Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 412 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

412 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

412 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
225
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
34
1 stars
60
1-20 of 355 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews
Magnatron dead after 6 weeks
6/11/2011

Customer review by DogPyl

3.0 stars 6/11/2011 by DogPyl
by DogPyl

I bought this on March 15, 2011 and by mid May it was dead. Warranty was honored and in 2 weeks it was fixed and seems to work better than when new.

Was this review helpful? (90) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DogPyl
Tuftonboro, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Was great - until it wasn't...
9/13/2010

Customer review by rham22

2.0 stars 9/13/2010 by rham22
by rham22

This was a Christmas gift and I must say it was a good one. It worked perfectly until this morning - when a H98 error code appeared. Which after looking that up, found out it is now trash. Only has a 1 year warranty so now we have to throw it away. No idea why it stopped working all of a sudden, no power surges or anything like that. Just all of a sudden POOF - it's done for.

Was this review helpful? (306) (52)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rham22
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Affordable Microwave
6/14/2010

Customer review by Siobe

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Siobe
by Siobe

I bought this after reading product reviews from previous owners. No regrets - it was what the reviews said it was. Powerful, efficient - expecially the Inverter Technology - great for thawing and heating froaen foods. Does not occupy a lot of counter space. Walmart had the best price and has the site to store option for free delivery

Was this review helpful? (249) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Siobe
Folosm, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for 6 months, then just plain USELESS!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Happy1021

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Happy1021
by Happy1021

Purchased in August 2010. Loved it at first. Looked great. No major problems. Fast forward 6 months to February 2011 .... it died. I sterilized some baby bottles, and after that it was dead and couldn't get it to turn on again. For no apparent reason! What? My old Sharp microwave lasted 15 years! And this one just a mere 6 months?!? I lugged this thing all the way back to the Walmart store with a receipt in hand. Having passed the 90 return policy at Walmart, the customer service desk said that they couldn't do anything for me other than give me the 1-800 number to Panasonic so that I can call them and send it in to their repair center. Not happy with that option, I persisted and finally the manager allowed me to exchange it for another microwave (non-Panasonic!). 5 stars for Walmart customer service, but 1 star for this piece of junk. At $129+tax, I expect quality and longevity. This microwave did not meet my expectations at all. Steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? (112) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy1021
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
ONLY LIVED 6 MONTHS :{
4/17/2011

Customer review by NICKNAMESALLGONE

1.0 stars 4/17/2011 by NICKNAMESALLGONE
by NICKNAMESALLGONE

We bought this microwave as replacement. It looked great and had all the features we were looking for. But so did alot of other microwaves. The price was in our budget so we chose this one. It worked wonderfully for 6 months then just died. It would give me the h97 error code also. I would unplug it and have it work a couple of times and now it will not even display the error code. If you like shopping for new microwaves this is the one to buy, you will be back on the web comparing them again in about 6 months.

Was this review helpful? (96) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NICKNAMESALLGONE
Midwest Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome microwave!
11/14/2010

Customer review by freckledgirl

5.0 stars 11/14/2010 by freckledgirl
by freckledgirl

So I've had this for a few weeks now and I am in awe with how well this microwave cooks and the many different features. I like the sensor cooking to cook frozen foods. It does a really good job with defrosting as well due to the inverter technology. It is large with a 15 inch turn table but yet doesn't seem to take up too much counter space. It has a very upscale appearance. Is it possible to be in love with a microwave?? :-D

Was this review helpful? (178) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
freckledgirl
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Door latch repair
12/7/2013

Customer review by PDandme

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by PDandme
by PDandme

EASY DOOR LATCH REPAIR - I bought mine on 08-2010. Like a lot of other posts on here about a year ago the door started getting harder to close and latch until, slamming it shut to latch wasn't working anymore. I removed the outer sheet metal ( very easy to remove 4 screws ) to see what wasn't working. The sheet metal holding the micro switch that tells the microwave the door is shut, bent back causing the switch not to activate. I tweeked the metal back straight so switch would close when door closed. I also epoxied a brace behind the sheet metal to help the switch stay in place.This is a VERY EASY fix and is permanent . Total time to repair is less than an hour. The only cost is epoxy.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PDandme
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not at all happy with the product
3/11/2011

Customer review by mytouch

1.0 stars 3/11/2011 by mytouch
by mytouch

I bought this microwave 2 yrs back from Target and it has stopped working. I had another microwave and it lasted 12 yrs and this one lasted only 2 yrs. It turns off every now and then and I have to unplug and restart again. Please do not buy this product unless the company has made some changes to the product.

Was this review helpful? (59) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mytouch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door problem too, but easy fix
1/6/2014

Customer review by Eppiela

1.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Eppiela
by Eppiela

This is the 2nd time we have purchased this model. The first one lasted 2 years before the door latch started not to work; we bought another one because Walmart is the only place in our town to buy stuff. We've had the 2nd machine for 14 months and now the door latch is a problem again; it won't be long before it will be completely unusable. The microwave itself is a very good machine; it's just the door latch that is hateful. However: another reviewer here tells an easy fix, and although we are not do-it-yourselfers, my guys managed to fix it. Remove 6 screws to take off the 3-sided sheet metal outside. Find the black switch mechanism. The trouble is that the whole container is wobbly and so it doesn't connect well, so you need to stabilize it somehow. The previous reviewer says that he used epoxy and put a brace in there; we took a zip-tie cable/tie. Loosen the screw in the top and stick the zip-tie into the screw hole. Then cable-tie it to a hole in the microwave enclosure.

Was this review helpful? (70) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Eppiela
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Beautiful, but doesn't last
11/10/2011

Customer review by SavvyMomof4

1.0 stars 11/10/2011 by SavvyMomof4
by SavvyMomof4

This microwave has a lot to boast about: innovative technology, easy to keep clean, and modern appearance. Unfortunately we were only able to enjoy ours for just over a year. Three weeks after the anniversary of its purchase, it died. We tried every cooking mode, but it shuts itself off after about 2 seconds. Very disappointing for what I thought was a great brand. Our previous Panasonic microwave lasted about 20 years. I know they don't design them to last that long anymore, but I think it should at least survive for 5 years. I have just read some other reviews from folks who have had similar reliability issues.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SavvyMomof4
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointing Product
7/5/2014

Customer review by Momof5inTexas

2.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Momof5inTexas
by Momof5inTexas

This is my third Panasonic microwave in almost 28 years. The first one lasted from 1986 until 2006. I purchased this model as a replacement, and it lasted for 6 years. In 2012 I purchased another of these and about a month after the warranty had expired, I began to have problems with the door not shutting properly without having to slam it. I called Panasonic and was informed that I would need to take it to an authorized dealer...which was about 30 miles away. As a previous poster has stated, Panasonic is aware of the problem with the door, yet it is my expense to have it repaired. I have tolerated the door issue as long as I can...it is getting worse. I LOVED the inverter feature and the setting that would cook my bowl of oatmeal to perfection. However, I do not think I will purchase another of these microwaves. Seems like the quality, durability, and dependability is just not what it use to be.

Was this review helpful? (36) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momof5inTexas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Stopped working after one year!
1/9/2011

Customer review by ohio6

1.0 stars 1/9/2011 by ohio6
by ohio6

We purchased this microwave hoping it would last a long time. We have had our previous 2 microwaves over 15 years with no problems. In one year and 2 weeks (one year warranty!) the turntable would no longer work - the motor out. After a half hour on hold to the call center in India and being cut off once I learned that I would get no help from Panasonic other than I can drive it 2 hours away to the closest repair center. The part is not available as it is not a consumer repairable part. Had to pitch the machine in the trash and will never buy Panasonic again.

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohio6
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This had major problems in less than 1 year
10/31/2013

Customer review by experiencetruth

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by experiencetruth
by experiencetruth

As other reviews have stated, the door has problems. After approximately 6 months of use, it became impossible to close without slamming it very hard. I wanted to lubricate the latch but didn't want to use oil based products. I finally decided upon graphite. That appears to work pretty well. But now, a little over 1 year after purchase, the display goes blank as you shut the door. I can get it to come back after unplugging and letting the system reboot. Other times the display loses the numbers and only displays the colon : and again unplugging helps. It started malfunctioning about a week ago. But yesterday I had to unplug/reboot it about 6 times while making supper. When it worked, it worked great. But the terrible door latch and computer problems appear to be planned obsolescence. I suppose I will get my 15 year old microwave out of the basement and use it in the kitchen again. If the bells and whistles only last 6 months or so, it is of NO value.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
experiencetruth
Hamilton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
TRIED 2 G.E. MICROWAVES
3/22/2010

Customer review by MISSRAGS

5.0 stars 3/22/2010 by MISSRAGS
by MISSRAGS

THIS IS THE THIRD MICROWAVE I HAVE BOUGHT IN TWO YEARS. THE OTHER TWO WERE GE PRODUCTS. THIS IS A VERY GOOD PRODUCT (SO FAR). I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE WAY IT WORKS.

Was this review helpful? (124) (45)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MISSRAGS
ASHBURN GA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It does what it says
6/18/2011

Customer review by dynomite123

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by dynomite123
by dynomite123

This is a great state of the art microwave , it will meet all of the quality standards you expect . It's the perfect size and has more power than I'll ever need . No more food burning on one side and underneath its cold still . the inverter tech. allows for perfect even cooking , no matter what the power setting . All the controls are easy to set , I like the child lock feature . The outside diameter is smaller, but the inside is still large . It's not noisy, but beeps loud enough to let you know when the cycle has ended . It's 1250 watts of controlled power making this masterpiece a force to be reckoned .

Was this review helpful? (106) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dynomite123
orlando florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted only for one piece of chicken
6/28/2011

Customer review by DesignerPete

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by DesignerPete
by DesignerPete

Picked up the unit at the store today. Brought it home, unpacked it, and set it up per the instructions in the manual. After I set the clock, I placed a piece of chicken on a serving plate on the turn table, set the time for 30 seconds. The chicken was done and nicely hot all the way through. When it came time to heat a side dish of corn, I placed it on the turn table in a bowl, closed the door and set the unit to heat it for 20 seconds. When I hit start, the turn table started to rotate, but the heating unit didn't kick in. After 2 seconds the unit turned off on its own. After that I was not able to get it to heat anything. The unit is now packed back up and going back to the store. The durability of this unit really leaves much to be desired.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesignerPete
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smartest Microwave Ive ever had
10/23/2010

Customer review by iruyle

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by iruyle
by iruyle

This microwave does more than you will probably ever need it to do. Operation is very intuitive and unlike most, this oven's preset buttons actually seem to coincide with appropriate cooktimes for the various foods. Had it over two years in a house with three adults and it has never let us down. Worth every cent and more.

Was this review helpful? (111) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iruyle
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hate it!!!!!
1/31/2011

Customer review by wantsgoodproducts

1.0 stars 1/31/2011 by wantsgoodproducts
by wantsgoodproducts

We had our first one for a month, it stopped working. So my husband took it back and exchanged for the same one. Well we have had it a little over a month and SURPRISE!!!!! It isn't working correctly! I will never purchase another one and would not suggest this microwave to anyone!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wantsgoodproducts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible -don't buy
3/7/2011

Customer review by TBWO

1.0 stars 3/7/2011 by TBWO
by TBWO

Had this microwave for 3 months. Worked great until it stopped working - H97 error. Per the manual and Panasonic customer service took it to their authorized repair center (small shop with limited hours and no sense of urgency). Two weeks and counting with no end in sight - another part is on backorder. Seeing other reviews it appears this model has horrible reliability. Panasonic not too sympathetic. They must wait weeks to see if it can be repaired meanwhile I am without a microwave unless I want to buy another one and throw away the $130. VERY disappointed in this microwave and Panasonic. The irony is I bought a Panasonic because they were rated highly on reliability.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBWO
Central VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by ASWDRW

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by ASWDRW
by ASWDRW

bought this microwave in 2010 and loved it until I received an H97 error. It would run for about 15 seconds then stop. Called Panasonic for support and they told us to contact consolidated electronics to find where the closest one was located and to take it to them to have them "troubleshoot" the issue. We would also be responsible for paying for the repair of the microwave. I found numerous sites online with complaints about panasonic microwaves - please google any panasonic product before you buy to read reviews. WILL NOT BUY PANASONIC AGAIN. This is a known issue and they are doing nothing to resolve the issue other than take more of the consumers money!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ASWDRW
PINETOPS, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 355 total reviews
1-20 of 355 reviews