunset, snow, fireworks, ocean, portrait, up-close). Really helped me out with creating music videos, and excellent sports setting. Took many softball in-actions pictures for my team..worked well for that. Takes very nice up-close photos of flowers, nature, etc. Amazing portaits (full body pictures). Although I ran into a few problems. Sometimes I would just be starting a video and the screen would flash up saying "Card could not be read". And then it would stop. Other people have had that problem. Tried many different cards, same problem. Other than that, GREAT camera! I dropped it once and then lens smashed in, inoperative. Getting a new one! Repair is expensive. I recommend for anybody! Thin for vacations and traveling.

Katwan123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is good, not great.
7/21/2010

Customer review by Jessica O

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Jessica O
by Jessica O

I received my Nikon a few months ago as a gift and I was hoping it would have the same quality that my other Nikon had, but unfortunately, it doesn't. I'm slightly disappointed with the camera's Macro mode. It has a hard time focusing on the subject and most of the pictures taken are blurry. Motion pictures aren't too horrible, but they're not always good. Most of the time many of the pictures turn out blurry, and for the megapixel amount, the quality of the pictures should be better. Overall, I love the touch screen and the ability to look through my pictures without pressing buttons (I like how you can quickly flip through your photos). I would say that this is a good camera, but not worth the price, especially if you're looking for a camera that takes quality pictures.

Jessica O
Kentwood, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NikonCoolpixS4000
12/11/2010

Customer review by SharleneOhio

5.0 stars 12/11/2010 by SharleneOhio
by SharleneOhio

A friend had one of the coolpix and her pictures were fabulous. My search had begun for a smaller more convenient digital camera to use when the SLR camera was just too big to carry. I talked to someone about the S3000 and then did an internet search on prices and where I could order one for the best deal. That is when I found the S4000. I checked it out at a local camera store and really liked what I saw, with the touch operation feature. More search showed Walmart had the best price for a red one. So I ordered it. Got it VERY quickly and have been absolutely thrilled with it. It is what I had hoped and more. Easy to use, I carry it in my purse all the time, and the pictures have been fabulous. Still learning about all the things I need to know to operate it. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SharleneOhio
Canfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful camera!
10/20/2010

Customer review by zee16

5.0 stars 10/20/2010 by zee16
by zee16

What a great camera. Small, light, and so easy to use. Purchased as a gift for my 12 year old, and she absolutely loves it. The various functions are easy to pick up and make for a great photo.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zee16
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
The s4000 is an feature packed, easy to use camera
7/20/2010

Customer review by KodakFan

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by KodakFan
by KodakFan

I have owned 4 Kodak digital cameras and recently decided I would like to try a more feature rich pocket camera. After much research and window shopping, I finally landed on the Nikon S4000. It is VERY easy to use and the touch screen is just a wonderful added bonus. The screen is bright and vivid and adjusts to different lighting with ease. The video quality is equal to my 3 year old video camera and the sound quality is amazing. Having a child performer, I am never certain of lighting. I am able to capture great still and video of my child in low light, stage lights, and outside performances. I highly recommend this camera for anyone looking for a great pocket camera that will still pack a punch.

KodakFan
OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointing
7/4/2011

Customer review by Chuck

3.0 stars 7/4/2011 by Chuck
by Chuck

I was really excited when I received this camera for Christmas. I came to find out there are a number of issues and have confirmed them here on line. The camera has trouble with dark (Christmas lights) or nighttime shots. Also, very tricky with making sure you don't get blurry shots. Very sensitive to any movement. Lastly, the most disappointing is that I can't take a short video with this camera. Have tried two different approved memory sticks (Sandisk 16gig speed setting of 4 and Lexar 8gig speed setting of 6) and still not able to take more than one video. I love the size but am very disappointed in Nikon. I have an old Kodak that is bulky but takes really good pictures compared to the Nikon.

Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
I was expecting more from a Nikon...
5/14/2011

Customer review by EarlR

1.0 stars 5/14/2011 by EarlR
by EarlR

This camera is horrible. I realize you can only expect so much from an inexpensive point and shoot, but I thought that with the Nikon name this was probably about as good as you could get in its price range. I was wrong. This camera is all but useless indoors. After trying many different settings, I finally found one that gets about one out of three indoor photos right. The lack of image stabilization really hurts this camera. Outdoor photos with plenty of light are ok, about what I would expect from a camera at this price level. So if you only plan to take photos outdoors in daylight, this camera will work for you. Otherwise, pass it over (and I assume the same goes for its successor).

EarlR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice pocket camera when not carrying my D300.
7/21/2010

Customer review by Meidy

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Meidy
by Meidy

Nice, good monitor, and easy to use. However, I find the screen tap menu a bit difficult to use. The pressure to initiate a command and the rapidity of changing the program a bit slow and, in bright light, sometimes difficult to see. Would like a view finder for bright days!!! Resolution and picture menu are fine, and more than I have ever used, but you never know when that specific need might arise? The included case looks fine, but I have managed to drop the camera several times when pulling out the camera for lack of grip on the camera--please make more side or bottom grasp holes! A bit disappointed on the zoom, but then cannot compare it to my Nikon D300 with 300mm zoom?

Meidy
Lawrence, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Great Camera for the Price
8/17/2010

Customer review by Jess

4.0 stars 8/17/2010 by Jess
by Jess

I love my camera! It takes great, clear photos fairly fast. It has good memory and the touch screen is VERY nice. The only thing about the touch screen is that it takes some getting used to before being able to use it to its full potential. The only other potential problem is that some times it has trouble focusing on close up objects, even in the correct mode(one with the picture of a flower). This is especially true with white objects(like small flowers). All in all it is a great camera at a very reasonable price and I am very happy with my purchase.

Jess
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a very good product
7/22/2010

Customer review by camera novist

4.0 stars 7/22/2010 by camera novist
by camera novist

I brought this camera to take pictures at my father's birthday party. I love the touch screen feature, it makes life easy. It was pretty easy to learn how to operate it, which is good since I needed to know in a hurry. It has alot of great features, too many to mention. Definitely worth buying. My only concern is that I hope when I go to get the pictures printed that the time/date stamp does not print out on the front of the photo. It shows up on the screen, which I don't like. I am use to the time/date being on the back of the photo not the front.

camera novist
Hackettstown, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great touch screen camera
4/28/2011

Customer review by carolinaguy

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by carolinaguy
by carolinaguy

I bought this camera to replace an older compact camera which only had 8 megapixels. During my recent trip to Europe, I took almost 800 pictures with this camera. Here is my honest review on this camera. The menus are accessed via the touch screen, and it doesn't take much time to get acquainted with the structure of the menus. A feature I really like is the 'touch shutter' function. This allows you to touch an item on the screen, and the camera focuses and takes the picture of the item touched. Or you can take a picture the 'old fashioned' way and use the shutter release button on the top of the camera. The quality of the photos taken did not disappoint. Outside photos were extremely sharp with very accurate color. The auto white balance struggles a bit with photos taken inside, but there is a manual white balance option. By the end of my trip, the photos taken indoors were sharp as well. I had a few blurry images, but all of them were attributed to 'user error'. At first I thought the battery life was a bit short. The first day of my trip, the 'low battery' indicator came on at the end of the day. I was a bit alarmed until I noticed I took almost 300 pictures at the highest resolution (with a few retakes). The specs for the battery life on this camera was 'approx 190 shots', so the battery on my camera exceeded the specs. Overall, this has been a great camera which I would recommend to anyone who wants a point-and-shoot camera.

carolinaguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews