Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

35 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

35 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

20%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
26
1-20 of 35 total reviews
20%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
Ended up as road kill . . .
7/25/2010

Customer review by jltdubs

1.0 stars 7/25/2010 by jltdubs
by jltdubs

My husband bought this piece of junk a couple months ago, but I noticed the trimming never was done. Now he's on active duty, so I asked him about the trimming, and he said he only trims about once to every six times he mows. I decided to trim a bit after I finished mowing today. I got out the trimmer and started . . . and it worked fine for about 30 seconds. The line jammed, so I read the instruction booklet, and followed what it said, hoping for the auto line feed to work. It didn't. It jammed, crammed, and glued the line together inside (this is the line that came with it). I tried to get along with the trimmer, but after it failed for about the 15th time, I launched it into the street. I picked it up and launched it again--several times, until it broke into many pieces. Mechanical road kill (it's in the trash now). I think my husband didn't want to admit that he had bought a worthless piece of cheap junk. Somehow, I feel better, except that I contributed to the ecological nightmare of a throwaway society . . .

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jltdubs
Marysville, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
USELESS
7/16/2010

Customer review by 1950willys

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by 1950willys
by 1950willys

PURCHASED THIS WEEDEATER TO REPLACE AN RT-112 THAT HAD SERVED WELL FOR 5-6 YEARS AND SIMPLY WORE OUT. SINCE IT HAD DONE SO WELL I WENT WITH WEEDEATER BRAND AGAIN. THIS WAS ONLY ONE IN STOCK. FIRST USE IT WOULDN'T SELF FEED. SO I WENT BACK TO OLD ONE. THE OLD ONE FINALLY DIED TODAY SO I GOT THE SHINEY NEW ONE BACK OUT. NEEDLESS TO SAY WITHIN THREE MINUTES AND MANUALLY HAVING TO PULL STRING OUT MY NEIGHBORS SAW AN ADULT TEMPER TANTRUM COMPLETE WITH A WEEDEATER SMASHING LIKE A ROCK STAR. LESSON LEARNED......NO MORE BRAND LOYALTY.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1950willys
ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Very Poor Review
8/1/2010

Customer review by TNWildRose

1.0 stars 8/1/2010 by TNWildRose
by TNWildRose

This is the most worthless weed eater I've ever used. The automatic feed does not work!!!! You use more time flipping the head up to push the button & pull to get more line manually than you do weed eating. The line breaks if you bump the slightest thing. This is a total thumbs down! Put this one in the back of the garage. For $40 more I ended up getting a Black & Decker GrassHog XP! Absolutely love it!!! Did my whole yard, didn't slow down for anything. It automatic feed, dual line. Most power an electric weed eater could have. Eats up roots & dirt, and without breaking the line that comes on it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNWildRose
Lenoir City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
horrible
4/22/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/22/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Horrible weedeater...very cheap..but after about 2 feet of cutting you have to stop, lift it up and manually take out line...takes about 3 times too long.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Dissapointing
4/30/2010

Customer review by VALUESHOPPER1214

1.0 stars 4/30/2010 by VALUESHOPPER1214
by VALUESHOPPER1214

Automatic line feed does not work, very frustrating. Avoid this product at all cost, it's a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VALUESHOPPER1214
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Weed Eater Twist 'N Edge 13"
6/11/2016

Customer review by Jack

3.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Jack
by Jack
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to admit, I am a novice with this type of tool. I have only used it once but I have to say, it was a challenge and the challenge was with the automatic feed line. It kept jamming and I would have to remove the spool to release the lineat somehow was stuck inside the spool. I called customer service to ask them what the issue could be but they offered no practical advice and told me to take it to an authorize company for repair. The closest of these companies said they didn't service electric trimmers. When the weed eater worked it did the job just fine but the jamming issue with the line was very frustrating

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jack
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
eats weeds well
5/18/2016

Customer review by Debby

4.0 stars 5/18/2016 by Debby
by Debby

for as little as it is , it does a great job and was easy to handle..

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debby
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor performance
4/24/2010

Customer review by TheBrewman

1.0 stars 4/24/2010 by TheBrewman
by TheBrewman

It says automatic line feed, but only way to get line out is to manually do it. This one does not allow to bump and feed more lne. Very time comsuming

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBrewman
St Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of time!
5/19/2010

Customer review by DancingQueen24

1.0 stars 5/19/2010 by DancingQueen24
by DancingQueen24

Do not buy this. I live in a townhome with a small yard, during first use this thing went up in smoke. Now I must take it back, I guess you get what you pay for. Also if you are tall, then this will not work for you. You have to hunch over to use it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DancingQueen24
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
..it only half works..
8/3/2010

Customer review by LLLGB

1.0 stars 8/3/2010 by LLLGB
by LLLGB

Buy this for just a weed eater and not an edger. It is a decent weed eater for the price, very powerful and very noisy. One problem I have weed eating is frequently the line will come out of the outlet eye and I have to stop to fix it at least 5 times doing my yard. Don ' even think about using it for an edger. The above mentioned problem happens the second I try to edge, every single time, so it is pretty useless for that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LLLGB
AV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
worst piece of garbage
5/5/2010

Customer review by JohnGPB

1.0 stars 5/5/2010 by JohnGPB
by JohnGPB

I had a Weedeater 12 for 13 years and it was excellent. It wore out and the closest replacement was this. I have gone through 4 rolls of string in the time I used one roll with the old trimmer. This "New" design stinks as it forces you to sit down and manually pull the string out each time the string breaks. I will never buy a Weed Eater again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnGPB
Bastrop, La.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This model is not like older model
9/3/2015

Customer review by EarnTheRightToLiveHere

1.0 stars 9/3/2015 by EarnTheRightToLiveHere
by EarnTheRightToLiveHere

If you purchase this thinking you're replacing your old WeedEater you're NOT. My WeedEater Brand only last a year but I love them, they're economical. I live on volcanic rock, so I do not use the guard. It is NOT an auto feed. It feeds when you start it up but you must have the guard on to have it cut the line. The spool cap will crack in no time. I'm use to the WeedEater brand, I've always gotten them in the past. I buy one about every year. They stand up to rugged use, they get the job done and cut through some tuff stuff, they work great. WHY do they always make things new but not necessarily better? This model will not work for me on the rock and will not work without the guard. This has a yellow button on the spool. You have to wait for it to stop spinning, push the button until you have the desired line length, which means stopping, waiting, lifting machine up, pushing button and oh yes lets commence and do this every 20 seconds or less. My land a 1/2 an acre will never get done. The other model takes a beating and I mean a beating. I will continue with the brand and this company but hope I can find the other model. It did say auto feed, which is a little misleading, as it's not the tap auto feed so beware.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EarnTheRightToLiveHere
Would recommend to a friend? No
Yes Junk!
7/15/2010

Customer review by Ultimatesoccermomof3

1.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Ultimatesoccermomof3
by Ultimatesoccermomof3

Worst ever! Doesn't feed the line....or feeds too much. Very frustrating to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ultimatesoccermomof3
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
A Cult String Trimmer
7/25/2010

Customer review by AJHMo

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by AJHMo
by AJHMo

For the money this string trimmer ROCKS. Disclaimer: Do not expect this thing to perform auto feed. There is a manual push feed button on the spool.Expect this to work 20% of the time. Just realize that you will need to take off the spool cap and manually feed line through the hole. So why did I give it 5 stars? Well, for one, the motor on this is very powerful and cutting is a breeze. For the $28. and change I paid for this in the local store, I knew what I was getting before I purchased. Given that my $100 gas string trimmer is broken, and I weed whack a couple of times a year, this inexpensive replacement, is more than adequate. Are there better units out there? I'm sure there is...but for the money, this model with it's inherent quirks is just fine. Just don't expect a Mercedes at a Yugo price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AJHMo
Washington, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/23/2010

Customer review by texexnv

1.0 stars 5/23/2010 by texexnv
by texexnv

Right out of the box it would not feed the line. After about an hour of agonizing use THE HEAD BROKE RIGHT OFF THE SHAFT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
texexnv
NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Terrible Product
7/26/2010

Customer review by MizzJaylynn

1.0 stars 7/26/2010 by MizzJaylynn
by MizzJaylynn

I originally bought this product because of the low price. I had difficulty putting the blade on. Once I got that fixed it was downhill from there. I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased it. It is a pain in the neck to use. The line keeps getting caught and you have to keep manually pulling it out. It is such a hassle and definitely not user friendly. I am very disappointed in the poor quality and would not recommend this to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MizzJaylynn
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
piece of junk
7/10/2010

Customer review by walmart3210

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by walmart3210
by walmart3210

Will throw this prodect away. The automatic line dispenser only causes the line to be replaced several times per summer. I cannot believe Weed Eater marketed this poor design. I either spent time trying to pull the line out of the spool, or respooling the line after running out with limited use. I will never buy a weedeater product again. The one I had growing up was much higher quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmart3210
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
decent trimmer
7/4/2011

Customer review by gadgetman2000

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by gadgetman2000
by gadgetman2000

I read the reviews of others before purchasing....and still made the purchase. for the price it is a very decent trimmer. if you have a very big yard and have a lot of trimming to do, then this prob isn't the trimmer for you. but my yard isn't big and this trimmer is lite weight and easy to use. I have problems walking and can get off balance easily. this trimmer is quite easy to use and because it is lite weight i don't have a problem using it. it does a very good job trimming around my fence and up next to my house and around shrubs and trees. I recommend reading the guide before using as most of the other reviewers prob didn't. i have not had a bad problem with the line needing to be restrung thru the eylet and the the auto feed works fine ...if you follow the directions! I recommend this trimmer for anyone. my 16 and 20 year old daughters can use this item too with ease.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gadgetman2000
Ada, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
I should have read the reviews...
7/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

... but I was desparate to finish the yard work and my old reliable Weedeater finally died after yerars of faithful service. This one started off good but the automatic line feeder is a joke and quit feeding altogether. I'll be looking for another brand that has the tap function..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Monumental piece of garbage
5/27/2011

Customer review by thevanillalady

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by thevanillalady
by thevanillalady

I wish I could give this less than a "1". DO NOT buy this. It does not feed, and the original line AND the replacement spool are GARBAGE! The line lasts for less than 30 seconds before you have to turn it upside down, open it up, MANUALLY feed the line through, and start all over! My yard is about 15' x 30'. It took me close to an hour and an ENTIRE spool of line to cut less than 30' linear feet of edge! Too bad for me that I bought this last summer, and can no longer return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thevanillalady
Taylor, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews