Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

214 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
120
4 stars
51
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 stars
17
1-20 of 210 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews
Awesome, just a few kinks
6/18/2010

Customer review by AddieToTheMoon

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by AddieToTheMoon
by AddieToTheMoon

I'd been researching cameras for about three months now, this one was one of the first ones that I had seriously considered. I loved the fact that it had a touchscreen and nikon is such a great company! I just got it yesterday so I probably haven't learned everything about it yet. But so far, the cameras been great! There are a few things that are annoying, the menus are a bit confusing, and I don't like the smartportrait mode, it takes two pictures at a time and then takes forever to decide which one to pick thats better. The indoor shots are a little grainy but I just think thats the lighting but I love the outdoor shots and that theres a closeup mode, that I love because I take alot of pictures of flowers, Overall this camera is great!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AddieToTheMoon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
amazing color quality and clarity
11/27/2010

Customer review by chloelover2010

5.0 stars 11/27/2010 by chloelover2010
by chloelover2010

love this camera! here is some pros and cons: PROS: -WONDERFUL color quality and clarity:) -love the fact that it has some in-camera editing options!!! -quick shutter speed -really impressive battery life -small and compact....about as big as my phone! -overall i love it....will not replace until it breaks! CONS: -KIND OF CONFUSING...TAKES SOME TIME 2 GET USED 2... THATS ALL!:) here is some pictures i took to demonstrate: WAR EAGLE!:) btw kind of glare on the poster...but that just happens sorry

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chloelover2010
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing Camera!!!
1/4/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/4/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is an awesome camera. I previously perchused a camera of a different brand and it was horrible. This one takes amazing motion pics! Excellent flash and I LOVE the touch screen. Also takes great zoom pics! Awesome indoor and outdoor photos. Takes amazing videos with audio also. First pic is my dog running full speed and it is not blurry at all, none of my motion pics are. Second is of my bearded Dragon, it is a zoomed pic inside.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great camera
5/29/2010

Customer review by pixx

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by pixx
by pixx

This is a great little camera. Takes great pictures. Easy to operate. Small that it can fit in pocket. Nice size veiwing screen and love the "touch" feature. You can even add sound to your pictures!! Battery lasts a long time. Would easily recommend to buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixx
Marathon, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Camera!
5/13/2010

Customer review by cats121

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by cats121
by cats121

This is the best point and shoot camera! It blows my Sony Cyber shot out of the water. Very user friendly and hi tech to be a point and shoot. I am very impressed to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (42) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cats121
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
great camera for price
8/5/2010

Customer review by photobucket

4.0 stars 8/5/2010 by photobucket
by photobucket

for the price of the s4000, I cannot argue at all. Takes great pictures, and the ability to edit them after I take a picture is wonderful. The zoom is not to terribly great, yet you can take the picture from far out and then zoom in and crop after you take the pictures. I just got pictures of two football players at training camp, standing nearly fifty yards away from me, and after zooming and cropping you would swear that I was standing right next to them! The touch screen is not so touchy, often times it is really hard to get it to read what you are trying to do, but with anything it just takes a little practice and once again for the price I can't complain. The camera does take a little bit to turn on, so if your expecting pictures to happen, you have to leave the camera on which is hard on the battery. This is one of the things about older camera's I preferred, the ability to turn on and shoot but the trade off of all the other features makes it very easy to get over!

photobucket
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First Digital Camera
7/20/2010

Customer review by Beetle

4.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Beetle
by Beetle

A bit daunting at first, with all the settings to review and change. One less-than-helpful thing is that the "Owner's Manual" presumes you have a computer with you wherever you are. A full, printed manual that's big enough to read should be included as a matter of course. Pictures are surprisingly bright and crisp, even with the telephoto lens cracked all the way. Image stabilization seems to work well. Default resolution is far too great for emailing pictures. Maybe it's because this is my first digital camera, but in addition to the printed owner's manual (see above), a very useful feature would be to notify new users of the need to reduce the resolution if they intend to send pictures via email. A card included in the packing should take care of that. All in all, I'm happy so far with my S4000. I haven't used (or tried) all of the features yet. I'm old enough that I still hold it up to my eye, looking for the view finder before I realize what I'm doing. Others do this too, I've noticed. It's an elder thing. ≋<8-)x

Beetle
Bremerton WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
neat little camera
1/2/2011

Customer review by blondey

4.0 stars 1/2/2011 by blondey
by blondey

This is a neat little camera. i had a Canon powershot a470, i got it last year and this year i wanted to get a newer camera and thought i'd try out Nikon. Their are pros and cons between it and my old Canon. But for this Nikon s4000, it's a pretty good little camera for it's category. PROS: ~color quality is amazing ~the scenes are pretty good ~it's small and light weight ~love the big size of the screen ~the picture is so clear! ~the video is very clear ~the picture is really bright ~many picture options ~the black and white picture is amazing CONS: ~the zoom clearity isn't as good as my Canon was ~the battery takes over an hour to charge ~onley one cord fits it (nikon's cord) don't lose it ~you have to sometimes hit the buttons more than once on the touch screen But over all it's a good camera. I would recomend it to a friend. This is the camera you can take anywhere, partys, on the road, camping, fishing ect... pretty good. ---the pictures I uploaded didn't upload as clear as they are on my camera and computer fyi

blondey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AWESOME CAMERA
8/29/2010

Customer review by PreciousChihuahua

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by PreciousChihuahua
by PreciousChihuahua

I have had this camera 5 days and it is an exceptionable upgrade from my Kodak 12mp My Kodak was horrible for night shots !! My nightshots with the Nikon S4000 is so wonderful it made my Kodak look sick . Kodak was suppose to be a good camera, the one I had.....Love the Nikon S4000 (HIGHLY RECOMMEND) Never had a touch screen before on a camera, loved that too !! I am extremly happy with this camera :)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PreciousChihuahua
Mitchell, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT CAMERA
11/26/2010

Customer review by handsigns

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by handsigns
by handsigns

I bought this for my 74 yr. old mother who has my old digital camera. the old one has a 1" screen and she wanted something bigger. I've been researching for months as she wants something very easy. she won't use all the fancy modes. (although she might cuz they are so easy to use)just a point and shoot and have the photos come out nice. I just got it today and i totally love it. I own the olympus stylus tough and i do love my camera. I think i like this just as much. It's very light, go anywhere and the 3" screen is great. I love, love the touch screen. It is so easy and fun. The smile detection is awesome to capture a smile. and in low light situations the photos are excellent. I also love the backlit mode. seems like a lot of times i need that one and it corrects the light perfectly. I would get this for anyone! The quality of the photos are wonderful!! Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
handsigns
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome Camera!!!!!!
5/16/2010

Customer review by Mary86

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by Mary86
by Mary86

Great value for price!!!! High tech but easy to use!!!!!! Quality of picture is excellent!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary86
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Slow between pictures
7/21/2010

Customer review by Cindy

3.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Cindy
by Cindy

I have several Nikon cameras. Got this one on vacation when the battery died in my other Nikon and didn't have the charger with me. The S4000 was set up to view the picture on the screen after taking it. I noticed the picture stayed on the screen for what seemed like a long time causing me to miss shots. I tried to find a setting to decrease the delay time the photo was viewed but couldn't find one. I emailed Nikon and was told I would have to turn off the picture viewer portion to speed the camera up between pictures. Well guess what.... it didn't help. The camera is still slow in storing the picture to the camera meaning that you miss a lot of good pictures waiting and waiting and waiting! Another thing I don't like about it is the battery has to be charged while inside the camera. How much more would it have been to include a charger, you still have to use cables to connect it to the power source.

Cindy
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great value, fun to use
5/20/2010

Customer review by theinterngirl

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by theinterngirl
by theinterngirl

This camera is a great value, has many fun and easy to use features. I was especially impressed with the touch screen. I usually have trouble with touch screens, but this one is very sensitive and user friendly. Definitely recommend this product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theinterngirl
Mount Vernon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Next time around I will choose something else
5/23/2011

Customer review by Olive

2.0 stars 5/23/2011 by Olive
by Olive

I recently bought this camera after my other camera was accidently dropped in the water. My older camera was a Kodak and it was easy to use. I decided that I would like to just check out Nikon since I know they are a good brand. I liked the camera at first but afterwards I realized that the pictures didn't turn out half as good as my Kodak and like a lot of people said, it will not take good night photos. You can't take just quick shots either you have to hold it EXTREMELY still (even more than you should for just a little pocket camera. It's nothing special, it shouldn't need to be on a tripod for every photo), even then its not that great. I was really upset and next time around I will not go with this camera. I'm not extremely big into photography but I do like taking pictures at events and compared to my Kodak, this one is not that great and I think I will just stick with Kodak.

Olive
Snowmass Village, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
NikonS4000
8/2/2010

Customer review by valbella

4.0 stars 8/2/2010 by valbella
by valbella

I used the NikonS4000 for a couple days and found I did not like the touch screen. It takes several touches sometimes to get to the screen you want. The camera takes great pictures and easy, quick download. If you like a touch screen you will love the S4000. I exchanged it for the NilkonL22 which appears to be the same camera without the touch screen. I love this new camera. Easy to navigate and pictures are great.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
valbella
Lexington,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera, few problems
11/25/2011

Customer review by Katwan123

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Katwan123
by Katwan123

I got this camera S4000, for last Christmas. Abolsutely loved it! Great, sharp photos and nice videos. Nice features (ex- sunset, snow, fireworks, ocean, portrait, up-close). Really helped me out with creating music videos, and excellent sports setting. Took many softball in-actions pictures for my team..worked well for that. Takes very nice up-close photos of flowers, nature, etc. Amazing portaits (full body pictures). Although I ran into a few problems. Sometimes I would just be starting a video and the screen would flash up saying "Card could not be read". And then it would stop. Other people have had that problem. Tried many different cards, same problem. Other than that, GREAT camera! I dropped it once and then lens smashed in, inoperative. Getting a new one! Repair is expensive. I recommend for anybody! Thin for vacations and traveling.

Katwan123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!
6/25/2010

Customer review by SoonerNurse

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by SoonerNurse
by SoonerNurse

The camera is exactly as described. The touch screen is great, very user friendly. My old camera is 6 years old so I was mainly just wanting an upgrade, with newer features, more megapixels and for it to be quicker when I was ready for it to take a picture and less time to reset in between shots. I'm not a professional and this camera is great for every day pictures and videos - I love it! Also, Wal-Mart shipping was great, the camera arrived 2 days ahead of when they said it would.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoonerNurse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This product is good, not great.
7/21/2010

Customer review by Jessica O

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by Jessica O
by Jessica O

I received my Nikon a few months ago as a gift and I was hoping it would have the same quality that my other Nikon had, but unfortunately, it doesn't. I'm slightly disappointed with the camera's Macro mode. It has a hard time focusing on the subject and most of the pictures taken are blurry. Motion pictures aren't too horrible, but they're not always good. Most of the time many of the pictures turn out blurry, and for the megapixel amount, the quality of the pictures should be better. Overall, I love the touch screen and the ability to look through my pictures without pressing buttons (I like how you can quickly flip through your photos). I would say that this is a good camera, but not worth the price, especially if you're looking for a camera that takes quality pictures.

Jessica O
Kentwood, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Problems with the usb cord
12/22/2010

Customer review by BARGES

2.0 stars 12/22/2010 by BARGES
by BARGES

I had an s520 that I liked it was dropped and broken my fault. So I bought an S 4000 in fact bought one for me and one for my girlfriend. Both of them have the same problem connecting the USB cable. So you can't down load Pics or charge the battery. Been through the so called help lines no help just a bad product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BARGES
MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very unhappy
11/12/2010

Customer review by momreviewer2

1.0 stars 11/12/2010 by momreviewer2
by momreviewer2

I bought the camera in May and used it about twice. All was well until I went to charge it. The light would not indicate that it was being charged and the camera will not turn on. i am going to try to replace the battery, but I feel this is ridiculous!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momreviewer2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
1-20 of 210 total reviews
1-20 of 210 reviews