Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

50 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 38 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
Poor performance, died in 2 months
5/3/2010

Customer review by AA4PC

2.0 stars 5/3/2010 by AA4PC
by AA4PC

I bought one and it did not live up to performance expectations with the SATA interface. After only two months use, the ability to read/boot/or write CD's disappeared. I am very disappointed in the HP brand name, for the first time. The power cables weren't included with this unit, they are normally attached permanently to the power supply of your computer. I was not upset about that, some other users expected longer power connectors when it's not the responsibility of the accessory manufacturer to maintain your power supply. The included data cable was long enough. VERY POOR quality on the drive. Made for HP by Lite-On so I am told. Fit and finish look OK, but it quit after less than 25% of the warranty period.

Was this review helpful? (24) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AA4PC
Lexington, SC USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
looks good but not what I needed
5/30/2010

Customer review by comixman2000

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by comixman2000
by comixman2000

I am sure it was good but it is a sata device which is incompatable with my mother board. I should have done more research and ordered an IDE device or external dvd/cdrw

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
comixman2000
Owingsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Better Than Expected. Exceptional Value!
7/10/2010

Customer review by GeneFX

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by GeneFX
by GeneFX

Needed a quick replacement DVD RW and this one fits the bill. Bought online and saved $10+ over in store price for same product. Easy to install, didn't even need instructions.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeneFX
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/20/2011

Customer review by Kekkie

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by Kekkie
by Kekkie

This HP DVD R-W internal disc drive surpassed what I expected for this price. It is easy to install and just as easy to operate with the enclosed Nero Program, although I liked the older versions of Nero as well as this one. This drive reads and burns DVD'S and CD's with ease. I have a lot of fun with the Lightscribe Label function, as it elimates the use of paper labels. I have no complaints with this unit as of this date. A really good buy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kekkie
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
DVD/CD Writer
1/10/2011

Customer review by cyberhexle

5.0 stars 1/10/2011 by cyberhexle
by cyberhexle

It seems to be a very good product, unfortunatly it did not work with my old pc. i have a pata hook up not sata (which you need for this product). and even after buying a special converter i couldn t get the writer to work correctly it actually prevented my pc from booting up . so i had to return it and buy a completely different one. but the price was really good and the shipping was fast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyberhexle
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I'd buy it again...
5/9/2011

Customer review by ArkWMShopper

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by ArkWMShopper
by ArkWMShopper

This is a good, solid, simple DVD/CD player-recorder. It does come pre-packaged with Nero 9 Essentials which I am less than thrilled about, but it's included. Nero 9 Essentials is essentially intended to entice you into buying the full version of Nero… but N9E is free and it will work unless you must have the other features. One minor installation issue. My system is just over 2 yrs old and I have a SATA HD, so I had SATA data connections available on the motherboard. My problem was all the SATA POWER connections (3) are on the same line from the power supply. My Wal Mart doesn’t carry the IDE-SATA power connection converters. I had to relocate the HD beneath the new DVD so the SATA power connections would reach both devices. It wasn’t a big problem, but if you are looking for a replacement for an existing IDE DVD (as mine was), you might have the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArkWMShopper
Jonesboro, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Compatible with Windows 7
6/26/2011

Customer review by ReluctantPoolDad

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by ReluctantPoolDad
by ReluctantPoolDad

I had not purchased a CD/DVD burner recently, so I was not aware that newer units do not come with a driver disk. Instead, they are built to a standard and Windows uses a built-in generic driver. However, the driver that comes with Windows 7 does not automaticaly recognize all drives. I had purchased an Asus drive from Newegg, and was surprised to discover that Windows 7 didn't work with it. Windows 7 kept asking for a driver, but there was no driver. Fortunately, my local Walmart had this HP in stock. I ordered it for pickup and the next morning it was waiting for me at the store. Thank you Walmart for saving my weekend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReluctantPoolDad
Northern Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not compatible
4/10/2011

Customer review by Dott

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Dott
by Dott

The product came on time, The only thing which I didn't know until I tried to install it to my computer, was that it wasn't compatible with my computer, so I had to return it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dott
Athens, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Esay to install, easy to use.
7/26/2011

Customer review by drmwevr

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by drmwevr
by drmwevr

I bought this to replace my my old lightscribe burner. I have only used it one time. It burns much faster than the old one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
drmwevr
Pensacola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Just what i wanted
1/26/2011

Customer review by fooschmp91

5.0 stars 1/26/2011 by fooschmp91
by fooschmp91

Bought it for the Lightscribe! Works well so far, love the Lightscribe. Was easy to install in my Dell E521. Does everything i want. Great deal for $38 online and site to store was great too!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fooschmp91
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Also needed for HP 24X DVD RW
4/17/2011

Customer review by dhpw

5.0 stars 4/17/2011 by dhpw
by dhpw

You have to get a sata power cable - not supplied. Otherwise it's good and works well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dhpw
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works as expected
3/5/2011

Customer review by SKBradshaw

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by SKBradshaw
by SKBradshaw

Simple installation in my slimline HP desktop computer. Works as expected. The CD burning seems to be much faster than my OEM HP CD/DVD burner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SKBradshaw
Quincy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
HP Internal Dvd 24x
3/9/2011

Customer review by IlovemyHPDVD

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by IlovemyHPDVD
by IlovemyHPDVD

I am happy with this Hp Dvd limited Error messages. I found that HP made a great product, A Excellent Rating would including Roxie Easy Creator install of Nero 9 EZ. I also like its Light Script writer and use of 8.5 DLL Disk.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IlovemyHPDVD
Moundsville,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Writer with One Caveat
2/4/2012

Customer review by goldrushsam

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by goldrushsam
by goldrushsam

I purchased this writer about one month ago so cannot comment on the longevity but the installation process was quick and simple. My Dell is SATA equipped. I just hooked to the current cables. This will make a difference. If your computer is IDE then a converter cable will have to be purchased. Since I’m not at all computer technical savvy and have had problems in the past with these converter cables, that’s another reason I bought this writer. At boot up it was picked up and assigned the same drive letter as the one I took out. So far the unit works flawlessly and is extremely quiet. The Lightscribe labeling works great. Wal-Mart is a little higher priced on this unit than some other places, however, since you can get the site to store shipping free, the final cost is about the same. The one caveat is the Nero 9 software. I already have Roxie burning software but wanted to check this out so removed my software and started loading Nero. It wanted to load other third party files from the web in order for the software to work and did not give me the option to decline so since I have read several other reviews that state this software is just basic with no bell and whistles, I stopped the installation. You can get the writer manual from the disk without loading the software. You can also go to Lightscribe.com and get all the software for labeling and many, many labeling templates. With my computer it takes about 20 minutes to burn a label with several graphics and 7 or 8 minutes to burn one with short simple text. I love the lightscribe technology and so far happy with my purchase. I also purchased the 1 year replacement warranty for $3.00 so this makes me feel a little better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldrushsam
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great DVD drive at a great price!
5/31/2011

Customer review by VeevM

5.0 stars 5/31/2011 by VeevM
by VeevM

Great product, great price, easy to install. Loved using the online ordering. Also loved the option to ship to store. Mine was ready for pick-up the same day!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeevM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My kind of computer product
2/25/2011

Customer review by QueenEs

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by QueenEs
by QueenEs

It has a fast download, it's like it isn't there. It does everything it's supposed to do & we don't have to give it a thought - no problems, no worries. Price was a touch higher than we'd plan to pay, but ihas been worth it with how easy it is to use.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
QueenEs
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent, easy to install, fits perfectly
5/15/2012

Customer review by CMoore73

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by CMoore73
by CMoore73

I old internal burner was going out. I priced these everywhere and Walmart.com had the cheapest price by far. I received this item within the week and it was very easy to take the old one out and replace this one. It was my first time doing this so I was glad it worked. The drive works flawless and has super fast burning speeds. This also comes with burning software from NERO, haven't used this yet nor I have I used the light-scribe but hear from my friends it works great. Would highly recommend this DVD burner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CMoore73
Chickasha, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worked great right out of the box.
5/21/2012

Customer review by GrumpyOldWhiteGuy

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by GrumpyOldWhiteGuy
by GrumpyOldWhiteGuy

Swapped out an LG burner that wore out. Straight swap and no problems. Nero recognized the new unit and I was off and running.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrumpyOldWhiteGuy
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/14/2012

Customer review by ab900iwp

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by ab900iwp
by ab900iwp

Unfortunatly I had to return the unit, because There was no SATA connection available on the mother board. I will be looking for a USB DVD RW to attach to my computer.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ab900iwp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
6/17/2011

Customer review by robbi

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by robbi
by robbi

Works great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
robbi
ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews