Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 707 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

707 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

707 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
374
4 stars
165
3 stars
72
2 stars
36
1 stars
60
1-20 of 639 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 639 total reviews
1-20 of 639 reviews
My reason for ordering this product
3/28/2016

Customer review by Don1936

4.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Don1936
by Don1936

I am nearly 80 yrs old and have been using electric shavers for 65 yrs. I have tried other brands and keep coming back to Remington. Having said that, I purchased my model F4790 several years ago and was not entirely satisfied with it..I ordered a replacement cutter and screen to see if that would improve the performance. It did not, so I purchased a model F4900. It had features that I liked, such as the trimmer between the foils and the trimmer itself. Also I liked the charge indicator and the charging stand that came with it. However, the shaver did not give me the closeness that I had come to expect from Remington. I replaced the head assembly for it to see if the performance would improve. It did not. I went back to my F4790 which shaved closer. I ordered the replacement assembly because the one I had was getting older and I wanted a more reliable head. Because of my disappointment in my last two shavers, when and if I need to replace what I have, I might consider another brand.

Don1936
Greeneville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Poor Perfmance
7/30/2012

Customer review by Russ2

1.0 stars 7/30/2012 by Russ2
by Russ2

I could't agree more with previous reviewers with respect to poor cutting perfomance with this razor. I purchased this razor, model F4790, 6 months ago when my old Remington, model MS2-370, started to die. I had the old model for many years, so I was not surprised. You would think that over the years, a product would improve. My old Remington, model MS2-370, performed much better. The very first Remington Microscreen razors were the best. They keep going down hill. Why? I don't know. Fortunately I was able to order my old model Remington, MS2-370, which apparently is no longer made, over the internet. They are still available at a reasonable prices if you search around. I suspect that the people who engineered the new models don't use them. I wish that they would take one home and live with it for a while. Even using a good pre-shave lotion and well lubed screens cutting performace is lousy at best. My advise is to look for and purchase one of the "old" MS models. They are much better.

Russ2
Prior Lake, MN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Sub Standard Life
6/24/2016

Customer review by Dave69

3.0 stars 6/24/2016 by Dave69
by Dave69

1 screen will last me about 45 days. Wish they were longer life, but I've got a tough beard.

Dave69
California, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
I should have stuck with the brand I had before
11/4/2011

Customer review by Hornet

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Hornet
by Hornet

I purchased this new a few months ago after I unfortunately forgot the recharger to my previous shaver (of another brand) at a hotel just prior to deploying. I should have been willing to pony up the difference in cost and stuck with that brand. This Remington shaver is inexpensive because it is cheaply designed and built. The hair pocket extends too far beyond the foils and the edges are not rounded well enough to prevent it from abrading your face while you shave. The foils are tearing after just 3 months of use; my other brand's foils could easily last over a year, and that was without the plastic protective hood this shaver has. Even prior to the foils becoming torn, my face would feel abused through the rest of the day in a way that I never recall with my other shaver. This shaver does hold a charge well, but that's not enough to give a positive rating. I can't say you should stay away from a Remington shaver, but your should defintely stay away from this model.

Hornet
Afghanistan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Replacement Screen & Cutters
6/16/2016

Customer review by dw36912

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by dw36912
by dw36912

Replacement screen and cutters were easy to install on shavers. New cutters work very well.

dw36912
Kansas City, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Screens and Cutters for the Remington Shaver
6/8/2016

Customer review by Joeski

4.0 stars 6/8/2016 by Joeski
by Joeski

I actually have bought screens and cutters for 2 different razors. The value and customer service to get them to me was good. I have had the razors for about 4 years and 6 years respectively. They each continue to perform well, except the screens and cutters wear out, of course. I am satisfied with your products and appreciate the convenience of online parts replacement.

Joeski
Pingree Grove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Wears out quickly and leaves face black
7/18/2012

Customer review by BlackBeard99

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by BlackBeard99
by BlackBeard99

I purchase my Remington shaver from my local Walmart for a good price less than a year ago. When the "Flexing foil" wore out, I found that you can not buy the replacements in the store! They are only available online. I orders 3 as it seemed the one that came with my shaver wore really fast. Guess what? I just replaced my first one and it didn't even last a month. It's a poor design, hard to snap into place and the thing is packed with a grease that leaves your face black after shaving. You would think all that grease would help it last longer. If this one doesn't last any longer I will be looking for a new shaver somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlackBeard99
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what it says
5/19/2011

Customer review by AlanFromFL

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by AlanFromFL
by AlanFromFL

No complaints whatsoever; the replacement cutters and screen are extremely easy to install and resulted in a much closer, more comfortable shave. WM.com had the best price on the web, plus I got free shipping. I'd say that replacing the screen & cutter every six months is a good idea, as I waited a bit too long and didn't realize until I got a nasty nick that I'd worn a hole in the screen.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlanFromFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
With periodic replacement of foil and cutters, this shaver gives endless quality shaves
5/4/2016

Customer review by Jeff61

4.0 stars 5/4/2016 by Jeff61
by Jeff61

The replacement foils and cutters are a bit pricey, but they do give a quality shave each and every time. I recently replaced the rechargeable battery, as it was no longer able to take a full charge. The shaver now works as good as the day I bought it, many, many years ago; a testament to the quality of this product. The only improvement to make on this shaver, is to make replacement cutters for the shaver's pop-up trimmer, as it has dulled, and become useless some years ago. If I could buy replacement cutters for the pop-up trimmer, the product rating would be excellent !

Jeff61
North Carolina, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Hard to Find Shaver Part
7/10/2010

Customer review by Cleanshavenone

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by Cleanshavenone
by Cleanshavenone

I initially went all over trying to find someone who carried this product. Several stores sell the razor, but none carried the replacement heads which need to be changed every six months or so. Other internet sites wanted twice as much as Walmart, and charged three to five times as much for H&S. It came quickly and inexpensively. I bought four heads to make sure I have a future supply, and the H&S cost was only 96 cents. Way to go!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleanshavenone
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad razor foil
2/27/2011

Customer review by Mikiethewizard

1.0 stars 2/27/2011 by Mikiethewizard
by Mikiethewizard

This is the 3rd foil I've had to replace. The 1st I've ordered from Walmart. Walmart had the best price that I could find. Like the razor. The foil just hasn't held up.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikiethewizard
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Replacement Kit
5/3/2016

Customer review by SatisfiedMTN

5.0 stars 5/3/2016 by SatisfiedMTN
by SatisfiedMTN

Damaged my razor foil and had to replace it it buy a new razor. Easy to find, reasonable price, quick delivery, a snap to exchange, and now getting great shaves again!

SatisfiedMTN
St. Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Does not always cut.
5/3/2016

Customer review by Grumpa

4.0 stars 5/3/2016 by Grumpa
by Grumpa

I have trouble cutting hair that becomes long. I use a rtary shaver when this happens.

Grumpa
Providence, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
SP-290 screens and cutters.
5/3/2016

Customer review by WuzFuzzy

4.0 stars 5/3/2016 by WuzFuzzy
by WuzFuzzy

The product performed as expected, as have all prior purchases of it.

WuzFuzzy
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good Quality
4/22/2016

Customer review by RAKe

4.0 stars 4/22/2016 by RAKe
by RAKe

By finding the appropriate website and replacing the shaver head of my Remington, I have extended the life of my electric shaver both now and into the future--all without having to find the necessary item in a store. Bravo!

RAKe
Pensacola, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent product
4/18/2016

Customer review by Joram

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by Joram
by Joram

The manufacturer recommends changing screens every 6 months. From my multi-year experience, I recommend to change screens every 3-4 months. You'll get better, smoother shave by changing screens at higher frequency than the recommended 6 months.

Joram
Ann Arbor, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
4/8/2016

Customer review by me2016

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by me2016
by me2016

Works great. My razor works just as it did when it was brand new.

me2016
Louisiana, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Appropriate product
3/28/2016

Customer review by Js155

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by Js155
by Js155

There are many shaver heads on the market so be sure you are ordering the correct one. This site was clear and descriptive enough to give you confidence that you would be getting the right replacement part you wanted. I would use this site again.

Js155
Cary, il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I like for ease of use, great shave & cleanability
3/18/2012

Customer review by Jim61

5.0 stars 3/18/2012 by Jim61
by Jim61

I traded shavers with my Dad in Sept. 2011. He shaves every 4 days ; I had decided to buy a Norelco model #8240 rotary shaver last July (2011) to try after having shaved with the original Remington TCT foil microscreen since 2000. It was a great shaver but the pop up trimmer just gave out. I liked the Norelco very much but it does not shave as close as the model my dad bought, the Remington Foil - F4790, 3 years ago. I am shaving with the original blades and still get a fantastic shave. For those who might have had issues with this or any foil shaver, you have to pull you skin to realize the most from any shaver, rotary included. And, you don't need to press too hard - actually works against receiving the best shave possible. Also, I highly endorse using a preshave - Parks preshave, it's the best. Regardless of the cost of a shaver, for me this is the best foil shaver on the market.

Jim61
Avon Lake, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
My Review
3/16/2016

Customer review by TallManShaver

4.0 stars 3/16/2016 by TallManShaver
by TallManShaver

I do NOT love mechanical items - only certain people. I do enjoy using my Remington Shaver each morning because it is handy, reliable, and parts are long lasting. Keep up the good work.

TallManShaver
Tampa, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 639 total reviews
1-20 of 639 reviews