Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 36 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 32 reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Everything I read is TRUE
1/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my first FLAT SCREEN,but family and friends have them. I have noticed the differences in some and asked who liked theirs the best. Well naturally everyone liked THEIRS more than the next guys,so I started doing my homework. What I did find is that (in my opinion) there were 3 Top choices. The Panasonic, Sony and Samsung,in no particular order. After reading and asking questions about all of them,I went with the Sony only because i read that most shows and sporting events are shot with Sony equipment. The picture is great the price I paid was extremely low and after hooking it up to my stereo it sounds great too. I am extremely happy with my choice and would make the same choice again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Tv with only one drawback
4/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We originally wanted to purchase this tv but instead settled on a 42"1080p 120hz Sanyo due to price. The Sanyo had many problems from the start the least of which a bad looking picture with back lighting issues. After a few days and constant adjustments attempting to correct the problems and an email from Sanyo stating that they don't reply to emails and I would have to call them (if you can figure that out let me know) we took the Sanyo back and purchased the Sony. Immediately after hooking it up we were blown away by how much better the picture was than the Sanyo. The features are much more user friendly and intuitive. I haven't had to touch the settings right out of the box. Also, unlike the Sanyo, the Sony manual actually explains what the features are for and not just how to turn them on. It responds to remote commands quickly and I love the bravia interface with my other Sony products. The only drawback I have found is the sound seems a little weak, which I think is the norm for these types of tvs with such a small speaker but I'm sure this could be improved. I really want to thank Walmart for standing behind their products. We hated the Sanyo and are very glad Walmart has such a great exchange policy. If you are considering this tv, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
sony bravia
2/26/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased the Sony Bravia EX40500 a month ago. Setup was easy, TV is lightweight and not much labor involved. When I first turned the TV on, I wasn't impressed with the picture quality on the default settings. I got a little frustrated not being able to find the picture quality I was hoping for. After checking online and spending a good amount of time personalizing, I was blown away by the clearness of clarity. It's all about calibrating.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Crystal Clear Picture
6/15/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This television is great! The picture quality is superb. I would highly recommend this tv to anyone who is shopping for a new television set
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great
4/20/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I found this Sony Bravia cheaper online than I did in all the other Wal-Mart stores I've went to. I was supposed to get it in a week or two but I got it delivered for free and just in a couple of days! The picture and sound is great and looks great in my apartment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Really Nice TV for the Price!
7/7/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently purchased this TV and I love it! We have three other TVs in our house, two are Bravias, one a 32inch in my parents room and a 55 in our home theater and a Sharp Aqous 50 inch in our living room and mine so far has been the cheapest! It has great colors and works well in sun light too (my room gets a lot of light in it and the other tv, a 27inch RCA dinosaur aged tv just didn't work well in it.) Doesn't blur at all with movies or Xbox 360, also the Bravia sync is cool to between the tv and my sony blu ray player and the quality on it looks great. My only complaint about it is(and this is with all tvs, so dont mind this much) the sound is lacking to me, I don't like just watching tv or anything without my surround sound on. It makes whatever I'm watching or playing much more enjoyable. All in all the tv is very nice, affordable and your getting the Sony brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great T V
5/4/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great TV, same as the 32in only biger. I have the 32in & 40in. They are both great but the 40in. lets you injoy the hd picture even more.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hdtv
10/31/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
So far, a great product. I have been a SONY fan for years. Still haven't got things all hooked up but am enjoying the HDTV so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is the TV
12/22/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have searched and reviewed many tv's. I went to buy a different Sony tv. They were out of them because the 40inch I wanted on sale for $548.00 and went fast. Wasn't expecting to pay $748.00 but couldn't leave the store without it. And am I happy. I love this TV. It is in my bedroom (could put it in any room though). I have a 65 inch projection in my livingroom which I thought was nice until I watch this one. Picture size didn't seem to matter but quality was exceptional. Now I feel really spoiled. Well worth spending the extra price for the extras. My guardian angel must have been with me the day I bought it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great tv
5/31/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Got this tv in store today. It cost a little more than it does here online. I absolutely love it so far. The sound is excellent. I was considering purchasing a surround sound unit, but I don't really need it. The picture is also wonderful, no only on HD but also Standard Def. Great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty great TV.
7/24/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After much comparing, I went with Sony, because you can trust that name. I had it assembled & programmed in a matter of minutes with no effort. I have it connected to Blu-Ray, Xbox, & a VCR (yeah I still use one on occasion), & I also hooked it into my JVC sound system for a more movie like experience. The picture is great, even when watching non HD channels. The features were more than enough for me, & the menus were very user friendly. I would recommend this to my friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bad Menus, Slow warm-up
5/29/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Picture quality is fine. Sound a little raspy, but OK. The big problems are slow warm-up when you turn it on, and terrible navigating through the menus. I have never seen a TV set which required so many steps just to check or change a setting. Another minus is that while it has a sleep timer (but takes about eight steps thru the menu to turn it on), it has no available on-screen clock(time) display.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect
12/8/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this as a gift for my fiance on based on a lot of research and information I got about it being the best gaming tv. I love it and so does he. He says it works perfectly with his games and he can see things he never even knew were there! Looks great with movies too. We did have a little trouble at first with the picture being scrunched, but after setting the "Display" to "Full" rather than "Wide," everything worked perfectly. Couldn't be happier with the tv or my fiance's reaction to it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
10/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best TV in its size-class/price range. The 120 Hz refresh rate eliminates the ghost streams you see on LCD TV's that operate at 60-80 Hz (i.e. sports). Has 4 HDMI inputs and a host of other features and inputs/outputs. Here are some need-to-know things: (1) To get HD video, you MUST output from the HDMI port on your cable box to the TV. If you use the coaxial cable output from your cable box, you will NOT get HD signal because the cable box decodes the HD signal and only outputs HD video through the HDMI port, NOT the coaxial port. You can also get HD through the RGY triple ports of your cable box, but you should avoid using those ports as they are not as good as HDMI. (2) Use 2 audio inputs to give better sound. From your cable box's audio out RCA ports, connect 2 audio cables to the Sony TV (use audio input 1 ports). This will give you a few millisecond delay from your TV unit's built-in speaker audio over the audio you output from the Sony TV to your surround system speakers, since your surround stereo will be fed its separate audio signal from the HDMI cable). This millisecond delay gives a wonderful cathedral "hall" effect that makes you feel like you are in movie theater with surround sound. There is no other way to get this hall effect and the manual doesn't mention it. Surround sound actually was developed with this delay effect in mind and only JVC use to integrate this delay feature into its surround sound receivers. However, you can do it with the Sony TV if you follow my directions above.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Enjoy the clear picture
8/15/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We had one already and needed another one and since we were so pleased with the first one we decided to get another one just like it. These were our first big screen digital TV's and are amazed at how clear the picture is. The only "Con" we have is that the digital tuners we had previously would show us what was coming on next on each channel. These TV's ony tell you what is on now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic buy!
8/9/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was in the market for a new TV and while searching online, this TV caught my eye. Sony's a brand I can trust fully and thought it would be great to pair with my PS3. I actually found it cheaper at my local Wal-Mart (ten dollars or so), and purchased it immediately! (along with the two year service plan). Its a great TV with superb picture quality, and sound.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Outstanding
3/28/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Is there any product that Sony makes that isn't top of the line? If there is I haven't seen it. This TV is so cool that I can't even put into words how much I love it. It it flawless!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
3/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
love this television....got it for the kids and family room....i wish the sound was better, but who cares once i hook everything to my sound system it won't matter.....sharp picture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I'm glad I got it.
1/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted the 1080p & 120HZ. This has a lot of hook ups I won't be using yet but I'm hoping for good luck with it & so I bought for the future. I'm very satisfied with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best TV available!
1/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought a Sony 42 in 2009 and bought a second 40 in 2010. Picture and sound are fantastic, especially when watching blue-ray movies. Plenty of features. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643931, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-10.1.1, SHA-cd91c60c037ec69024941e99664518ad4edafe94, CID-