Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

28 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 23 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
The Good, Bad and the Ugly
5/3/2010

Customer review by ryanreview

3.0 stars 5/3/2010 by ryanreview
by ryanreview

I was excited with all the features on this product, but had to return it when it did not do what I wanted most: Play music off a SD card, and allow me to play specific albums, artists. etc. Kudos to Walmart for it's great return policy and customer service! The Good: DVD player worked well, and the parking brake input was easy to "configure". The Radio display looked cool. The SD contents loaded quickly. The Bad: The screen was only 4", but looked like whoever designed it was using a full sized monitor--the text was so small. The "touchscreen" controls for the SD card were terrible. You couln't skip to the folder/artist/album you wanted. The song playing info was about 1/8" x 1". The screen was not bright enough. The Ugly: The UI for this radio was like the old DOS computer systems. All filenames were the 8.3 format, which means you only could see the first 6 charaters. You could only go forward and backwards, no jumping to a specific folder. The touchscreen controls did not correspond the the display, just up/down/left/right arrows in an odd spot. Conclusion: If you want this for DVD and backup Camera purposes at night--it should work well. otherwise, look for another brand (and even then, there are multiple brands out there with the same type UI)

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryanreview
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good customer service
4/28/2011

Customer review by KingOfCarving

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by KingOfCarving
by KingOfCarving

I have this one on my 1997 Honda Civic. It works pretty good for 8 months. But it was dead after 8 months. I contact Sumas Media Right away, they don't give a hard time for warranty, and they send me a replacement the same day when they received my bad unit; even though my unit is out of warranty, they still give me a replacement. I am really happy to have this good product. Only 120 dollars I got 5 stars customer service and Amazing Unit.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KingOfCarving
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad but cd skipps a lot in my car
4/29/2010

Customer review by greezydnb

2.0 stars 4/29/2010 by greezydnb
by greezydnb

i have a 1989 honda crx si and i had this professionally installed after installing myself because it was skipping so bad while driving. After i paid 60 dollars to have it installed it still is skipping not as bad but is very annoying and basicly usless for me when using cd's. Another thing is that the radio isnt working good at all some stations dont come in at all and i cant even find a website for the company to call. I would like to know if anyone else is having this problem because ive never seen a cd player skip so much im almost wondering if its because its a dvd player too. Other than that its not bad but i have to go out and buy a ipod or mp3 player now just to listen to music without it skipping.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greezydnb
Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All in one
4/28/2011

Customer review by Julie13143344

5.0 stars 4/28/2011 by Julie13143344
by Julie13143344

I purchased this for my 2001 Toyota Camry. And later on, I just figure out this unit also compatible with Sumas Rear Cam Licence Plate. Then I purchased the License plate Camera. It just makes my Camry like those High end car. When I backup my Car, the screen of the Stereo will automatically switch to the back-view. Amazing~ Only 120 dollars Plus 60 Dollar for the Sumas Rear Cam License Plate.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Julie13143344
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Recommend Product
4/25/2011

Customer review by Jaemee5250

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Jaemee5250
by Jaemee5250

If you are looking for a cheap Car Stereo system included all kinds of functions, This is the one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaemee5250
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
One Great Stereo....
4/22/2010

Customer review by FRESHroyal

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by FRESHroyal
by FRESHroyal

I would definitely recommend this stereo/dvd system, it has tons of great features and is very reasonably priced. t was simple to install and has great sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FRESHroyal
Flint,mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
HORRIABLE!!!!
1/20/2011

Customer review by rwill26

1.0 stars 1/20/2011 by rwill26
by rwill26

This Product is no GOOD!! when i recieved the unit it didnt work at all!!! i called sumas media and they also were no help what so ever!!! DONT NOT GET THIS UNIT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rwill26
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cooool
4/12/2010

Customer review by TrueDats

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by TrueDats
by TrueDats

turns off and on 60x4 wats its gooood price for stereo me a!!11

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TrueDats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Has its up and a lot more downs!!
1/20/2011

Customer review by BigReddBaby

2.0 stars 1/20/2011 by BigReddBaby
by BigReddBaby

Im 25 yr old Male. I have a Jeep Cherokee and I have a nice sound system, or i thought I did before I got this radio. I had a cheap cd player in my car because someone stole my other one. When i switch over to this dvd player, it made my speakers sound like trash. My door speakers now rattle and they didnt with the cheap cd player. When in CD mode the font on this devise is to small to even read. There are absolutly no graphics at all, unless your playing a dvd, wich the quality is nice! Wich is the main reason i bought this dvd player, but i had one before and it worked alot better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigReddBaby
St. Louis MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/13/2011

Customer review by Annalise316

1.0 stars 4/13/2011 by Annalise316
by Annalise316

waste of time this product doesnt work at all and the manufacter never got back to me

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Annalise316
scarsdale ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
I CANT SEE
9/16/2010

Customer review by mrBryant

4.0 stars 9/16/2010 by mrBryant
by mrBryant

WAY to small letters & numbers on display. AWSOME SOUND THOUGH. Has tendencie to lock up using USB mode.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrBryant
Benton , AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor On-Screen Display
12/28/2010

Customer review by alienxfiles

3.0 stars 12/28/2010 by alienxfiles
by alienxfiles

This radio.DVD player looked good but the menu option wasn;t that great, and the menu looked very generic like a old DOS computer program, and the touch screen didn't work very well. The sound was good, but also didnt like that when in DVD mode you couldn't go to the main menu of the radio. Although the DVD portion of playing was okay and clear. The only flaw with this radio was that the menu could have looked alot better and touch screen could have worked better too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alienxfiles
mesquite, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
trash
9/12/2010

Customer review by gveyr

1.0 stars 9/12/2010 by gveyr
by gveyr

this thing is trash. it makes a loud noise when you turn it on, does not work properly with ipod/iphone

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gveyr
houston, texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible on every facet!
1/7/2011

Customer review by DisappointedMusicLover

1.0 stars 1/7/2011 by DisappointedMusicLover
by DisappointedMusicLover

There are too many issues to address in a simple review. I received the item and it seemed to have been "used." The touch screen is so unresponsive it is nearly unusable. The sound quality is mediocre on DVD's and terrible through the aux iPod connector. There was a persistent buzzing present. Also there is a "lag" from when you press/turn a knob or button. Also the volume lagged so bad on some occasions that I had to pull over and cut the car off because the volume moved to the maximum level on its own accord. When the vehicle is turned off the screen cuts off with the vehicle as it should, but the backlight of the screen stays on with a black screen. It seems as if that would run the battery down, but I always pulled the faceplate off when I left the vehicle to avoid this. There is also no manufacturer website available. It is "down for maintenance" and has been for some time. All in all, if this unit had performed like it should have it could have been a good head unit for a teens first car, but with the cheap quality, and no support its definitely a bad purchase. I am in the process of returning mine after 2 days.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedMusicLover
Bowling Green. KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT
6/17/2010

Customer review by NDPFD

5.0 stars 6/17/2010 by NDPFD
by NDPFD

AMAZING PRODUCT ESPECIALLY FOR THE MONEY....GETTING A DASH KIT TO FIT IT WAS A LITTLE TOUGH BUT INSTALLED IT IN MY LEXUS AND THE SOUND IS AMAZING COULDNT ASK FOR ANYTHING BETTER

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NDPFD
PATCHOGUE, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWSOME !!!
4/8/2010

Customer review by happyshopper1144

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by happyshopper1144
by happyshopper1144

Nice pictures, great price, what else i can ask ?!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
happyshopper1144
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Maybe just a bad one
2/20/2011

Customer review by BrittanyDA

2.0 stars 2/20/2011 by BrittanyDA
by BrittanyDA

After going through all of the trouble to install this item I discoverd that the CD/DVD player did not work at all! It would take the disc in but then stop with it about 1 inch still sticking out. Maybe I just got a bad unit. Also tried to hookup my iPod to this and it said that they were not compatible. I have all the generations of the iPod touch and it would not work with any of them. Maybe it just will not work with the touch model or maybe mine was a bad unit again. The one really good thing I will have to say is that Wal-Mart let me take it back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrittanyDA
Saint Pauls, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Worthless Junk
7/13/2010

Customer review by SRomain

1.0 stars 7/13/2010 by SRomain
by SRomain

Install is pretty straight forward, But once its in, It's a super tight fit and in most cars will require some cutting, This is not a single din or a din and a half, its some odd place in between... After that the sound quality is complete garbage, And even the Image quality is old school, 12 bit colors, This thing is garbage DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SRomain
MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
GARBAGE!!! DONT'T WASTE TIME OR MONEY
1/5/2011

Customer review by bholder

1.0 stars 1/5/2011 by bholder
by bholder

Very cheaply made. The touchscreen didnt work. the face didnt clip all the way in, the volume knob didnt work. the picture quality and radio theme is horrible. i bought it cause the picture on website looked good and had alot of features and the price was very inexpensive. Guess you get what you pay for.Dont waste Your money on this unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bholder
SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Ugly unit
2/3/2011

Customer review by EPAgasguy

1.0 stars 2/3/2011 by EPAgasguy
by EPAgasguy

After paying for expert install the unit would go on and off. Called and emailed the company and they told me to pull out the unit and ship back. But I did not had a small tool to take the unit out. I asked via email if a tool could be sent to me. I have had no response in several days. The unit is ugly and sticks out of the dash. The colors on the screen while in radio mode are ugly and can't be adjusted. I will want to return this unit to Wal Mart for a full refund. I will be out the $55 for the install. And all the hassel of dealing with such a poor quality radio unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EPAgasguy
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews