Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

84 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 73 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
Easy instant on/off saw for fast trimming
9/11/2013

Customer review by schoolbussafety

4.0 stars 9/11/2013 by schoolbussafety
by schoolbussafety

My Mrs. does not like trying to start and use our power saw. This Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw has turned out perfect for her use. I like it as well for quick small jobs around the property. No mixing fuel, no winterizing other than some cleaning per say. Just plug it in for instant on/off operation. We use this saw to clear thicker diameter brush, cut branches, and fall small tress, doing so without all the noise my power saw produces. My gas chain saw was hard to restart after warmed up, and mixing oil with fresh gas was annoying, time consuming, and a fire hazard. I especially like this saw when on a ladder cutting off limbs -- very light and easy to manage, but follow all safety precautions when in a tree. Ladders and saws used together are dangerous. Lost my uncle when he did not properly position himself and his ladder while cutting a large limb. He fell and broke his neck. Search the Internet on this topic, study and fully understand how to safely fall large tree limbs or hire an expert. This electric chain saw is not as fast as my power saw when cutting down trees. I've fallen up to 12" diameter trees with this saw. The saw does fine when not pushed while cutting these larger sizes. When cutting brush and limbs from trees it is best to wear boots, jeans, a long sleeve shirt, eye protection, and gloves. Keep the saw's chain lubricated, properly adjusted, the teeth sharp, and go easy during the cut. Super for bucking limbs. A 2HP motor would probably been a bit better for larger limbs, but the 1.5HP motor does the job ... just don't push this saw. I have a 2000-watt inverter generator, can go anywhere on the property with this saw. Uses about 800 watts from the generator making this saw useful anywhere on the property and when out in the woods. When cutting up fallen limbs for firewood a homemade saw horse made out of scrap 2x4's is useful for keeping the limbs off the ground and stable while cutting. Works best with two people but can also use a heavier duty bungee cord to secure the limb to the saw horse while cutting - (see photos). I made my sawhorse to fit in the lawnmower trailer for transport around the property. The saw does seem to leak chain oil when stored, a problem when not expecting that to happen. If this is a common problem with this saw it may be best to empty the chain oil reservoir when storing. Again, read all safety precautions when falling trees and bucking limbs. What might seem safe enough can suddenly become very dangerous. Too many have been seriously injured or worse when not knowing the proper methods and trying to cut too much tree or a large limb from a tree. It is essential to understand what you are doing and how your cutting will affect the tree or a limb's behavior. ~ jkraemer

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
schoolbussafety
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just the ticket! Can't beat the price!!
7/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed to cut down and remove a couple of small trees and some heavy evergreen brush. This saw performed flawlessly thru 3-4 days of moderately heavy use. I had to tighten the chain once and it was good as new. Easy chain adjustment. I would definately recommend this chainsaw for the value and performance.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Los Angeles County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
9/15/2013

Customer review by lovemywifeman

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by lovemywifeman
by lovemywifeman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

wife bought this for me, had to cut a 21 ince diameter pine tree down, about 60-65 feet tall, had a 18 inch poulan gas chain saw too, the 18 inch gas broke about 2 mins into cut, nothing new with that thing, anyway long story short, i used this 14 inch electric to cut down and cut up the whole tree in about 7 hours, this saw really impressed me , got it to just trim a few branches here and there and it ended up doing more than the 18 inch gas poulan, the only downside to this saw is minor, do not put bar oil in it until you are getting ready to use it, read other reviews on this saw and most other people agree, it will leak out, other than that i would highly recommend this saw, i know that if you buy one like the one i have, you will be amazed at the cutting power, and by the way, after all the cutting that was done, the chain is still sharp, love this saw

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovemywifeman
shelby,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Mighty Mighty Little Chainsaw
4/25/2011

Customer review by SkyPeace

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by SkyPeace
by SkyPeace

Needed to cut some tress and clear a bit of land on our property. Really didn't need a big saw and didn't want to deal with gas and oil mixtures so I shopped around and found this Poulan. I had been a Union Carpenter during a stage of my youth and remembered the French Canadian Carpenters loved this brand so I gave it a try. This exceeded my expectations by not only handling all the brush and pruning but I went ahead once I got used to it and fell a couple of goodly sized trees. Even when dropping one of the good sized tress the saw got stuck and I had to actually push the tree over and the chain came lose but when I put it back on and tighten it up she purred like a kitten. Love this little saw best $47 bucks ever spent. Bought the Poulan oil and sharpening files to go with it. Cleans up and sharpens easily.

Was this review helpful? (92) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkyPeace
Connecticut, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
WOW
3/4/2010

Customer review by BlythevilleGuy

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by BlythevilleGuy
by BlythevilleGuy
Top 100 contributor

This saw is easy. First you unpack it, put some lubracating oil in it, pump the oil button a couple times then plug it in and start cutting. It sounds not like a gas chain saw, it sounds like a power saw, not loud at all. It is so light weight you will love it. It cuts limbs around a foot round with no problem, it also cuts/trims bushes & hedges. I only needed to cut a few tree limbs and i ended up cutting even my neighbors trees. It is so easy to use and handle, your suppose to pump the oil button after each cut you do but i only pumped it after every 4 or 5 cuts i did, each time you push/pump the oil button that lubracates the chain saw blade. NOTE: It does not come with the lubracating oil so make sure you also buy a bottle unless you already have some at home, any lubracating small engine oil will really work. Also, make sure you have a long enough extension cord to plug into it so you can cut whatever your going to cut. Also, It states on the box and in the manual that you should not return it to the place of purchase but instead to one of its dealers, i think walmart would still take it back tho. But you will love this saw and won't need to take it back. Good thing about this is that it will start each and evrytime you turn it on because it is electric.

Was this review helpful? (210) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlythevilleGuy
Blytheville, Ark.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Top 100 contributor
Poulan 14" Electric Chain Saw
10/7/2010

Customer review by DoninMedford

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by DoninMedford
by DoninMedford

I found this at my local WalMart for less than other stores "sale prices". The box said it was great for limbing and pruning and it does that very well. It trimmed allot of over grown trees on the edges of the property in a very short time. Its mostly plastic so its not a heavy duty luberjack type saw, but for the price it does its job well. Since as a home owner in the city, the saw will only get used once or twice a year, I didn't want to mess with tuneups and old fuel every year with a gas powered chain saw. This electric chain saw fits my needs perfectly. The price was the cheapest I could find on the exact same model! My friends are all ready wanting to use it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DoninMedford
South Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
It's a Great Saw
5/3/2010

Customer review by Graff1967

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by Graff1967
by Graff1967

Once I received my saw I was hesitant of actually using it, but after I reviewed the owner's manual, I said what the heck lets go to work! The saw was easy to use and works wonderfully, it made my mission of clearing small trees and shrubs from my yard a piece of cake. I love it and can't wait to use it again. For the price it can't be beat. Being electric it is nice not having to worry about gas/oil to keep it running.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graff1967
Lexington Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Cheap and Tough
4/23/2014

Customer review by greatgrandpaluvstohelp

4.0 stars 4/23/2014 by greatgrandpaluvstohelp
by greatgrandpaluvstohelp

Gas operated saws make me nervous and even though I have used many types in the past, as an old timer now I wanted something to do some, somewhat small jobs without having to worry about gas and oil mixture or weight, or throwing my arm out pull staring it. Well this little power house was just what I needed. Removed two stumps in my yard and though the blade did get dull and I found it hard to find a replacement on line or in stores I did get one in Lowes. It is an Oregon brand and it will not say the name Poulan on the front it will show this Poulans model number on the back of the box. Just remember the link total for the fourteen inch is LESS than FIFTY. The Oregon was a perfect match and saved me the buying of a chain on line and paying tax and postage that would of been half the price of a new saw. All in all a good saw.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatgrandpaluvstohelp
Roanoke, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
6/19/2011

Customer review by willnotacceptanythingiput

1.0 stars 6/19/2011 by willnotacceptanythingiput
by willnotacceptanythingiput

Great saw, but still unable to find a replacement blade. Even Pouland can not match any of the numbers.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
willnotacceptanythingiput
Bossier City, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great chainsaw for small to medium sized trees.
4/17/2014

Customer review by AxeWoman

4.0 stars 4/17/2014 by AxeWoman
by AxeWoman

I bought this chainsaw to clear a lot of brush. I'm a woman that has never used a chainsaw and thought that it would be small enough for me to handle. To my surprise, this saw is easy to use and cuts larger trees than I ever expected. In some of the other reviews, people complained of the oil leaking. It did leak the first few times that I used it, but it no longer leaks. My husband has used chainsaws for years. He tightens the chain for me after every 5 to 6 hours of use or I have cut down a tree that is too big for the saw and me. Over all, this chainsaw was well worth the $50.00 that I spent on it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AxeWoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cuts slowly, but it does cut.
1/26/2013

Customer review by n2metals

3.0 stars 1/26/2013 by n2metals
by n2metals
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I expected more from a Poulan even if it was a small electric saw. It is fairly quiet, but that is the best I can say for it. It cut tree limbs slowly, and I found myself trying to help it along by moving the chain back and forth like I would a non-motorized limbsaw blade. It does dribble oil on the chain, which is better than having to do it yourself, but it will make a mess every time you set it down. The chain gets hot and loose after about half an hour of use, so you will need tools to tighten it near you. Sort of like cutting fresh bread with a dull knife. I just needed to clean up some limbs a recent storm blew down, so it served my purpose and I do not regret buying it. It was cheaper than paying someone to do it, and it was a little easier than using a hand saw.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
n2metals
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Makes you feel like a pro!
4/19/2010

Customer review by ALWAYSINTHEWALMART

5.0 stars 4/19/2010 by ALWAYSINTHEWALMART
by ALWAYSINTHEWALMART

I am a shorty, just over five feet, and the acre of property I have had overgrown for over two years, I couldnt even mow grass or move about for trees and branches and palmettos, .........and this cut thru the small trees like butter. With my safety glasses and gloves it cut the work like butter as well, what was taking me an hour took ten minutes........that was until the chain slipped, now that was a bit of an aggravation but..........still overall, it comes out of the box ready for some oil and to get the job started and so easy to handle even an novice like myself felt like I had been clearing land all my life. Worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? (41) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALWAYSINTHEWALMART
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
poulan electric chainsaw
8/8/2010

Customer review by grammato3

4.0 stars 8/8/2010 by grammato3
by grammato3

Love this chainsaw. Easy to use. The only problem is finding replacement blade or right size file to sharpen blade.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grammato3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Mine works great
12/9/2011

Customer review by rmdobs

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by rmdobs
by rmdobs

I bought my poulan 14 inch chainsaw 11 years ago and it still works like new. I am still using the original bar and chain because I take good care of it. The one I have is model EL-14 patriot I paid $50 for. The one I have is a 12 amp so I am not sure about this 8 amp. version. I do not see the EL-14 at the store anymore. Poulan does make good saws and these electric ones are good for tree trimming and firewood cutting. They are light weight,less vibration, and quiet compared to gas chainsaws. The only thing I can say negative is I wish it was an automatic oiler. Not sure about the newer ones. Mine is made in the USA and not sure about the newer ones as they are owned by husqvarna now. Only the Poulan Pro is electrolux I think. You will not regret this purchase. Just make sure you learn how to cut with a chainsaw, learn the do's and don'ts. And always be safe.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rmdobs
Bakersfield, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
WONDERFUL!!!! GETS THE JOB DONE!!!!
7/20/2010

Customer review by peg1949

5.0 stars 7/20/2010 by peg1949
by peg1949

I am a 61 year old woman with tons of large tree branches to cut down and cut into managable sizes. Plus i had a huge stump to shave down. I read the directions thoroughly, was very careful, and this product performed beyond my wildest expectations!!!! Easy to operate and easy to tighten the chain, everything about it is wonderful. Don't forget the chain saw oil, made by the same company.

Was this review helpful? (88) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
peg1949
NK, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Be prepared to spend a lot of time to fix chain
8/13/2011

Customer review by 31223

1.0 stars 8/13/2011 by 31223
by 31223

It worked great at first, then after having cut several branches, the chain came off. Oil leaked horribly, dripping around the floor. The plastic oil reservoir and cap is like toy. Make sure you don't tilt it. The manual is not clear about how to fix the chain. Then those tiny screws will definitely give you headache. The blade doesn't move in by just loosening the nuts. The chain adjusting screw takes for ever to barely tighten. The 2 bar nuts are so short that you most probably need extra hands to help fix the nuts in. After spending hours on fixing it, it only cut a few branches before the chain came off again. It's been many times. Annoying! I can't return it because I bought it many months ago and put it aside for quite a while before I started using it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
31223
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
works for me
4/8/2011

Customer review by grandpa918

4.0 stars 4/8/2011 by grandpa918
by grandpa918

because of my health and age, I can no longer pull start the gas motors. This product allows me to trim branches without pulling on a starter rope. I am surprised how strong the chainsaw is.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grandpa918
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT LITTLE ELECTRIC CHAINSAW !!!
11/5/2012

Customer review by BKJ79

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by BKJ79
by BKJ79
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would deff recommend this too people that want to do some tree branch trimming and dont want to purchase a gas chainsaw. It worked great right out of the box. Just added some bar chain oil and grabbed my 50 foot extension cord and had some fun outside (man fun :D lol). This saw did more than just cut limbs 8 in. diameter size ones, It was also used to drop a full size tree too the ground leaving the stump about 3 feet off the ground. The tree was about 25 feet - 30 feet tall. It worked great! As long as you make the appropriate cuts and notches, then cut the tree the rest of the way from behind, it fell too the ground with a big THUMP, all by a little electric chainsaw! I was impressed! Just make sure you have enough cord too get around with :D. Again, I WOULD recommend this too anyone needing a cheap saw that would do the job time and time again. Always make sure it has oil in it, it went thru oil kind of quickly, but its ok, Id rather have an oily saw blade that stays cool and doesnt wear the teeth down as quickly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKJ79
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Amazing little saw for the price. Easy to use!
9/24/2012

Customer review by cervoned

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by cervoned
by cervoned

I purchased this saw to trim bushes that were too thick for my hedge clippers. I am a 5ft tall, 56 year old female who had never used a chain saw before. I couldn't believe how easy it was to handle and how fast I was able to get done with my trimming. I had read other comments complaining about the chain coming off and was a bit unsure about making the purchase. The instructions clearly explain that you must watch the tension on the chain and adjust it frequently when the saw is new. I adjusted it twice during several hours of cutting and never had any problems. I can only assume the other users failed to read the directions and the saw didn't operate properly as a result. After finishing my bushes, I cut two 10 foot tall trees down to about 4 foot tall. I had no problem cutting the 8-9 inch trunks with this saw. One of the best purchases I've ever made!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cervoned
Hendersonville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/2/2012

Customer review by noneone1958

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by noneone1958
by noneone1958

Wow this has a lot of power and would deffenatly recommend to everyone. No gas is the best no stinky smell and fumes all you need is bar oil and electricity and you are ready to rock and roll will go through a pretty good size tree.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noneone1958
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews