Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
37
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-20 of 37 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Substantially Inferior to Her Signature 14 Piece
3/13/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/13/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I own the Paula Dean's Signature 14 Piece Cutlery set which looks just like the new 17 Piece except that it is not "Japanese" steel. I bought this 17 Piece set today to check it out at my local Walmart. After bringing it home and comparing the two sets side by side, I was pretty shocked at how many corners they cut on this new larger set. Steak knifes are lightweight and flimsy compared to the other set. All the other knifes have very light handles and heavy blades so the balance feels substantially off from the other set. In the original 14 piece set, the handles are nicely weighted, giving the knives a solid feel and better balance. I returned this set immediately and will only buy Paula Dean's Signature label products in the future.

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hollywood, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely love this item!
7/27/2010

Customer review by mamab2910

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by mamab2910
by mamab2910

First of all, the knife block is beautiful and very durable. The knives are well made and very sleek and the smooth edges make them simple to keep sharp. I received these as a gift from my husband to replace the cheapos we had before and I am very very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamab2910
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
110% EXCELLENT Knife Set for Price
3/11/2011

Customer review by MoMtoFivefromIowa

5.0 stars 3/11/2011 by MoMtoFivefromIowa
by MoMtoFivefromIowa

For years I had a carousel set of Farberware Knives w/serated edges (so u cldn't sharpen them). They were very dull & wore ur arm out cutting ANYTHING! This is an awesome knife set for the money, I highly reccomend them, luv my new set, will slice through anything like butter! These ROCK, I bought the black set, very good quality, not cheap junk!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoMtoFivefromIowa
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome
11/2/2010

Customer review by cmcreegan

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by cmcreegan
by cmcreegan

I received this knife set as a wedding gift. It is no joke! The knives are unbelievably sharp and very durable. It also looks very nice. There isn't one thing I would change or that I don't like about it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmcreegan
Palm Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Loved this... at first!
2/18/2011

Customer review by BeautifulMinds

2.0 stars 2/18/2011 by BeautifulMinds
by BeautifulMinds

We received this knife block as a Christmas gift not even 2 months ago. Upon first appearance, it is a very nice set. The knives were very sharp and solid. The whole entire set looks very nice and pricey. All was well until a couple weeks ago when we started to see rust spots on the knives. I went back and checked and these aren't stainless steel and they do rust. For the money spent and the quality knives that you seem to get, this is unacceptable. I'm at a loss as to what to do. I still like the knives but it is unsightly to use them with rust spots. I never received a receipt with the gift and doubt I could return them, especially in the condition they are currently in. I'm very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautifulMinds
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Rusts makes these knives an embarrassment!
1/9/2012

Customer review by SherryAP

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by SherryAP
by SherryAP

Although these knives are beautiful to look at within the block, I was embarrassed when preping the holiday meals, these knives displayed rust spots. I am sure that Paula would be embarrassed as well being as her name is displayed on the knives. To top it off, one of the knife handles cracked at one of the rivets and recently fell off as I was rubbing olive oil on the blades.(In hopes to stop rust spots) I am very disappointed and would not recommend these to anyone, when I know they will only be disappointed. My sister has a set and is facing the same problem. For the price, we expected more.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SherryAP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Falls short ... :/
1/13/2012

Customer review by UPCGirl

1.0 stars 1/13/2012 by UPCGirl
by UPCGirl

I had 'high' hopes for this knife set, but...I find them hard on ur hands to hold and the blades are not nearly as sharp as some cheaper sets I have owned in the past and the scissors are for the BIRDS! Won't even cut paper/plastic!! I've only had this set for 6 months and already there are little rust spots forming on a few of the blades and the block itself is appearing 'worn' at the edges. IMO this item is NOT worth the $80 bucks and falls far short from where my expectations were for this item. :/ I would NOT recommend this set.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UPCGirl
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sharp knives but rusted after a week of use.
10/23/2013

Customer review by DMW0205

2.0 stars 10/23/2013 by DMW0205
by DMW0205

I am a HUGE Paula Deen fan and love all of her products. When I saw this knife set on sale I just HAD to buy it for our new kitchen. PROS: Beautiful chopping block Sharp knives with comfortable handles CONS: I have only had the knives for 32 days and they began rusting after the first few uses. I have tried everything and cannot get rid of the rust. I love how the knives perform but they look really dirty now that they are rusting so I am embarrassed to have guests over to eat a dinner where steak knives are necessary. Overall I am really bummed because my other Paula Deen products have held up very nicely. These definitely fall short. I would not recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from PaulaDeenCookwareSpecialist - 10/25/2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the rusting of your knives. This an unusual experience with knives rusting since the blades are stainless steel. We do strive to make all of our cutlery with the best quality. Please give us a call so that we can discuss your disappointment with this cutlery set with you. Be sure to mention the Walmart website when you call. Our phone number is 888-298-1071. Our hours of operation are Mondays-Fridays from 7 a.m.-5 p.m. PST excluding holidays. We look forward to discussing this matter with you.

DMW0205
Ray City, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY
3/26/2013

Customer review by Pegasus66619

1.0 stars 3/26/2013 by Pegasus66619
by Pegasus66619

I bought a set of these knives for my husband's birthday as well as a seperate set of steak knives. He is a big fan of Paula Deen. I have always owned Old Hickory knives. I thought that since the knife went all the way through the handle they would be of good quality. I was wrong. The handle's on several of the knives have broken. We have always washed them by hand and never put them in the dish washer. We have had them for over 6 months and I expected better of them. My husband is very unhappy and wants to get a new set made by someone else and Paula can have her knives back. I don't normally post coments but these knives are really poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pegasus66619
Topeka, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good knives- not too many useless ones.
10/13/2011

Customer review by StirFry

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by StirFry
by StirFry

I have had them for over six months now. Most of the knives are forged, although the steak knives appear to be stamped (not necessarily a bad thing). Good balance and ergonomics and good steel that takes a keen edge and holds it for a decent length of time. These are well made knives that should last a lifetime or two if you keep them out of the dishwasher. As with a lot of these block sets there is a useless serrated "utility" knife but the rest of the set is useful. The only other serrated knife is the bread knife. Bread knives should be serrated, so that's good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StirFry
Rindge, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Set
8/13/2010

Customer review by nebraskagypsy

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by nebraskagypsy
by nebraskagypsy

I'm very pleased with the Paula Deen Cutlery set. It's a nice looking block & nice shade of red knives. I would highly recommend this set.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nebraskagypsy
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Gorgeous in the block and nice to handle!
9/28/2013

Customer review by kitchenfairylover101

5.0 stars 9/28/2013 by kitchenfairylover101
by kitchenfairylover101

These knives are beautiful, and you can get a really sharp edge on them. As my dad always says " A knife isn't sharp unless it can shave arm hair" LOL These knives can........they didn't come quite that sharp but it didn't take much to get them there. Keep putting olive oil on the blade and the handles to hydrate them and keep rust away and I think these will last for many many years! I wouldn't recommend putting them in the dishwasher......it dulls the handles and and dishwashers don't dry completely so the water droplets left on the blades could turn to rust spots. All in all I'm absolutely thrilled with this set!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitchenfairylover101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent product for the money
10/7/2010

Customer review by miley10

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by miley10
by miley10

Very good looking on counter, extremely sharp, would definatly recommend this product to any one great quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miley10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Paula deen Knife set=A+++++
12/30/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/30/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just bought this set and i love it i will never buy another brand again i have a lot of her products and no one can beat it!!! BUY THESE def worth the money !!! The knives heavy duty and sharp the block beautiful color and heavy i diangled the block on my counter in a corner looked better

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/11/2012

Customer review by regretfully

4.0 stars 3/11/2012 by regretfully
by regretfully

Great set. Disappointed not dishwasher safe.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
regretfully
TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
CHEAP PRODUCT
4/8/2014

Customer review by SUEBABE1

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by SUEBABE1
by SUEBABE1

WE PURCHASED THESE KNIVES SET AS A WEDDING PRESENT AND WE WERE THINKING THEY WERE GOING TO EXCEED OUR EXPECTATIONS ...AND AT FIRST THE PROBLEM WAS RADOM RUST ON THE KNIVES, THEN THE HANDLES STARTED TO BREAK OFF AT THE FIRST RIVET AT THE HANDLE END WHICH WE FELT WAS WEIRD AS WE HAND WASH THEM 90% OF THE TIME ...WE WOULD LIKE TO HAVE OUR MONEY BACK AS WE PAID 79.97 FOR THESE AND GO PURCHASE A NEW SET OF A DIFFERENT BRAND

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from PaulaDeenCookwareSpecialist - 12/8/2014

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Paula Deen Cutlery, SUEBABE1. To remove stains that may occur occasionally on your cutlery, please follow the simple cleaning instructions below: 1. Mix one part baking soda with three parts water. 2. Dip a soft cotton rag into the cleaning solution. 3. Rub the rust stain clean. Be careful. Double over (or triple-fold) the rag as an extra precaution when cleaning near the sharp edge. 4. Rinse the knives in warm water and dry thoroughly with a clean rag before storing. Cutlery should not be left submerged in water and should be washed and dried completely after each use. We are sorry to hear about the handles breaking and would like to discuss the situation with you further. At your earliest convenience, please call the Paula Deen Cookware Department at 888-298-1071. We are here Mondays through Fridays excluding holidays from 7 a.m. to 5 p..m. PST. When you call one of our experts, please mention the WalMart website. We look forward to discussing your cutlery with you.

SUEBABE1
BEND, OREGON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/7/2010

Customer review by tobilou

4.0 stars 5/7/2010 by tobilou
by tobilou

good variety of knives takes up a lot of room on the counter

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tobilou
waco tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product, great price, looks good
10/24/2013

Customer review by ranchdog2

4.0 stars 10/24/2013 by ranchdog2
by ranchdog2

I have two sets of these knives... one in my rv and one in my house. This is a great knife set for the price. The manufacturer did a very poor job of sharpening both sets of knives, but after running them through my Chef's Choice Model 130 Professional Sharpening Station, they are sharp and seem to hold an edge well. The knife block is very attractive, and it and the knives look great on the kitchen counter.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ranchdog2
Cat Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's Paula Deen (what else can I say)!!
5/26/2013

Customer review by Magoo1944

5.0 stars 5/26/2013 by Magoo1944
by Magoo1944

I love to cook and this set is d dream.. My only concern is using the STEEL, I'm scared of messing up the blades (some day I'll get the nerve)..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Magoo1944
Titusville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Husband has used these knives to his delight
8/26/2013

Customer review by CityKitties

5.0 stars 8/26/2013 by CityKitties
by CityKitties

The Acacia Storage Block has a red colored hue to it, would have preferred if it had more of a medium brown color stain as shown in the picture. The knives themselves are wonderful. I have touches of red in my kitchen but the reddish storage block kind of overwhelms my theme. No issues with the quality. I may try to change the block color. Not sure at this point. Perhaps I'm too picky, eh? Fussy, fussy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CityKitties
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews