Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

133 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 115 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews
Great Bike for the Money
11/18/2010

Customer review by pwd1

5.0 stars 11/18/2010 by pwd1
by pwd1

Bought the bike to commute to work. I was trained to ride police bicycle patrol, and I have ridden 120 miles in a day. The bike is a solid performer, even though it is not the best bike you can buy. It is better than most of the department store bikes, and the free assembly by Walmart was very acceptable. The bike has a padded seat, fenders, and the bike rack, which might cost you $80 as options for a lesser bike. I am pleased with the bike and the cost. It really does look sharp. It works well riding 80 miles a week for the intended purpose.

Was this review helpful? (86) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pwd1
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Schwinn Solitaire
4/21/2010

Customer review by OttoandArnold

5.0 stars 4/21/2010 by OttoandArnold
by OttoandArnold

Very nice bike for the money. Fairly light weight, and multi-adjustable handlebars make it very comfortable. Brakes are excellent. Original seat was replaced with a more comfortable cruiser seat. Easy to assemble, although I took it to my local bike shop and had them adjust the derailers perfectly along with perfect truing of the rims. (Well worth it.) I put 139 miles on it last week and enjoyed every moment of it. Fenders and rack are great.

Was this review helpful? (119) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OttoandArnold
Plattsburgh, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike, even better with a few modifications..
8/1/2010

Customer review by Libertybay

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Libertybay
by Libertybay

I ride a little on road as well as off road. I have strictly off road bikes and a hybrid. I do like hybrids and their versatility. I wanted a new hybrid to replace my 10 year old Diamondback hybrid but I didn’t want to spend a lot of money so I thought I would try this Schwinn at such a reasonable price. I am really impressed. This bike is smooth and easy to ride with great components that you typically don’t find on bikes priced like this. The 700c tires are great and make your ride a dream. The value is exceptional. Now the handle bars are a bit old fashioned and look like they belong on a beach cruiser and not on a hybrid, they limit you to one riding position that becomes very uncomfortable when you’re out on a long ride. The OEM bar prevents you from adding extensions to it so I changed out the handle bar for a straight bar, ditched the ergo grips for some more standard gel grips and added handlebar extensions; now its much more comfortable and looks more like a hybrid really should. This bike is perfect except for the odd choice of handlebars that Schwinn went with. I don’t see how they are not loosing money on this bike the way it’s priced. I highly recommend getting one if you’re in the market for a bike, you will not be disappointed. Get it tuned at your local bike shop and enjoy. It’s a very nice bike for the price and exceptionally versatile. I’m used to Cannondales, Diamondbacks and Jamis bikes but they get expensive so save your money and do what I did...buy this Schwinn, make a few customizations, enjoy and have fun.

Was this review helpful? (101) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Libertybay
Poulsbo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really Nice Bike
5/16/2010

Customer review by KJ10

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by KJ10
by KJ10

My husband and myself wanted to start doing more bicycling. We didn't want to spend a fortune, but wanted decent bikes. After some research we decided on the men's and women's Schwinn Hybrid on the Walmart site. Very glad we did! It is a well made bike and really fun to ride. We are very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (66) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KJ10
Hamburg, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very good hybrid bike
8/1/2010

Customer review by Roberto1234

5.0 stars 8/1/2010 by Roberto1234
by Roberto1234

Very good bicycle. Rides smooth, in a comfortable up right position. Also handles well on gravel roads. I use it to ride on a gravel bike trail in Princeton, NJ. As any other hybrid, it is not the best in the road (a road bike would go faster), or on wild trails (a mountain bike is sturdier). In any other conditions, hybrid is the best. I really like the fenders, they protect me from gravel and water spills. It came with a rapid fire shift, which, in my opinion, is better than the advertised grip shift.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roberto1234
Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What A Great Bike!
7/5/2011

Customer review by jakesdad4314

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by jakesdad4314
by jakesdad4314

I bought my Solitaire to buck the fierce winds we have coming off the Gulf and from the Bay. The 21 speeds ensure that there is always a correct gear available for the conditions. I tinker with bikes a lot and have replaced the seat, pedals and chain but nothing was really wrong with the originals. My mods made a good bike even better! I am 64yo, 6'1" 290# and wear a size 54 coat. The bike has 514 miles on it with no problems. Shifters work very well and the high dollar chain I installed even improved that. This bike got me back into shape so I shopped for a "better" bike to continue my progress. I looked at Trek, Specialized and Cannondale ranging from $450-$700. I could not justify spending that amount of money to replace what I already had in my Schwinn Solitaire! The only thing I would have gained for $500+ would be a ritzy name and I would have LOST some features like fenders and the back carry rack! All of the bikes are made in China now including the above mentioned brands. In fact, after researching the subject, it's possible that all of the bikes including my Schwinn were made in the same factory! The Solitaire is a terrific value with excellent quality and features! Pay a lot more if it makes you happy but this bike has it all for a fraction of the price!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakesdad4314
Baytown, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value for casual riding
5/13/2010

Customer review by MountainRider

3.0 stars 5/13/2010 by MountainRider
by MountainRider

We bought the men's and women's version of these bikes to ride in town and on paved bike paths. The are good for those uses. Where we live, it's nice to have 21 gears, even for casual riding. We have other "serious" bikes, but with these it's nice to have the fenders, kick stand and rack when you just want to go to the store or take an easy ride. We had them shipped to the store and they were happy to assemble them for us. They still needed some tweaking, though. As expected for a value bike, the components are not the best, but they are adequate. It is hard to get the stamped metal side pull brakes properly adjusted, but the gear set works reasonably smoothly. These bikes are fun, easy to ride and a good value.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainRider
Summit County, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOOK NO FURTHER! THIS BIKE IS THE BOMB!
5/2/2010

Customer review by theesource

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by theesource
by theesource

Out of the box just as expected. You do need to make some minor adjustment to the gears & might want to consider taking to get done by a pro if your in doubt of your skills but well worth it! Rides like a dream & makes you look fwd to riding! Great bike for tall guys. Very well constructed & very nice rims. Trust me the picture here at walmart don't do justice! People tend to really look at this bike when I stop! It simply looks awesom & stands out! Only thing I would change is the seat but other then that I still rate this bike 5 stars. I've seen bikes selling for 500.00 and don't compare to this one! BTW Don't be mislead because these bikes are now being mfg in China. As far as I can tell it don't make a darn difference as far as quality. I'M SOLD!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theesource
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Solitaire Hybrid Men's Schwinn Bike
9/22/2010

Customer review by WingCmdr

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by WingCmdr
by WingCmdr

The bike is more that I expected! The quality is as good if not better than a bike that cost 3 times as much. The gears shift effortlessly! It rolls freely and is so easy to operate. I paid $199 online. Although it was shipped without a seat, WalMart corrected the problem in less than a week. This is the first time I purchased online from WalMart. I am most satisfied with the whole process and the product!

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WingCmdr
Asburn, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected!
12/6/2010

Customer review by skunkchaser

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by skunkchaser
by skunkchaser

After researching this Schwinn and reading all the reviews,I am convinced it's even better than I expected it to be. I'm totally pleased with the bike's quality and Walmart's dealings. I ordered it online and received it before the stated delivery date,so I have no complaints at all. Very easy assembly for me (about 1 1/2 hrs.) I also have a Schwinn 17 function bike computer on it, which is really accurate with my GPS readings. I can maintain 12-15mph easily on flat roads,so it's fast enough for me. Easy shifts and great brakes too. Good looks and comfort.Buy one!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skunkchaser
New Port Richey,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/19/2011

Customer review by davenport872003

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by davenport872003
by davenport872003

THE ONLY THING I CHANGED ON THIS BIKE WAS THE SEAT AND THE REAR GEAR . I RODE THIS BIKE FROM EVERT WASINGTON, WHILE PULLING A CROOZER CARGO TRAILER, TO RAPID CITY,S.D. . AND DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEM'S WITH THIS BIKE.I HAVE ALWAYS LIKED SCHWINN BIKES AND THE QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCTS

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davenport872003
RAPIDCITY,S.D.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
quality with lots of extras
4/6/2011

Customer review by retro22

5.0 stars 4/6/2011 by retro22
by retro22

Nice bike with 700c wheels. Added benefits are the mud guards and the bike rack. I like the weight, great with the aluminum frame. Do yourself a favour and buy some 700c * 38 tires at Amazon with Kevlar to avoid punctures - also schwinn tires at $14 per tire - if this is your daily ride. This one will be turned into ebike with loifPO4 batteries and distribution 9 hub since my commute is 30km. A similar bike in cdn bike store would be at least $400 in comparison. Outfitted with LED lights from dealextreme. Will post some pics when complete.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retro22
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Solitaire is my favorite bike
4/13/2012

Customer review by steelshooter

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by steelshooter
by steelshooter

I started riding bikes again in March 2011 for healthy exercise. The Solitaire made my old heart pound when I first saw it in the store (fully assembled). I grabbed it and never let go until I had it past the register and in my vehicle. I'm 76 years old and from a generation when bikes had fenders and back racks and sweeping handlebars. It is a great ride. The bike is a thing of beauty and it rides like a dream. I have 4 bikes, 3 of them are Bike Store units. (Marin, Giant & BikeE recumbent) The Schwinn gets the most use. It garners looks from bystanders. It is more comfortable than one that I have paid 3 times as much to own. The seat is usually a subject of much debate and choices. I have used the factory seat and a Walmart Bell Memory foam seat. I have tried smaller (30 mm width) tires. Not good, at all. I switched to Schwalbe Marathon Racers in size 38. No difference in the ride with the factory tires, but I think it rolls a little better. There are lots of hills here and I cruise up them with ease (after conditioning myself). I've seen lots of questions posed as the what color and what size the bike is. The color is a beautiful Metallic brown (Rootbeer). Much to my surprise, mine measures actual 17" on the seat post from the crank to the top of the receiver for the seat stem. I have a 30" inseam and I have 1.5 to 2" clearance when I do the Standover. Of course, the top bar is angled toward the seat, so I measure my clearance while against the seat nose. I have over 600 miles recorded on mine. I ride every day. I ride on the American River Parkway Bike Trail at least twice a week for 20 to 26.5 miles. The Schwinn is my smoothest and most comfortable bike of them all. Yes, I highly recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steelshooter
steelshooter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't Work out
10/24/2010

Customer review by Raventhree3

1.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Raventhree3
by Raventhree3

The bike was delivered on time and in good shape. It went together very easily and looked great. The instructions were worthless in many different languages. Both the wheels were not true and caught on the brake pads each time they went around. The front derailleur didn't like going to the large gear. The rear one didn't like the middle gear. The rear gears also shifted on their own every five minutes or so. The bike shop wanted $50 to adjust it but wouldn't guarantee that a wheel wasn't bent. In which case I'd have to return the bike and be out the $50. So I just returned the bike. The price was right and if it would have worked the bike was just what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raventhree3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
3/27/2012

Customer review by Familyman3030

4.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Familyman3030
by Familyman3030

I bought the bike for an eight mile round trip commute. I wanted a bike built for comfort, not for speed. I got it, with one glaring exception. The seat looks nice and comfy, but IS NOT. Other than that it is great. Smooth, comfortable, gears shift like a well oiled machine. I consider it money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Familyman3030
Hannibal, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/8/2011

Customer review by schwinnski

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by schwinnski
by schwinnski

I had been looking for a solid commuter bike that wasnt going to put me back $500 or more and am glad I found this. I commute about 8-10miles a day in a metro area and couldnt be happier with this bike. For a "wal-mart" bike, this schwinn has high quality components as well as very smooth shifting gears and quality brakes. I am very impressed with wal-marts assembly and would recommend this bike for the average commuter. It's hard to see in the pictures, but the root beer brown looks awesome, Great buy for only $250!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
schwinnski
Grand Rapids mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Solid Bike
12/5/2010

Customer review by domfedheist

4.0 stars 12/5/2010 by domfedheist
by domfedheist

This bike is perfect for a short commute- it is very comfortable (riding position-wise) and rides smoothly. Assembly was easy enough, but the manual is a boilerplate and fairly useless...you just have to figure it out as you go (it's pretty self-explanatory). One modification I did make was taking off the fenders, since they were a bit too much fluff for me; this was easy enough, and the bike looks perfectly fine without them (nothing looks missing). Also, I ordered this bike from the Walmart website, and I received it the next day. All in all, a good experience.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
domfedheist
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Exceeded my expectations!!!
10/24/2010

Customer review by Sanriobaby

5.0 stars 10/24/2010 by Sanriobaby
by Sanriobaby

I purchased this bike as a gift for my husband. I wanted to get him a nice hybrid for everyday use, and after much research, I came across the Schwinn Solitare. When I compared the features on this bike to others in the same catagory, this bike was right on par with other hybrid bikes on the market that costs ALOT more, so I took a chance and orderd it and I'm so glad that I did. As a gift, this bike certainly has alot of WOW FACTOR and you get alot of bike for the money. It looks really classy and according to my husband, it rides like a dream. He was also very impressed with the style and quality. He's a big guy, 6'/250lbs and feels very comfortable riding it too. The bike was simple to assemble, the gears are very easy to control, and the bike looks like it costs at least double for what you'll pay for. My one and only complaint is that Walmart.com doesn't list the actual color of the bike, and when you see it on the web, one can easily assume it's black, but it's brown, coca cola brown to be exact. It's actually pretty nice, but certainly a surprise when we opened the box. All in all, this bike exceeded my expectations on every level and was money well worth spent. So, if you want to get a hybrid bike for an awesome price that rides very comfortably, handles great, and looks pricey, I HIGHLY recommend that you purchase this bike. You won't be disappointed and you'll keep extra money in your pocket too!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sanriobaby
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/7/2011

Customer review by BurqueBoy

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by BurqueBoy
by BurqueBoy

GREAT product! I shopped around quite a bit before choosing to buy this bike. I haven't owned a bike in about 25 years, so, I see how much things have changed. I looked at quite a few bikes at different stores, as well as on-line. This bike has some NICE components and overall has a VERY nice look to it. I've had a few people comment on how it doesn't look at all like a 'cheap' Dept. Store bike. I've taken out a few times, and recently took it out on the paved bike trails we have here in Albuquerque. Went for about a 15 mile ride. Gears shift nice and smooth, handles great and is overall pretty comfortable to ride. Hopefully it lasts a long time, cuz I'll be doing a lot of riding!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BurqueBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value, but needed a tune up & assembly help
8/9/2010

Customer review by southshorelawyermom

3.0 stars 8/9/2010 by southshorelawyermom
by southshorelawyermom

This bike is a good value for the money and fits my husband (6'4") well. One drawback - it comes "partially assembled," with instructions which cover full assembly and are very unclear. Once we "guessed" at assembly, we took it to a local bike shop for a tune-up/safety check (highly recommend this unless you are a very good amateur bike mechanic yourself), only to find out that we attached the handle bars backwards! The bike shop also had to replace a brake cable which was already frayed on a never-before-ridden bike. Still, even adding in the cost of the tune-up/repair ($110) to the cost of the bike itself, it was a bargain compared to the starting model for an adult bike at a bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
southshorelawyermom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1-20 of 115 reviews