Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 115 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Schwinn Solitaire
4/21/2010

Customer review by OttoandArnold

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by OttoandArnold
by OttoandArnold

Very nice bike for the money. Fairly light weight, and multi-adjustable handlebars make it very comfortable. Brakes are excellent. Original seat was replaced with a more comfortable cruiser seat. Easy to assemble, although I took it to my local bike shop and had them adjust the derailers perfectly along with perfect truing of the rims. (Well worth it.) I put 139 miles on it last week and enjoyed every moment of it. Fenders and rack are great.

Was this review helpful? (119) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OttoandArnold
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good hybrid bike
8/1/2010

Customer review by Roberto1234

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Roberto1234
by Roberto1234

Very good bicycle. Rides smooth, in a comfortable up right position. Also handles well on gravel roads. I use it to ride on a gravel bike trail in Princeton, NJ. As any other hybrid, it is not the best in the road (a road bike would go faster), or on wild trails (a mountain bike is sturdier). In any other conditions, hybrid is the best. I really like the fenders, they protect me from gravel and water spills. It came with a rapid fire shift, which, in my opinion, is better than the advertised grip shift.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roberto1234
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Bike at a Fair Price
5/4/2011

Customer review by wheelerdeeler

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by wheelerdeeler
by wheelerdeeler

I read EVERY customer review before deciding to purchase, so there were few surprises when it was delivered, and those were all good. It came when expected (site-to-store: my first experience) and was put together - well - immediately. No additional tuning was necessary right away, although I found one untightened bolt. My main concern was the frame size, which IS large, but at 5'7" I am dealing with it okay. It came with GREAT thumb shifters which I love, and very ergonomic hand grips. No complaints yet - I have used it on country roads and a lot of paved and dirt trails in preparation for a 200+ mile C&O Canal camping trip later this month.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wheelerdeeler
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
The Solitaire is my favorite bike
4/13/2012

Customer review by steelshooter

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by steelshooter
by steelshooter

I started riding bikes again in March 2011 for healthy exercise. The Solitaire made my old heart pound when I first saw it in the store (fully assembled). I grabbed it and never let go until I had it past the register and in my vehicle. I'm 76 years old and from a generation when bikes had fenders and back racks and sweeping handlebars. It is a great ride. The bike is a thing of beauty and it rides like a dream. I have 4 bikes, 3 of them are Bike Store units. (Marin, Giant & BikeE recumbent) The Schwinn gets the most use. It garners looks from bystanders. It is more comfortable than one that I have paid 3 times as much to own. The seat is usually a subject of much debate and choices. I have used the factory seat and a Walmart Bell Memory foam seat. I have tried smaller (30 mm width) tires. Not good, at all. I switched to Schwalbe Marathon Racers in size 38. No difference in the ride with the factory tires, but I think it rolls a little better. There are lots of hills here and I cruise up them with ease (after conditioning myself). I've seen lots of questions posed as the what color and what size the bike is. The color is a beautiful Metallic brown (Rootbeer). Much to my surprise, mine measures actual 17" on the seat post from the crank to the top of the receiver for the seat stem. I have a 30" inseam and I have 1.5 to 2" clearance when I do the Standover. Of course, the top bar is angled toward the seat, so I measure my clearance while against the seat nose. I have over 600 miles recorded on mine. I ride every day. I ride on the American River Parkway Bike Trail at least twice a week for 20 to 26.5 miles. The Schwinn is my smoothest and most comfortable bike of them all. Yes, I highly recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steelshooter
steelshooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!!!!!!
4/12/2011

Customer review by brownbike

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by brownbike
by brownbike

I used to have a hybrid yrs ago and it cost alot but somehow i gave it away due to too much stress on my neck. I do miss it t ho. ;/ Want more upright sitting.since I am 47 yrs old. So, i got this bike online. A friend put it together for me. I just rode 20 miles last SUnday---very nice. I may change the grips someday. Everything else is good. Get one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brownbike
San Jose, CAliforNia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great bike
6/28/2010

Customer review by bikenyc

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by bikenyc
by bikenyc

I use this is get around in NYC and really enjoy the way it rides. The rack works great with a plastic milk crate zip-tied to it. My small dog fits inside perfectly (he's tied in with a harness). The gears switch great. The seat was a bit high for me (I'm 5'10") so I had to cut the post a few inches so it would slide in further. I didn't have all the tools needed to assemble it correctly, nor did I really know how. I took it to a bike shop and they did it in 30 minutes for $15. After a couple of weeks of riding it I think it's a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bikenyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/14/2011

Customer review by Ebojager

5.0 stars 7/14/2011 by Ebojager
by Ebojager

Im not very good at reviews and haven't done any before, so please forgive me. This bike is great! Its way better than I had thought. Shipping was super fast and free (ordered Sun, rcvd Wed). No damage at all, not even any scratches on the paint. The bike looks amazing, with the white forks and metallic brown paint. Oh ya, the wheels and tires are super cool, with the cool decals on the rims and white colored Schwinn logo on the tires and Seat. Its very comfortable and the suspension on the forks and seat really smooth out the bumps. This is probably only the 2nd bike Ive had as an adult so I cant really comment on the technical quality but for the 229.00 I paid for the bike, I sure feel I got more than my moneys worth. As an amateur, the quality of the parts look extremely good to me. The shifters are real cool too! Anyway, if your on a budget, like I was, and want a great bike to commute to work, I think its a great buy and worth the extra dollars over the bikes in the 140.00 range.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ebojager
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good commuting bike
10/30/2011

Customer review by Mult47

4.0 stars 10/30/2011 by Mult47
by Mult47

I bought this bike for a daily commute of 15 miles round trip over paved roads, some of which are a little rough (pot holes, patches & major cracks). I bought the bike off the rack, assembled at the store. Needed some adjusting to make gears work correctly (rough shifting, jumping one of the rear sprockets). All bikes, this one included, need readjusting after the initial break-in period. I've put 1000+ commmuting and recreation miles on it and it has done its job well. It's a lot heavier than my road bike, but it's also a lot more comfortable going over bumps and riding in the rain. Not so comfortable riding into a headwind due to the upright posture. Two flats, which is not bad at all for the mileage. One of the rear fender frame attachments broke after about 1000 miles. Fixed with three small bungee cords. I'm replacing the rear brakes beecause an adjustment screw won't stay seated. The shaking the bike has to handle due to rough spots probably has a lot to do with it. We'll see if the new brakes are any better. Overall I'm happy with the bike.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mult47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Bike for the Money
11/18/2010

Customer review by pwd1

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by pwd1
by pwd1
Walmart associate

Bought the bike to commute to work. I was trained to ride police bicycle patrol, and I have ridden 120 miles in a day. The bike is a solid performer, even though it is not the best bike you can buy. It is better than most of the department store bikes, and the free assembly by Walmart was very acceptable. The bike has a padded seat, fenders, and the bike rack, which might cost you $80 as options for a lesser bike. I am pleased with the bike and the cost. It really does look sharp. It works well riding 80 miles a week for the intended purpose.

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pwd1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
LOOK NO FURTHER! THIS BIKE IS THE BOMB!
5/2/2010

Customer review by theesource

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by theesource
by theesource

Out of the box just as expected. You do need to make some minor adjustment to the gears & might want to consider taking to get done by a pro if your in doubt of your skills but well worth it! Rides like a dream & makes you look fwd to riding! Great bike for tall guys. Very well constructed & very nice rims. Trust me the picture here at walmart don't do justice! People tend to really look at this bike when I stop! It simply looks awesom & stands out! Only thing I would change is the seat but other then that I still rate this bike 5 stars. I've seen bikes selling for 500.00 and don't compare to this one! BTW Don't be mislead because these bikes are now being mfg in China. As far as I can tell it don't make a darn difference as far as quality. I'M SOLD!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
theesource
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great bike, even better with a few modifications..
8/1/2010

Customer review by Libertybay

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Libertybay
by Libertybay

I ride a little on road as well as off road. I have strictly off road bikes and a hybrid. I do like hybrids and their versatility. I wanted a new hybrid to replace my 10 year old Diamondback hybrid but I didn’t want to spend a lot of money so I thought I would try this Schwinn at such a reasonable price. I am really impressed. This bike is smooth and easy to ride with great components that you typically don’t find on bikes priced like this. The 700c tires are great and make your ride a dream. The value is exceptional. Now the handle bars are a bit old fashioned and look like they belong on a beach cruiser and not on a hybrid, they limit you to one riding position that becomes very uncomfortable when you’re out on a long ride. The OEM bar prevents you from adding extensions to it so I changed out the handle bar for a straight bar, ditched the ergo grips for some more standard gel grips and added handlebar extensions; now its much more comfortable and looks more like a hybrid really should. This bike is perfect except for the odd choice of handlebars that Schwinn went with. I don’t see how they are not loosing money on this bike the way it’s priced. I highly recommend getting one if you’re in the market for a bike, you will not be disappointed. Get it tuned at your local bike shop and enjoy. It’s a very nice bike for the price and exceptionally versatile. I’m used to Cannondales, Diamondbacks and Jamis bikes but they get expensive so save your money and do what I did...buy this Schwinn, make a few customizations, enjoy and have fun.

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Libertybay
Poulsbo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value for casual riding
5/13/2010

Customer review by MountainRider

3.0 stars 5/13/2010 by MountainRider
by MountainRider

We bought the men's and women's version of these bikes to ride in town and on paved bike paths. The are good for those uses. Where we live, it's nice to have 21 gears, even for casual riding. We have other "serious" bikes, but with these it's nice to have the fenders, kick stand and rack when you just want to go to the store or take an easy ride. We had them shipped to the store and they were happy to assemble them for us. They still needed some tweaking, though. As expected for a value bike, the components are not the best, but they are adequate. It is hard to get the stamped metal side pull brakes properly adjusted, but the gear set works reasonably smoothly. These bikes are fun, easy to ride and a good value.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainRider
Summit County, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What A Great Bike!
7/5/2011

Customer review by jakesdad4314

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by jakesdad4314
by jakesdad4314

I bought my Solitaire to buck the fierce winds we have coming off the Gulf and from the Bay. The 21 speeds ensure that there is always a correct gear available for the conditions. I tinker with bikes a lot and have replaced the seat, pedals and chain but nothing was really wrong with the originals. My mods made a good bike even better! I am 64yo, 6'1" 290# and wear a size 54 coat. The bike has 514 miles on it with no problems. Shifters work very well and the high dollar chain I installed even improved that. This bike got me back into shape so I shopped for a "better" bike to continue my progress. I looked at Trek, Specialized and Cannondale ranging from $450-$700. I could not justify spending that amount of money to replace what I already had in my Schwinn Solitaire! The only thing I would have gained for $500+ would be a ritzy name and I would have LOST some features like fenders and the back carry rack! All of the bikes are made in China now including the above mentioned brands. In fact, after researching the subject, it's possible that all of the bikes including my Schwinn were made in the same factory! The Solitaire is a terrific value with excellent quality and features! Pay a lot more if it makes you happy but this bike has it all for a fraction of the price!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jakesdad4314
Baytown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good quality product
10/5/2010

Customer review by OldBeloiter

4.0 stars 10/5/2010 by OldBeloiter
by OldBeloiter

I was looking for a bike to get some exercise around town etc, not 50 mile touring, wasn't sure if I needed to pay $200, $400 or $1200. I am very pleased with the purchase, I wanted a comfort bike with fenders, at least (7) speeds and a carrier would be nice. I think it a very good purchase, have had it about a month (150 miles). It took me several hours plus to assemble and adjust, if you take the time to read all the instructions anyone that has an adjustable wrench and some experience (or a set of metric fixed wrenches and metric allen wrenches) and patience can make the adjustments. I am a 69 years old male and 5'-11', if the bike were much taller, it would be too big for me. FexEx handling during shipment left a bit to be desired. I like the shifters, smooth brakes, quite smooth ride and the metallic brown color. Nice bike and for the money I couldn't find anything better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldBeloiter
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected!
12/6/2010

Customer review by skunkchaser

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by skunkchaser
by skunkchaser

After researching this Schwinn and reading all the reviews,I am convinced it's even better than I expected it to be. I'm totally pleased with the bike's quality and Walmart's dealings. I ordered it online and received it before the stated delivery date,so I have no complaints at all. Very easy assembly for me (about 1 1/2 hrs.) I also have a Schwinn 17 function bike computer on it, which is really accurate with my GPS readings. I can maintain 12-15mph easily on flat roads,so it's fast enough for me. Easy shifts and great brakes too. Good looks and comfort.Buy one!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skunkchaser
New Port Richey,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really Nice Bike
5/16/2010

Customer review by KJ10

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by KJ10
by KJ10

My husband and myself wanted to start doing more bicycling. We didn't want to spend a fortune, but wanted decent bikes. After some research we decided on the men's and women's Schwinn Hybrid on the Walmart site. Very glad we did! It is a well made bike and really fun to ride. We are very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (66) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJ10
Hamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/19/2011

Customer review by davenport872003

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by davenport872003
by davenport872003

THE ONLY THING I CHANGED ON THIS BIKE WAS THE SEAT AND THE REAR GEAR . I RODE THIS BIKE FROM EVERT WASINGTON, WHILE PULLING A CROOZER CARGO TRAILER, TO RAPID CITY,S.D. . AND DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEM'S WITH THIS BIKE.I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED SCHWINN BIKES AND THE QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCTS

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
davenport872003
RAPIDCITY,S.D.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solitaire Hybrid Men's Schwinn Bike
9/22/2010

Customer review by WingCmdr

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by WingCmdr
by WingCmdr

The bike is more that I expected! The quality is as good if not better than a bike that cost 3 times as much. The gears shift effortlessly! It rolls freely and is so easy to operate. I paid $199 online. Although it was shipped without a seat, WalMart corrected the problem in less than a week. This is the first time I purchased online from WalMart. I am most satisfied with the whole process and the product!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WingCmdr
Asburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Value, but needed a tune up & assembly help
8/9/2010

Customer review by southshorelawyermom

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by southshorelawyermom
by southshorelawyermom

This bike is a good value for the money and fits my husband (6'4") well. One drawback - it comes "partially assembled," with instructions which cover full assembly and are very unclear. Once we "guessed" at assembly, we took it to a local bike shop for a tune-up/safety check (highly recommend this unless you are a very good amateur bike mechanic yourself), only to find out that we attached the handle bars backwards! The bike shop also had to replace a brake cable which was already frayed on a never-before-ridden bike. Still, even adding in the cost of the tune-up/repair ($110) to the cost of the bike itself, it was a bargain compared to the starting model for an adult bike at a bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southshorelawyermom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/7/2011

Customer review by BurqueBoy

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by BurqueBoy
by BurqueBoy

GREAT product! I shopped around quite a bit before choosing to buy this bike. I haven't owned a bike in about 25 years, so, I see how much things have changed. I looked at quite a few bikes at different stores, as well as on-line. This bike has some NICE components and overall has a VERY nice look to it. I've had a few people comment on how it doesn't look at all like a 'cheap' Dept. Store bike. I've taken out a few times, and recently took it out on the paved bike trails we have here in Albuquerque. Went for about a 15 mile ride. Gears shift nice and smooth, handles great and is overall pretty comfortable to ride. Hopefully it lasts a long time, cuz I'll be doing a lot of riding!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BurqueBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews