Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 453 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

453 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

453 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
228
4 stars
76
3 stars
21
2 stars
47
1 stars
81
1-20 of 396 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews
Purchased 2012
2/3/2017

Customer review by Kota

2.0 stars 2/3/2017 by Kota
by Kota

Door would not close properly, summer of 2015, (had to slam it shut). When pressing button, the door would not open (had to hit the button with force to open it) ...went completely out 2/2017. Functioned o.k., just a headache with door...until it died.

Kota
Jefferson City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good oven ruined by faulty door latch
12/8/2015

Customer review by EMS

2.0 stars 12/8/2015 by EMS
by EMS

Had my first MC with a handle for twenty-seven years. Couldn't replace similar size and power with anything but the push button door latch so gave it a try. After about a year and a half the door latch wouldn't "catch" anymore so hubby fixed it. That lasted a couple more years, now it won't close well enough to even turn the light off. The plastic parts in the assembly are too worn to fix. This all occurred just in time for Thanksgiving so we haven't checked with our appliance repair shop to see if a new latch assembly is even possible. In the meantime I found another similar #different brand# with a handle. Guess we'll see how long that holds up. This unit is four years old and in a two person adult household. Usage is moderate, and we don't abuse stuff. I am disappointed that I can't use it because I was very happy with every thing else. Please find better materials to close the door with. Paying a little more initially costs less in the long run. Thanks.

EMS
NE Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Microwave I have purchased
1/7/2017

Customer review by Henrietta

5.0 stars 1/7/2017 by Henrietta
by Henrietta

I have had this microwave since 2012 and it has worked exceptionally since day one. Not one problem have we experienced with this unit.

Henrietta
Hernando, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job but buttons not very useful
7/17/2013

Customer review by BillM

4.0 stars 7/17/2013 by BillM
by BillM

I have been using this MW about 4 months--since 3/22/2013. I have not had any real problems with it. In fact, overall it does a very nice job. However, I found the keypad buttons lacking in really useful choices. The Popcorn, "Sensor", "Turbo", "Keep Warm", "Function", and "More/Less" buttons are really entirely useless. Even after reading the manual thoroughly and their intended purpose, they don't really do anything worth their presence. I would FAR rather see something more simple yet FAR more useful. In place of the "Quick Min" button, include 3 simple buttons: "10+", "30+", and "60+". Those would simply add 10, 30, or 60 seconds to the current cook time. Those buttons should work that way not just before cooking but also during cooking. Finally, the Start button should not need to be pressed most of the time. When a cook time is entered by any means, wait 2 seconds in case it needs to be canceled, and then immediately been cooking.

BillM
Houston, TX, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good while it lasted.
11/28/2016

Customer review by chev

4.0 stars 11/28/2016 by chev
by chev

was ok for 7 years then it quit. i will purchase another panasonic microwave becaues my wife likes this one.

chev
Franklin, VA 23851, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Model NN-H965
11/24/2016

Customer review by John V.

2.0 stars 11/24/2016 by John V.
by John V.

Loved the features and convenience of this m1crowave, BUT the touch pad started to fail repeatedly after about 1-1/2 years. Of course the warranty was good for only one year.

John V.
Lancaster, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
AMAZING!!!
7/22/2011

Customer review by Poppy

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Poppy
by Poppy

This is definitely the best microwave I have ever had the pleasure of using. The sensor reheat is awesome; food is always perfectly heated! It is also the first microwave I have ever used that defrosted things extremely well. I can put my chicken in it, type in the aprox. weight and boom! defrosted chicken(that hasn't already started to be cooked). In the past I've always had microwaves start cooking the edges of the chicken when I use their defrost feature and then the center is still frozen when I pull it out...but this microwave is not like that!!! I want to buy one for all my friends! The only down side is that it takes up a lot of space...but it makes up for it in the fact that you can fit larger items in it easily. That is just a trade off...want a microwave that fits more stuff...it takes up more space. duh. But even if your cramped for space in your kitchen(which I am) I think it is totally worth it ;)

Poppy
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Door latch mechanism
5/23/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/23/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The door latch mechanism is a piece of garbage. Mechanism is all plastic and will fail within 3 to 4 years. Very bad design. I have replaced one of the switches twice in the last year. Probably because you must slam the door to get the mechanism to work properly now. Did love the microwave until the latch mechanism started to fail.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save yourself from the agrivation
12/24/2014

Customer review by TR

1.0 stars 12/24/2014 by TR
by TR

I wish that I had went to this site and seen the reviews for this microwave before buying at a local store. The reviews on the door latch breaking are so true. After only owning it for a few months the door latch stopped working right. We had to slam the door to get it to latch then that even didn't work. My husband was able to look at it and fix it by bending the metal piece back in place and using some wire to secure it all . Well that part is still working but however now the top plastic door latch has broke off. The microwave will not start up now. I used to think panasonic was a great brand. I will not be getting another panasonic microwave.

TR
Live Oak,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
would not buy again
1/6/2013

Customer review by Microwave shopping

2.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Microwave shopping
by Microwave shopping

Had about 2 years. Microwave started making electrical popping noises - was advised not to use it. Using an abundance of caution, I will not use the microwave again nor will I attempt to have it repaired (if possible). Electrical appliances that have or have had any electrical problems are not for me. In addition, the unit was rather loud right from the start. It was a good appliance in terms of cost, cooking, internal space. The size of the unit is a bit excessive but can be overlooked when you have something really large to cook. The defrost and reheat settings were great.

Microwave shopping
Albany, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door doesn't open easily.
7/9/2013

Customer review by Rain

3.0 stars 7/9/2013 by Rain
by Rain

I thought that I was the only one having problems with the door. I don't have to slam it to start the cycle, instead, I have to push the button and then pull the door open because the button doesn't disengage the latch well. It's been like this since about 2 months after I bought it and I've just been dealing with it since then (I've had it for about 15 months). I should have called in about it when it first started, but that's my busy schedule's fault. Anyway, If not for that flaw, I'd love this microwave completely.

Rain
Memphis, TN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect Popcorn! :)
9/21/2014

Customer review by Ling

4.0 stars 9/21/2014 by Ling
by Ling

I just bought this microwave after my children killed my old one. I love that this one has actual buttons, not just a flat surface. I decided to test this one with the one food that most microwaves have the most difficulty with: popcorn. This one had no trouble AT ALL! I next tried frozen macaroni and cheese; typically one has to keep a close watch to avoid the 'burned on the outside, frozen on the inside' fiasco. Not the case with this model. I am very impressed and happy with my purchase.

Ling
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor door design that makes it useless
8/10/2013

Customer review by Merv

1.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Merv
by Merv

I bought this unit as a replacement for another model Panasonic microwave oven of the same size and power that had a problem with the door. This model is even worse than the previous one. You must slam the door shut numerous times ... sometimes the light will not go off and sometimes the microwave won't run when you try to start it. Panasonic has a very attractive design for its microwave but it is too bad they haven't figured out how to make the door operate correctly.

Merv
Hilo, HI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't buy this model.
3/21/2013

Customer review by JG

1.0 stars 3/21/2013 by JG
by JG

After a few months of use, the door has to be slammed to get it closed. You cannot push the door closed as with a norman microwave unit. I took it to a authorized repair for Panasonic and there's nothing can be done about the door closure issue, they are all like that. Eventually the closure latch will break with the door claosed and then I can throw it in the garbage. Get on line and type in the model number and read the complaints from others before buying this unit.

JG
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door Latch Broken
10/8/2014

Customer review by Busy

2.0 stars 10/8/2014 by Busy
by Busy

Had this for a couple for a couple of years and in the last few days the door latch doesn't work properly. You have to push the top and bottom of door together for light to go off. Now the timer has broken - when it gets to zero in the count down it resets itself and starts the cooking time over again!!! Have always thought Panasonic a good brand but will NOT be buying another. Not worth repairing. Wish I'd read all these reviews about the door latch

Busy
Sarasoat, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good- until it stopped working!
10/21/2012

Customer review by LR

2.0 stars 10/21/2012 by LR
by LR

We really liked this- the perfect size and easy to use. Only con was you had to SLAM the door shut to engage microwave. Now after 4 months it works just sometimes- the numbers will start counting down (microwave doesn't turn on) and then it just resets itself to the clock function. Usually after 5 or 6 times of this happening it then works.. Which isn't helpful as it takes along time just to get it to work..

LR
Canton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door Latch Broke After Only 18 Months
7/7/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 7/7/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The door latch broke after 18 months. We continued to use it for another 6 months then it finally went. The Microwave will not work without a properly closely latch. So I guess we need to buy a new one. It will not be Panasonic. When we bought ours we ignored the door latch reviews and thought we will open the door gently and not tug on it. So much for that.

An anonymous customer
Lakeside, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of money
6/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Had this for 6-9 months and it doesn't work. Just like the other reviews, you'd have to slam the door a few times to get it to work-it got to be so bad, I was opening and closing it 7-8 times before it would start up. Now it doesn't work at all! Very, very unhappy. We chose a more expensive microwave thinking it would perform better than the cheap ones-wrong!

An anonymous customer
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door Problems
3/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 3/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm having the same problem as others who wrote reviews. I've actually tape marked the door and instructed my family members to use the heel of their hand to bang the door shut at that mark and even that doesn't always work on the first attempt. It's very disappointing to have to replace a working unit because the door won't lock easily.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Door won't stay latched
5/27/2014

Customer review by Double K

1.0 stars 5/27/2014 by Double K
by Double K

I've experienced the same problem as others who have posted here. I have to keep slamming the door to get it to close. It's less than a year old. I bought this Panasonic because my last one survived for nearly 20 years. Apparently, the quality has gone down since my last purchase. I'll never buy another Panasonic product.

Double K
Bath, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 396 total reviews
1-20 of 396 reviews