Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

99 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
80
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 86 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews
Awesome system for a great price
3/6/2010

Customer review by SincerelyHonest

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by SincerelyHonest
by SincerelyHonest

I have had this computer for almost 2 weeks now, and I absolutely love it. It is super fast. It has enough memory that there is practically no wait time for applications to load or close, or for the computer to start up or shut down. The hard drive capacity is huge, so I don't have to worry about running out of space... and that's great considering I store many pictures, videos, and songs on my computer. The screen is just phenomenal, it's so crisp and clear. The preloaded games are also a plus as well...and they aren't "trial games" either...they can be played as many times as you wish. It's just really a great computer for a great price. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (71) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SincerelyHonest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/22/2010

Customer review by CML1967

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by CML1967
by CML1967

This is my first laptop. I absolutely love it! It boots up fast, navigation is fast, and the picture quality is outstanding! Watching a movie is a wonderful experience on this laptop with it's 17.3 inch screen! My teenagers have beat the heck out of our desktop model, so I bought this laptop for myself. I didn't have any problem purchasing a case for this laptop. Walmart had several cases there, and I paid about $45 for the case. I don't have a problem with the laptop over-heating, so unless I run into this problem, I'm not in any hurry to buy a cooling pad for it. The built-in speakers aren't the greatest, but I had no problem connecting a set of desktop speakers to enhance the sound while watching a movie. Also, if you're not accumstomed to using the touchpad on a laptop, I would suggest you buy a wireless mouse for it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CML1967
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Horrible Selection
6/13/2010

Customer review by Walmartgurl81

3.0 stars 6/13/2010 by Walmartgurl81
by Walmartgurl81

I brought this laptop because my husband and I were competing for the use of our other laptop. I am a student so I needed it the most. We wanted something that would allow us to complete functions as uploading videos and photos, web browsing, and microsoft office functions. Basically a computer for a college student. It worked well for about 1.5 months then the screen started to go out slowly. Product was still under warranty but HP gave me the run around to get it fixed. Spent several day on the phone with HP associates until they finally asked me to send it in for repairs. 1 week later they call telling me that there was internal damage for which the warranty does not cover. The wanted to charge the price of the computer to fix it. This was a total crock. I had an computer technician look at it and he said the video card went out/over heated. This was a defective unit and a waste of money. The company would not cover it under warranty and tried to state the reason was because I damaged the video card. I will never buy another HP again. Don't buy this for your college student

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmartgurl81
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A bit more comprehensive review.
3/9/2010

Customer review by Hansard

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Hansard
by Hansard

I purchased this notebook about 3 weeks ago, at the time there were hardly any reviews or information on this laptop anywhere and I pretty much blindly purchased it and hoped for the best. Well 3 weeks later and there still isn't a lot of notebook; probably because it's only available from Wal-Mart. I'm going to try and answer any questions anyone could have in this review so no one will have to blindly purchase this great machine. I'll start with the screen; it's a 17.3" HP BrightView LED backlit monitor. It's a great screen for the money, about what you'd expect. It's a 16x9 which is a problem for some people but I like it. The keyboard is good, feels pretty fancy. I've got a 75$ diNovo wireless keyboard hooked up to it and comfort wise they are very close. It does have a full number pad. The touchpad is good, I'm not a fan of touchpads so I don't really use it. The speakers are a little weak, which is pretty common on notebooks. I hooked up some good desktop speakers to it and it sounds much better. It has an HDMI out on the computer which works wonderfully the computer automatically swaps the sound to go through the HDMI when it's hooked up that way which is really convenient. I have mine hooked up to a 42" plasma and it looks beautiful. Next I'll go over the hardware. It has 4gb of ram, a dual core 2.1 ghz pentium, hdmi out, Vga out, headphones, Mic, ethernet, a 56k modem, and onboard Intel 4 series graphics which works well for some games but it isn't a gaming machine. I've tried a few newer games out and it won't even run some under the lowest settings. I think there is a website with all supported games somewhere out there. Also it has a lightscribe dvd-rw drive which does what its supposed to do. The battery life is decent, I bought this notebook as a desktop replacement so mine has been on the charger since i got it but it's supposed to have around 3.5 hours of battery. The computer doesn't come with a recovery DVD so you have to use the recovery partition built in, it works but I haven't figured out a way to install without all the branding. I eventually just installed a new copy on it, that's really my only major complaint but I'm a student and I was luckily able to purchase an OEM upgrade win7 disk from Microsoft for cheap. In conclusion I highly recommend this machine, I have been looking for a comparably powerful machine for comparable money and there just isn't much out there that can hang with this thing for near the price. This was my first computer review so I tried to stay point the best I could, thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? (430) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hansard
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/29/2010

Customer review by DensDen

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by DensDen
by DensDen

This is my first laptop and I must say that I am very pleased with this purchase. The other person who left a review stated that her laptop didn't come with a webcam. I was hoping that it was not true. I took a chance and bought it anyway, I am happy to say that my laptop has a webcam installed.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DensDen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/17/2010

Customer review by efitzgerald

4.0 stars 1/17/2010 by efitzgerald
by efitzgerald

I bought this laptop for school and for normal home use. It is super fast and burns cd/dvd like lightning!!! The only problem I have is finding a case that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Another thing was that it said it had a webcam and it doesn't but not that big of a deal. overall it is a great laptop for the price. There are so many features on this laptop that im still finding them.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
efitzgerald
vernon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
2/4/2010

Customer review by mrgrupp

4.0 stars 2/4/2010 by mrgrupp
by mrgrupp

I got this at the black friday sale in 2009 as my Christmas present. It was an incredible value for the money. The last time I purchased a laptop, yo couldn't find them for less than $1000 and be worth owning. The screen is huge, great for playing movies, however the screen finish is glossy, which plays havoc with screen reflections. The case is a glossy black too, but they provide a cleaning cloth to help remove smudges. Those 2 things are my only complaints. It WASN'T loaded with tons of trial ware, but did come preloaded with trial MS Office & Norton Antivirus, which I would say are important. Mine didn't come with a built in webcam, even tho there is a hole in the frame for it, which is the only thing I wish it had. It is really fast and Windows 7 looks great on it (I didn't like Vista).

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrgrupp
Taylors, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny
2/18/2010

Customer review by pokerplayer1

5.0 stars 2/18/2010 by pokerplayer1
by pokerplayer1

I bought this laptop computer and expected nothing to fancy and nice. However when i started it up and started using it i began to enjoy it more and more. I have owned a laptop before and sold it due to not enjoying anything about it other than the freedom of taking it anywhere. I purchased this HP laptop expecting the same outcome and had regrets of purchasing it in the back of my mind but as i started using it i found this to be one of the best i have ever owned so far. It is great for the price and also features windows 7 which is awesome and very user friendly. However if you are looking to buy a carrying case that will be a huge search to find one that this laptop will fit into. I found that HP sells a 18" Targus messenger type carrying case that works great for this pc, but has to be ordered on thier website. Other than that i totally encourage anyone looking for a new laptop to consider this laptop as it is very nice and user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pokerplayer1
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A fun little computer.
2/25/2010

Customer review by JackyB

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by JackyB
by JackyB

This is my first laptop. It far exceeds my expectations for this price range. I did reload the harddrive from the recovery partition and was able to load a clean windows 7 to start out with. I have loaded all my old software and have not had a problem with anything working. Yes it does have a webcam and you will find it when you open the Cyberlink Youcam software that is preloaded on the system. I love this computer.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JackyB
Ovett, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding so far
4/7/2010

Customer review by jonhocakes

4.0 stars 4/7/2010 by jonhocakes
by jonhocakes

While I've only had this computer for several weeks I've been very happy with it. i'll break it down like this: Pro's: Screen is bright, clear, and huge; Keyboard layout and touchpad are functional and large enough so you aren't fumbling over keys like smaller laptops; processor and memory have handled everything I've thrown at it (right now watching netflix in 1 window, this review in a separate browser, & burning a DVD at the same time). Price was right on. HDMI goes into my TV! online streaming through my big TV when I want it! And Windows 7 is great. Con's: speakers are quiet, but I use headphones with their own volume so no issue really; No Windows 7 disc. You can create images and backups but having the discs is just something I like; Cases are more expensive but duh they are going to be larger. I looked at Dell and Acer and this one just seemed like a better choice w/ the HDMI and other great reviews I've seen. It's only been a month but I'm happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jonhocakes
Coldwater, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Laptop!
3/14/2010

Customer review by GeorgiaGADad

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by GeorgiaGADad
by GeorgiaGADad

I searched many stores for this specific laptop until I finally found one about 20 miles away. I'm glad I did! I love everything about this laptop and I really enjoy the Windows 7 platform. If you are looking for a nice laptop, with a HUGE CRYSTAL CLEAR SCREEN, then this is for you. I've been streaming movies from Netflix and it is like having another TV in the house. The webcam is clear as can be and outperforms the $100 logitech webcam I have on my other computer. Also enjoy how it does not come with lots of "junk programs". Only downside is it does attract fingerprints.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgiaGADad
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
excellent laptop for price
2/4/2010

Customer review by mistyf

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by mistyf
by mistyf

for the price of this laptop, you cant go wrong! all the features work flawlessly, and the included software isn't too overwhelming. However my only recommendation is to ditch the antivirus it comes with for microsofts security essentials program, which makes it run even faster due to it integrating into win 7, instead of just reading everything.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mistyf
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/26/2010

Customer review by greatnotebook

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by greatnotebook
by greatnotebook

I have had this notebook for about 3 weeks and I love it. Windows 7 is amazing I love the number pad and I love the fact that it was not over priced! i highly reccomend this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greatnotebook
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product at Great Price
2/23/2010

Customer review by expertwitness

4.0 stars 2/23/2010 by expertwitness
by expertwitness

My older HP laptop passed away early Friday morning leaving me up the old creek. We searched the internet for the best laptop for the money and found it at Walmart. This is a great laptop. We had to drive a little out of the way to pick it up because all of the closer stores had sold out, but it was worth the extra miles. It's fast and does everything I want to while looking terrific. I would not hesitate to recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
expertwitness
Gilbert, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal
2/21/2010

Customer review by nascar2fan

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by nascar2fan
by nascar2fan

This lap top is well worth the low price. I love the windows 7. and i would highly recomend this computer to anyone......love it

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nascar2fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great computer for home and school
5/14/2010

Customer review by bren6176

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by bren6176
by bren6176

Amazing laptop for the money. The speed alone makes it worth every penny. I so love the media center, it is fantastic. The sound is great as well and I love music so it is important to me. I have had no problems with overheating and I am on it from the time I get up until I go to work. All day on my days off. I looked for a couple of months. I needed one in a hurry and found this for $600. A very good deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bren6176
maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice.
2/19/2010

Customer review by iDakota

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by iDakota
by iDakota

This product is very nice, I just received mine today. It is HUGE, in a good way. Perfect to watch movies with, and makes it easier to browse the web with a bigger screen. However, I am not sure if it is my fault in not seeing them, but there are no audio buttons on it, so you have to click the audio icon in the bottom right tray. Which is easy to do, so it doesn't really take away from the laptop. Webcam is nice to have, however its quality is medium, I give the webcam's quality 3/5. Sound could be louder, but it is loud sometimes, depending on what you are watching. I would give sound a rating of 4/5. As big as it is, its thin, not super thin though, it still has thickness to it. Very quite, fast, wish it would be a little faster though. It is 110% worth the price it is, great laptop for its price. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who seeks for a big laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iDakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Soooo happy with my purchase!!!!
4/18/2010

Customer review by Litlen

5.0 stars 4/18/2010 by Litlen
by Litlen

I am 100% happy with this laptop! It took me about 6 months of looking at different laptops and websites to find one that really fit what I wanted. This one not only has everything I need/ want you can't beat the price! This laptop is not very flashy (meaning it doesn't have artwork on it and it is just very simple) so I think that is why it is so "cheap". It is super easy to get set up and going. Even if you're not computer savy. Also, I love all the features on this laptop that the description doesn't mention. If you have any questions just fill out the form on here and HP gets back to you super fast with a very detailed answer. This computer is also very fast! Oh, a lot of people have said things about the speakers, but I find they work great. My husband has watched movies and I have music playing with the pandora free internet that the laptop came with (really happy about that).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Litlen
Fort Leonard Wood, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Good Buy
7/9/2010

Customer review by Roadwarrior026

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by Roadwarrior026
by Roadwarrior026

I purchased this laptop to use in my home-based business as well as for personal use. I looked at Dell, Toshiba and HP. Decided on the HP due to past experience and because of the excellent price. My last laptop, purchased five years ago, cost more than $1,000 and this HP far exceeds the capability of that one. I love the 17" screen and I've found Windows 7 to be user friendly. It has a great keyboard, too, and the 10-key pad is an added bonus as I'm an accountant and tax preparer. I'm not sure about the fact the system uses a recovery partition rather than a disc. A friend had an issue with her recovery partition on a Dell laptop so I'm hoping HP doesn't present the same issues. All in all, I think this laptop is good value for the price. I started using it just over two weeks ago and thus far it has definitely met, and in some cases, exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadwarrior026
Summerfield, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Laptop
6/14/2010

Customer review by Leader10

2.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Leader10
by Leader10

I purchased this computer in February of this year. It was a great buy and worked extremely well until about two months ago. It started overheating and shutting down at least 3 or 4 times a month. In the last week it has crashed daily up to almost four times in one day. I have contacted tech support numerous times and they have been very helpful attempting to correct the issue however the problem still exists. Now I will have to send the laptop in for repairs...Did I mention I am in graduate school online ughhhh! I will not purchase another HP...I'll buy something else in the near future. Be extremely cautious with this model.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leader10
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1-20 of 86 reviews