Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

32 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

1.5 stars

32 reviews | 1.7 out of 5

19%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
25
1-20 of 32 total reviews
19%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
USELESS
7/16/2010

Customer review by 1950willys

1.0 stars 7/16/2010 by 1950willys
by 1950willys

PURCHASED THIS WEEDEATER TO REPLACE AN RT-112 THAT HAD SERVED WELL FOR 5-6 YEARS AND SIMPLY WORE OUT. SINCE IT HAD DONE SO WELL I WENT WITH WEEDEATER BRAND AGAIN. THIS WAS ONLY ONE IN STOCK. FIRST USE IT WOULDN'T SELF FEED. SO I WENT BACK TO OLD ONE. THE OLD ONE FINALLY DIED TODAY SO I GOT THE SHINEY NEW ONE BACK OUT. NEEDLESS TO SAY WITHIN THREE MINUTES AND MANUALLY HAVING TO PULL STRING OUT MY NEIGHBORS SAW AN ADULT TEMPER TANTRUM COMPLETE WITH A WEEDEATER SMASHING LIKE A ROCK STAR. LESSON LEARNED......NO MORE BRAND LOYALTY.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1950willys
ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
horrible
4/22/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/22/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Horrible weedeater...very cheap..but after about 2 feet of cutting you have to stop, lift it up and manually take out line...takes about 3 times too long.

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor performance
4/24/2010

Customer review by TheBrewman

1.0 stars 4/24/2010 by TheBrewman
by TheBrewman

It says automatic line feed, but only way to get line out is to manually do it. This one does not allow to bump and feed more lne. Very time comsuming

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBrewman
St Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Dissapointing
4/30/2010

Customer review by VALUESHOPPER1214

1.0 stars 4/30/2010 by VALUESHOPPER1214
by VALUESHOPPER1214

Automatic line feed does not work, very frustrating. Avoid this product at all cost, it's a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VALUESHOPPER1214
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Poor Review
8/1/2010

Customer review by TNWildRose

1.0 stars 8/1/2010 by TNWildRose
by TNWildRose

This is the most worthless weed eater I've ever used. The automatic feed does not work!!!! You use more time flipping the head up to push the button & pull to get more line manually than you do weed eating. The line breaks if you bump the slightest thing. This is a total thumbs down! Put this one in the back of the garage. For $40 more I ended up getting a Black & Decker GrassHog XP! Absolutely love it!!! Did my whole yard, didn't slow down for anything. It automatic feed, dual line. Most power an electric weed eater could have. Eats up roots & dirt, and without breaking the line that comes on it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNWildRose
Lenoir City, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
worst piece of garbage
5/5/2010

Customer review by JohnGPB

1.0 stars 5/5/2010 by JohnGPB
by JohnGPB

I had a Weedeater 12 for 13 years and it was excellent. It wore out and the closest replacement was this. I have gone through 4 rolls of string in the time I used one roll with the old trimmer. This "New" design stinks as it forces you to sit down and manually pull the string out each time the string breaks. I will never buy a Weed Eater again.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnGPB
Bastrop, La.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Waste of time!
5/19/2010

Customer review by DancingQueen24

1.0 stars 5/19/2010 by DancingQueen24
by DancingQueen24

Do not buy this. I live in a townhome with a small yard, during first use this thing went up in smoke. Now I must take it back, I guess you get what you pay for. Also if you are tall, then this will not work for you. You have to hunch over to use it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DancingQueen24
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5/23/2010

Customer review by texexnv

1.0 stars 5/23/2010 by texexnv
by texexnv

Right out of the box it would not feed the line. After about an hour of agonizing use THE HEAD BROKE RIGHT OFF THE SHAFT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texexnv
NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Yes Junk!
7/15/2010

Customer review by Ultimatesoccermomof3

1.0 stars 7/15/2010 by Ultimatesoccermomof3
by Ultimatesoccermomof3

Worst ever! Doesn't feed the line....or feeds too much. Very frustrating to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ultimatesoccermomof3
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
..it only half works..
8/3/2010

Customer review by LLLGB

1.0 stars 8/3/2010 by LLLGB
by LLLGB

Buy this for just a weed eater and not an edger. It is a decent weed eater for the price, very powerful and very noisy. One problem I have weed eating is frequently the line will come out of the outlet eye and I have to stop to fix it at least 5 times doing my yard. Don ' even think about using it for an edger. The above mentioned problem happens the second I try to edge, every single time, so it is pretty useless for that.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LLLGB
AV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Monumental piece of garbage
5/27/2011

Customer review by thevanillalady

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by thevanillalady
by thevanillalady

I wish I could give this less than a "1". DO NOT buy this. It does not feed, and the original line AND the replacement spool are GARBAGE! The line lasts for less than 30 seconds before you have to turn it upside down, open it up, MANUALLY feed the line through, and start all over! My yard is about 15' x 30'. It took me close to an hour and an ENTIRE spool of line to cut less than 30' linear feet of edge! Too bad for me that I bought this last summer, and can no longer return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thevanillalady
Taylor, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
I should have read the reviews...
7/27/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/27/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

... but I was desparate to finish the yard work and my old reliable Weedeater finally died after yerars of faithful service. This one started off good but the automatic line feeder is a joke and quit feeding altogether. I'll be looking for another brand that has the tap function..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
A Cult String Trimmer
7/25/2010

Customer review by AJHMo

5.0 stars 7/25/2010 by AJHMo
by AJHMo

For the money this string trimmer ROCKS. Disclaimer: Do not expect this thing to perform auto feed. There is a manual push feed button on the spool.Expect this to work 20% of the time. Just realize that you will need to take off the spool cap and manually feed line through the hole. So why did I give it 5 stars? Well, for one, the motor on this is very powerful and cutting is a breeze. For the $28. and change I paid for this in the local store, I knew what I was getting before I purchased. Given that my $100 gas string trimmer is broken, and I weed whack a couple of times a year, this inexpensive replacement, is more than adequate. Are there better units out there? I'm sure there is...but for the money, this model with it's inherent quirks is just fine. Just don't expect a Mercedes at a Yugo price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJHMo
Washington, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Ended up as road kill . . .
7/25/2010

Customer review by jltdubs

1.0 stars 7/25/2010 by jltdubs
by jltdubs

My husband bought this piece of junk a couple months ago, but I noticed the trimming never was done. Now he's on active duty, so I asked him about the trimming, and he said he only trims about once to every six times he mows. I decided to trim a bit after I finished mowing today. I got out the trimmer and started . . . and it worked fine for about 30 seconds. The line jammed, so I read the instruction booklet, and followed what it said, hoping for the auto line feed to work. It didn't. It jammed, crammed, and glued the line together inside (this is the line that came with it). I tried to get along with the trimmer, but after it failed for about the 15th time, I launched it into the street. I picked it up and launched it again--several times, until it broke into many pieces. Mechanical road kill (it's in the trash now). I think my husband didn't want to admit that he had bought a worthless piece of cheap junk. Somehow, I feel better, except that I contributed to the ecological nightmare of a throwaway society . . .

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jltdubs
Marysville, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
piece of junk
7/10/2010

Customer review by walmart3210

1.0 stars 7/10/2010 by walmart3210
by walmart3210

Will throw this prodect away. The automatic line dispenser only causes the line to be replaced several times per summer. I cannot believe Weed Eater marketed this poor design. I either spent time trying to pull the line out of the spool, or respooling the line after running out with limited use. I will never buy a weedeater product again. The one I had growing up was much higher quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmart3210
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
worst weed eater ever
7/11/2010

Customer review by mbsh

1.0 stars 7/11/2010 by mbsh
by mbsh

Automatic string feeder doesn't work. I spend more time turning the weed eater upside down to get more string out than I do actually trimming. I am not exagerating when I say I can't trim more than 30 seconds at a time before I have to manually feed more string and that usually consist of taking the spool apart to dig out the string. I wouldn't waste the gas money to go pick one up if they were giving them away.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mbsh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Piece of junk!!!
7/11/2010

Customer review by GuessOne

1.0 stars 7/11/2010 by GuessOne
by GuessOne

This thing is horrible!!! The line doesn't automatically feed so you have to keep manually pulling more line out. It was used for the third time today and the guard came completely off and WalMart doesn't carry replacement parts so now it's garbage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GuessOne
Would recommend to a friend? No
You get what you pay for!
7/11/2010

Customer review by ChampagneTasteLowBudget

1.0 stars 7/11/2010 by ChampagneTasteLowBudget
by ChampagneTasteLowBudget

Buyer beware! I can't say anymore than the other reviewers so heed their warning and spend a little more to get a better quality trimmer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChampagneTasteLowBudget
Powder Springs, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Terrible Product
7/26/2010

Customer review by MizzJaylynn

1.0 stars 7/26/2010 by MizzJaylynn
by MizzJaylynn

I originally bought this product because of the low price. I had difficulty putting the blade on. Once I got that fixed it was downhill from there. I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased it. It is a pain in the neck to use. The line keeps getting caught and you have to keep manually pulling it out. It is such a hassle and definitely not user friendly. I am very disappointed in the poor quality and would not recommend this to anyone else.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MizzJaylynn
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
very light and easy to use
7/22/2010

Customer review by sunperch

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by sunperch
by sunperch

I LOVE this product. I bought it to replace a old trimmer that had and I have not use my old one since. The handle is just the right height and I like that it is a two in one product, so you don't have to buy two separate tools. I have enjoyed and used mine going on two years now.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sunperch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews