Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

151 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 128 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
more than perfect starter tv
5/24/2010

Customer review by Retrofitter

5.0 stars 5/24/2010 by Retrofitter
by Retrofitter

I've never owned an HD TV, so for the price, this one grabbed my attention. I simply do not know how a bad review could be written about this TV, especially while it is selling for $629. The quality is perfect (you will need to buy your own HDMI cable), and the size is perfect for an average sized living room. Paired with the proven household name - Sony, you can not go wrong with this TV, especially if it is your first HD like it was for myself. Buy it now while it is in stock.

Was this review helpful? (93) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Retrofitter
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A more technical review
10/5/2010

Customer review by RepairmanSean

3.0 stars 10/5/2010 by RepairmanSean
by RepairmanSean

I bought this TV for several reasons - Primarily, to replace my old LG 32" LCD that will soon see the end of it's CCFL life expectancy. (Yes, I use it that much lol) And most importantly, for use as both an entertainment medium (movies, shows, video games, etc) and a workstation (PC monitor) After having the 40EX400 for several days, it became clear to me that I was going to return it and pursue something else. Still, this isn't necessarily a negative review. It just wasn't the right TV to suit my needs. I hope the review below helps others out, whom are debating purchasing this TV. Although it wasn't what I was looking for, perhaps it is right for you. First off, I'll say that the main reason I'm writing this review is simply due to the fact that I wasn't really able to find many solid reviews on this tv myself. Seeing as how I repair electronics for a living, I felt that I may as well write my own, to possibly help out others like me, who tend to skip reviews that start with, "This is my first HDTV, and I love it!"... As stated before, I purchased the 40EX400 for use as a PC monitor as well as a TV. However, since that is probably not the commonality, I'll start off by covering my opinions on the set being used as a general TV (watching movies, shows, etc.), and then below, my take on it's use as a PC monitor. If you are looking for a TV to watch movies & cable on, the 40EX400 is certainly not a bad choice. For the price, and the quality of the makesmanship by Sony, I would have to rate it quite high in fact. The main pro is definitely the excellent 60hz refresh rate handling, which is definitely a key feature to take into consideration when purchasing an HDTV. As many of you may be aware - with the increased definition attained from HD technology, also comes increased defects. Motion blur is one of the biggest offenders. The newer 120hz TVs solve this completely, but are also a bit more expensive. Impressively, Sony's Bravia 2 engine, through use of the CineMotion option (set to Auto in the OnScreenDisplay), solves this completely. In other words, this is an excellent TV for a 60hz rate. Blur in fast moving action scenes will not be a problem at all. (I should note that LG's XD engine is also admirable as well in this respect) Aside from the refresh rate, the 40EX400 offers fairly decent power consumption for a 40" LCD. And that is under the assumption that the TV is being used at it's maximum settings. Power save options, and an Ambient Light Sensor are also available to really cut down power consumption; However, in all actuality, these settings are only turning down the output of the CCFLs, and are not actually "saving power" without a signifigant loss in display. So, if dimming the monitor does not bother you, then I suppose having these options can be beneficial, as they will cretainly save you around 30%, if not slightly more, on the dent to your electric bill that the TV makes. As far as cons go, viewing angle is always an issue in regards to LCD TVs, and the viewing angle issue with the 40EX400 is no exception. Quite frankly, if you are looking to purchase a set strictly for watching shows & movies, it is beyond me why you would not purchase a plasma set. Anyhow, the viewing angle on the 40EX400 is quite subpar for even most LCDs on the market today. If you are planning on viewing from 6 feet away or less, I would highly discourage getting this TV. The CCFLs are far too bright, and in any dark scene, at any angle past 25 degrees of dead-on, the bluish tinge from the CCFLs shines brightly through the black portions of the screen. If you are viewing the TV from 7 feet or further away, however, you do gain a bit in angle lineancy. When positioned further back, the "tinge" is not visible until veering past 45 degrees. Nonethless, I have to say that as a whole, I'd rate the viewing angle on the 40EX400 quite poorly, compared to other LCDs on the market. Tecnically speaking, this is simply due to the thickness (or lack thereof) & type of glass pane Sony used in the TV. It's not surprising really, seeing as how thinner & slimmer is all the trend right now. However, until more reliable methods of front pane design are put into use, this remains one the bizarre reasons that older, heavier (not to mention more power consuming) LCDs still out-perform current models, in regards to viewing angle. Where the 40EX400 really failed for me, was in it's use as a PC monitor. Despite the available adjustments and settings, the color engine is simply not designed for use with the PC. Colors are washed out, and the although adjustment settings are available to enhance colors - they only do so at the expense of clarity. For movies and video, this makes very little difference, but it makes a program like Photoshop impossible to use. And naturally, since one tends to be closer to the screen w/a PC, the bluish backlight tinge on a dark bkgd is abysmal, even at the slightest offset from center. So in summary, I'd rate the 40EX400 a fairly good LCD, and a nicely priced purchase for it's size and quality - particularly for those on a budget. So long as it was mounted at a direct viewing angle, this would make an excellent bedroom TV. But for those looking for a monitor, I would recommend steering clear. As I mentioned before though, if you are looking for a TV to strictly watch movies & shows on, you should go with plasma. If you have no desire to play video games or use the TV as a PC monitor, then don't even bother with an LCD - I sure wouldn't =]

Was this review helpful? (50) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RepairmanSean
West Palm Beach
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Sony Bravia Flat Panel
2/27/2010

Customer review by gadgetgirl2010

5.0 stars 2/27/2010 by gadgetgirl2010
by gadgetgirl2010

I purchased this about three weeks ago. I love this TV. I brought it home and set it up my self. I love the crisp picture and the black frame around the TV doesn't bug you like some models. I set this up with my Magnavox Blu Ray player and a sound bar and it's awesome. I don't like a lot of wires or speakers in my great room and this was perfect for me. I buy and shop at Wal-Mart every day.

Was this review helpful? (38) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gadgetgirl2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/6/2010

Customer review by fourniturev

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by fourniturev
by fourniturev

Excellent service. 3 days from order to delivery. easy to set up and so far no problems.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fourniturev
KC MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Beautiful TV for a great price
7/13/2010

Customer review by ifwhat

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by ifwhat
by ifwhat

I exchanged a 46" Sanyo for this TV within 24 hours of buying the Sanyo. Perhaps my positive rating has been somewhat inflated by the grossly under-performing Sanyo, but this Sony is truly a beautiful TV. The picture is crystal clear, the color is rich, lifelike and vibrant, and the menu and features are easy to navigate and intuitive. Altogether this makes for a perfect set. The only thing lacking would be an extra 60 GHz, but for my purposes the low price outweighs the hardly noticeable lag. I've owned two lcd sets previously; a 32" 1080p Panasonic, and 720p 32'' Samsung (now in the bedroom). The Sony blows them both away. As a side-note, and a possible credit to Sony's lcd tech, I have a 7 year old Sony lcd computer monitor that's worked perfectly until I finally upgraded a few months ago. Never had any trouble with Sony, and I couldn't be any happier with this TV. If this is around the price you want to spend for a new lcd set, then you should seriously consider the 40" Bravia.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ifwhat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
6/16/2010

Customer review by mikestl

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by mikestl
by mikestl

First of all, I am so impressed with Wal Mart. com. For those of you that might be wary of ordering online, don't worry here. This is the place to order and have your expectations met above and beyond. Now, as to the Sony , WOW! I am still trying to wrap my head around the clarity of the picture. The attention to detail that Sony created with the black case is amazing. I did not think I would like it but now understand why it was done. You cannot tell where the screen stops. There are no visual breaks to your viewing experience. I have owned Sony products for years and have always been impressed by their quality and this television is no exception. Hopefully, this review will help in its' own small way.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikestl
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great T.V
6/2/2010

Customer review by mommioftwins

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by mommioftwins
by mommioftwins

Have owned for a few years now. Wanted a cute flat screen for our new home. It looks great, the movies look awesome on it. And i would definitly recommend this product to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommioftwins
Wilmington, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV, excellent prices & features
11/19/2010

Customer review by Jem9

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by Jem9
by Jem9

I have had this tv for a week now and am very happy with my purchase! My friend got the same TV 3 years ago and has never had an issue (they were also 3x as much back then). Picture is great, colors are vivid and there are lots of great features as well. I especially like the Energy star rating and ability to use the "low" power feature. I have done my research for a few months and had it narrowed down to a Sony or Samsung by the time I went to the store. I went with the Sony because they did not have a 40" Samsung and 42" was more expensive and larger than I wanted. This is a major upgrade from my 27" Panasonic tube tv. I am having an HD satellite installed soon and will probably write another review then. I do agree that the sound could be better but certainly isn't a deal breaker. You just need to turn it up a little higher...

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jem9
baltimore, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great picture quality!
3/2/2010

Customer review by Jadasmommydaddy

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by Jadasmommydaddy
by Jadasmommydaddy

It has a great picutre quality. It has a very nice input menu. Could be better with power consumption. My other problem with it is that for the price i would've like it to be 120 hz. I can't watch 3-D movies on it :(. I do have to say tho the picture is very pretty.

Was this review helpful? (14) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jadasmommydaddy
millville nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love Sony TV's But Beware...
10/28/2010

Customer review by SyReeta715

2.0 stars 10/28/2010 by SyReeta715
by SyReeta715

After receiving my tv very fast. I hooked the tv up and watched it and was very impressed by the picture, sound and just overall quality of my new set. Well i finished watching tv so I turned the tv off. Later when I went to turn the tv back on it would not power on! Instead the power/standby light was flashing. So I called Sony and they told me that the tv probably needed a hard reset. They told me to unplug the tv then wait a minute then to replug. So I did as instructed and it powered on. So that was that. So later same thing occured. I called Sony told them about the flashing light (it would blink 5 times then stop and then flash again) and they told me to do the same thing that I did earlier and also some other things that I cannot remember, tv came back on. they said ok, it's fixed...but I said no let's test it out so i turned the tv off/on and the same thing! It STILL would not power on! Instead the standby light/power light would just blink 5 times! I was floored. A brand new tv doesn't work unless I unplug and replug it! They told me they could send out a repair person and I kindly told them that they could keep the repair guy and send me a new working television! So after faxing over my proof of purchase they shipped out a brand new set and I sent my bootleg tv back. The entire process only took a week! So I can say that Sony did handle the matter rather quickly. The new tv works pefect! I love it! But I tell you I was very disappointed at first with being sent a broken television. After further investigation, I discovered that Sony has problems like this on all of their sets---the flashing light problem. And it's rather costly to repair. So besides the bootleg tv that I was shipped originally, I love my TV.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SyReeta715
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY THIS MODEL
12/25/2010

Customer review by ElectronicJunkie5

1.0 stars 12/25/2010 by ElectronicJunkie5
by ElectronicJunkie5

I purchased this model on a Sunday night and on Tuesday morning the TV turned off and would not turn back on. Sony is aware of this issue they acknoweldge that there is a power supply issue with this model. Instead of pulling the model and fixing the issue they are waiting until the TV's break and offering a refurbished one or to repair the broken TV. Good luck getting it reapired as the part is on back order. After trying to get the TV repaired for a week eventually returned TV to store.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElectronicJunkie5
Denver, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
How to fix the Sound Problem...
12/13/2010

Customer review by Danowano

2.0 stars 12/13/2010 by Danowano
by Danowano

At low volume, (under 15) there is audible distortion or static on these TVs. I returned one thinking it was faulty, only to find the second did the same thing. Then I searched for the problem online, and found there are lots of complaints about this issue with the sound. As the volume is turned up, the static goes away (or is less noticeable). I am very particular about sound quality, and while I'm not expecting the cheap speakers on this set to sound great, I certainly do not expect to hear static or distortion, which really is not the speaker's fault (amplifier circuitry is to blame). Anyway, I did find a way to minimize the distortion to the point where it is barely perceivable. What I did was sent the volume offset setting to the minimum setting, then I lowered each of the frequencies in the equalizer to its lowest setting. Then, back out of the settings menu, turn the volume up to around 75 or so, (which isn't that loud since all the settings are at minimum) then go back into the equalizer settings and slowly raise only those frequencies just enough to make the sound tolerable to your taste. The idea is to keep the equalizer settings near the minimum end of the scale, and just use the volume setting to make the TV louder, if that makes sense. While the TV won't have quite as loud of a "top end" (a volume of 100 isn't that loud anymore since all the settings are near their minimums) it causes the distortion or static to be greatly minimized when you are listening at low volume. So, if this problem irritates you when listening to this TV at low volumes, give this a try and see if it helps. It won't get rid of the problem completely, but I find it makes the problem a lot more tolerable. The only reason I kept the second TV is because of the awesome picture compared to all the others around it. Sony has always known what to do when it comes to video (I'm a huge fan of the old Trinitron picture tube, but CRTs are history). I have found NUMEROUS times that Sony's audio quality to be "entry level" at best. A car CD player, Discman, and a portable CD/radio (boombox style) have all been disappointments for me. I've also read that several Vizio models have a "buzzing" sound problem at low volumes, so don't think you'll get rid of this problem by switching over to Vizio. To me, the same priced Sony has a much crisper HD picture that comparably priced Vizios. This Sony also seems to have more input options than others in its price range. $498 at the store was a good price for this set. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Danowano
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
6/7/2010

Customer review by LuvsElectronics

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by LuvsElectronics
by LuvsElectronics

I've always said you can't go wrong buying Sony and I still feel that way. The picture quality is outstanding. I rated the sound neutral as mine is hooked up to a powerful Sony stereo system. I chose the EX400 because I'm not a gamer so I didn't need the 120Hz refresh rate, if it makes a difference. Great tv for the price. Only thing I didn't like was that the FedEx guy placed it by my front door without seeing if I was home, which I was. Anybody could have walked off with it except that I live in a small, crime-free community. Very fast delivery though. Made the purchase online Thursday evening, tv was here Tuesday morning.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LuvsElectronics
Northeast Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
6/20/2010

Customer review by BobLCDer

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by BobLCDer
by BobLCDer

I've owned 4 LCD TV's and this one is by far the best value of all. It's almost 1/3 the price of the a similarly featured Toshiba that I bought a few years ago. The picture quality is great, sound, good, nice features. It's too early to compare to the others because they are all at least several years old - an LG, Toshiba and Samsung. Over time all of their screens have developed lines that eventually stay dark most of the time. The screen in worst shape is the LG. There were visible lines that started to form from outside the crop area for non high def content that over 3 years spread all over. All of the TVs were mounted immediately upon purchase and were in no way mishandled. It just happened over time to all of them. The LG's power supply also failed and needed to be replaced about 3 years after owning it. The lines had already started about 2 1/2 years in. Anyways I had to pay the $150 parts and labor. The LG was my 1st LCD and I didn't buy the extended warranty - I've bought it with every TV since even though the line/burn problem is not covered - ie they don't replace the screen unless the lines started during their warranty. From my calculations it happens just around 10,000 hours of usage. Owning Sony Trinitrons back in the day and other sony electronics I have nothing but good things to say about quality and service. I had PS2 & PS3 problems and they fixed both for free. Those items were outside of the regular warranty. Hopefully they'll act similarly with their LCDs should something happen but I am not too worried about it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobLCDer
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The on sale price makes this a winner.
11/28/2010

Customer review by rritter

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by rritter
by rritter

I have owned a Sanyo 32 inch HD TV for two years and wanted to move to a larger size for our living room and move the Sanyo to the bedroom to replace a 19 inch tub set. Our living room isn’t big so I was limited in the size I could get. I thought long and hard about the 42 inch Sanyo but when Wal-Mart put the Sony and Samsung on sale both at $498 that sealed the deal. The Samsung didn’t offer the features of the Sony and also wasn’t on display to view so there was no way to compare the two. The Sanyo and Sony both offer great pictures and in this size range at the store they looked the best compared to the other models offered. Bottom line is the Sony has a great picture and a price that makes this set a winner. Highly Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rritter
Edinburg, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sony bravia 40' TV
10/31/2010

Customer review by fishingisfun

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by fishingisfun
by fishingisfun

This is my 2nd one I still have the other and they are amazing. the picture makes you think your there. Especially great with blueray no need to go the the movies with this tv. very well organized to access for you plugs and switches.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingisfun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Poor Picture
4/3/2010

Customer review by barrry

1.0 stars 4/3/2010 by barrry
by barrry

I have a 47" Phillips LCD that has a much better picture than this. The Sony has a poor picture. I should have gotten another Phillips. According to what I have heard, the Sony Bravia was a great TV,, supposed to be better than Phillips, which I have had for 2 years, trouble free, with an absolutely beautiful picture. The Sony Bravia is very blurry during action scenes, cloudy and generally poor quality picture all the time. Apparently those people that recommend this Sony never watched a Phillips. Did quite a bit of tweaking on it and as long as you don't mind watching a dark picture, with the contrast turned way down, you can get a watchable picture. It says I'm getting 1080p. Also the tuner won't even pick up local channels with external antennae without a converter box The sound is good without a surround sound system and I like the 170 watt power consumption. It has a lot of features but I only gave it 1 star for features. What good are features with a bad picture?

Was this review helpful? (11) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barrry
Bay City, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony sells!
7/13/2010

Customer review by Azden

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by Azden
by Azden

We have never been disappointed with a Sony product. We rely on it, because it's reliable.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Azden
Huntley, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works great..
11/28/2010

Customer review by midnightflyer

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by midnightflyer
by midnightflyer

After reading some of the negative reviews I was apprehensive, but I've had no problems at all. I use mainly as second (computer) monitor and the picture quality is excellent. Online video streams, eg; Hulu etc, are amazing. I've even had good luck with YouTube videos. I use a DVI to HDMI connection. FYI, if you use this setup you will need to use a 3.5 mini cable for sound and it works only with HDMI1 port on the TV. I'm going to replace my video card with one that has an HDMI port so I can run the sound and video through one cable. These LCD TV's take a bit of tweaking, but it's all worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
midnightflyer
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
I like it.
11/18/2010

Customer review by Coolruss

4.0 stars 11/18/2010 by Coolruss
by Coolruss

The picture is great. Love all the digital channels it pulls in. The colors really pop. Football games are really nice to watch. Was pretty easy to hook up. Sound quality is lacking from the t.v. but that's what the surround system is for, right?

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Coolruss
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews