Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 184 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

184 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

184 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
47
3 stars
24
2 stars
13
1 stars
35
1-20 of 162 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews
What a bargain!
5/29/2010

Customer review by Chamoruman53

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Chamoruman53
by Chamoruman53

Honestly, I was not expecting much when I purchased this mountain bike from Walmart. Why? Because of the really low price. Being skeptical, I expected to have a bike that was nice, but perhaps won't last too long. Anyway, it was definitely a nice surprise to put together my new bike and to realize that, for the money, it was indeed a great bargain. It looks sturdy and well-built. I think this bike will last a long time and serve me well. I am totally satisfied with this purchase. Thank you, Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chamoruman53
Castro Valley, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike for the price
8/22/2010

Customer review by sunbum1

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by sunbum1
by sunbum1

Before buying my Roadmaster Mountain Sport bike, I read the other reviews. I trusted the positive reviews, and the bike turned out to be a great value. It exceeded my expectations. It was easy to put together, and I was riding it within an hour or so. Don't forget to check tightness on all of the bolts on the bike, once it is assembled. Some minor adjustments were required on the brakes, seat, levers, and handlebar, so plan on spending a few minutes to get them right before you ride. The quality is better than I expected for the price of the bike. The bike is rugged, because most of its metal parts are made from steel. Some parts, such as the rims, appear to be made from aluminum alloy. The tires are a medium knobby and I had to air them up before riding the bike. The fit and finish on the bike are very good. The bike is mainly black with a dark silver-gray frame. Refer to the photo showing the front forks, brake, and tire with this review. I ride this bike mostly on city streets with some riding off road and on dirt roads. It seems to be well-suited for that. The bike works very well for my type of riding.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sunbum1
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Mountain Sport Bike
7/27/2010

Customer review by Ksberserk

4.0 stars 7/27/2010 by Ksberserk
by Ksberserk

All in all a good value for under $100. Be prepared to buy new inner tubes. Stock tubes thin as paper. One "Goathead sticker" and SSSSsssss. Flat. Thorn proof tubes are the way to go. I also bought a wider and softer seat. Shifting sometimes jumps gears. A little adjustment here and there and your good to go. Check all bolts asure they are tight. Bike is a bit heavy. But hey it is solid. Want a lighter bike pay more and buy something else. All in all I'm happy. Good trail bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ksberserk
Hutchinson, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very taxing product lol
9/15/2010

Customer review by Kenzkaran

3.0 stars 9/15/2010 by Kenzkaran
by Kenzkaran

Its a great cheap bike. Just DO NOT USE IT ROUGH WHEELS are CHEAP quality, so they flatten once a week or 2 Gear assembly is glitchy depending on how walmart does it. u may be able to use it for 3-4 gears instead of 6 if glitchy. Else its a great bike for the price. It looks good too. Seat is kind of really hard, so u might have to put in a 15$ seat cover or change the seat to a softer one or one with springs so that butt don't hurt :S. Be prepared for an additional 20$ minimum of spending for good performance and a good experience.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kenzkaran
CAL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RoadMaster Mountain Sport Bike
6/21/2010

Customer review by SylL

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by SylL
by SylL

I brought this bike for my boyfriend on his Bday! He needed a new bike. I loved the price! Now I was suppose to get it pick up at the store but I wined up getting it shipped to my house. Ok so it had to be put together lol and he did the only problem was putting the brakes on. But we got it together. Overall its a great bike

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SylL
Phila
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Bike For An Excellent Price
6/24/2012

Customer review by dhontz

4.0 stars 6/24/2012 by dhontz
by dhontz

It Was Time To Replace My Bike Of 5 Years And Money Was Tough I Was Looking For A Bike That Could Get Me Around Wherever I Needed To Go Even If It Was Nowhere At All. This Bike Is Very Impressive For The Price Of $88 (Probably The Most Affordable Bike On The Market Today) The Ride Is Extremely Smooth. The Gears Function Properly And The Brakes Stop The Bike Promptly. The Worst Thing About It Is The Seat It's Fine But For Sensitive Riders It's Slightly Uncomfortable. The Other Problem Is Once You Get On It's Gonna Be Hard Getting Off With Performance And Handling Like It

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dhontz
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tune up before riding
7/19/2010

Customer review by chieffrye

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by chieffrye
by chieffrye

It's a good bike for the price. I bought my Roaadmaster 6 weeks ago and ride it to work every day (2 miles) and haven't had any problems yet. Before riding for the first time you need to tune up the gears, brakes, tires etc. Another thing is to tighten all nuts, bolts and screws before riding. Get yourself a more comfortable seat, lights and if you ride off-trail or in the rain a set of fenders is a must. Haven't installed them yet!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chieffrye
Virginia Beach, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best buy for $75
4/12/2010

Customer review by GrandCaravanSE

5.0 stars 4/12/2010 by GrandCaravanSE
by GrandCaravanSE

I bought this bike mainly because of the price. it was the cheapest by far. i have put well over 50 miles on it since i got it, without any problems. now i am very hard on my bikes, i ride just aobut everywere. I hit Curbs, go off roading, cruise on the road, and jit sweet jump, even a wheelie or two. i have had no serious problem with this bike. The main problem with bikes for me, are the rims, they always have seem to bend, not on this bike, they have stayed straight, even after hitting a curb at 15MPH plus. I love this bike, and i am very happy i bought it. I only have three problems with the bike though. one, the brake pads are cheap and wear out very fast. two, the saet id like a rock, but that is how most seats are. and three, it seems to skip gears sometimes, but only once or twice, and then it is fine. other than that this bike is perfict.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrandCaravanSE
McHenry, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the money
6/7/2010

Customer review by jp13090

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by jp13090
by jp13090

Let's face it, you're not going to find a great bike, suitable for professional riders, at $74... But, if you're an average cyclist, this is a great deal. I elected to bring the box home and build it myself. It comes partially disassembled and can be built in 5 minutes. The tuning part is what takes the longest, and if you don't tune it, you'll be frustrated with the bike and likely bring it back... The manual/box/others say that you should inspect the build before you ride. I found a few things that needed attention. They mounted the tire backward on the rim, the drive sprocket bearing housing came loose, and I had to disassemble and tighten it, the brakes needed alignment, the shifters and derailleurs needed adjustment, etc. I can do all of these, and for being a new bike, I expected to. If you think you can bring this home off the shelf and have a grand ole day on it without spending some quality mechanical time with it, well, you'll give it one star on this website and bring it back cursing. I like it, now that I've got it tuned and adjusted properly. It rides nice. (Do replace the seat though unless you like a hard one.) For the money, it's just as good as others that cost more. Again, I'm not doing the Tour de France with it, but I'll easily ride 400 miles this summer if I can find the time... Just keep it adjusted with regular maintenance, like you're supposed to do anyway... :)

Was this review helpful? (48) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jp13090
Syracuse
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Nice Ride
4/19/2010

Customer review by SamyB

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by SamyB
by SamyB

Picked up from store pre-assembled, sprayed some WD on the derailers and rode with my daughter on about a three mile trek of paved and dirt roads out by our land. I did order a replacement seat. The bike is built very well, not cheap, I changed gears often with no problems on the hills. Trying to talk my wife into getting one the girl's version for herself. $74.00 for about a couple hours of quality time with your daughter: PRICELESS!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SamyB
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
7/5/2010

Customer review by Rapp

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Rapp
by Rapp

I have had the bike for about 2 months now. I was a little skeptical buying such a "cheap" bike but reviews for more expensive ones were not any better. I am very glad I took the chance. I ride on country roads with my very active Siberian Husky. We go from 2-5 miles everyday depending on the weather (the cooler it is the farther he wants to go). The bike has held up very well so far. I have lubricated it a couple times and it has functioned perfectly. A couple people said they had only a few gears they could trust. I keep the front gear in the middle and can trust all 6 gears on the rear tire under heavy pedaling. 3 cautions - 1. make sure you tighten everything up before you go out the first time. I bought mine already assembled from the store and went out right away to ride. The handlebars came loose over a mile from home. I had to nurse it back in and was lucky to be strong enough to hold myself up the whole way. Take a couple wrenches and set of allen wrenches and tighten everything you can the first time. 2. The brakes are not very strong. It is not a concern for me as I do not encounter much traffic on the country roads. However, if you will be riding in city traffic make sure to test them and replace with better brakes if necessary. 3. Every once in a while the gears will not shift right away. Just turn the shifter back to the original gear and then reshift. Have never had it happen more than once. This bike is a great buy for anyone wanting a solid mountain bike for non-extreme riding.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rapp
Sioux City, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not bad for the price
6/24/2010

Customer review by bikeRiderinMA

2.0 stars 6/24/2010 by bikeRiderinMA
by bikeRiderinMA

Walmart packed the bike well and shipped quite soon. When I opened the box, I was very positively impressed. Parts appeared to be cheap ones, but fair or good enough for the price. The seat was not comfortable, but at this price no complaint. Everything looked quite shiny for the price. Very satisfied. However, assembly was very frustrating. It did not come with a specific manual, and I could not get any useful information from it. It took about a half hour for me to finish the job though I had to depend on a lot of guess. After having finished, I was very disappointed the quality of the factory assembled parts. The front wheel was untrue, the rear brake stucked, the front brake was loose, both derailers were totally out of way.... etc. Maybe I could spend a few hours to tune the bike up, or bring it to a bike shop and spend about $50-80 for a professional tune-up. However, I just decided to return the bike and save that extra money for a more expensive bike. If the factory put those parts more carefully, I think this bike should be a real deal, but not in my case.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikeRiderinMA
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Satisfying
3/16/2010

Customer review by MTBRaider

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by MTBRaider
by MTBRaider

This bike is insane. I live in College Station, TX, go AGGIES. I ride this bike everyday, weather allowing. It's cheap, well put together, and with a little tuning can handle just about anything you throw at it. I recommend it to anyone whom wants to have fun but still have a nice bike.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MTBRaider
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A COOL BIKE!!
4/20/2010

Customer review by ohioguy2468

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by ohioguy2468
by ohioguy2468

This bike is great, its cheap and it works great!!!The seat is not comfortable to ride on but that was an easy fix I just bought another one that had some more cushioning!!! Overall its a really good bike and it went together very easy!!!

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ohioguy2468
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
a gift 4 my husband
5/10/2010

Customer review by love2shopwalmartalways

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by love2shopwalmartalways
by love2shopwalmartalways

i bought this bike 4 my husband as a gift. he loves it we go riding everyday. he could'nt believe what i paid 4 it,i had 2 show him the reciept he said wow that bike 4 this price is great.

Was this review helpful? (49) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
love2shopwalmartalways
laurel springs n.j.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Road Hazard
3/16/2010

Customer review by Ookpikman

1.0 stars 3/16/2010 by Ookpikman
by Ookpikman

I purchased this bike 4 months ago. I ride 5-10 mile a day. After 30 days, both pedals broke off (replacements cost $20). Then a month later, the rear sprocket assembly broke and was replaced (another $30). The brake pads were of the cheapest material because they were worn out in 45 days (another $8.00). Then the brake cable tips fell off and the cable is fraying - need to be replaced. Now the screw holding handle bars is stripped and cannot be replaced because it is neither US nor Metric specification - so, my bike is now useless and I can no longer ride it. Very, very disappointed in the quality which is at best "VERY POOR". Reason I had bought it initially is because I had one for over 15 years, same brand, bought at the same store. I'm sure Wal Mart won't take it back because I've had it for 4-5 months.

Was this review helpful? (41) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ookpikman
Midlothian, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A reliable product
3/9/2010

Customer review by MercifulGod

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by MercifulGod
by MercifulGod

I purchased this bike for my teenage son and he is very happy with it. It is very reliable, and it takes a rough riding. The color is beautiful for a boy. We are so happy with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (28) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MercifulGod
Fresno, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike For The Money
3/16/2010

Customer review by RedsFan24

5.0 stars 3/16/2010 by RedsFan24
by RedsFan24

As a casual rider, this bike is excellent!! I mainly bought this so that I could just cruise around town and save a little gas money here and there. Obviously you wouldn't take this in Tour De France or major off roading but for pavment crusing it's the perfect bike. I'm 26 and my wife who is 25 just bought the purple female version of this bike too and she loves it also. You can't go wrong for $75!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedsFan24
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent Bike but look over first.
6/27/2011

Customer review by NJBuckeye

3.0 stars 6/27/2011 by NJBuckeye
by NJBuckeye

Other reviews tell you to check the brakes and other parts before riding and I insist on this also! My brakes were tight but after riding for a bit they wore down to a decent length and were not a problem. One major problem was that half way through my ride my handlebar loosened up to the point that it slipped out and I had to walk home. I have to carry a screw driver with me on every ride but once tightened the bar lasts for an hour of riding or so. The gears don't fight changing much so that has not been a problem and the brakes work fine. Other than the handlebar falling out this is a very good bike for the price and I would recommend if you need a bike for just riding around and do not want to spend much. I would get the one year warranty though because some bikes have defects and you may need to swap it. This was my second bike because when I brought the first one home I noticed that the front wheel was bent and spinning on an awkward angle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NJBuckeye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/7/2010

Customer review by Bts1971

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by Bts1971
by Bts1971

For the money, this is a great bike. Very easy to assemble, but I do recommend doing some tuning to the parts that come pre-assembled (shifters, etc.). Also, if you're a big guy such as myself, (6' 300lbs), I recommend buying a larger, more padded seat.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bts1971
Aurora, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1-20 of 162 reviews