Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 414 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

414 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

414 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
225
4 stars
73
3 stars
20
2 stars
36
1 stars
60
1-20 of 357 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 357 total reviews
1-20 of 357 reviews
It does what it says
6/18/2011

Customer review by dynomite123

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by dynomite123
by dynomite123

This is a great state of the art microwave , it will meet all of the quality standards you expect . It's the perfect size and has more power than I'll ever need . No more food burning on one side and underneath its cold still . the inverter tech. allows for perfect even cooking , no matter what the power setting . All the controls are easy to set , I like the child lock feature . The outside diameter is smaller, but the inside is still large . It's not noisy, but beeps loud enough to let you know when the cycle has ended . It's 1250 watts of controlled power making this masterpiece a force to be reckoned .

Was this review helpful? (112) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dynomite123
orlando florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/8/2012

Customer review by peapodmom

4.0 stars 3/8/2012 by peapodmom
by peapodmom

I was prompted by Walmart to review this microwave although I prefer not to review electronics/appliances until I've had them long enough to know if they will work well for an extended period of time. It's been about two weeks and so far everything is fine. A few things to know that I didn't see posted before I purchased it: the microwave is taller than in the pictures giving it a boxier appearance in real life. And although the front is a beautiful stainless steel finish, the main body is a metallic grey, not stainless. To be honest, I probably wouldn't have bought it if I'd known that beforehand as presentation was just as important to me as function. I'll include a pic with this review that also shows an espresso kitchen island, wine rack and stainless steel garbage can, all purchased through Walmart. I'll review these other items as well. If you are interested in any of them, check my profile for the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (40) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peapodmom
Wheaton, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Door problem too, but easy fix
1/6/2014

Customer review by Eppiela

1.0 stars 1/6/2014 by Eppiela
by Eppiela

This is the 2nd time we have purchased this model. The first one lasted 2 years before the door latch started not to work; we bought another one because Walmart is the only place in our town to buy stuff. We've had the 2nd machine for 14 months and now the door latch is a problem again; it won't be long before it will be completely unusable. The microwave itself is a very good machine; it's just the door latch that is hateful. However: another reviewer here tells an easy fix, and although we are not do-it-yourselfers, my guys managed to fix it. Remove 6 screws to take off the 3-sided sheet metal outside. Find the black switch mechanism. The trouble is that the whole container is wobbly and so it doesn't connect well, so you need to stabilize it somehow. The previous reviewer says that he used epoxy and put a brace in there; we took a zip-tie cable/tie. Loosen the screw in the top and stick the zip-tie into the screw hole. Then cable-tie it to a hole in the microwave enclosure.

Was this review helpful? (72) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eppiela
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great for 6 months, then just plain USELESS!
2/16/2011

Customer review by Happy1021

1.0 stars 2/16/2011 by Happy1021
by Happy1021

Purchased in August 2010. Loved it at first. Looked great. No major problems. Fast forward 6 months to February 2011 .... it died. I sterilized some baby bottles, and after that it was dead and couldn't get it to turn on again. For no apparent reason! What? My old Sharp microwave lasted 15 years! And this one just a mere 6 months?!? I lugged this thing all the way back to the Walmart store with a receipt in hand. Having passed the 90 return policy at Walmart, the customer service desk said that they couldn't do anything for me other than give me the 1-800 number to Panasonic so that I can call them and send it in to their repair center. Not happy with that option, I persisted and finally the manager allowed me to exchange it for another microwave (non-Panasonic!). 5 stars for Walmart customer service, but 1 star for this piece of junk. At $129+tax, I expect quality and longevity. This microwave did not meet my expectations at all. Steer clear of this one.

Was this review helpful? (116) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy1021
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This had major problems in less than 1 year
10/31/2013

Customer review by experiencetruth

1.0 stars 10/31/2013 by experiencetruth
by experiencetruth

As other reviews have stated, the door has problems. After approximately 6 months of use, it became impossible to close without slamming it very hard. I wanted to lubricate the latch but didn't want to use oil based products. I finally decided upon graphite. That appears to work pretty well. But now, a little over 1 year after purchase, the display goes blank as you shut the door. I can get it to come back after unplugging and letting the system reboot. Other times the display loses the numbers and only displays the colon : and again unplugging helps. It started malfunctioning about a week ago. But yesterday I had to unplug/reboot it about 6 times while making supper. When it worked, it worked great. But the terrible door latch and computer problems appear to be planned obsolescence. I suppose I will get my 15 year old microwave out of the basement and use it in the kitchen again. If the bells and whistles only last 6 months or so, it is of NO value.

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
experiencetruth
Hamilton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Disappointing Product
7/5/2014

Customer review by Momof5inTexas

2.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Momof5inTexas
by Momof5inTexas

This is my third Panasonic microwave in almost 28 years. The first one lasted from 1986 until 2006. I purchased this model as a replacement, and it lasted for 6 years. In 2012 I purchased another of these and about a month after the warranty had expired, I began to have problems with the door not shutting properly without having to slam it. I called Panasonic and was informed that I would need to take it to an authorized dealer...which was about 30 miles away. As a previous poster has stated, Panasonic is aware of the problem with the door, yet it is my expense to have it repaired. I have tolerated the door issue as long as I can...it is getting worse. I LOVED the inverter feature and the setting that would cook my bowl of oatmeal to perfection. However, I do not think I will purchase another of these microwaves. Seems like the quality, durability, and dependability is just not what it use to be.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momof5inTexas
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good!!
1/3/2011

Customer review by RX5647

4.0 stars 1/3/2011 by RX5647
by RX5647

When I first saw this microwave I knew I wanted it. It has a very sleek design, it was the perfect size and I needed stainless steele. But I still had to do my research. After several months of research I ended purchasing this one and everything is very nice so far (i've only had it about 3 weeks). Let me just say the days of making long lasting appliances is long gone according to the reviews and consumer reports, so I hope this one last me more than 10 years. I had my sharp for more than 14 years. I have to say, this one is not loud and the sensor cooking is awesome. It was ready to use right our of the box. The only thing that will drive me nuts is the finger prints but that can be resolved with some stainless steele cleaner hopefully. Since I have not had it for very long I cannot rate durability but I will keep you posted if anything changes. Right now so far so good!!!

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RX5647
Ripton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great product!
9/9/2013

Customer review by Bizcochito

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by Bizcochito
by Bizcochito
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the third time we have purchased this Panasonic model. One for our vacation rental property, one for home and this latest one for our sons' new home. I just love it! Our first one at the rental property has lasted for five years, it has been heavily used and it is still working great. The best feature I have found is its large capacity. It has more open space than other ovens in the market. It is so good that one can cook a whole chicken in a pot to perfection in 45 min. It is simple to use but it also has more sophisticated functions some are very useful like the turbo defrost and others are less so but on the whole they all work very well. My husband has found a slight problem with it, when in use this microwave's frequency can interfere with some internet applications, specially those related to radio transmission like Sonos. However this problem does not shadow the quality of cooking this microwave provides.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bizcochito
Santa Fe, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Seriously, this was a GREAT buy
6/1/2012

Customer review by Golden41

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Golden41
by Golden41

I'm really picky on my purchases. I like nice things. I look for quality, but also always looking for a good deal. This microwave is pretty big, it has a nice large turning plate in it, and it looks fantastic. The stainless steel look is a nice touch in any kitchen. I was a little worried about a couple reviews that I had read where they received a unit that was defective. Well I think this can happen with the best of anything, but mine has worked GREAT. It's powerful as well and cooks in less time than the last microwave I had at a luxury apartment community. I rate this 5 star on everything. I think this microwave is as nice as all the large microwaves the same size that are double the cost! And I wouldn't write a review if I was on the fence about it. It also has a lot of features. I've had the microwave now for 2 months and I'm super happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Golden41
Golden, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Door latch repair
12/7/2013

Customer review by PDandme

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by PDandme
by PDandme

EASY DOOR LATCH REPAIR - I bought mine on 08-2010. Like a lot of other posts on here about a year ago the door started getting harder to close and latch until, slamming it shut to latch wasn't working anymore. I removed the outer sheet metal ( very easy to remove 4 screws ) to see what wasn't working. The sheet metal holding the micro switch that tells the microwave the door is shut, bent back causing the switch not to activate. I tweeked the metal back straight so switch would close when door closed. I also epoxied a brace behind the sheet metal to help the switch stay in place.This is a VERY EASY fix and is permanent . Total time to repair is less than an hour. The only cost is epoxy.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PDandme
Wichita, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by ASWDRW

1.0 stars 7/14/2012 by ASWDRW
by ASWDRW

bought this microwave in 2010 and loved it until I received an H97 error. It would run for about 15 seconds then stop. Called Panasonic for support and they told us to contact consolidated electronics to find where the closest one was located and to take it to them to have them "troubleshoot" the issue. We would also be responsible for paying for the repair of the microwave. I found numerous sites online with complaints about panasonic microwaves - please google any panasonic product before you buy to read reviews. WILL NOT BUY PANASONIC AGAIN. This is a known issue and they are doing nothing to resolve the issue other than take more of the consumers money!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ASWDRW
PINETOPS, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beautiful, but doesn't last
11/10/2011

Customer review by SavvyMomof4

1.0 stars 11/10/2011 by SavvyMomof4
by SavvyMomof4

This microwave has a lot to boast about: innovative technology, easy to keep clean, and modern appearance. Unfortunately we were only able to enjoy ours for just over a year. Three weeks after the anniversary of its purchase, it died. We tried every cooking mode, but it shuts itself off after about 2 seconds. Very disappointing for what I thought was a great brand. Our previous Panasonic microwave lasted about 20 years. I know they don't design them to last that long anymore, but I think it should at least survive for 5 years. I have just read some other reviews from folks who have had similar reliability issues.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SavvyMomof4
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Panasonic Inverter models - google them and read
9/6/2014

Customer review by Raleightom

2.0 stars 9/6/2014 by Raleightom
by Raleightom

Panasonic Inverter models - google them and read I got one of the refurbished ones and found two very small food particle. WAS CLEAN. The light only operates when the microwave is actually cooking. Advantage to this is you can leave the door partially open to allow it to dry after steaming foods. Not doing so can cause various problems like RUST. I have had a few of these. They function far better than non inverter models. However, if you goggle user reviews, you will find numerous problems. The ERR H97 H98 are catastrophic and usually happen short of two years of daily use. Another common problem that happens sooner is problems with any of the three power switched on the door latch. The door is hard to open and close. This possibly is why the switches either go bad of shift so that they do not allow the microwave to function. As I previously stated, the inverter microwaves do a great job. Far better than non-inverter models. However, they last less than two years. Getting them repaired cost more than the purchase price and you are warned against trying to do it yourself. There are no repair / service manuals on the web And parts are very difficult (if at all) available to the consumer.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raleightom
Raleigh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defective door latch, etc
6/11/2013

Customer review by AuntieD07

2.0 stars 6/11/2013 by AuntieD07
by AuntieD07

We purchased this microwave the end of June 2012, thinking I'd like the Inverter but there were cold spots & food not cooked through. I should have listened to the other reviews about the door, I just took the microwave in for service due to the door and it also would stop working. We'd put item into microwave to heat, select the time & start, the numbers would start to count down but then it would shut completely down. I got the idea to turn the turntable a few times and lo and behold it would sometimes begin to work but, not always. Panasonic customer service was not easy to use either and the place I was told to take it for service was in a bad part of town with a locked door and no one to answer for quite a few minutes until I banged on door. I bought the extended warranty from Walmart, maybe someone else can trust this item, I can't and when I get this thing back it will be sold/given away.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AuntieD07
Saint Cloud
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lasted only for one piece of chicken
6/28/2011

Customer review by DesignerPete

1.0 stars 6/28/2011 by DesignerPete
by DesignerPete

Picked up the unit at the store today. Brought it home, unpacked it, and set it up per the instructions in the manual. After I set the clock, I placed a piece of chicken on a serving plate on the turn table, set the time for 30 seconds. The chicken was done and nicely hot all the way through. When it came time to heat a side dish of corn, I placed it on the turn table in a bowl, closed the door and set the unit to heat it for 20 seconds. When I hit start, the turn table started to rotate, but the heating unit didn't kick in. After 2 seconds the unit turned off on its own. After that I was not able to get it to heat anything. The unit is now packed back up and going back to the store. The durability of this unit really leaves much to be desired.

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesignerPete
Moline, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in this microwave
1/8/2012

Customer review by ChattaChick

3.0 stars 1/8/2012 by ChattaChick
by ChattaChick

I bought this microwave a couple of months ago to replace our old one that had finally died. I loved overall look of this one and was hopeful that the "inverter" technology would be an asset. What I've found is that the inverter is great for boiling water faster, but for cooking, we constantly have to reduce the power level to get even cooking. For example, when cooking bacon, it is impossible to crisp the fat without burning the lean unless we reduce the power to no more than 80%. Two other features of this microwave are extremely annoying. One is the mirror surface on the "buttons", which makes is impossible to read the buttons unless you have the microwave at eye level (which it was in the store display, so I didn't notice)--but since ours is on a countertop, that means a lot of bending down to be sure we hit the right buttons. The other problem is the turntable: If you place an object a little off-center on the glass plate turntable, the plate quickly comes off track, makes clunking noises, and stops rotating. The problem is the rotating piece underneath the plate only has one prong instead of three and the glass plate does not have deep indentations on the underside, so it's easy for the glass plate to slip. Bad design, Panasonic. The microwave looks cool and I've tried to just get used to the annoying features, but I like it less every day.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChattaChick
Chattanooga, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Has Good Housekeeping Seal guarantee
4/14/2014

Customer review by Anonymous817

5.0 stars 4/14/2014 by Anonymous817
by Anonymous817
Top 1000 contributor

In local Walmart, I saw this one and bought the larger 2.2 cu ft one right next to it for larger height to fit huge turkey. The sizes for the prices are great. Though both demo models had hard to open/close doors, this oven is better than previous defective, different brand, I returned due to the huge capacity, Inverter, and sensor cooking. Glad I went with the large Panasonic, because looking for more reviews online, I read the NN-T945SF I bought has the Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval, meaning it comes with their 2-yr guarantee. Looked up this 1.6 cu ft Model NN-SN778S at Good Housekeeping, and it also has their Seal of Approval. The microwave I got has fine working door button and latches, so I will take good care of them by not slamming door and if ever seems dry, put drop of oil or slight smear of Vaseline on latches. Very happy with sensor cooking--its like someone else cooks my dinner for me! The 1250 watts cooks very fast even in the 2.2 cu ft size oven. Appreciate the light weight of Panasonic due to Inverter. Panasonic microwave ovens have a very, very long list on the Good Housekeeping site that all have their Seal.

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Anonymous817
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
ONLY LIVED 6 MONTHS :{
4/17/2011

Customer review by NICKNAMESALLGONE

1.0 stars 4/17/2011 by NICKNAMESALLGONE
by NICKNAMESALLGONE

We bought this microwave as replacement. It looked great and had all the features we were looking for. But so did alot of other microwaves. The price was in our budget so we chose this one. It worked wonderfully for 6 months then just died. It would give me the h97 error code also. I would unplug it and have it work a couple of times and now it will not even display the error code. If you like shopping for new microwaves this is the one to buy, you will be back on the web comparing them again in about 6 months.

Was this review helpful? (100) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NICKNAMESALLGONE
Midwest Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magnatron dead after 6 weeks
6/11/2011

Customer review by DogPyl

3.0 stars 6/11/2011 by DogPyl
by DogPyl

I bought this on March 15, 2011 and by mid May it was dead. Warranty was honored and in 2 weeks it was fixed and seems to work better than when new.

Was this review helpful? (92) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DogPyl
Tuftonboro, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good oven ruined by faulty door latch
12/8/2015

Customer review by EMS

2.0 stars 12/8/2015 by EMS
by EMS

Had my first MC with a handle for twenty-seven years. Couldn't replace similar size and power with anything but the push button door latch so gave it a try. After about a year and a half the door latch wouldn't "catch" anymore so hubby fixed it. That lasted a couple more years, now it won't close well enough to even turn the light off. The plastic parts in the assembly are too worn to fix. This all occurred just in time for Thanksgiving so we haven't checked with our appliance repair shop to see if a new latch assembly is even possible. In the meantime I found another similar #different brand# with a handle. Guess we'll see how long that holds up. This unit is four years old and in a two person adult household. Usage is moderate, and we don't abuse stuff. I am disappointed that I can't use it because I was very happy with every thing else. Please find better materials to close the door with. Paying a little more initially costs less in the long run. Thanks.

EMS
NE Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 357 total reviews
1-20 of 357 reviews