Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

65 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
44
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 61 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Easy yo use and very economical.
12/27/2013

Customer review by Jwoodward

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Jwoodward
by Jwoodward

A quality little H.O.B filter that gets the job done. I have 10 of these filters ranging in size from a Jr. on a 5 gallon tank to a whisper 5 on a 75 gallon tank. Some of my filters are over 20 years old and still performing well. My newest filter is the Whisper 60 that is installed in a 29 gallon tank. I chose this filter because of my past reliability results and the ability to control the flow rate. Most filters on the market today do not offer adjustable flow rates and to me this is a very important feature. I purchase a larger filter than the tank rating so if I need more filtration I can simply turn up the flow. When I don't need it I can simply turn it down. I like being able to turn the filter to low during feeding time so I feed the fish and not the filter. Filter replacement media for these filters is widely available and very economical.

Jwoodward
Kentucky, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This filter is ineffective
4/7/2014

Customer review by Fishcalmness

1.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Fishcalmness
by Fishcalmness

I have used the Whisper filter system for years and have been very pleased with them. Sad to see the old exterinal style phased out and had to purchase this in tank system. My tank developed a scum on top after a while and when cleaning out the tank after about 2 months of use (yes, I admit, I am a very bad fish tank caretaker) the filter still looked clean. The old style would have looked like a layer of mud caked on it. I will be looking for a new filter and it will not be a Tetra.

Fishcalmness
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
CLASSIC POWER FILTERS THAT WORK!
1/7/2012

Customer review by BENZEEL

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by BENZEEL
by BENZEEL

I bought my first Whisper power filter 24 years ago for my first fish tank. I still use them because they work! They are so easy to use and have a low price. Nice and quiet too! They come with Bio foam to grow beneficial bacteria. The filter cartridges are inexpensive and trap a lot of dirt and gunk. I own 4 of these filters and love them! They practically last forever too! Why buy some complicated over-priced filter? Get one of these! A great investment for your fishy friends!

BENZEEL
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product, Quiet, Easy To Assemble
7/15/2012

Customer review by BettaFishRUs

4.0 stars 7/15/2012 by BettaFishRUs
by BettaFishRUs

I got my first (real glass!) aquarium in January. It was a 15 Gallon Kit. It came with a Whisper PF10 and Heater. It was so easy to set up and assemble. The only problem I had was that it made a grinding noise, so I looked back at the instructions I had missed the important step of filling the filter box with water! Haha! xD Now it is working great, and my aquarium is fully cycled and home to a small school of Zebra Danios and a Bristlenose Plecostous. Thank you, Tetra! :)

BettaFishRUs
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very loud
3/10/2014

Customer review by Mtm106

1.0 stars 3/10/2014 by Mtm106
by Mtm106

I just purchased a whisper 60 filter and it is so loud I have to turn my tv up two times higher than normal cant here someone talk tow from across the room.it sounds like it is constantly trying to fill up with water like when you 1st plug the filter in an add some water that whirling sound but never goes away. I have had this product plugged in for two hours an it is going back to the store. I don't recommend this filter to anyone.

Mtm106
Bay City, MI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great
2/14/2017

Customer review by Bevy

5.0 stars 2/14/2017 by Bevy
by Bevy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Wonderful product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bevy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
2/3/2017

Customer review by suggurr

5.0 stars 2/3/2017 by suggurr
by suggurr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

These are great because I hate having to put them together and getting the carbon everywhere.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
suggurr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Product
2/4/2017

Customer review by C46cargo

5.0 stars 2/4/2017 by C46cargo
by C46cargo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Work very well!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
C46cargo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product!
12/20/2010

Customer review by SweatyPaws

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by SweatyPaws
by SweatyPaws

I use to buy this at walmart cause the price on this was great and better than Petco or Petsmart. If it gets clogg or dirty rinse it under your tank water when you do water change...don't rinse it under the tap cause it will kill your bacteria. Then reuse it several time then throw it out. This can last you a month.

Was this review helpful? (33) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweatyPaws
Wausau, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tetra Whisper filter cartridge
12/4/2016

Customer review by storyman63

4.0 stars 12/4/2016 by storyman63
by storyman63
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a good priced item, gets the job done. But, does not last long enough.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 1/31/2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it! On average, you should change a cartridge once a month. If you are having to change it more frequently than this, you may be over feeding a little bit, or may be over stocked. We would be happy to discuss this with you if you contact us directly at 1-800-526-0650 or techsupport.tetra-fish@spectrumbrands.com.

storyman63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/5/2011

Customer review by LOUMAL

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by LOUMAL
by LOUMAL

THIS IS THE ONLY FILTER THAT WORKS PERFECT WITH OUR TANK FOR OUR TURTLE.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOUMAL
SANTEE, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wisper fish filters
9/11/2013

Customer review by kiki33415

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by kiki33415
by kiki33415
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

I bought the Tetra whisper fish cartridges , they are worth the money, you get three in a box, and you change the filter once a month, the water stays clear for a month, i will buy again

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiki33415
West Palm Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
Great Filter Cartridge
10/19/2012

Customer review by JReyes1127

5.0 stars 10/19/2012 by JReyes1127
by JReyes1127

The Tetra Whisper filter keeps the water crystal clear. I replace it once a month. The filter itself is exceptional. Whisper quiet!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JReyes1127
Brooklyn, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
works
2/17/2011

Customer review by thePrincesJewel

4.0 stars 2/17/2011 by thePrincesJewel
by thePrincesJewel

I like that they come with a little gizmo to let you know that it definitely needs changed - or can be rinsed thoroughly in the sink and reused.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thePrincesJewel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tetra Whisper Cartridges
11/10/2016

Customer review by Lprice

5.0 stars 11/10/2016 by Lprice
by Lprice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

What I like about this brand is that one cartridge lasts me a whole month with one fish in a 10-gallon aquarium. The charcoal is sufficient to do the job and the filter does not fall apart or sag when I need to remove it. It is easy to insert and remove.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lprice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
11/24/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used it for my 10 gallon fish tank. Works as designed. No complaints so far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Geat Price!
9/26/2012

Customer review by Kiara6

4.0 stars 9/26/2012 by Kiara6
by Kiara6

These really vary in pet stores. I have seen a box like this for $15.99 at one store. I wish it came with a larger amount in box. Some of the other sizes have bargain boxes with many more cartridges. Be sure you get these pre-filled pacs. The others are time consuming, messy, and the teeny rocks are not good for the garbage disposal. Besides they give you less carbon per cartridge.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kiara6
So CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
7/21/2016

Customer review by Wallywalker

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by Wallywalker
by Wallywalker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good item can use it twice if you have the patience to clean it out

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wallywalker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tetra Whisper Medium Filter Cartridges
7/6/2013

Customer review by WIBadgerFan

1.0 stars 7/6/2013 by WIBadgerFan
by WIBadgerFan

This used to be a great product a couple years ago; however, today I believe "One Star" is far too much. The directions read, "Rinse prior to use" and when you rinse, the sheath evaporates leaving you holding bits of charcoal. Additionally, it used to withstand a periodic rinse during use. You can't do that anymore, thus forcing you to put in another cartridge. It is just a cheap filter cartridge. I contacted Tetra via e-mail as stated on their box and they clearly state, "ALWAYS answered within 24 hours". I wrote them on 20Jun13 and they finally responded on 05Jul13. Are you kidding?? Therefore, I'm going to look at replacing my filter so I can buy a different, better made cartridge.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WIBadgerFan
Maryville MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product
9/19/2016

Customer review by lobo46

5.0 stars 9/19/2016 by lobo46
by lobo46

Works well when changed regularly/

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lobo46
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews