Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

150 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

150 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
34
3 stars
22
2 stars
7
1 stars
41
1-20 of 136 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews
Patience is the key
7/6/2011

Customer review by jrdrill

3.0 stars 7/6/2011 by jrdrill
by jrdrill

You have to play around with the colors, so be patient. My repair is on a seat cushion on a recliner. Lots of constant use so we'll see how long it lasts. Unlike other commentators, my repair is noticeable, but an improvement in appearance from what it looked like before applying this product. Couple of thoughts. The grain paper which comes along with the paint adhesives to match the grain of your furniture, lugggage etc. is skimpy. Very, very small sheets. Not much room for trial and error. Use the one you chose sparingly. Only one mixing container. Note to the manufacturer: For a dollar more, bigger grain sheets and another mixing container would be most helpful. One final thought.... What I didn't realize is this stuff dries very quickly. So, have everything you are using close by to what you are repairing. I researched this product on the internet and read additional reviews and for the most part, people seem satisfied with the product. I only gave it three stars as I want to see how well this product bonds to the cushion and how long it will last.

Was this review helpful? (75) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jrdrill
Pueblo, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Poor Performance
2/12/2014

Customer review by eighteenten

1.0 stars 2/12/2014 by eighteenten
by eighteenten

This product was messy and the gloss level will probably never match the item you are attempting to repair. I had some very tiny holes and a cat scratch on a vinyl seat to a counter stool. Having watched the video for this product, I thought it might work just fine for that. It didn't. It was gloppy and could not be smoothed over without not matching the existing vinyl. I purchased it because it doesn't require heat, but it is comparable to repairing something with tinted Elmer's glue. There are other, more expensive kits on the market that have ingredients to add that will allow for matching the sheen level of your existing material. I would highly recommend spending more and using that. I will just find matching vinyl and re-upholster the seat, in this case. I wasted over $10 on this glop. Don't buy it! Actually, I'm going to seek a refund.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eighteenten
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Tried Twice Works Well
8/13/2014

Customer review by HogRiderDude

5.0 stars 8/13/2014 by HogRiderDude
by HogRiderDude

I have an old police Harley that I bought used, and cops are notoriously hard on bikes. This particular bike had a quarter-sized hole in the seat when I got it. Well, I got the bike to ride, not look pretty. So, I used this kit back in 2007 to repair the hole. The patch looked GREAT, and fell off today, seven years later. The original hole has not enlarged, and that was after a 200 pound biker and his ole lady have put another 10,000 miles on the bike. I just bought another kit and repaired the hole again. Do the math....seven years of HARD use including being rained on....two repairs at roughly 12 bucks each. I saved HUNDREDS of dollars. No mixing needed because my seat is black, of course. So the people who had problems color matching may be right. But for my purposes, you can't beat this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HogRiderDude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's What It Is
8/18/2011

Customer review by Adrlnrush

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by Adrlnrush
by Adrlnrush

It's just exactly what it was described as. Your basic vinyl/leather patch kit. If you do it right, it works. I recommend several thin coats to do the job. Don't do it right and you will be disappointed. Read the directions and then follow them.

Was this review helpful? (57) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adrlnrush
Richland, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Really works!
5/9/2011

Customer review by doityourselfer1

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by doityourselfer1
by doityourselfer1

Worked well - repaired tear in vinyl seat. Only problem was that when using the included paper sheet to create a grain, it can only be used once on the final coat, otherwise it sticks to the repair and has paper shreads in the repair. Also, the color does dry darker than when wet so it's difficult to get the precise color on the first try. I would use this again though.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
doityourselfer1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works
11/7/2010

Customer review by Mom2activeboys

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Mom2activeboys
by Mom2activeboys

This works just like it says. It is a little hard but it covers it and is holding up just great. The only real problem I had was matching the color. I would recommend it because it does work. I would just dry a sample and compare it before patching the spot to make sure the color is correct.

Was this review helpful? (83) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2activeboys
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Good for small repairs, Hard to match the color
6/14/2011

Customer review by Ameen

3.0 stars 6/14/2011 by Ameen
by Ameen

I wanted it for Car Seat repair, it didn't work for me. Ithink you should only use this product for samll rips; Also you have to mix the colors to get the color you want which is hard to get the exact match.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ameen
charlotte,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great Leather Repair!!!
4/30/2012

Customer review by TerCam56

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by TerCam56
by TerCam56

I saw many different Leather & Vinyl repair kits, this product was reasonably priced and it repaired a torn arm on a sofa. The color blends perfectly and you could not see where the repair was done. It's got me sold and I recommend this product. IT REALLY WORKS!!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerCam56
good product
10/4/2010

Customer review by LeisureStar

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by LeisureStar
by LeisureStar

This was easy to use. I had a cut in a leather sofa and now you can't see it. I can feel where it was, a short hard place but all and all a good item for the job.

Was this review helpful? (147) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeisureStar
Clarksville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
It does work, but ....
10/8/2011

Customer review by coolsashka

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by coolsashka
by coolsashka

to get a nice matching leather texture don't leave the texture paper attached overnight take it off in 20 min or so, otherwise it's stick to hard & you need to use 70% alcohol to remove paper debris & level it up

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coolsashka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Patches Peeled Off Within 2-3 Weeks Post Repair
10/29/2012

Customer review by LynnNM

1.0 stars 10/29/2012 by LynnNM
by LynnNM

I purchased this kit this past Spring to repair three items: our brown leather sofa that had a 2" hole in the seat, the arm of a dark green leather desk chair with a 3" worn spot; and a good red leather purse that had a 1" tear in the seam of it. Matching colors takes a lot of time and patience. Unfortunately, the tiny containers of each color don't allow you much leeway for mistakes. Because I paint, I did manage to get close to the correct colors eventually. But, there was really not enough of the patching compound for the repairs I needed. What I eventually ended up doing was using the other colors for my initial first layers. It sealed the holes and then I later painted over it in the color of the leather being repaired. You really need a small, good, short-bristled paint brush for this project. In all, I brushed on several thin layers, letting each one dry in between. I disregarded the instructions to leave the texturing patch on overnight. I left it on for only about a hour, because I didn't want to deal with trying to get a stuck-on patch off. The texture I embossed into the repair stayed, which was what I had hoped for. The resulting patches were harder than the leather they were patching. Not perfect but it was what I'd expected after reading other reviews of this product. Unfortunately though, the patches all peeled off within 2-3 weeks. Because of this, I feel that this kit was a waste of my time and money. In retrospect, I'm wondering if all the positive reviews here are from customers who posted their reviews within a week or so after they patched. This review of mine is 6 months post patching. I'm now in need of a proven better patching kit for a black leather bar stool with two 1.5" tears. I'm doubtful there is such a thing, but I'm definitely NOT going to buy another one of these kits!

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnNM
New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Poor product
12/30/2015

Customer review by LadyJ061370

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by LadyJ061370
by LadyJ061370

The color doesn't match and when you put the product on it's messy and doesn't appear to be fixed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyJ061370
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/23/2011

Customer review by Iniana

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Iniana
by Iniana

Really meant for very small cracks in the leather.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Iniana
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/7/2011

Customer review by pwmo

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by pwmo
by pwmo

Works great. You have to apply it more than once. I did it three times and it look real good. It just depends on how big the hole is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pwmo
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
8/9/2011

Customer review by STRONG4462

3.0 stars 8/9/2011 by STRONG4462
by STRONG4462

The vinyl repair kit was as expected. I didn't buy it to have a show room repair, I just followed the instructions and even though the color I mixed up was off it still held after 24 hrs of drying time. Cleaning the vinyl material was easy with just warm water. If you are not looking for a repair that will make you want to ask your friends to try and find it then this will work fine. I had a green truck seat that I wanted a 2 inch repair from getting bigger and after it dried I sprayed black vinyl paint on it and it looks so much better. A new truck seat cover was 45.00 and this kit is less than 15.00 so I am happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
STRONG4462
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Worked Great
8/30/2010

Customer review by LikeNiceThingsAlways

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by LikeNiceThingsAlways
by LikeNiceThingsAlways

This was easy to use and the end result was great.

Was this review helpful? (71) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LikeNiceThingsAlways
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
vinyl repair kit
12/21/2015

Customer review by gcb1

5.0 stars 12/21/2015 by gcb1
by gcb1

works well. they provide only a very small amount of material when color match is factored in

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gcb1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verry bad
12/20/2015

Customer review by joey

1.0 stars 12/20/2015 by joey
by joey

This no good do not buy it at all, it dose not work it sucks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
joey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work for my furniture
7/24/2012

Customer review by Wondawoman

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Wondawoman
by Wondawoman

Even though I followed the instructions exactly i did not have good results. No matter how many times I tried I could not get the color to come close to matching my espresso colored leather like ottoman. The compound was easy to mix and use but also came off with a sponge a day later and the grain papers stuck to the compound and left behind pieces.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wondawoman
Boise,ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
easy to use,works as advertised
11/6/2010

Customer review by boyhowdee

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by boyhowdee
by boyhowdee

Used this product to repair a slight tear on a vinyl motorcycle seat. It was a snap to use and did a great job. Very pleased with the product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boyhowdee
Sun City Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1-20 of 136 reviews