Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 268 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

268 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

268 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
206
4 stars
49
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-20 of 235 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews
Nice for the price
4/11/2010

Customer review by thepow

5.0 stars 4/11/2010 by thepow
by thepow

I bought this laptop on sale last month. I had an Acer previously and loved it but our cat knocked it off the table and broke the screen! I have had good luck with them and their customer service has been great as well. They offered to replace the monitor for 200.00+ but this was an upgrade from my older one with respect for the larger screen and processor. I love it and can watch my movies and other videos with no problems while the wife commands the desktop now! Concerns for most is the size and weight of the laptop. It will not fit in a regular laptop bag but is light compared to the others out there. I had an HP with 17" monitor that weighed about 10lbs and I carried that with my older 15" Acer in the same bag!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thepow
Peoria, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The best purchase I've made in a long time
2/21/2010

Customer review by HayBayBee

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by HayBayBee
by HayBayBee

This product is perfect for me. I love the widescreen display (I'm a big Netflix user, so it's a plus for watching movies); the sound quality of the speaker is great. The keyboard is very comfortable, and I love the full numeric keypad. The only thing I don't like about this laptop is the multi-gesture touch pad. It was very annoying. However, I was very happy that I was able to turn it off completely. I can't believe that I got this great product for so cheap. I was a little nervous about buying it, but the quality can't be beat.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HayBayBee
Calumet City, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Laptop
4/4/2010

Customer review by Skilbovia

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Skilbovia
by Skilbovia

I own an HP DV6 15 inch laptop that I bought last August and it is pretty nice. Fast, easy to use, lots of memory and ram and it cost me $750. I was getting ready to buy my wife an HP laptop when I happend to see the Acer laptop at Best Buy. My wife wanted a 17 inch display so I was preparing to spend at least $800 for it. So I went to Walmart to see if they had a better price and it was $495!!!! We have had it for a couple of weeks and we couldn't be happier. The 3 gigs of ram is more than enough. The Wifi connected as soon as I entered the security password and has never dropped connection. There is upwards of 1.5 hours of battery power. The display is beautiful and the performance is great. It is also very thin and lightweight. Emails and web pages open very quickly. The 4 USB ports are more than we need. It has HDMI to connect to my flatscreen too (although I am hogging it with mine). It accepts the plugin memory from my Sony camera. DVD's look terriffic, though it's not Blu-Ray. Had I known how great the Acer laptops are for the price I would have never bought the HP.

Was this review helpful? (81) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Skilbovia
Central MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Acer Support is Awful
3/9/2010

Customer review by Justapcuser

2.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Justapcuser
by Justapcuser

I gave this a low rating primarily because of the Acer Support. I bought this product because of the great reviews. Into day 11 of using it the speakers suddenly started to squeal every time I clicked on anything. CD played with the awful squeal as well. I did not want to return it, I loved it. However, I contacted Acer by email, described the problem 6 different times. Every time I received an automated response with "useful" links that had nothing to do with an audio or speaker issue. I finally got waaaay too irritated with the service and support and returned the item to Walmart. Believe it or not after I wrote Acer and told them I returned it and how unhappy I was.....you quessed it, they sent me an automated message, with useless links. Go figure....Before you think fluke experience, or stupid user and discount this, I have been a computer tech for 25 years. A warranty can tie your hands on simple fixes. I am now looking for anything but NOT an Acer. Walmart employees were gracious and polite as always during the return.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Justapcuser
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product for the price
2/28/2010

Customer review by MoTownBoy

4.0 stars 2/28/2010 by MoTownBoy
by MoTownBoy

i was lookin for a laptop and first bought the dell inspirion. 500GB drive and 4GB RAM. it was $640 after tax. and i thought was a decent buy. turned out that the screen apparently had a slight flaw and the backlights on the screen went out. so i returned the dell and got this acer aspire AND A 320GB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE!!! A TOTAL OF 640GB!!!!!! and it only cost me $611 after tax. so i got more memory and a bigger screen for less, and i am very happy with this purchase. just as fast as the dell, and nicer to look at. if you're lookin for an awesome deal at a great price, don't think twice about it. get this one and you won't regret it. i promise!!!

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MoTownBoy
Morgantown, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy!!
2/17/2010

Customer review by Marqiemark1

5.0 stars 2/17/2010 by Marqiemark1
by Marqiemark1

Ok, I decided to spend a little of my free time to write a review for this product. I meticulously read the reviews on this site for several brands of laptop computers before purchasing. It was very helpful to me so I decided to pay it foward. I am now on my 3rd laptop. This Acer was my third one. I have previously owned a Sony Vaio, and a Compaq ...both laptops. I was a little worried about buying an Acer too, so I asked a computer tech friend of mine for advice. He told me that Acer has actually been building computer components for other brands for years...and they have a great track record..so they decided to start building their own. Cool I thought..I printed a list of laptops off of this site and narrowed down my options. FACT IS, that no other brand stacked up. The Acer came with good internal memory, a DUAL CORE porocessor..which matters for speed, a webcam, numeric keypad, Windows 7..which is great, a DVD burner, 4 USB's...etc. It was loaded!! No body else had ALL of these items. And it's a Dual Core!! $498..sooo worth it! This computer feels very well made. It's nice and tight, very fast..boots up quickly, the 17.3" display is simply awesome! It's sharper than my TV!! Maybe that's because it's an L.E.D. screen and not an LCD! That also makes for great battery life...Which I'm averaging 3 hours on the reg. performance setting. I got the blue one too, and although it gets a little finger-printy...looks very modern. My 2 year old Sony Viao was a piece of junk let-down. Had the LCD replaced 6 months into owning it, the WLAN switch got loose, it got SUPER SLOW, and it was very cheap and flimsy..this laptop was a breath of fresh air! The big computer companies have nothing to prove, they've got your money..so they can make cheap junk. The smaller guys want to establish themselves, so they are goin to build them better. Give this Acer a chance..you will be glad you did!!

Was this review helpful? (229) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marqiemark1
Smyrna, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/28/2010

Customer review by edmon

5.0 stars 3/28/2010 by edmon
by edmon

This is a very nice laptop at a great price. You realy get a lot of bank for your buck. I'm using it on a wireless network and it's been performing flawlessly.Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
edmon
in.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
really nice computer
3/3/2010

Customer review by kennyg72

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by kennyg72
by kennyg72

it is a great value and overall great laptop,comes with alot of great features for a low price.i was a little worried about buying a acer laptop but is a very good laptop so far.i have had a compaq,dell,and a hp and this is right up there for quality and performance.haven't had any problems yet.will buy another one soon.

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kennyg72
washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Laptop
2/15/2010

Customer review by lilsmoke

5.0 stars 2/15/2010 by lilsmoke
by lilsmoke

You can't beat this laptop for the price! Its fast, if you have a wireless router already you just turn on your computer and you are up and running! $500.00 for a light weight, Widescreen,full size keyboard laptop.....with a CD burner! Did I Mention....WIDESCREEN....no more looking at tiny little screens for me and the screen quality is excellent! The only con for me is the Multi-touch gesture touch pad. It takes some getting use to so for now I'm using a wireless mouse....works for me!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilsmoke
georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Smart, Very Smart!
5/11/2010

Customer review by AlgoaBayGal

5.0 stars 5/11/2010 by AlgoaBayGal
by AlgoaBayGal

I arranged to have this laptop delivered directlly to my house, rather than ship to store, since we live 16 miles from the nearest Walmart. What a delight to open up the box, and set things up! Everything is so "user friendly." I like all of the features, but mostly I like the finger pad lock button (since I prefer to use a mouse via a USB port).This keeps my cursor from jumping around. I am thrilled with this feature...and everything else about this computer/laptop. After ten years of Dell products, I took the plunge to Acer and never looked back. I didn't realize that the Microsoft Office software that came with it was only for a trial period of time, and then I had to buy this software. But even that has not dimmed my delight with this laptop. I had to be careful to buy the correct size carrying bag...it is large at 17 inches, but I'm lovin' it, can you tell?! Spend the money to get a good, well padded carrying case...you don't want to hurt your new baby in the traveling process!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlgoaBayGal
Prosperity SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the money.
2/16/2010

Customer review by 209to916

5.0 stars 2/16/2010 by 209to916
by 209to916

This was my first laptop I was worried about purchasing an Acer brand laptop and I was surprised on how fast it performs and the screen is huge. I like the HD display. It has enough memory for my use. I would buy again. I wish it supported BLURay other wise its a good laptop.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
209to916
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price!!!
3/9/2010

Customer review by bobeve

4.0 stars 3/9/2010 by bobeve
by bobeve

I have had this laptop for about three weeks and I have had only one issue with it. If you buy this laptop, do a google on how to turn off "Windows Media Player Network Sharing". When I first got this, it was using about 92% of the memory even when I didn't have any application running. Made it really slow. I turned of the above sharing and it was only using 22 % of the memory. Not it's a pretty fast laptop. I would definately recomend it to a friend and I work with computer for a living. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobeve
Warren, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
first laptop
2/9/2010

Customer review by midwestler

5.0 stars 2/9/2010 by midwestler
by midwestler

purchased two today, (his and hers) and we both love it. We are middleaged and didn't have any problems to set them up. Window 7 is included and not to much bloatware on it. It's on the heavier site but we will use it most of the time on a desk so it's ok for us. We are normal end users.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midwestler
Independence
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing computer
2/12/2010

Customer review by DJEvilTwin

5.0 stars 2/12/2010 by DJEvilTwin
by DJEvilTwin

I have been nothing but happy with the purchase of this laptop! the battery life is good, the speed and performance are outstanding and you can't beat the price either! I would highly recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DJEvilTwin
Weatherford, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very good
3/2/2010

Customer review by mikey2222

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by mikey2222
by mikey2222

i just bought this laptop. set up was a breeze. keyboard is great . have not had the chance to check out all the stuff on here. the laptop is really fast. for 500 bucks it has more options than the others i looked at. well done acer

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikey2222
jasper,al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2010

Customer review by CatLady1986

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by CatLady1986
by CatLady1986

I've had my Acer Aspire for about 4 months i think. I'm really happy with it and i haven't had any problems. The only issue i ever had was that when i got it, instead of it being 320GB it has 286GB. They said it has something to do with partitioning, my brother told me i should have gotten a Mac. I was a little bit disappointed but i thought it didn't really matter that much. Recently i started running out of space though. I probably would have gone with a computer that had more GB if i'd realized how much space i'd need. I bought an external 500GB hard drive recently though so it's not an issue anymore. I'm happy i went with a bigger screen, it's great for watching movies. I like Windows 7, some programs have had some minor compatibility issues with it but it hasn't really been a problem and some of the features are really cool. I don't know how it would be for major gamers but for me, the computer has been able to run my favorite games. I don't really know what else to say. The computer has worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatLady1986
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Solid Laptop
4/8/2010

Customer review by MomoReviews

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by MomoReviews
by MomoReviews

This is the first computer I've bought, and I was pretty nervous about making a decision. Based on the overall positive reviews and the fact that it was within my budget, I went with this Acer Aspire. My husband and I have been, for the most part, very satisfied with our purchase. My bugaboos have been: -It comes pre-loaded with many programs you probably won't need, which will take some time to remove if you don't want them eating up space in your hard drive -The touchpad seems extremely sensitive. It may be that we're not accustomed to using it or we're doing something wrong, but for novice users it may be unwieldy and difficult to use. Otherwise it is lightweight, easy to set up, has a nice screen, and is overall user-friendly (besides that touchpad). All we ask is that it gets us on the Internet and gives us space to store photos and music, which it does just fine. I'd say this is a great value for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomoReviews
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value ~ So Far, I Love It
3/30/2010

Customer review by mks6774

5.0 stars 3/30/2010 by mks6774
by mks6774

I really like this computer. I have to say, I haven’t done much with it yet so I can’t really give much of a review at this point, but so far, I’m extremely happy with my purchase! For what the computer does, I’d say the price is definitely right. I don’t plan to do much with it except surf the internet, download some music and store pics so I don’t need too many bells and whistles. The only thing I’ve had an issue with is hooking up my printer and this really isn’t a problem with the computer, but I have a very old HP printer and this computer doesn’t have the port I need for the cord on my printer. What I realize now (after a little research) is that most new printers use USB ports so I need to find an adapter cord or buy a new printer, but I wouldn’t really qualify this as a problem with the computer. I just need to move into the 21st century! If you’re just looking for a home computer for email, pics, music, etc., I would definitely recommend this laptop! So far, I’m very happy – great value for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mks6774
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Junk Junk Junk!
5/17/2010

Customer review by JessMommyof4

1.0 stars 5/17/2010 by JessMommyof4
by JessMommyof4

i was so excited to get this laptop i thought it was a great price for such a big laptop boy was i wrong with in a month the charger that plugs into the laptop started to go bad and just kept getting worse and would not take charge. Acer does not stand by their warranty either they expect you to pay to have it sent back and who knows how long it will take for me to get this back. They say they are having problems with the chargers of these which requires you to send them back to acer repair center i would not recommend acer laptops to anyone i would spend a little more money and buy a DELL! JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessMommyof4
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great price! Great first laptop!
2/10/2010

Customer review by ShellieShell

5.0 stars 2/10/2010 by ShellieShell
by ShellieShell

I purchased the last one @ the Hermitage, TN Wal-Mart! I love it! Setup was easy. The display is unreal - 17.3"!!! WOW!!! Adequate HDD space and RAM. I haven't stopped smiling yet!!! Now to get a laptop case, which isn't as easy to come by as I thought... I was sure I'd find one somewhere else cheaper...

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShellieShell
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 235 total reviews
1-20 of 235 reviews