Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 145 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

145 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

145 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
32
3 stars
22
2 stars
7
1 stars
39
1-20 of 131 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews
good product
10/4/2010

Customer review by LeisureStar

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by LeisureStar
by LeisureStar

This was easy to use. I had a cut in a leather sofa and now you can't see it. I can feel where it was, a short hard place but all and all a good item for the job.

Was this review helpful? (130) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LeisureStar
Clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
It works
11/7/2010

Customer review by Mom2activeboys

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Mom2activeboys
by Mom2activeboys

This works just like it says. It is a little hard but it covers it and is holding up just great. The only real problem I had was matching the color. I would recommend it because it does work. I would just dry a sample and compare it before patching the spot to make sure the color is correct.

Was this review helpful? (63) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2activeboys
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
It's What It Is
8/18/2011

Customer review by Adrlnrush

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Adrlnrush
by Adrlnrush

It's just exactly what it was described as. Your basic vinyl/leather patch kit. If you do it right, it works. I recommend several thin coats to do the job. Don't do it right and you will be disappointed. Read the directions and then follow them.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adrlnrush
Richland, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Really works!
5/9/2011

Customer review by doityourselfer1

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by doityourselfer1
by doityourselfer1

Worked well - repaired tear in vinyl seat. Only problem was that when using the included paper sheet to create a grain, it can only be used once on the final coat, otherwise it sticks to the repair and has paper shreads in the repair. Also, the color does dry darker than when wet so it's difficult to get the precise color on the first try. I would use this again though.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doityourselfer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Patience is the key
7/6/2011

Customer review by jrdrill

3.0 stars 7/6/2011 by jrdrill
by jrdrill

You have to play around with the colors, so be patient. My repair is on a seat cushion on a recliner. Lots of constant use so we'll see how long it lasts. Unlike other commentators, my repair is noticeable, but an improvement in appearance from what it looked like before applying this product. Couple of thoughts. The grain paper which comes along with the paint adhesives to match the grain of your furniture, lugggage etc. is skimpy. Very, very small sheets. Not much room for trial and error. Use the one you chose sparingly. Only one mixing container. Note to the manufacturer: For a dollar more, bigger grain sheets and another mixing container would be most helpful. One final thought.... What I didn't realize is this stuff dries very quickly. So, have everything you are using close by to what you are repairing. I researched this product on the internet and read additional reviews and for the most part, people seem satisfied with the product. I only gave it three stars as I want to see how well this product bonds to the cushion and how long it will last.

Was this review helpful? (63) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrdrill
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Worked Great
8/30/2010

Customer review by LikeNiceThingsAlways

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by LikeNiceThingsAlways
by LikeNiceThingsAlways

This was easy to use and the end result was great.

Was this review helpful? (66) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LikeNiceThingsAlways
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Patches Peeled Off Within 2-3 Weeks Post Repair
10/29/2012

Customer review by LynnNM

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by LynnNM
by LynnNM

I purchased this kit this past Spring to repair three items: our brown leather sofa that had a 2" hole in the seat, the arm of a dark green leather desk chair with a 3" worn spot; and a good red leather purse that had a 1" tear in the seam of it. Matching colors takes a lot of time and patience. Unfortunately, the tiny containers of each color don't allow you much leeway for mistakes. Because I paint, I did manage to get close to the correct colors eventually. But, there was really not enough of the patching compound for the repairs I needed. What I eventually ended up doing was using the other colors for my initial first layers. It sealed the holes and then I later painted over it in the color of the leather being repaired. You really need a small, good, short-bristled paint brush for this project. In all, I brushed on several thin layers, letting each one dry in between. I disregarded the instructions to leave the texturing patch on overnight. I left it on for only about a hour, because I didn't want to deal with trying to get a stuck-on patch off. The texture I embossed into the repair stayed, which was what I had hoped for. The resulting patches were harder than the leather they were patching. Not perfect but it was what I'd expected after reading other reviews of this product. Unfortunately though, the patches all peeled off within 2-3 weeks. Because of this, I feel that this kit was a waste of my time and money. In retrospect, I'm wondering if all the positive reviews here are from customers who posted their reviews within a week or so after they patched. This review of mine is 6 months post patching. I'm now in need of a proven better patching kit for a black leather bar stool with two 1.5" tears. I'm doubtful there is such a thing, but I'm definitely NOT going to buy another one of these kits!

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LynnNM
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
11/23/2011

Customer review by Iniana

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Iniana
by Iniana

Really meant for very small cracks in the leather.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iniana
Would recommend to a friend? No
It does work, but ....
10/8/2011

Customer review by coolsashka

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by coolsashka
by coolsashka

to get a nice matching leather texture don't leave the texture paper attached overnight take it off in 20 min or so, otherwise it's stick to hard & you need to use 70% alcohol to remove paper debris & level it up

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coolsashka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a good product
12/29/2010

Customer review by got2shop72

1.0 stars 12/29/2010 by got2shop72
by got2shop72

This product was not a good buy , directions said simple and easy . It was messy and misleading , it ruined my ottoman and I followed the directions to a T . Would not recommend this for anyone .

Was this review helpful? (40) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
got2shop72
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
GREAT PRODUCT
9/20/2010

Customer review by cpakersloot

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by cpakersloot
by cpakersloot

This product is very easy to use and works great. After repairing a scooter seat, could not tell that it had ever been torn after using this product!!!! Would highly recommend!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cpakersloot
Mt. Juliet, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good for small repairs, Hard to match the color
6/14/2011

Customer review by Ameen

3.0 stars 6/14/2011 by Ameen
by Ameen

I wanted it for Car Seat repair, it didn't work for me. Ithink you should only use this product for samll rips; Also you have to mix the colors to get the color you want which is hard to get the exact match.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ameen
charlotte,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
vinyl repair kit
4/9/2014

Customer review by suzeeslingshot

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by suzeeslingshot
by suzeeslingshot

I highly recommend this product for small repairs on vinyl. The kit comes with everything needed, different colors, mixing/application stick, instructions, guide to mixing colors, patches for desired grain patterns. Used it on a hole in a vehicle armrest - much cheaper than replacing the part. Looks almost like nothing happened.

Was this review helpful? (20) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzeeslingshot
Amherst, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Leather Repair!!!
4/30/2012

Customer review by TerCam56

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by TerCam56
by TerCam56

I saw many different Leather & Vinyl repair kits, this product was reasonably priced and it repaired a torn arm on a sofa. The color blends perfectly and you could not see where the repair was done. It's got me sold and I recommend this product. IT REALLY WORKS!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TerCam56
Terrific Product
12/27/2010

Customer review by CHORALDIRECTOR

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by CHORALDIRECTOR
by CHORALDIRECTOR

I had a surface scratch on an expensive leather coat. I purchased the Leather and Vinyl repair kit and it did exactly what it was advertised to do. It repaired the tear which could no longer be seen. I am very pleased with this product and recommend it very highly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHORALDIRECTOR
Indian Land, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
9/7/2011

Customer review by pwmo

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by pwmo
by pwmo

Works great. You have to apply it more than once. I did it three times and it look real good. It just depends on how big the hole is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwmo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Poor Performance
2/12/2014

Customer review by eighteenten

1.0 stars 2/12/2014 by eighteenten
by eighteenten

This product was messy and the gloss level will probably never match the item you are attempting to repair. I had some very tiny holes and a cat scratch on a vinyl seat to a counter stool. Having watched the video for this product, I thought it might work just fine for that. It didn't. It was gloppy and could not be smoothed over without not matching the existing vinyl. I purchased it because it doesn't require heat, but it is comparable to repairing something with tinted Elmer's glue. There are other, more expensive kits on the market that have ingredients to add that will allow for matching the sheen level of your existing material. I would highly recommend spending more and using that. I will just find matching vinyl and re-upholster the seat, in this case. I wasted over $10 on this glop. Don't buy it! Actually, I'm going to seek a refund.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eighteenten
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Did not work for me.
4/23/2011

Customer review by dmg2421

1.0 stars 4/23/2011 by dmg2421
by dmg2421

I used the product and followed the instructions carefully. After letting it dry overnight, I discovered that the product had not adhered to the simple tear of my vinyl couch cushion. It looked okay until I touched it and it peeled right off with no effort at all. The repair I attempted was on an area of a cushion that would be sat on consistantly, so the result was totally unsatisfactory. I was able to return the product for credit, and that process was fairly simple.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmg2421
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Excellent product, exceeds expectations
3/5/2012

Customer review by ilgal00

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by ilgal00
by ilgal00

I bought this product to fix some vintage handbags and couldn't be more pleased with the results. If you take the time the match your colors and follow the instructions the results are great. I recommend doing multiple thin layers as opposed to one thick one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilgal00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Leather/Vinyl patch kit
11/22/2011

Customer review by refusetopayretail

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by refusetopayretail
by refusetopayretail

Walmarts price, ordering and shipping was excellent. The product however....a bit to be desired. They need to tell you in the description of the product that this kit is only ideal for patch work to be done on a flat surface repair. It does not work very well with a seem repair between two cushions.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
refusetopayretail
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 131 total reviews
1-20 of 131 reviews