Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 43 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

43 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

43 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

53%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
10
1-20 of 42 total reviews
53%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews
Save Your Money
8/23/2011

Customer review by YolandaK

1.0 stars 8/23/2011 by YolandaK
by YolandaK

I just cut the grass today with the product for the third and last time hopefully. The blade that comes with it will wear out after 2-3 uses. I live on a military base and the yard is not that big people. The blade just gets smaller and smaller. The blade does not cut the grass cleanly. The grass looks like it was ripped to shreds! Not visiually appealing and very bad for the grass. (see picture) This is a plug in electrical device. The pro is it starts easily. Con, the blade rotate fast for a while once you turn it off. I cut through my sneaker while the blade was still rotating slowly. I am already shopping for something else.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YolandaK
Fort Hood, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Trimmer!
8/16/2010

Customer review by NinjaW

4.0 stars 8/16/2010 by NinjaW
by NinjaW

We just bought our first house and are new to lawn care. All I remember growing up when helping my parents care for the yard was the troubles they had with the wire in the trimmers/weed wackers. I recall trying to help out many times and got so frustrated with having to deal with the string. We decided to go with this stringless trimmer. We were very reluctant since it is the ONLY stringless trimmer available. We really couldn't compare it to any others out there. But, after talking to many people that deal with stringed trimmers that end up either returning the one they bought or buying a new one after 6mo - a year, we bought it. Great price and knew Walmart is great with returns if we weren't happy with it. I've used it 2 times so far and I love it! We had about 7-8 inch grass in the corners of our lot and it cut through it without any problems. The blade isn't showing any wear, just looks dirty.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NinjaW
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Get an extra blade
4/5/2011

Customer review by Patches266

4.0 stars 4/5/2011 by Patches266
by Patches266

This trimmer does a really nice neat job. What I accomplished was attractive. But I hit a small rock the first time I used it and broke the tip of the blade off. That in itself was unfortunate. When I shopped to get a replacement blade, Walmart did not carry them and the manufacturer said they were currently out of stock and instructed me to return the trimmer to Walmart for a refund. So I am guessing they are well aware of the breaking blade. I wish they could have had an extra blade in the origional box, or replacement blades readily avaliable for purchase. I returned the trimmer. Now I have to look about a new trimmer, and I would like this one, it extra blades were included.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patches266
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Exactly what expected
8/24/2010

Customer review by ChrisnTiff

4.0 stars 8/24/2010 by ChrisnTiff
by ChrisnTiff

I was excited to purchase this product because of the stringless aspect and that it was an edger and a trimmer. I would suggest ordering a replacement blade as another person suggested. You really need it after you learn how to use it, you may grind down the plastic blade like I did on the first time. It's pretty awesome that it trims and edges. Easy to put together, took me about 10-15 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisnTiff
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
THE GREATEST!
7/10/2010

Customer review by BORNTOTRIM

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by BORNTOTRIM
by BORNTOTRIM

THIS TRIMMER IS JUST WHAT I NEEDED. I WAS TOO FRUSTRATED USING THE STRING TRIMMER. YOU SHOULD HAVE THIS IN YOUR STORE. SEVERAL PEOPLE STOPPED ME AND THE WAY OUT OF THE STORE AND ASKED WHERE I GOT IT.

Was this review helpful? (49) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BORNTOTRIM
CINCINNATI, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Very good product BUT.....
3/21/2011

Customer review by UGA66

4.0 stars 3/21/2011 by UGA66
by UGA66

This is a very good product, assembles easily, good power. Cuts grass and weeds well but do not try to use as edger against paved walkway or street. The first use was great until using as edger. Blade will quickly wear and I have already ordered a replacement. There is the SHOCKER - $19.95 for a synthetic (plastic, nylon, or whatever) blade. Very overpriced but then they have no competition. If replacement blades were reasonably priced I would give it 5 stars in every category but as it is , I could not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UGA66
Gulfport MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Blade does not last long
8/3/2010

Customer review by lovetocutgrass

2.0 stars 8/3/2010 by lovetocutgrass
by lovetocutgrass

Blade wares down after two uses. And the replacement is $20 plus shipping.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovetocutgrass
Baytown, tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Disappointing
9/7/2011

Customer review by Grasshater

2.0 stars 9/7/2011 by Grasshater
by Grasshater

It has enough power but the shaft is too short. I'm 5'6" and had to bend over to use it. The second handle should be lower on the shaft for better balance. The way it is now, it's difficult to control. I like the idea of the blade over string. But this one doesn't seem to be as durable as one I had on my old gas trimmer. I've only used this one three times and the blade has already worn down two inches on each end. I don't mind paying $30 a blade if it lasts me a season but obviously this one won't. If I hadn't already destroyed the box, I would return it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grasshater
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
sorry-sorry
4/12/2011

Customer review by grasser

2.0 stars 4/12/2011 by grasser
by grasser

Unit is very bottom heavy. A replacement blade [plastic] is almost half the price of the entire unit. I contacted the company about this with no reply.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grasser
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/27/2010

Customer review by VagabondTom

3.0 stars 8/27/2010 by VagabondTom
by VagabondTom

While it performed the trimming task fairly well it's protective cover refuses to stay on place and the cost of the replacement blade, including shipping is prohibitive.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VagabondTom
Southern Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
trimmer
1/31/2011

Customer review by gardenerhopefull

4.0 stars 1/31/2011 by gardenerhopefull
by gardenerhopefull

easy to put together but can't find a place to get new blades. will update after I have used it a few times

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gardenerhopefull
Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Very good item ... good value, too.
7/9/2010

Customer review by turbe4

4.0 stars 7/9/2010 by turbe4
by turbe4

Very pleased with the blade instead of string on the trimmer... would have been nice to have wheels for the edger function and it should probably be sold with an extra blade instead of having to order another, after the "learning experience"!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turbe4
Murrells Inlet, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
above average product
7/8/2010

Customer review by Bob68105

4.0 stars 7/8/2010 by Bob68105
by Bob68105

The trimmer works well, I don't have to change string and it was priced well. Overall it was worth the money. It was a little more difficult to assemble that trimmers I bought in the past.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bob68105
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/8/2011

Customer review by bigblue25

1.0 stars 9/8/2011 by bigblue25
by bigblue25

Ended up returning after one use. Parts attached without hardware. Shield popped off every time contact made with anything.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigblue25
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
over-rated the blade part and
9/26/2011

Customer review by notenuff

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by notenuff
by notenuff

the blade on this trimmer broke the first time i used it!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
notenuff
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
metal blade
7/24/2011

Customer review by rickpatbb

3.0 stars 7/24/2011 by rickpatbb
by rickpatbb

I see a lot of people complaining about the blade on this trimmer. I too have been looking for a corded electric trimmer for quite a while. They have them in Europe but for "safety" reasons, there aren't any to be found here in the USA (at least none that I have found). Has anyone thought about purchasing a cheap $5 skillsaw blade and attaching it to this trimmer? It looks like the blade has a simple hole for fastening it to the trimmer. If a blade could be found with a similar size hole, you would have the "cheap" answer to this problem! Of course the safety issue here is a red herring since they are easily available for trimmers with a gas engine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rickpatbb
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Not enough power, not a good design to trim edges.
5/19/2012

Customer review by citizen777

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by citizen777
by citizen777

1) Plastic blade is extremely soft and does not cut the grass edges. If you want to trim free standing grass that is not bundled together, it will sure cut it. 2) You have to constantly keep depressing the button to get more power from the trimmer since this tool purely depends on your pressing power. Of course, until you reach its maximum power. It will come to a point your finger will get tired, and the trimming work goes very very slowly. 3) The power of the tool is not enough either. The blade stops when it encounter enough resistance, contrary to even simple plastic line trimmers that keeps swinging without giving you any resistance and sliding on grass bundles that will eventually cut the grass and trim edges. Sorry, but this tool is intended good but not designed well. I would not recommend this tool to trim the edges of a yard.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
citizen777
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
They should go back to the drawing board
9/1/2011

Customer review by FlGator10

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by FlGator10
by FlGator10

The plastic blade is a great idea, but unfortunately the minute you touch concrete the ends will break off. Since most edging is done around walks, driveways etc, I would think a little more research would have gone into the material selection. In addition, once this is used for several minutes, the motor warms up and it increasingly loses power until it just barely turns. If you purchase one of these I would advise you to save the box so you can return it the next day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlGator10
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great For the Price
8/30/2010

Customer review by Poodie1

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Poodie1
by Poodie1

I can't stand fighting with the string trimmers and my husbands gas trimmer is too heavy for me. This was just what I needed. I figured it was a great price and worth a try. I used it pretty heavy the first 3 times because my trimming was so far behind. The gas trimmer wouldn't start. And it works great. I figure Ill need a new blade by next summer but its worth the balde reolacement price to trim all summer without the hassle of string!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Poodie1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Easy Operation
8/22/2010

Customer review by HMCUSN

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by HMCUSN
by HMCUSN

Easy to construct and put together with the instructions. Quick to use without the hassle of the line handling. Light weight and the use of the guard is handy. It does throw some green onto the eye protection, but I will manage that with experience and time. The blade will wear out fast if too much pressure is applied, but with time I will conquer that too. It would be nice to place an extra blade with the box and sell them on the shelves at the store to buy. This would sell fast if you had them on the shelves. I am definitely happy to have bought and try this out. I am pleased with the ease of operation and saving time too. Good price too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HMCUSN
Hubert, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1-20 of 42 reviews