Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

59 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 50 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
A really good deal
5/17/2010

Customer review by Supernaut

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Supernaut
by Supernaut

The bike was here in New York 3 days after ordering. It was shipped from California for about $3. The box was a little beat up, but the bike was in perfect shape with no missing parts. I put it together in about 15 minutes. It helps to have metric wrenches. My son has been riding it in the woods for a couple weeks and the only problem was that I had to re-tighten the handle bars. Well worth the money to see my son happy and exercising.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supernaut
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
XR-75 Great Bike just one thing...
3/6/2011

Customer review by nasa22

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by nasa22
by nasa22

I bought this bike about 2 weeks ago in Walmart, i belive this is my second mongoose, i dont remember exactly because my first one (years ago) was stolen. but anyways This bike is great, i love the look of it and the style. But one just one thing, since this is my first Mountain bike im not to familiar with the speed change.. and sometimes i have it at one set speed (which is the comfortable one i feel in) and it randomly "cranks" or "acts" like its changing as i peddle, lol i don't know how else to explain it but it is me? or is this how mountains bike work? should i take it to a bike shop and get it check out? another little thing is the seat but i took care of that the second day, i bought a squishy seat and now is good. Other than that the bike is epic for its price, Mongoose is a great bike brand, now my girlfriend and brother want a Mogoose bike as well after seeing mines.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nasa22
Miami, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT BIKE!
5/2/2010

Customer review by AnonymousQueen

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by AnonymousQueen
by AnonymousQueen

So far this seems to be a great bike. My eleven year old son seems to enjoy his bike a lot. After reading some of the other reviews, I was concerned about assembling the bike. When I went to pick-up the bike from the store, I asked one of Walmart's employees was it possible for me to get the bike assembled and they stated yes. So, that was GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnonymousQueen
Columbia, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike Great Price
3/4/2010

Customer review by Biker39

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by Biker39
by Biker39

I have been watching this bike for sometime online and at Walmart.com. Because it's a Mongoose I presume its of good quality. I purchased this bike today for less than what I expected and less than advertised online. For the price I would recommend (under $100). For the style, comfort, ride I would also recommend to any person who wants a good quality bike for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biker39
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Difficult to Assemble
4/8/2010

Customer review by LovinMyTwinGirls

3.0 stars 4/8/2010 by LovinMyTwinGirls
by LovinMyTwinGirls

We purchased this bike for our 12 year old son's birthday. It is a nice bike at a good price. We had it shipped to our home so we had to assemble it ourselves. It does NOT come with any tools and we did not have the needed wrenches to assemble. After purchasing the tools, it took us nearly 2 weeks to get the brakes to work. The instruction booklet is a general book that is given for "ALL" bikes and does not tell you about your specific bike. We were thinking about taking the bike back to the store and returning it for a more expensive bike that was already assembled, but our store did not have one in the size we needed. So we had our neighbor (who is an engineer) help us and it took him over 4 hours to get the brakes to "somewhat" work. We were very dissatisfied with the assembly instructions. So we would strongly suggest paying for the in-store assembly or purchasing one that is already assembled!

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovinMyTwinGirls
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great bicycle
7/28/2010

Customer review by aesp

5.0 stars 7/28/2010 by aesp
by aesp

Got this bike for my son, and he loves riding it. It's 21 spd w/ Shimano shifters . Had it sent via site to store so I didn't have to assemble it. I would definitely recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aesp
Monterey Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
questionable quality
8/30/2010

Customer review by petermi

2.0 stars 8/30/2010 by petermi
by petermi

based on good reviews, got it for my son. Looks nice and appears to have a good quality. The problem is the front handler bar kept loosing/sliping after few rides. I tightened the holding nut as tight it can go, Still the bar kept loosing. I can't live with it and returned it after 2 months. Read the reviews for same model from 26", it has similar complaints as this 24" one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petermi
MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike Good Pice
8/4/2010

Customer review by clarksville123456789

4.0 stars 8/4/2010 by clarksville123456789
by clarksville123456789

We bought this bike for my 11 year old son for his B-day and he loves it!! I will warn however that in the pictures it looks yellow, it is in fact orange. Also, keep in mind when you order site to store they do not include assembly. Now I happen to get really lucky and put on my big boo-boo face and the guy that does the assembly must have felt sorry for me because he did put it together for me at no charge!! yay me! I noticed at the store that they say Free assembly but they also charge you like $20-30 more for the bike than they do online. Really I did not notice online when I ordered that it didn't include the assembly... Any way, it's a nice bike for the money and my son loves it, he is a little tall for his age (4'10") and this bike seems to fit really well.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clarksville123456789
Clarksville IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A name you can trust in.
4/29/2010

Customer review by EnjoyLifeItsShort

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by EnjoyLifeItsShort
by EnjoyLifeItsShort

Great bike for my 12yr old son. It's very well made. The aluminum alloy is excellent because it's lite weight and will not rust. It's also sharp looking.I grew up with mongoose you can trust that this bike will last. Excellent bike for the money, thanks again Walmart...

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EnjoyLifeItsShort
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great gift
1/1/2011

Customer review by Busjamma

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by Busjamma
by Busjamma

We bought this bike for our 12 yr. old grandson for Christmas. He has a BMX bike, which he loves, but has outgrown. We were skeptical about purchasing a bike other than a BMX bike, however, once our grandson rode his new bike, our skepticism was gone. He loves his new bike! Both bikes are made by Mongoose, and we are very satisfied with the merchandise. Thanks for helping us put a smile on our grandsons' face.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Busjamma
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Seems pretty good...
7/29/2010

Customer review by JustBobF

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by JustBobF
by JustBobF

Got this for my son. He hasn't ridden it yet, so I am only reviewing the bike as I see it and assembly. The bike goes together pretty easily. You will need a few tools, though, as it doesn't come with any. The manual is a general assembly manual, so I looked on YouTube.com to find out how to adjust the brakes and derailleurs. The brakes could have been left alone, but I think I needed to adjust the derailleurs. The back as easy; the front was a little more difficult because I am not used to doing derailleurs. I would suggest taking the brake cable off the front brakes before putting the front wheel on. I think that would make it easier. A look on YouTube will show you how to put it back. It is easy when you know how. The bike is pretty awesome! Looks quite strong. Looks big. The gearing goes really low, so climbing steep hills should be easy. I haven't ridden a real mountain bike before, so I don't know how they are supposed to feel; but this one seems designed for turning around rocks. That is, it is easy to turn, but it doesn't seem designed to go straight. So, I don't think I would recommend riding with no hands.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustBobF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great bike!!
7/23/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/23/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this for my 11 year old son and he loves it.He's always been into BMX Bikes.He's really happy with the moutain Bike.It's a great bike for the money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Stanley,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality
7/14/2010

Customer review by BigSkyBiker

1.0 stars 7/14/2010 by BigSkyBiker
by BigSkyBiker

I purchased this bike for my 5' tall 10 year old son to replace his 20" Schwinn which he had ridden for 3 years in rough terrain. The Schwinn held up. The Mongoose has not. The Mongoose has brake levers painted silver to look like metal. They are not. He bumped (and I mean BUMPED) the brake lever and it broke (the Schwinn brake levers ARE METAL - not plastic painted to look like metal - and after three years are still intact). The chain slips back to the large sprocket on the rear wheel, no matter what gear he puts it in. It will not go onto the large sprocket in the front. This bike was purchased assembled at Walmart in Laurel, MT, and I know we could take it to a REAL bike shop to have the brakes fixed and the shifting adjusted, but I really don't think I should have to. I am planning to return the bike and purchase a better quality from a different store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigSkyBiker
Columbus, MT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Short female 5'6"
6/6/2011

Customer review by shutzhundk9

4.0 stars 6/6/2011 by shutzhundk9
by shutzhundk9

I've had this bike for about a week and have done daily riding. The last bike I owned was in the 90's it was a Mongoose BMX bike. A real Mongoose not the cheaper version sold at walmart. Still, this is a good quality bike for the price. I wanted a bike to ride with my dog (training for the AD) and maybe do some casual biking so this was a great price for that. If you want to do serious biking or trail riding you need to pay for a bike made for that. I went into walmart and tried the 26" models. Riding position felt good but once stopped I was on tip toes touching the ground with the seat all the way down. On this 24" model I can stand flat feet on the ground. It felt smaller, like riding a BMX but since I will be having a dog with me on 95% of my rides I felt "safer" knowing I could touch the ground better on this model. After riding it for a week it feels like the perfect size. The bike was already assembled. When I got home I did have to tighten almost everything on the bike. They did a poor job on that. My friend also bought a bike the same day and the tires were on backwards. Make sure you thoroughly check over the bike before riding it if purchased assembled. One complaint I have is the seat. Ouch. When I was a kid I had a plastic seat on my BMX and it never bothered me so maybe I am just old. If you are not buying this for a kid might want to check out seats. I don't think it weighs much. If you want a super light bike those cost a lot more money and are sold only at bike shops. The gear shifting is smooth. Suspension works well. Breaks work good. I did have to loosen the front breaks, I do not like them being instant stop tight. I have read a few reviews complaining about the color. I happen to love this color. It is orange, like Tennessee Volunteers orange. I really can't complain about this bike. For the price, there is nothing at walmart that is really better. Even their $300 bikes are the same build and quality as this one. Plus, I bought a bike at walmart. I wasn't expecting a pro trail riding bike. So if you want a bike for casual riding then here ya go.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shutzhundk9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Boys Mongoose dual suspension bike
9/19/2010

Customer review by DebiC

5.0 stars 9/19/2010 by DebiC
by DebiC

Great transition bike for my 11 yr old son from a 20 inch. Handles well, nice gear shift mechanism, easy to ride, comfortable seat. We take it trail riding on the bike rack. One drawback is that it is a bit difficult to load on a bike rack due to the thickness of the frame.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DebiC
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike!
5/25/2010

Customer review by mumof4kids

5.0 stars 5/25/2010 by mumof4kids
by mumof4kids

Great bike ~ my 10 yr. old son just LOVES it!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mumof4kids
St. Clair, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great bike
7/6/2010

Customer review by barrmom

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by barrmom
by barrmom

My ten year old son loves this bike!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
barrmom
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Heavy
11/18/2010

Customer review by LetsSeeIfThisNameIsUnique

3.0 stars 11/18/2010 by LetsSeeIfThisNameIsUnique
by LetsSeeIfThisNameIsUnique

I purchased this Bike for my son because it was supposed to be light, being made of aluminum. Well, it doesn't look like it is made of aluminum, it is very heavy and looks like ordinary steel (even though it is written it is made of aluminum on the frame itself). Other than that it was alright.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LetsSeeIfThisNameIsUnique
Chantilly, V
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Incredible Bike
4/29/2011

Customer review by MANKERS

5.0 stars 4/29/2011 by MANKERS
by MANKERS

My son loves this bike. Its easy for him to ride and it is a very nice looking bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MANKERS
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product for the money
12/25/2010

Customer review by buddywill812

4.0 stars 12/25/2010 by buddywill812
by buddywill812

I bought this online for $99. It is perfect for my 19 year old daughter who wants it for trail riding. The only problem I had with assembly was putting the seat rod in. I finally had to take a 2X4 and place under the hole for the rod and strike it with a hammer using a piece of wood to protect the rod. Went right in. The seat is hard so get a seat pad. Overall it works well for a $99 bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buddywill812
Archers Lodge NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews