Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

24 reviews | 2 out of 5

2.0 stars

24 reviews | 2 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
13
1-20 of 24 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Okay if you know how to install trimmer line
7/21/2016

Customer review by gbash

3.0 stars 7/21/2016 by gbash
by gbash

I bought this 4 years ago and used it regularly each summer. Today, the motor slowed down and then started smoking. So, time for a new trimmer. The line getting hung up inside the head was a major problem at first, but then I figured out how to make it work better. When putting new line on the spool, I found out that wrapping it neatly was not good, for then it would hang up and break easily. It worked much better when I put the new line on in a more messy fashion, with every other wrap going from one side of the spool to the other. That helps prevent the line from being pulled down and getting trapped among the spooled line. Even with this though, the line would often fail to automatically advance; it only does so upon stopping and starting the head. At least there's a push button that allows me to pull it out a bit at a time. But then, I've never seen an automatic feed that worked well for long.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gbash
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/25/2012

Customer review by WalmartBuyer4

1.0 stars 2/25/2012 by WalmartBuyer4
by WalmartBuyer4

This product is a piece of junk. On the positive side, it is fairly lightweight and not too tiring on the hands and arms for extended periods of time. All the rest of the review is negative. It is constantly breaking the line, it does NOT automatically feed through, and you are constantly stopping and removing the spool to either untangle OR pull out additional line. I had this weed eater less than one full year, with moderate use (about once a week on a small yard). It was only used to do edging and, if it worked the way it should, about 15 minutes worth of work each time. I would spend an HOUR each time because it was constantly breaking the line and I had to re-thread it. One day, after using it in the yard, the motor made a sharp sound and just quit on me. It had always been kept indoors and was well taken care of. Less than 8 months old and the motor went out on it. I would NOT recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalmartBuyer4
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THIS
6/11/2011

Customer review by sheppardre

1.0 stars 6/11/2011 by sheppardre
by sheppardre

I've owned about 6 electric weedeaters and this is BY FAR the worst one yet. When the line breaks, you can't bump it to get more line. Instead, you have to stop the wheel from spinning and then push a button on the side of the wheel and pull on the line simultaneously. The line would break every 10 or so feet. Many times, the line would break off completely, requiring you to pull off the cap, take out the line reel, unwind it, place the end back thru the wheel's line hole and then reassemble. I had to do the latter task three times within a fifteen-foot stretch earlier today. When it broke a fourth time three feet later, I gave up and threw it in the trash where it belongs. Everytime I've used it, this stuff would happen. DO NOT waste your money on this junk, spend $10-20 more and get something worthwhile. A different brand is recommendable.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sheppardre
Middle GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worst weed eater product I've ever owned
7/3/2010

Customer review by Redfuchikoma

1.0 stars 7/3/2010 by Redfuchikoma
by Redfuchikoma

I've been using this weedeater for the past hour and I have to say I'll be returning it. I purchased this model to replace my old reliable weed eater expecting the same reliability, boy was I wrong. Most of my hour of "yard work" has been spent manually feeding the line, replacing the line that has broken off in the head (and I have to take the whole thing apart). The automatic feed simply does not work. wish they had the older model, at least it worked. I want to give it .25 stars, but i had to click one.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redfuchikoma
Redlands, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
get what you purchase
6/19/2010

Customer review by mommyof2wildboys

2.0 stars 6/19/2010 by mommyof2wildboys
by mommyof2wildboys

We had this for one season before the mottor kicked the bucket. The mottor is only 5 amps, we are going to try a stronger one. The spool was a nightmare to try and put in and if you do it wrong, you will spend several hours trying to feed line through. You get what you pay for with this one.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommyof2wildboys
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Lasted 6 years
6/22/2010

Customer review by iknowsomething

4.0 stars 6/22/2010 by iknowsomething
by iknowsomething

This weed eater is being replaced tomorrow.I bought it in 2004 and it has worked fine althought it was not used hard. The unit still works but the head got moisture in it and I can't replace the cartridge filled with trimmer line. A bit of advice,if you buy one don't try to wind up new string into the cartridge,buy a whole new cartridge,about $9.00 and save yourself a lot of aggravation.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iknowsomething
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Get the Job Done
5/18/2010

Customer review by TyToKay

3.0 stars 5/18/2010 by TyToKay
by TyToKay

easy to use for a person who knows nothing about doing yard work

Was this review helpful? (42) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TyToKay
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
My third and WORST weedeater.
10/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I previously owned (and loved) the gas-version of this weedeater, but was due for a new one. I very much enjoyed the trimming/edge combo, but it appears that weedeater no longer makes the gas model of this trimmer, so I purchased this electric model. After three tries, I am extremely disappointed. The .65 line breaks very quickly, and the automatic line feed never works, so what should take just a few minutes turns into half an hour, easily. After reading the instruction manual and giving this thing three chances, I am returning it to Wal Mart and looking for another brand. I have used gas weedeaters with satisfaction for over ten years, so I was surprised and disgusted with the (lack of) quality with this one. If I had to do it again, I would use my wife's good scissors before I would use this weedeater.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Weed eaters on fire don't replace fireworks!
7/2/2010

Customer review by babyblues301968

1.0 stars 7/2/2010 by babyblues301968
by babyblues301968

I bought this weekeater last year as something that wasn't the cheapest, but it would be light weight for me to use to trim the weeds around my home. Well, after using this weed eater for one season, the weed eater started smoking and then flames shot out of the head of it. Although I love fireworks on the 4th of July, this incident on the 2nd of July just didn't cut it for me and the fireworks. Not only did I have problems with the fire, but trying to change the spindal out made it quite difficutl to use....do not buy ....save the money and find something of better quality!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babyblues301968
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I AGREE, THIS IS A WORTHLESS PIECE OF JUNK!!!
10/4/2011

Customer review by TERICJ1127

1.0 stars 10/4/2011 by TERICJ1127
by TERICJ1127

This is a worthless piece of junk. I spent so much time trying to do my yard that I just gave up. I wished that I had never bought this. WARNING TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A WEED EATER, DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TERICJ1127
CULPEPER, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
It's Okay
6/9/2010

Customer review by GrassCutterTX

2.0 stars 6/9/2010 by GrassCutterTX
by GrassCutterTX

The trimmer does a good job but replacing the trimmer line is difficult and time consuming. The instructions in the owners manual to manually feed the string is difficult to follow and the string does not automatically feed after you replace it. Wal Mart only carries the replacement string and not the replacement spools for this model. If you buy this trimmer order the replacement spool from Weed Eater you will save yourself alot of time and head ache.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrassCutterTX
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/24/2011

Customer review by LathropHomeowner

1.0 stars 9/24/2011 by LathropHomeowner
by LathropHomeowner

This product is one reason people don't work on their yards. I've used it 3 times and it ran out of line on the 3rd try. Bought some new line, which the clerk said was the root of my trouble. The line breaks every 3 feet while edging causing you to remove the cap and manually feed the line through. My neighbor grimaces (or laughs) evertime he hears the fequency change on the weedeater (line eater). He knows it just broke. I should have read the reviews first. What a piece of junk!!! I will say it does one thing very good. It flys 30 feet further than it can edge without breaking. Here's a usage tip "Use something else".

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LathropHomeowner
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/20/2010

Customer review by roadtripbound

4.0 stars 6/20/2010 by roadtripbound
by roadtripbound

After 10 years, I'm having to replace my weedeater... and I am buying the same model, mainly because it's easy to use. Yes, it has it's challenges with repacing the line & the line feed, but it's dependable & lightweight (compared to the gas models).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roadtripbound
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Light duty product only
5/26/2012

Customer review by SusanC2000

2.0 stars 5/26/2012 by SusanC2000
by SusanC2000

I have a '75 x 175 foot piece of land. With all the rain we got last year and this spring, it's been hard to find a dry day to trim the ditch running along side my property. So the weeds get fairly high by the time I can get to them. I am sure with a small flat piece of property this product would be a good product to use. But if you have a large piece of land or you have ditches or uneven property to deal with or you live in an area that has had a lot of rain, allowing for overgrowth of weeds, I don't recommend this product. One, the cord sometimes slips off the product and you have to plug the cord back in. Two, you constantly have to stop and manually feed the string because the string doesn't feed properly (this is a BIG headache). Also, I had it only two years and this season the motor burned out. I'm not sure if it was due to the tall weeds or because I couldn't wait any longer for the ditch to dry, the weeds had to come down. So it might have been over worked or maybe isn't designed to handle damp weeds. This product is only designed for light use. Not heavy duty. It's true what they say, you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SusanC2000
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Not worth the effort and price!
8/4/2012

Customer review by SFmaster

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by SFmaster
by SFmaster

I spent almost 2 hours using this weed wacker stopping every 2 minutes to take it apart to pull out the string to chop down my weeds.... The string is of uber-poor quality and is melted together or twisted so it will not advance. Once I put it away and just pulled weeds by hand the job was done much faster. I will be returning this item because of is poor quality and a waist of time and money. I hate to give a bad review and can blame it on the spool line but, because of the time restraints on returning and testing an item, my overall view has to be negative, because I was not given enough time to try multiple spools of string. Im sure the motor will continue to run and do its job but if the string spool will not advance what good is it? This also brings up the use of string. I own less than 1/4 acher, half of that is domicile, the other half of that is drive way and is paved. The rest is where weed and grass grow up through the cracks. So, this is a very small portion of land needing to be trimmed.... I used almost an entire spool and was not even able to finish my job without hand picking. The string is of poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SFmaster
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/15/2012

Customer review by LillyMarie

1.0 stars 3/15/2012 by LillyMarie
by LillyMarie

I have bought Weed Eater brands for many years but now I am searching for one like they used to make. I despise having to keep winding the string on & taking it apart to get it unstuck. Getting no more than 4 to 5 ft. at a time. Disgusting. GO BASCK TO THE CARTRIDGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LillyMarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
WASTE OF MONEY!
8/19/2011

Customer review by Okiedokie2011

1.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Okiedokie2011
by Okiedokie2011

I bought this to replace our OLD Weed Eater brand weed eater and I am extremely disappointed! I wish I would've read the reviews before purchasing, lesson learned. I would give it 0 stars if that was possible. I share the sentiment of others who have issues with the auto feeding, not being able to reload the line, and I wish it had the tap mechanism like the old reliable one did. I almost threw this in the creek behind our house the last time I used it because I was SOOOO frustrated!! I have used it 3 times and will not use it again. It adds at least 1-2 hours on my yard work time which means less time to relax and enjoy my beautiful yard when it's done...I HATE THIS WEED EATER and I don't ever use the word HATE. Please save your money, read reviews and save yourself a big headache!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Okiedokie2011
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Its reliable
6/5/2010

Customer review by slimman123

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by slimman123
by slimman123

I just bought this to clean up my yard, and it works like it says. I was able cut those ugly grassy weeds on the side of my house with no problem.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slimman123
San Diego,CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
junk
6/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

returned product within 3 hours,auto line feed does not work,great in theory but horrible design, absolute piece of junk more reviews will reveal lack of quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great if you want to be irritated
8/8/2011

Customer review by MamaB0219

1.0 stars 8/8/2011 by MamaB0219
by MamaB0219

worked so-so until the original spool ran out. you can't rewire the spool - it keeps coming undone. It does not auto-feed the way they say it should. It works the best when using as a edger. I had less issues with the wire getting caught inside and needing to take the thing apart to make it work. I do not believe this will last until next season. I may break it out of frustration well before then. I would not recommend this product to anyone and wish we would have read the reviews before we went to get a trimmer. I gladly would have paid more $$ to be less irritated by using this thing!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaB0219
Akron OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews