Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

113 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
24
1-20 of 109 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews
so far so good
7/11/2011

Customer review by deesson

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by deesson
by deesson

picked up the mower at 10am. got it home unpacked it and assembled in no time. off and running by noon. started right up. cuts well. we have a very bumpy lawn front and back but had no problems. just have to be careful of blade height. i would recommend this mower to anyone who wants to make their life easier.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deesson
long island, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Mower
9/27/2010

Customer review by Mark1959

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by Mark1959
by Mark1959

OMG, I love this rider. It takes less than 10 minutes to assemble (because I read the instructions). Really, you are just putting the seat on and attaching the steering wheel. The oil was already filled and the battery charged. I put a little gas in it and it cranked right up. I was originally looking for a self propelled mower, but saw this one and realized it would fit through my standard 3 foot fence gate. My Walmart had this as an unadvertised sale $599.00 WOW! The 190cc engine equates to 8.75 horsepower. I was concerned that it might be underpowered for me as I tip the scale at 230 lbs. Nah, it runs just fine. This is easy to drive, comfortable, (with seat adjustments) and mows in reverse. It did read the other reviews and saw that there is no crankcase drain for the oil if you want to change it. Hey, the mower only weighs, 168 lbs,... tilt it... it is not heavy. If you look on Youtube, there are a few videos of the mower. That helped me decide. So far, so good.....

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mark1959
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Much better than walking !
4/8/2010

Customer review by dinosaur

4.0 stars 4/8/2010 by dinosaur
by dinosaur

I recently had knee surgery but decided I still wanted to cut my own grass. I have 1/3 acre lot and did not want a large or expensive mower. I spent considerable time searching and reviewing before deciding this was probably the mower for me. Even though none of my local Wal-Marts showed this in stock on line, I found one at my local store, way back in the rear of the lawn and garden department, still in the crate. I hauled it home in a small pick-up, with help from a neighbor. We were able to unload it and I began uncrating it. I had it totally assembled in a little over an hour and was cutting grass ! I was surprised when it started with the first twist of the key. (of course checked oil first-comes with oil already in it). I have always been resistant to a riding lawn mower, feeling I need the exercise...I've changed my mind. It is small enough to store easily and it doesn't use much gas. I don't believe it uses any more gas than my self-propelled push mower. It is surprisingly quiet. I guess you can tell....I love my new toy !

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dinosaur
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Riding Weedeater
10/1/2010

Customer review by Firstimeriding

4.0 stars 10/1/2010 by Firstimeriding
by Firstimeriding

This is my first riding Lawn mower. I did significant research before making my purchase. I wanted a single blade, manual and electric start, etc. All the reviews I read here were accurate about turning ratio, blade not working when in reverse etc. I used it on a yard that was level but not smooth and I think over the long haul the mower will start loosing parts because of the vibration from having limited to no shock absorbers. My biggest disappointment is that my yard is 95% smooth even grass. The blade has 3 settings. The first setting is too high and the 3rd setting is way to low. You are pretty much stuck on the middle level. The mower just doesn't cut a good even way no matter how many times you "recut" an area. My push mower does a much nicer job. If you turn hard or have ANY raised areas it will cut deep into the grass on the low side of the tilt. Again, this is my first riding mower so maybe they all do this.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Firstimeriding
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FUN LITTLE MOWER
6/18/2010

Customer review by Bozz

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by Bozz
by Bozz

I just got one that was returned (bad battery) to WM at a great price as well nearly 50 % off of the original price.........could not past that up and really like this cute little dude. Just remember you are not buying an ATV nor a huge tractor so keep your expectations in check. It has its limitations with room for improvements but overall it does a great job for what it was built for. I've already mowed 3' tall grass out back in my very back field and it handle it well. Support is the only real down side to this product..........they will not ship you any warranty parts such as a little battery even. You have to go through a warranty repair center they list. Well after contacting those centers they will not service any warranty work ?!?! Yup leaves you stuck. All I need is a new battery......oh well small problem anyhow. I feel like I'm riding a go-cart in the yard.......its really fun.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bozz
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Weed Eater (not the ) One
5/13/2011

Customer review by DisheartenedOne

1.0 stars 5/13/2011 by DisheartenedOne
by DisheartenedOne

Had I known the Weed Eater One was a "One-Season Wonder," I would NOT have purchased it. We bought it in May 2010. It did a fine job all summer. Our yard is not large. It is mostly flat. This spring, the steering mechanism (plastic) broke the first time out of the garage. The yard did not get mowed. It went to the shop for repair. It seems you cannot turn the wheels unless the mower is moving. Otherwise there is too much strain on the plastic piece that holds it together. It came back in fine shape - until the second mowing. The right wheel did not turn. It has come back from the shop again. Now, the steering wheel on top of the metal rod moves back and forth. I think the One is about to be the None. We spent a lot of money for a throw-away tool. It seems to me that somethng could and should be done about our situation. I would suggest a product replacement or a total refund. Needless to say, you have one unhappy consumer. The ONLY reason you received one star on the above ratings is that there was NOT something lower. I would probably have rated the mower at a ZERO or NEGATIVE NUMBER.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DisheartenedOne
Zanesville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Weedeater One
9/2/2010

Customer review by penname

5.0 stars 9/2/2010 by penname
by penname

I had been looking at riding lawnmowers for a few months. When I saw this one it seemed to be the one that would be the right size for my lawn, which is less than a half acre. I had looked at other stores and even though it was the end of the season the price was not marked down. My partner and her mother were shopping and just happened to look in the lawn and garden section of one of our local Walmarts and found this mower on sale. The price was right. Once I got it home, all I had to do was to fill the gas tank, check the oil and it started right up. It was easy to handle and cut the grass wonderfully. It fit through my gate to the back yard with plenty of room to spare. My back yard is on a slight hill and the mower was able to handle the hill in 1st gear just fine. I like the fact that the mower shuts off when you get off the seat. It is a great safety feature. I was impressed. It cleans up easily with my blower. I would recommend this mower to anyone who has trouble walking like I do because of rheumitiod arthritis and an artificial hip.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
penname
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
A great little mower!
4/19/2010

Customer review by MowingMan

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by MowingMan
by MowingMan

I can't speak for others' reviews of the Weedeater One, I will just say that some of the negative comments nearly caused me to pass it by. I'm so glad I didn't - this is a peach of a mower! Paid $650 at my local Walmart & that included a $100 gift card. Got it home, topped off the gas, checked the oil & she fired right up. Headed straight for my drainage ditch which has a fairly steep section and SURPRISE! She motored right up w. the blade engaged & in medium gear, no hesitation, no problem at all. The Weedeater One cuts fine, runs fine & drives fine: very comfortable, too, w. the adjustable seat (I'm 6'2"/210 lbs). For the money & for smaller yards, I don't see how you can beat this little rider. And if you do have a problem, Walmart has the most liberal return policy I know.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MowingMan
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT VALUE
5/16/2010

Customer review by MINIWHEAT70

5.0 stars 5/16/2010 by MINIWHEAT70
by MINIWHEAT70

After reading through the reviews I decided to give this riding mower a chance. I have a moderate sized front/back yard (7900 SqF) with minor ruts, small inclines and multiple obstacles (trees, swing set, trampoline, etc). For these reasons I was really concerned about how this mower would work. I couldn't be happier with it. With my 200 lb weight it tackled all of those things with no problem. I've used it twice. The first time I operated it on the lowest speed to get familiar with it and to avoid any mishaps. The second time I blew through my front/back yard in no time on the second speed. Love it, love it, love it. It does have a feature that allows you to back-up with the cutting blade engaged. I highly recommend this riding mower, even if you don't have a golfing green lawn - as some others suggested. It's light weight and compact size allows it to fit in my shed with no problem and I can roll it right in. I wish I knew about this product long ago.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MINIWHEAT70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not for hills
3/25/2010

Customer review by jgilliam1955

3.0 stars 3/25/2010 by jgilliam1955
by jgilliam1955

I just cut my yard. I got this because I have a average yard but I am tired of pushing a lawn mower. On one small part of the yard there is a very small hill. The weedeater could not do the hill. No matter how much a running start I tried it & it would stop & I would have back down. Now for me the hill is a very small part of the yard. Everything is flat. The Lawnmower did a great job. Since the Lawnmower is criuse control there is no gas pedal to help it along. I would recommend this for a flat yard but if you have any hills forget about."

Was this review helpful? (221) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jgilliam1955
Williamsburg VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
You get what you pay for
9/20/2010

Customer review by sadmower

2.0 stars 9/20/2010 by sadmower
by sadmower

We bought a house with near an acre yard. It took 3 hrs with a push mower, and only half as long with the Weed Eater 1. After about 7 or 8 uses over 5 or 6 weeks, it started making a loud, rattling noise and the speeds no longer seemed to line up properly with the gear I wanted to be in. Also the blade would shut off not just in reverse, but in neutral. I took it to an authorized service center. They told be it had been adjusted improperly at the factory, that it needed $300 in parts, and the parts were back-ordered for at least 4 moths from so many people having a similar drive-train problem. I decided to take it back to Wal-mart, and was pleased to receive a full refund of my cash. Maybe this mower is just for extremely light duty, or maybe I got a lemon- regardless, I won't buy another one and I don't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sadmower
reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good idea
4/22/2010

Customer review by poohsey

4.0 stars 4/22/2010 by poohsey
by poohsey

Bought this riding mower on monday returned it tuesday. Great idea but not for all small lawns. Major underpower problem, my lawn has a 10 deg slope from the road to the house. This mower could not make it halfway up the slope. The wheels weren't spinning, just no power. Worked great on level back yard. The engine barely has 5hp, my push lawnmower has a 6hp bs engine. So you see the problem. Really wanted to love this mower but I can't, no power and wide turning radius makes this useless except for level open yards. Walmart was great no problem returning mower, thanks

Was this review helpful? (99) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
poohsey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the price, but buyers should know.....
6/5/2011

Customer review by MostlySatisfied

3.0 stars 6/5/2011 by MostlySatisfied
by MostlySatisfied

I'm basically happy with the purchase so far. With all the rain this spring I've been very happy to have a riding mower for the first time in my life. The assembly would have been easy except some of the nuts and bolts were missing and I had to make a trip to the hardware store to finish. I wish it had a mulcher because it leaves big clumps, but then the grass has been so high it might have anyhow. My biggest complaints are the wide turn radiaus which causes a lot of overlapping the same area to get everything, and how many steps you have to go through to go in reverse. You have to stop the blade from spinning, turn the ignition key to a different spot and then changes gears to reverse. This makes getting in small areas very cumbersome. I ended up buying a more powerful weed trimmer to get all the spots I can't get to with the mower. It's about time they made a small riding mower for small lawns and at a more reasonable price, but you do have to give up some convenient features for that lower price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MostlySatisfied
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Mower won't cut grass low enough?
4/7/2010

Customer review by lscrewynj

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by lscrewynj
by lscrewynj

After 5 Mins on this Mower I had buyers remorse. IT WOULDN'T CUT THE GRASS LOW ENOUGH! I read the manual and tried every trick in the book. My father was the one who figured out that IT WASN'T PUT TOGETHER THE RIGHT WAY. (don't worry it only takes 10-15 mins to fix it) I bought two of these, and both were assembled the wrong way. The blade unit was sitting on the bottom rear end of the tractor. When you moved the lever to move the blade up and down, it didn't move at all. We took out the two front pins at the bottom front of the unit and had to move the blade unit forward to get it off the rear. Once we got it back together it ran great and we were able to set the blade settings (they way there were intended to work). BEFORE YOU BUY THE RIDE ON MOWER BE SURE THAT YOU CAN ADJUST THE HEIGHT OF THE BLADE. IF YOU DO NOT SEE IT GO UP AND DOWN, IT NEEDS TO BE ADJUSTED. NOTE: To take the unit apart will require 10-15mins and you need to take out: 2 front pins and one nut. You will then need to pick up the front of the ride on mower (1 ft) and lift the blade casing off the rear motor case. If your handy this isn't a problem and souldn't deter you from buying the mower. I was very close to returning this mower, but i'm glad I didn't.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lscrewynj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
weedeater mower very good
4/9/2010

Customer review by smallyardhome

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by smallyardhome
by smallyardhome

I operated the WE261 riding mower first time today and it climbed the 10 degree 30 ft long hill easily in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. I weigh 220 lbs . Its nicely designed and made too. The manual says 15 degrees hill max. I like the compact size for my 1/4 acre yard area, and storage. The $ 650 walmart price makes it a very good value. Walmart helped take the steering shaft and seat off so it would fit inside my 32" high camper shell to drive it home. 185 lb weight of mower makes it easy to move in garage.

Was this review helpful? (55) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smallyardhome
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Mower Disproves the "Hill Myths"
5/10/2010

Customer review by PatioJockey

5.0 stars 5/10/2010 by PatioJockey
by PatioJockey

I you want to skip all the descriptions below, my summary is "Excellent value and will mow hills steeper than the manufacturer's printed rating". I am embarrassingly, 267 lbs so the WE261 is not just mowing grass, it's hauling around quite a load. I read as many reviews of this mower both on this site and others. Almost 95%+ rated the unit highly and saw no issues with the mower climbing hills while mowing. I also saw approx 5 or 6 reviews nixing its ability to mow anything but a flat lot. But then I saw one review from a gentleman that warned everyone to check the adjustment of the shifting linkage to ensure it was engaging in all settings. I did that before I did anything else and it looked good. I have 4 inclines in my back and side yards so I measured the slopes and discovered I have a 30, 36, and two 39 (my side yards) deg inclines. The result was that the Weed Eater One WE261 climbed all inclines in good fashion. I noted the only issues I have on hills is if I attempt to do sharp turns. This causes the back wheel to slip in the grass so I've worked out a different cutting scheme and have no issues. I project economy for this unit will be very good since when I fill the .25 gal tank, I get 2 full cuts and still have a bit left over. I have a small lot just under 1/4 acre. This is NOT a $1400 Snapper or John Deere, etc. You will not be plowing snow or towing yard carts/aerators/tillers/etc. My only disappointment is that the mower mulches, bags, and side discharges, but the unit did not come with the mulch plug (unless Wal-Mart forgot to give it to me as it was fully assembled at the store). I would recommend this for anyone with a yard under an acre who only wants to mow. This unit has exceeded my expectations in all areas.

Was this review helpful? (113) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PatioJockey
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
no-nonsense riding mower
5/1/2010

Customer review by Geezer1941

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by Geezer1941
by Geezer1941

Weed Eater One (WE261) is a riding mower designed to do just that - cut grass. No headlights, no fenders, no cowling, nothing extra. That saves cost and that means the customer saves money. The mower started first time with one pull of the cord. (I was not sure the battery was charged well enough, so I used the "reserve" starting procedure.) The mower has started quickly and easily each time since I began mowing four weeks ago. I cut two yards, mine and my mother-in-law's. After a month I am still on the first gallon of gasoline and have mowed three times. I recommend first gear for the smoothest cut and for cutting close to obstacles. Third gear I find practical only for geting down the way to the other yard and back to the garage. If it is lawn you want to mow, this machine does it. Just don't expect lights and a snow plow attachment.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geezer1941
Joliet, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Mower, Great Value
5/8/2010

Customer review by Chadbam

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by Chadbam
by Chadbam

I use this mower to mow my yard wich is a 1 acre lot. I have some steep hills and it dosent seem underpowered to me at all. It cuts nice for the size deck it has. Albeit there is a learning curve to cutting with this size deck, it still gets the job done. I have a tacometer/hour meter that i have purchased aftermarket. This mower usually has a tach reading of 1380 rpms. It takes approxmatately 1.3 hours to mow my lot with this mower. I weigh approx 180lbs. It seems that heavier people (over 200lbs) are having problems getting up steep hills. I am able to tackle large hills with my mower with ease. The quality of this mower seems very sturdy. I have read that it was designed by a division of Husqvarna, a swedish company that makes many outdoor lawn tools. This unit is built in the USA however, which i find to be refreshing. Althoath i wouldnt be suprised if the parts were made in another country and simply assembled here, but i cant state that as a fact. It looks very simple to upgrade the engine on this mower to a higher hp honda if the stock briggs one goes out. I have done that on other mowers in the past with no problems, and there is a very large surplus of aftermaket engines on certain auction sites. Id say if you meet the weight ratio, and dont have a larger lot than 1 1/2 to 2 acers you cant go wrong with this mower. It stores very easily in my shed, and is light weight. This allowes it a very nice turning radius at high speeds. This mower sips fuel, it runs at full speed for 1 1/2 hours on a tank. Im not sure of the tank size but i think it may be a couple quarts of fuel to fill it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chadbam
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Perfect Fit
5/7/2010

Customer review by CurmudgeonDoug

5.0 stars 5/7/2010 by CurmudgeonDoug
by CurmudgeonDoug

After reading some reviews that the WE261 could not handle hills, I was a little hesitant as I have a 10 degree grade on part of my 1/2 acre property. I bought from Wal-Mart, knowing I could return it if it couldn't pull the hill. The ONLY problem I had was when I would hit a fallen branch with a rear wheel and the other rear wheel would freely spin. Other than that, the WE261 performed quite well. Being disabled, I can no longer operate a push mower and I have been paying a service to mow my lawn. I used less than a pint of gasoline to cut the front and back yards (About 1/4 acre.) Compared to paying a service, this mower will probably pay for itself in about two seasons.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CurmudgeonDoug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far, so good.
3/21/2010

Customer review by mikeinclarenceny

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by mikeinclarenceny
by mikeinclarenceny

With this being a new item this year, early availability has been low. Found that Walmart stores had received one or two each and thought I'd snag one quick as they could be in short supply. Their price was also much lower than I saw elsewhere. Going on faith, as no reviews to be found yet, I brought one home still crated. Was very pleased with quality at first sight, found it to be very simple to assemble and it started right up with just some fuel...oil already installed. I had read about the new Briggs 875 engine and although no HP rating, the 8.75 torqe rating was listed. The engine is very quiet with a nice muffler system and it moves the mower over grass very well. Engaging the mower deck (belt driven so do so slowly, the noise level increases while turning the drive pulleys and the blade and the enging revs with the increased load. As it is only mid March, I haven't cut grass with it yet, but I expect it will do so nicely. There are 3 forward speeds and I am hopeful that it will cut well at the fastest because the lower two are a bit slow for long stretches, but nice for going against walkways, etc. There are only four cutting heights available with the middle two being approximately 2 1/4 and 3 1/4 high. I expect that I may wish it had another height in between these, say about 2 3/4, as the highest and lowest will probably not be useful for me. While the ergonomics seem fine so far, the seat appears to have cushioned sections but they are no softer than the rest of it. Given the low price, I can't really quibble with that and I will likely use a stadium seat pad if uncomfortable as is. Controls seem convenient and sightlines for cutting are good. 26" cut is relatively small, but hopefully will be made up for by speed and less walking. The specs say that the blade is designed for mulching and bagging, but the accessories (mulch kit or bag) are not yet available but the mulch kit is expected to be soon. The turning circle is not tight, as I expected for this type of unit, so a few perimeter runs will likely be needed to gain area for turning for the mid-lawn runs. My property is only 120' square, but significantly larger lots may demand a wider cut and more features. Having said that, this unit is fairly small, of low complexity (one blade) and if it cuts well should meet the needs of many homeowners. It is not a tractor, so towing attachments doesn't appear to be an option, but that allows for a smaller motor and footprint in the garage. Lastly, I like that it is in cruise control when moving, no foot on the gas, only the brake/clutch when needed (it actually has a brake pad and rotor). I will review grass cutting later in the Spring.

Was this review helpful? (152) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikeinclarenceny
Clarence, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1-20 of 109 reviews