Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

49 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

49 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-20 of 47 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews
Great Bike
6/14/2010

Customer review by RonnyB

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by RonnyB
by RonnyB

Love this Bike for the price. Front and Back Disk Brake. I am 240 pounds , 6'2" Tall. Great for my size. Got it shipped Home and assembled myself. Took 15 Minutes.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RonnyB
Buffalo,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great ROAD Bike too!
5/25/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/25/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

My son is 6'2 and had his $800 road bike stolen while at school (SDSU), so I wanted to get him something less likely to be stolen but serves his on-campus transportation needs. He definitely didn't want any suspension because of the lost power with the shocks (San Diego is all hills and that is where you notice the loss), and he wanted the low-friction ROAD tires (being older I call them 10-speed tires ;-). So last night I got him to drive us to Torrance (online makes FINDING this bike nearly imposible, their 'search' is within 50 miles of the location you give, and then you have to put in another location 50+ miles away to try again. Doing this I found Palmdale and called them, THEY found four in Torrance near me (online DIDN'T!). With the bike we bought two 700C tires and four 700C tubes (2 extra for flats), 2 Kryptonite 'U' locks (they cut cables so why bother just use locks), a set of two tire liners to stop small thorns etc. (60-70 lb tires are notorius for flats), and a set of lights for night riding. We removed the knobby 29" tires and tubes and replaced them with the 700C ROAD tires (perfect fit). I was afraid of what they might look like on the wider forks, but they look like they were made for the bike! Now he has a ROAD bike that cost $199 with $49 in ROAD tires/tubes/liners so for $250 plus tax (1/3 his stolen TREK bike cost), he has 29" (700C) bike rather than 26" and DUAL DISC BRAKES! Find another DUAL DISK brake bike for less than $1K! Now I know what to get my other son for HS graduation!

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
long beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wailin
5/7/2010

Customer review by astrolube

5.0 stars 5/7/2010 by astrolube
by astrolube

I must say i'm totally stoked by the way this bike handles the gnar. The wheels are the pest thing this side of western colorado and the paint is sprectrum like. It is so dialed, the build is great. The brakes work with one finger only. I'd definately recommend this bike, it shows well at the trailhead if you have matching kit. I wish I could provide a picture with me posing on it

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
astrolube
southern california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
29er Fan Now!!!
6/4/2010

Customer review by Lakeman1

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by Lakeman1
by Lakeman1

I just assembled this bike and I am impressed!! This thing is a monster...I'm gonna let it eat whatever it wants!! I'm 6'4" tall and weigh 238 lbs. This bike laughs at hills. It's smooth and lets me stretch out. I could not extend the seat all the way...It was too tall for me...lol. After I backed it off a little I went for some short cruises. It shifts smoothly and rolls over things that I would cringe at before. It's a great looking ride. The color is a matted royal blue with gloss-white forks. It has Innova tires and Cross29 rims. The frame is beefy and the welds look very nice. Free shipping to my door. Easy to put together. This is an awesome bike!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lakeman1
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Pleasantly Surprised
5/28/2010

Customer review by Mikey198

5.0 stars 5/28/2010 by Mikey198
by Mikey198

I am very pleased with this purchase. At first I thought for the price, it would have to be an inferior product or the price would not be this low. Dead wrong, I must admit I were Dead wrong. I have to say, this is one of my better bikes - and I have several that I use for different purposes. I have paid a lot more for bikes that offer considerably less, so for anyone looking to buy a bike - I would highly recommend this one. It is sturdy, stops on a dime, and so far has taken all of the punishment I have dished out. This bike rides better than my two high end bikes, and they cost over a thousand dollars each. So for the price, ride quality, accessories included - you will not find a better buy. If you do drop me a line.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mikey198
Maplewood, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
like this bike
6/21/2010

Customer review by Dancealot

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by Dancealot
by Dancealot

Purchased this bike because of previous good reviews. It was indeed a very good purchase choice....changed the seat post to the suspension m wave spring loaded model available at www.Walmart.com Takes some of the jar out of the ride.... Keep this bike in my 3rd floor apt. roll it down the stairwell using a pulsing steady grip on the front disc brake and pressing down on the handlebars. too nose it down the stairwell mountain bike trail..ha-ha Take the elevator up loaded with heavy groceries on this big frame bike.. low wheel chair traffic in the evening. I'm only 5'10" tall so I have too mount the bike swing my right leg over when the bike is about on a 35 degree incline to the ground or risk toppling over. Sometimes it's easier to stand or get off on the higher curb area when the bike stays on the lower road bed. It shifts gears real good all be it sometimes they clank quite loud. I had to tape around the cable slits where the rear brake cable was popping out because I wound the 8 ft long locking steel cable around the tube but I have that same problem with my 26 inch bike. All in all It's a very good purchase and easily holds it's own against bikes that are several times as expensive! Oh almost forgot this bike really doesn't really fit well on some off the older front child size Smart bus bike racks..?

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dancealot
Clawson, MI 48017
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/29/2010

Customer review by Doushy

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by Doushy
by Doushy

This bike is awesome! The 29" wheels roll over anything and everything! I was even able to roll over a 3" curb in my front yard with no problem! I think by riding this bike chicks will really start to dig me! Thanks Mom!

Was this review helpful? (19) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Doushy
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Bike
5/16/2010

Customer review by MongooseImpasseOwner

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by MongooseImpasseOwner
by MongooseImpasseOwner

I really like this bicycle. I'm 6'2" and 195lb and really wanted to try out a 29er - but they're generally very expensive - then I found this one. I also prefer bikes without suspension - but I did swap the seat. I had to make a few tweaks to the gears, and tighten a few bolts. The components are pretty basic, but I'm sure they'll last well if properly maintained. I don't race, or do much trail riding - mainly just cycle around with the family. In my opinion this is an amazing deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MongooseImpasseOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Seemed like a good idea at the time
7/18/2010

Customer review by ggasgfsdfasdf

1.0 stars 7/18/2010 by ggasgfsdfasdf
by ggasgfsdfasdf

I managed to ride my bike 3 times total on the first ride, the bike seat snapped off on the second ride, a spoke broke and the rear derailer had to be adjusted on the third ride one of the rear gears broke in half and was spinning freely (smallest cog) overall the bike was a fun ride, but the repair bills were mounting up on it, so i reluctantly returned the bike

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggasgfsdfasdf
Farmington hills, mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Lasted 3 Days, then had to exchange.
6/22/2010

Customer review by BikeMastery

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by BikeMastery
by BikeMastery

Looks: Fantastic>love the matte blue, frame looks beast. Dual Disc Brakes: Great>stops well everytime. Seat: Semi comfortable>first thing I bought was a gel seat. Shifters: Unfavorable>I personally prefer finger shift 2 twist Handlebars: Loved them>high enough that I'm not hunched. Overall I like the bike. When riding it I stand higher than most stock trucks. Rear Gear Cogs: HORRID>I only rode about 15 miles a day to work and to friends houses. I went to take off from work, and the 7th gear completely sheared off, gone. This would not be possible if all the gear cogs were welded together like most bikes. Each gear cog is just sitting separated by a plastic spacer and the cogs are weak. Once one of the cogs shears off, all of the cogs are free to move about the axle, making the bike unridable. I'm hoping that for everyone's sake that I just ended up with a dud, but that is probably not the case. Be careful when coosing this bike.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeMastery
Eagle River, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not worth it!!!
7/15/2010

Customer review by sambirdSJ

2.0 stars 7/15/2010 by sambirdSJ
by sambirdSJ

i bought this bike to ride with my wife and kid. when i first got the bike it gave me a few problems , in which i could hanndle it my self. Things like brakes and gear shiting. but after that the back sprocket broke off. that was the last straw. this all happend after having the bike for 10 days....... DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sambirdSJ
SAN JOSE , CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly surprised.
6/26/2010

Customer review by TeflonBlitz

4.0 stars 6/26/2010 by TeflonBlitz
by TeflonBlitz

I'm 6'2'' and 300lbs. So I was skeptical that a regular price bike would do the trick for me. Assembly was easy, smooth ride, love the disc brakes. I changed the seat and adjusted the derailleur, but other than that I feel like I'm riding the more expensive models I test drove at pricey bike shops. This is a 29'' road runner! Beep Beep!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeflonBlitz
Windsor Mill, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Had to return:(
7/2/2010

Customer review by shopper77ny

2.0 stars 7/2/2010 by shopper77ny
by shopper77ny

We bought this bike for my boyfriend, and he was so excited about the size. The Walmart store by us built the bike, but the gears would not change smoothly and the brakes were out of wack. We brought the bike to have a professional tune up and after just one ride, it was all out of tune again, and the chain broke. It just seems like this bike would've been a money pit if we kept it, so it got returned to Walmart...and the search for a new bike began again...

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shopper77ny
Highland Mills, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SWEET Deal!
6/25/2010

Customer review by bigbill756

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by bigbill756
by bigbill756

I ordered this bike after waiting for it to be back in stock...took a couple weeks...they must not be able to keep them in stock! Anyway...it arrived in perfect shape via fedex. Easy to assemble. Took some tweeking in the shifting. Excellent bike for the price! Looks good too! If you want to break into 29er's, this is the bike! I love it! I'm 6'4" and this bike is the first that fits me since I can remember. Comfortable ride, good leg extension, responds to your body well. I can't say enough about it! Don't spend thousands...start here and work up! Here's a couple photos...I changed the seat...for more comfort...

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigbill756
Plummer, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
MONGOOSE IMPASSE 29"
9/18/2010

Customer review by hotroddg19

2.0 stars 9/18/2010 by hotroddg19
by hotroddg19

Purchased this bike for my 17 year old son. 5'10" and around 225lb. 2 months into this bike and the derailleur broke off. rear gear cogs broke off. Inner tubes for this bike are difficult to find. Not a repair friendly bike. Would not recommend this bike for youths. Somewhat delicate.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hotroddg19
Antioch
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very great Bike
5/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This Bike got my self six compliments already and is really sweet ride the only thing is do to tire being big wheel has to be turned backward on trimet buses and on max train have to hold it in handicap zone or bike zone as won't fit on bike bar, but it is totally worth making adjustments for the much awesome ride this is!!!! Peace :~)

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Portland,oregon 97236
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/30/2010

Customer review by scooter96

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by scooter96
by scooter96

The Bike is just what I needed. I'm not a professional biker, but I needed something to for the weekens. It met all my expectations, and it is a great bike for the money. You have to tinker with it a little, adjust the brake lines, and retighten the screws after a few trips. Small price to pay for the value of this bike.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scooter96
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
29'' Men's Mongoose Impasse Bike
6/25/2010

Customer review by jrodatwater

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by jrodatwater
by jrodatwater

great bike, great walmart price. the only thing i would have done to improve the design is make the gears & drive chain a little higher quality and stranger. i would have paid more for that. all in all, this is a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jrodatwater
Atwater, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Impasse Excellent Value
9/13/2010

Customer review by sifubear

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by sifubear
by sifubear

This bike arrived a day early, was easy to assemble - if you know anything at all about bikes - and climbs like a dream. I am 6'1" and 250lbs, and it fits me well. My only change I would make would be to change 6th and 7th gears on the cassette with a tooth or two less for more top-end speed. Still a great bike for the money!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sifubear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
its a good bike.. butt!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/24/2010

Customer review by ryder1976

4.0 stars 8/24/2010 by ryder1976
by ryder1976

over all the bike iis great im a 6ft rider and 250 lbs i have only one isue the rear gears broke after 2 weeks of riding may have 15 miles on it. i read the reviews and saw the ise with this bike so i got a box from the back went through 3 bikes including one one the sales floor tthat had broken gears. so if you plan on buying this bike plan on fixxing the rear tire gears from a bike shop not a replacement from walmart. other than that the frame and breaks and performance of the bike are great conparable to a gary fisher...

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ryder1976
atl ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1-20 of 47 reviews