Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

93 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
24
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 79 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Fine Product, GREAT Value, but...
12/29/2010

Customer review by mystry2er

4.0 stars 12/29/2010 by mystry2er
by mystry2er

We've got 4 kids at home, including a 2-year old and a 10-month old, so Xmas is an exciting time of year. We didn't want to spend a lot of money, and we didn't really care if we weren't getting all the "bells and whistles". We aren't planning on doing anything fancy with the videos we take. If you're looking for a camcorder that's compact and easy to use, then this is the one for you. The battery that's included with the product has a max life of about 1 hour when it's fully charged....which is not necessarily optimal, especially when you're trying to capture snip-its of Christmas morning or anything else that might drag on for a while. The internal memory is similarly limited. It's handy that the 4GB internal memory fills up in about the same amount of time that the included battery lasts when it is fully charged. You can purchase a larger battery, and of course, you can also purchase memory cards that hold a lot more data than 4GB worth. The editing software that comes with the camera is easy to use...and includes options to upload videos directly to all of the major social networking sites (i.e. Facebook, YouTube, etc.). If this thing would have come with a carrying case, it would be an even better deal. Oh well, beggers can't be choosers! The video I posted for this review was shot by this camcorder and then cut from my little girl's Xmas show at school. The editing only took a few minutes.

Was this review helpful? (157) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mystry2er
Joliet, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Effective & Tiny
6/1/2010

Customer review by LaxCoach27

4.0 stars 6/1/2010 by LaxCoach27
by LaxCoach27

This video camera is much smaller than I expected but certainly gets the job done. I have not used the still images feature so I cannot rate that; however, the video quality and ease of use is fantastic. I have previously used mini-DVD cameras and found them to be bulky and sometimes difficult to download & edit. This new camera is small and light and I can simply remove the memory card, stick it into my PC and it automatically uploads to wherever I want the footage. I definitely recommend getting one or two memory cards if you plan to use the camera alot; the internal memory hold only about one hour to 1.5 hours. I would also get a second battery as it last only about the same length, less if its hot and sunny.

Was this review helpful? (86) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LaxCoach27
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
handy
4/12/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/12/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far I have found this camera to be pretty handy. I use it in the woods for wildlife, and bought it primarily for the 60x zoom. The sony records in mpeg format and I find that much easier to work with than the proprietary format the comparable JVC uses. The zoom is great, the picture quality is decent. It is a SMALL camera. To small for my hands. The photo quality is not near as good as the video quality.

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
4/20/2010

Customer review by fomoco

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by fomoco
by fomoco

Great camcorder, small, compact and very easy to use. Has a very clear picture and captures sound beautifully. Am very satisfied with the purchase of this camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (43) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fomoco
Albany, Ky.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camcorder if you acutally know what it is!
8/20/2011

Customer review by 87Cabriolet

5.0 stars 8/20/2011 by 87Cabriolet
by 87Cabriolet

First of all, this camcorder isn't HD people! Its only standard definition, also when you edit/convert/save videos, the quality is always reduced. So with that in mind, don't go hoping for HD quality out of a $200, STANDARD DEFINITION CAMCORDER! I had a digital camera before this that shot HD video in 720P. The only reason why I bought this was because it had a LED light, optical zoom, and auto focus, something my digital camera did not have or do when recording. I am a pretty picky person and I can not be happier with the price and video quality. This camcorder is really quite small and should easily fit in a coat pocket or something like that. Its also very light weight. Both of these were nice because the last camcorder I had was from 2006, things changed a lot since then. The 60X zoom is insane, but when you are getting far out there it becomes shaky as expected. Auto focus seems to work great, and I manage to do about 120 minutes on the included battery. The touch screen works fine and is VERY responsive, you don't have to hit it spot on, so that is nice seeing as its smaller and people with large fingers may use that. The LED light is fairly bright surprisingly, no, its not stadium lamp bright, but very nice for what it is. This camcorder also has 4GB of memory built in and can take SD cards for extra. The Sony PMB is what I use to transfer the videos to my computer AND play them. Overall I am happy with this camcorder, and definitely feel I got a good deal for what I paid, which was a bit less than the price advertised here.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
87Cabriolet
Glendale, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product!!!
4/12/2011

Customer review by bargainhuntersuperb

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by bargainhuntersuperb
by bargainhuntersuperb

My hubby & I bought this primarily to take along to our honeymoon but we played with it for quite some time. The pic quality is good & the video quality is better. You definitely need to be in good lighting to get the best results. Overall we love the compact size and ease of use. Get it folks!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bargainhuntersuperb
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/12/2011

Customer review by ajeepthing

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by ajeepthing
by ajeepthing

We needed a video camera to take to Las Vegas and the grand canyon. I read alot of reviews on this camera and read that still pictures were not very good on this camera. Since I was taking a digital camera with me also I was not too concerned with how the still pictures would look on the video camera. We took alot of video and still pictures. when we got home we transferred the pictures to our computer. the videos turned out very good and I was pleasantly surprised at how the still pictures turned out. Very crisp and clear, although as with any camera, night pictures are difficult to take. I am so happy with the pictures I no longer need to take my still camera with me on vacation. This camera is a very good value and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to take everyday photos and video.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajeepthing
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great little camera
7/15/2010

Customer review by Dale3forever

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Dale3forever
by Dale3forever

this camera is great for hard to tape areas, the zoom is great and the picture is crystal clear. Have yet install it on the computer but not worried.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dale3forever
Manchester, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Poor video quality
12/18/2010

Customer review by FCNC

2.0 stars 12/18/2010 by FCNC
by FCNC

I was not happy with this camera's video quality. Our test shots were grainy and poorly focused. The led light did not improve the video, and was too bright for the video subjects to look towards the camera. We decided to return this camera, and for an extra $100, upgraded to a high-def camcorder, which provided a remarkably better video.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FCNC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
WORKS AWESOME FOR ME!!!!!
2/27/2011

Customer review by SCOOTER196741

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by SCOOTER196741
by SCOOTER196741

THIS IS A GREAT CAM FOR IN THE WOODS FILMING DEER. ALSO IN OPEN FIELD IT REALY ZOOMS IN FAR BUT NEED TO HOLD IT STILL. I WANT TO MOUNT IT TO MY BOW BUT AM AFRAID IT MIGHT NOCK THINGS LOOSE INSIDE THE CAMERA...LET ME IF IT WORKS IF SOMEONE TRIED IT ALREADY. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS CAM FOR ANYONE INDOOR OR OUTDOORS. THERE IS A VIDEO ATTATCHED BELOW. IT MIGHT BE A LITTLE BLERRY CUZ I HAD TO DOWNSIZE IT FOR ATTATCHMENTS OR SENDING EMAILS.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SCOOTER196741
CENTERAL,MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent
6/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was surprise at all it delivers. The pictures and videos are very clear. Smaller than expected, but ok. I love it. It has both internal memory, and memory card (separate purchase) Overall, it's worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent product
12/17/2010

Customer review by whiterose509

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by whiterose509
by whiterose509

very happy with it, great in lighting very good in dim lighting with the video camera light on , would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whiterose509
staten island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Product / Good Value
7/3/2010

Customer review by InsaneToyBoy

4.0 stars 7/3/2010 by InsaneToyBoy
by InsaneToyBoy

We wanted a small but usable video camera for vacation and home use ... nothing too expensive, versitile and easy to use. This camera filled that need almost perfectly. The on screen menu and touch screen operation make it a breeze to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InsaneToyBoy
Fred-rock, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Poor Quality
6/12/2010

Customer review by Craigit

2.0 stars 6/12/2010 by Craigit
by Craigit

Do Not Buy!!! The video recording quality of it is ridiculous. I bought this for my daughters 1st birthday and I am not impressed. This seriously has the quality of a 15$ webcam. Sure it looks nice and pretty on the viewscreen and during playback on the device itself. However, when you get your media to the computer it is terrible. I'm so ashamed of the video quality that I wouldn't put it on dvd's for my family.. Seriously, it is that bad. Like other posts, I have tried several different scenarios to try and improve the quality but it is a no go. Such as switching the device to 'HQ' or toggling contrast, image stabilization etc... However, if you are making video's for youtube or for playback on smaller video devices then go for it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Craigit
Hopkinsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Disappointed by Sony!
2/14/2011

Customer review by deafdog2001

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by deafdog2001
by deafdog2001

I have an older handycam that has better video quality than this one does. I am VERY disappointed in Sony for making such a poor quality camcorder. The still pics are HORRIBLE! My cell phone takes better pics than this thing. My advise is DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

Was this review helpful? (6) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deafdog2001
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best buy!!!!!
8/21/2011

Customer review by Stacy4884

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by Stacy4884
by Stacy4884

I love this camera. If you are looking for an easy to use camera for the every day kind of family pictures and movies this is it! It is sooo easy to us and is priced right for the every day kind of family. I would not buy I different camera even if I had more money to spare or for a camera that offered more functions it's perfect the way it is!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stacy4884
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
handy camera
6/28/2010

Customer review by angellove05900

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by angellove05900
by angellove05900

this is a handy camera and it works great. the value is also good. i would recommend this to all.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
angellove05900
pittsburgh,pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Video Camera great for what i needed.
12/20/2010

Customer review by mommytoJames

5.0 stars 12/20/2010 by mommytoJames
by mommytoJames

I just had my 2nd baby in July and my video camera stopped working. I decided to take advantage of the Black friday Sales and searched high and low for a new video camera. I compared all stores and styles. This camera was the best deal for its price range. It is so tiny, it fits in the palm of my hand. It has a touch screen that is easy to use, along with some buttons on the actual camera. it has a slider to close the lens, so no losing the lens cap. The quality and clarity of the screen is amazing. Everyone I show comments on how clear the screen is and how crisp the video looks. The internal memory holds quite a bit, I have yet to add my memory card on it and have taped about an hour. Playback on the screen is easy and you can find each separate taping, its not all on a tape, so you can pick which one you want to watch. I have yet to upload and watch anything on the computer. I will need to install the program it came with and do that next.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommytoJames
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product
1/8/2011

Customer review by ImAGoodShopper88

5.0 stars 1/8/2011 by ImAGoodShopper88
by ImAGoodShopper88

Tried another brand - it was no good - it had a slow start up and no light and no flash for the still shots even though it advertised it online. This camera does start recording right away, has a led light, flash for still shots and works great. It did not cost too much more either. In addition, this camera comes with built in memory and great optical zoom.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImAGoodShopper88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for price
3/6/2011

Customer review by newmommy54

4.0 stars 3/6/2011 by newmommy54
by newmommy54

very good picture quality, very easy to use, ultra portable for a video camera. Quick start up to capture all baby's firsts! Love this camera. Love that you can expand the memory!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newmommy54
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews