Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 98 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

98 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-20 of 85 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
A bit more comprehensive review.
3/9/2010

Customer review by Hansard

5.0 stars 3/9/2010 by Hansard
by Hansard

I purchased this notebook about 3 weeks ago, at the time there were hardly any reviews or information on this laptop anywhere and I pretty much blindly purchased it and hoped for the best. Well 3 weeks later and there still isn't a lot of notebook; probably because it's only available from Wal-Mart. I'm going to try and answer any questions anyone could have in this review so no one will have to blindly purchase this great machine. I'll start with the screen; it's a 17.3" HP BrightView LED backlit monitor. It's a great screen for the money, about what you'd expect. It's a 16x9 which is a problem for some people but I like it. The keyboard is good, feels pretty fancy. I've got a 75$ diNovo wireless keyboard hooked up to it and comfort wise they are very close. It does have a full number pad. The touchpad is good, I'm not a fan of touchpads so I don't really use it. The speakers are a little weak, which is pretty common on notebooks. I hooked up some good desktop speakers to it and it sounds much better. It has an HDMI out on the computer which works wonderfully the computer automatically swaps the sound to go through the HDMI when it's hooked up that way which is really convenient. I have mine hooked up to a 42" plasma and it looks beautiful. Next I'll go over the hardware. It has 4gb of ram, a dual core 2.1 ghz pentium, hdmi out, Vga out, headphones, Mic, ethernet, a 56k modem, and onboard Intel 4 series graphics which works well for some games but it isn't a gaming machine. I've tried a few newer games out and it won't even run some under the lowest settings. I think there is a website with all supported games somewhere out there. Also it has a lightscribe dvd-rw drive which does what its supposed to do. The battery life is decent, I bought this notebook as a desktop replacement so mine has been on the charger since i got it but it's supposed to have around 3.5 hours of battery. The computer doesn't come with a recovery DVD so you have to use the recovery partition built in, it works but I haven't figured out a way to install without all the branding. I eventually just installed a new copy on it, that's really my only major complaint but I'm a student and I was luckily able to purchase an OEM upgrade win7 disk from Microsoft for cheap. In conclusion I highly recommend this machine, I have been looking for a comparably powerful machine for comparable money and there just isn't much out there that can hang with this thing for near the price. This was my first computer review so I tried to stay point the best I could, thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? (429) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hansard
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome system for a great price
3/6/2010

Customer review by SincerelyHonest

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by SincerelyHonest
by SincerelyHonest

I have had this computer for almost 2 weeks now, and I absolutely love it. It is super fast. It has enough memory that there is practically no wait time for applications to load or close, or for the computer to start up or shut down. The hard drive capacity is huge, so I don't have to worry about running out of space... and that's great considering I store many pictures, videos, and songs on my computer. The screen is just phenomenal, it's so crisp and clear. The preloaded games are also a plus as well...and they aren't "trial games" either...they can be played as many times as you wish. It's just really a great computer for a great price. I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (71) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SincerelyHonest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/17/2010

Customer review by efitzgerald

4.0 stars 1/17/2010 by efitzgerald
by efitzgerald

I bought this laptop for school and for normal home use. It is super fast and burns cd/dvd like lightning!!! The only problem I have is finding a case that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Another thing was that it said it had a webcam and it doesn't but not that big of a deal. overall it is a great laptop for the price. There are so many features on this laptop that im still finding them.

Was this review helpful? (64) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
efitzgerald
vernon, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/29/2010

Customer review by DensDen

5.0 stars 1/29/2010 by DensDen
by DensDen

This is my first laptop and I must say that I am very pleased with this purchase. The other person who left a review stated that her laptop didn't come with a webcam. I was hoping that it was not true. I took a chance and bought it anyway, I am happy to say that my laptop has a webcam installed.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DensDen
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A fun little computer.
2/25/2010

Customer review by JackyB

5.0 stars 2/25/2010 by JackyB
by JackyB

This is my first laptop. It far exceeds my expectations for this price range. I did reload the harddrive from the recovery partition and was able to load a clean windows 7 to start out with. I have loaded all my old software and have not had a problem with anything working. Yes it does have a webcam and you will find it when you open the Cyberlink Youcam software that is preloaded on the system. I love this computer.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JackyB
Ovett, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/22/2010

Customer review by CML1967

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by CML1967
by CML1967

This is my first laptop. I absolutely love it! It boots up fast, navigation is fast, and the picture quality is outstanding! Watching a movie is a wonderful experience on this laptop with it's 17.3 inch screen! My teenagers have beat the heck out of our desktop model, so I bought this laptop for myself. I didn't have any problem purchasing a case for this laptop. Walmart had several cases there, and I paid about $45 for the case. I don't have a problem with the laptop over-heating, so unless I run into this problem, I'm not in any hurry to buy a cooling pad for it. The built-in speakers aren't the greatest, but I had no problem connecting a set of desktop speakers to enhance the sound while watching a movie. Also, if you're not accumstomed to using the touchpad on a laptop, I would suggest you buy a wireless mouse for it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CML1967
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
excellent laptop for price
2/4/2010

Customer review by mistyf

5.0 stars 2/4/2010 by mistyf
by mistyf

for the price of this laptop, you cant go wrong! all the features work flawlessly, and the included software isn't too overwhelming. However my only recommendation is to ditch the antivirus it comes with for microsofts security essentials program, which makes it run even faster due to it integrating into win 7, instead of just reading everything.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mistyf
Flint, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Selection
6/13/2010

Customer review by Walmartgurl81

3.0 stars 6/13/2010 by Walmartgurl81
by Walmartgurl81

I brought this laptop because my husband and I were competing for the use of our other laptop. I am a student so I needed it the most. We wanted something that would allow us to complete functions as uploading videos and photos, web browsing, and microsoft office functions. Basically a computer for a college student. It worked well for about 1.5 months then the screen started to go out slowly. Product was still under warranty but HP gave me the run around to get it fixed. Spent several day on the phone with HP associates until they finally asked me to send it in for repairs. 1 week later they call telling me that there was internal damage for which the warranty does not cover. The wanted to charge the price of the computer to fix it. This was a total crock. I had an computer technician look at it and he said the video card went out/over heated. This was a defective unit and a waste of money. The company would not cover it under warranty and tried to state the reason was because I damaged the video card. I will never buy another HP again. Don't buy this for your college student

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartgurl81
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Outstanding Laptop!
3/14/2010

Customer review by GeorgiaGADad

5.0 stars 3/14/2010 by GeorgiaGADad
by GeorgiaGADad

I searched many stores for this specific laptop until I finally found one about 20 miles away. I'm glad I did! I love everything about this laptop and I really enjoy the Windows 7 platform. If you are looking for a nice laptop, with a HUGE CRYSTAL CLEAR SCREEN, then this is for you. I've been streaming movies from Netflix and it is like having another TV in the house. The webcam is clear as can be and outperforms the $100 logitech webcam I have on my other computer. Also enjoy how it does not come with lots of "junk programs". Only downside is it does attract fingerprints.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeorgiaGADad
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
2/4/2010

Customer review by mrgrupp

4.0 stars 2/4/2010 by mrgrupp
by mrgrupp

I got this at the black friday sale in 2009 as my Christmas present. It was an incredible value for the money. The last time I purchased a laptop, yo couldn't find them for less than $1000 and be worth owning. The screen is huge, great for playing movies, however the screen finish is glossy, which plays havoc with screen reflections. The case is a glossy black too, but they provide a cleaning cloth to help remove smudges. Those 2 things are my only complaints. It WASN'T loaded with tons of trial ware, but did come preloaded with trial MS Office & Norton Antivirus, which I would say are important. Mine didn't come with a built in webcam, even tho there is a hole in the frame for it, which is the only thing I wish it had. It is really fast and Windows 7 looks great on it (I didn't like Vista).

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrgrupp
Taylors, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great deal
2/21/2010

Customer review by nascar2fan

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by nascar2fan
by nascar2fan

This lap top is well worth the low price. I love the windows 7. and i would highly recomend this computer to anyone......love it

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nascar2fan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
3/26/2010

Customer review by greatnotebook

5.0 stars 3/26/2010 by greatnotebook
by greatnotebook

I have had this notebook for about 3 weeks and I love it. Windows 7 is amazing I love the number pad and I love the fact that it was not over priced! i highly reccomend this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
greatnotebook
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Product at Great Price
2/23/2010

Customer review by expertwitness

4.0 stars 2/23/2010 by expertwitness
by expertwitness

My older HP laptop passed away early Friday morning leaving me up the old creek. We searched the internet for the best laptop for the money and found it at Walmart. This is a great laptop. We had to drive a little out of the way to pick it up because all of the closer stores had sold out, but it was worth the extra miles. It's fast and does everything I want to while looking terrific. I would not hesitate to recommend this laptop.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
expertwitness
Gilbert, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great computer for home and school
5/14/2010

Customer review by bren6176

5.0 stars 5/14/2010 by bren6176
by bren6176

Amazing laptop for the money. The speed alone makes it worth every penny. I so love the media center, it is fantastic. The sound is great as well and I love music so it is important to me. I have had no problems with overheating and I am on it from the time I get up until I go to work. All day on my days off. I looked for a couple of months. I needed one in a hurry and found this for $600. A very good deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bren6176
maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP Laptop
6/14/2010

Customer review by Leader10

2.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Leader10
by Leader10

I purchased this computer in February of this year. It was a great buy and worked extremely well until about two months ago. It started overheating and shutting down at least 3 or 4 times a month. In the last week it has crashed daily up to almost four times in one day. I have contacted tech support numerous times and they have been very helpful attempting to correct the issue however the problem still exists. Now I will have to send the laptop in for repairs...Did I mention I am in graduate school online ughhhh! I will not purchase another HP...I'll buy something else in the near future. Be extremely cautious with this model.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leader10
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top One Product
6/4/2010

Customer review by mindy2215

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by mindy2215
by mindy2215

This laptop is best and most complete computer that I have had up to now. Incredible for the value!!! HP is the best of the best on the market in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mindy2215
Elizabeth, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
HP 17.3 screensize
6/14/2010

Customer review by Dreama44

5.0 stars 6/14/2010 by Dreama44
by Dreama44

I had thought about purchasing this laptop online but decided since they had it in store I would go ahead and purchase it there, And I am SO GLAD that I did. The listed price online is 578.00 but when I got to the store it turned out to only cost me 498.00. What a great deal I got and the computer is absolutely awesome.Although I have only had this for 24hrs I love it, but we already own an HP Desktop so we knew the product was a great one. I would highly recommend that you purchase this item. The Speed is great the screen visability is so clear and it's just a great laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreama44
Sherwood,Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value
2/21/2010

Customer review by Poeman

5.0 stars 2/21/2010 by Poeman
by Poeman

This is a great value and great product. I'm so glad I upgraded to this one. And the ship to site was a great way to get it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Poeman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/3/2010

Customer review by AliciaJ

4.0 stars 3/3/2010 by AliciaJ
by AliciaJ

I bought my first one and some of the keys fell off. I took it back and so far the second one has been great. For what features it has it's a great value.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AliciaJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice.
2/19/2010

Customer review by iDakota

5.0 stars 2/19/2010 by iDakota
by iDakota

This product is very nice, I just received mine today. It is HUGE, in a good way. Perfect to watch movies with, and makes it easier to browse the web with a bigger screen. However, I am not sure if it is my fault in not seeing them, but there are no audio buttons on it, so you have to click the audio icon in the bottom right tray. Which is easy to do, so it doesn't really take away from the laptop. Webcam is nice to have, however its quality is medium, I give the webcam's quality 3/5. Sound could be louder, but it is loud sometimes, depending on what you are watching. I would give sound a rating of 4/5. As big as it is, its thin, not super thin though, it still has thickness to it. Very quite, fast, wish it would be a little faster though. It is 110% worth the price it is, great laptop for its price. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who seeks for a big laptop.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iDakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews