Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-15 of 15 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Works perfectly but is confusing at first
5/28/2012

Customer review by alexusk97

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by alexusk97
by alexusk97

The first time I used this it was hard to get going. But now I have gotten the hang of it and it leaves my gravel nice and clean and is very simple to use. I was disgusted seeing how much debri came out of my gravel. I almost didn't buy this because of the one bad review. But I needed a siphon and it was the only one walmart had. I don't know what happened with the person that wrote the bad review because it works great! I am glad I purchased this.

Was this review helpful? (42) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alexusk97
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It works well
4/28/2012

Customer review by Spheal

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by Spheal
by Spheal

I don't understand why the other reviewer found this product so difficult. All I did was push the tube over the end. Of course it is hard to slip on because you need it to stick to the siphon so there is no leak of air. It's a good product. I have a couple of these and they work fine! It's not that difficult.

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spheal
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
easy as pie!
5/28/2014

Customer review by AlBuyit

5.0 stars 5/28/2014 by AlBuyit
by AlBuyit

I have never used one of these before. I was afraid the gravel would get stuck or sucked up in the tube among other concerns. But I followed the directions and it does a great job cleaning the bottom of my tank. Good price too.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlBuyit
Hagerstown, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cleans great
6/6/2013

Customer review by jeraljoa

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by jeraljoa
by jeraljoa

Does a very good job of cleaning the fish tank. Sucks up more junk than I though was in the tank.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeraljoa
EDGEWOOD, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/22/2013

Customer review by Drrosieknows

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by Drrosieknows
by Drrosieknows

The item was inexpensive and worked very well cleaning my son's fresh water aquarium.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drrosieknows
Chino Hills, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Best
4/19/2014

Customer review by shellsdell01

5.0 stars 4/19/2014 by shellsdell01
by shellsdell01

Have tried many others but this one seems to work the best.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellsdell01
Kathleen GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great.
2/5/2014

Customer review by CandyGirl00

4.0 stars 2/5/2014 by CandyGirl00
by CandyGirl00

Really easy to use & works great!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CandyGirl00
Holt, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good cleaner, but takes A LOT of water out
5/20/2015

Customer review by Samir

3.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Samir
by Samir

This is my first ever fish tank and my first gravel cleaner. I bought a 6.5 gallon (starter) tank so when I was cleaning it the vacuum was hard to maneuver around my decor/plants to get the siphoning started because the tubing is quite large. So I started and got the front of my tank clean but it took out half of the water. I had to put 3 gallons back in and never got around to the back of the tank because I didn't want to shock the tank (b/c you are only supposed to change 10-25% of the tank at a time). Next time I will have the water ready (treated & tempered). I did notice that after the partial cleaning & refill, the water was cleaner but a lot of debris floating around because I couldn't clean all the gravel like I wanted. But you can see the debris being sucked out through the tube so it works great just wasn't prepared for so much water loss.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Samir
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worked well!
7/9/2015

Customer review by ConsumerRebecca

4.0 stars 7/9/2015 by ConsumerRebecca
by ConsumerRebecca

I have a 10 gallon aquarium. so to get the siphoning. started I had to suck on the end of the tube. My aquarium isn't deep enough to just move it up and down like suggested. It also removed a bucket of water during the process. I had no problem assembling the product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerRebecca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Totally worthless product
3/26/2012

Customer review by pinkash

1.0 stars 3/26/2012 by pinkash
by pinkash

The hose that is given with this product is entirely too small. No amount of soaking in hot water (as recommended in the directions) will allow for the hose to fit over the cylinder cap for assembly... I tried. The hose is simply too small. I bought this hoping to save some money over similar products sold at pet stores, and still ended up having to go to a pet store to buy the similar product. It was a waste of my time, and gas for that matter, getting this product to try to save a few bucks.

Was this review helpful? (12) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pinkash
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
piece fell off had to replace
7/6/2012

Customer review by cacaowow

3.0 stars 7/6/2012 by cacaowow
by cacaowow

The item cleaned the tank but a piece fell off and we immediately put it put on inside of it. It said shake it underwater up and down and it would start draining by itself but it did not so we had to suck siphon it once and then it worked to get the fish food particles and feces out hope we do not have to do this every time on the siphoning with our mouths, just not sanitary. Other than that it did clean tank. One I got years ago worked great but not this one seems flimsier.

Was this review helpful? (4) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cacaowow
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Aquarium vacuums
2/19/2015

Customer review by Enchantedblossm

5.0 stars 2/19/2015 by Enchantedblossm
by Enchantedblossm

I love this tool instead of a thorough aquarium cleaning, I can target the dirt area and freshen the tanks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Enchantedblossm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Aqua Culture Regular Gravel Vacuum Cleaner, 1pk
11/2/2014

Customer review by Karolvall

5.0 stars 11/2/2014 by Karolvall
by Karolvall

Good

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karolvall
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cylinder was too large for my tank
2/3/2015

Customer review by nmiller

3.0 stars 2/3/2015 by nmiller
by nmiller

It would be helpful if on the package or within the description it was stated on what size tank this should be used -- mine is a five-gallon tank. I ordered this online and had already paid for it when I went to pick it up as they never seemed to have any in stock. Anyway, got it home and went to do the self siphon, but I couldn't seem to get that to work, and I had to do it the old-fashioned way (ick!). But once I got it started, the cylinder is so big that 20% of the water was in the bucket before I had even had a chance to get the debris I wanted to get out of the tank. I'm sure it would have been great, though, with a larger tank.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nmiller
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Difficult & messy aquarium cleaner
4/7/2015

Customer review by tucker862

1.0 stars 4/7/2015 by tucker862
by tucker862

This item is practically useless. I worked for 1/2hr & my aquarium was still not cleaned. After fighting with it to get it to siphon the tube went flying out of the bucket because the tubing is so stiff. It is very clumsy to work with. It finally siphoned the water but very little debris and no suction power to clean the gravel. My old turkey baster worked better than this. The cost is for basically nothing more than a plastic tube and a small cannister. I learned my lesson. I will pay more for a plug in vacuum and get the cleaning I want. This one will be returned.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tucker862
Would recommend to a friend? No