Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-14 of 14 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

good tiller for the money with pros and cons
5/4/2011

Customer review by steadyhand98

4.0 stars 5/4/2011 by steadyhand98
by steadyhand98

Having owned a 7 hp troy built horse that finally wore out I decided to give this tiller a try..I have a large market garden that I use this on..It starts easy and tills great with plenty of power..The counter rotating tines grind everthing up very good however there tends to be some build up of loose debris between the wheels and the hood when tilling in cover crops ,or leaves for example. This requires lifting the handles up and putting it in reverse to back out of the debris then running over it again...Using a shallow setting to start with helps some with this issue..I seem to be able to get into a wet garden quicker with this tiller than the troybuilt..When tilling in soft soil or recently tilled soil you will be hard pressed to use one hand with this tiller because the counter rotating action of the tines works against the forward motion of the wheels thereby basically keeping the tiller spinning in place..The more shallow the tilling depth, the less this is a problem but you will still have to either lift the handles some to get it to go forward or get behind it and push it some which does require some effort..When hitting rocks the handles will not bounce up suddenly like the troybuilt did but a big rock will stall the engine..Having to pull pins out of the wheels to get it to freewheel is annoying. The engine runs smooth and is more quiet than the troy built I had..I guess the ideal combination would be to have a tiller like this for preparing a bed and also one with forward rotating tines for quick cultivation, once the ground is tilled, but overall I would rate this tiller as very good

Was this review helpful? (82) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steadyhand98
maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
4/2/2010

Customer review by oknavywife

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by oknavywife
by oknavywife

Wow, this is a real workhorse! It's my first rear tine tiller and it proved itself to me quickly. It dug through dirt, roots and rocks. I was impressed! Would definitely recommend this tiller. Price was great and saved alot of shipping costs by having it shipped site to store!

Was this review helpful? (40) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oknavywife
Salem, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Great Product
3/29/2010

Customer review by AnotherMac

5.0 stars 3/29/2010 by AnotherMac
by AnotherMac

This tiller is everything I expected and more. It works wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone interested in tilling a small to medium sized garden.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherMac
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A good medium duty tiller
4/10/2011

Customer review by MidMoMan

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by MidMoMan
by MidMoMan

After about 2 weeks, I am quite pleased with this garden tiller. It seems to have plenty of power, does a good job, is easy to run, and is easy to maintain. The adjustable side shields are nice too, to help keep the garden smooth. My garden is about 2500 square feet and I expect this tiller to keep up with it just fine. I would prefer it had a forward, no-till gear for moving it from the shed to the garden and back, but that's not that big of a deal. For the money, I think it's just fine.

Was this review helpful? (25) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidMoMan
central Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent performance for small gardens
7/8/2011

Customer review by PaTheGardner

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by PaTheGardner
by PaTheGardner

Price and availability from Wal-Mart are very good Ship-to-store is free and fast. The tiller is well built starts easily and runs strong. Have used for about 3 months now and it tills up hard rock filled areas with relative ease. At maximum depth two passes are needed to complete the 18" row. Excellent fuel economy. Moving around does require the removal of the wheel pins but this is a minor issue and does not effect the overall quality or performance.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaTheGardner
southwest virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Good as all the rest at $100 less
4/22/2012

Customer review by Boey

5.0 stars 4/22/2012 by Boey
by Boey

This is a excellent tiller.It tills with ease and breaks up dirt to a fine powder.I run a assisted living facility and the residents love tilling the dirt up for the garden.Hopefully this will encourage them to be successful gardener's with ease.I checked all over and by far this is the best buy.Their are many others out their with a different paint and name but probable made by the same manufacturer.if your in the market for a rear tine tiller this is the place and the tiller to get .I order to pick up at my local wal mart. Don't think I'll ever get a front tine again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great tiller
8/22/2011

Customer review by sudsshedhead

4.0 stars 8/22/2011 by sudsshedhead
by sudsshedhead

bought this tiller for a 200 x 45 foot garden works great the only thing i would change is i would put a neutral on the trans

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sudsshedhead
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
never would shift from forward to reverse
3/27/2012

Customer review by Osceol

1.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Osceol
by Osceol

machine would be ok if you could buy parts to fix the thing. Wal-Mart used to sell some parts, now if you have a problem you have to throw away the old machine and buy a new one, so much for GREEN EARTH! A simple little part ~ float in carb is bad and can't buy one!!! This is crazy, theere should be a law if you sell a machine you should have to offer parts to fix it for at least 10 years. My machine is only 3 years old, and now I have to buy another one ~ no profit for me to raise my own food!

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Osceol
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
3/31/2013

Customer review by KDMet

1.0 stars 3/31/2013 by KDMet
by KDMet

I got my Tiller last week and started it for the first time yesterday...it seem to run ok.. The next day it was extremely hard to start.... I finally got it started and then the motor didn't seem to be putting out enough power when the throttle was wide open... the motor is called a Power-Mate and it is way under powered.... I do not recommend this tiller at all... MTD needs to put a much better engine on this thing... Very disappointed with the performance...

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KDMet
Dallas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
4/11/2013

Customer review by stanman4271

3.0 stars 4/11/2013 by stanman4271
by stanman4271

For price, should of had speed cable , the tines are placed way too far out on the shaft , which in time will cause wear to shaft and the transmission gears , tines DO NOT have full support of the drive shaft. It is a work horse , but the placement of the tines worry me!!Boggs down easy in pretilled soil, the cleats on tires wouldn't pull it without constant help from the operator.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stanman4271
montgomery,tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/20/2013

Customer review by Mark181

5.0 stars 4/20/2013 by Mark181
by Mark181

It has the power and the width to till up some serious garden area. Love it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mark181
Enterprise, Al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Tiller
5/14/2013

Customer review by barmour88

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by barmour88
by barmour88

I put gas and oil in and checked the gear oil. Everything ready. Got ready to have to pull multiple times and was suprised that it started on the very first pull. I have now used this tiller 6 times and it has started on the first pull every time. Amazing, most devices take multiple times of pulling before it starts. I checked around on tillers at several big box stores and this tiller was larger and at least $200-400 cheaper, definitely worth the money. Plus free shipping to the nearest Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
barmour88
Liberty, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/16/2013

Customer review by mycaverun

1.0 stars 5/16/2013 by mycaverun
by mycaverun

I`ve had this tiller for two months and I`m on the third belt. Called service dealer and it will take two weeks just to look at it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mycaverun
West Liberty, ky.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
poor quality
5/15/2012

Customer review by Walshopper121

2.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Walshopper121
by Walshopper121

I purchased this tiller last week in the store, and it only lasted for 30 minutes. We bought the displayed item because there isn't any product left in the store, and we paid at a discounted price $600.00, even more than the online price. When we tried to use it, we noticed that the tires were installed wrong, and blades were reversed. So we went through the trouble to fix. Sunday morning, we were ready to use it for our yard, and it only lasted for 30 minutes, then died. We were NEVER able to start the engine again. I would not recommend this product to anybody

Was this review helpful? (1) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walshopper121
idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never