Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1204 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
729
4 stars
271
3 stars
53
2 stars
40
1 stars
111
1-20 of 1092 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1092 total reviews
1-20 of 1092 reviews
Quiet Little Workhorse
6/25/2010

Customer review by PawPawBill

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by PawPawBill
by PawPawBill

My wife and I have been using an ice machine for several years because we got tired of messing with ice trays... besides, the ice trays took up valuable room in our refrigerator freezer. We had previously bought a refurbished machine on eBay, but we discovered the machine had issues. It was loud (compressor?) and the metal ice bucket was a magnet for mold. When the old one went kaput we bought this ice machine online from Wal-Mart. It is a little bit smaller than our old machine, but we soon learned that it makes ice at a rate that is nothing less than amazing. Also, it is so quiet that you can only hear it when it dumps ice into the easy-to-clean plastic bucket. We love this machine and use it about twice a week. We have even started putting large freezer bags of ice in our big freezer for fishing trips and outdoor barbeques. You can buy a bigger, more expensive ice machine but I doubt you will find a machine any better than this one. An added bonus is that it doesn't take up much counter space. Again, we love it and give it our highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (610) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PawPawBill
Leon, West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Very Effective Dedicated Ice Maker
8/22/2010

Customer review by MountainDave

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by MountainDave
by MountainDave

We are building our own home and needed a better, more robust source of ice for drinks during hot weather. A compact refigerator with ice cube trays just didn't work well. This Magic Chef MCIM22 unit is fantastic. The water well holds about a gallon and makes ice amazingly fast, just as the specs say. From first startup, I timed 10.3 minutes for the first batch, which includes about 1-2 minutes of startup initialization. Following cycles were 7.8 minutes each. These times are for small cubes. Medium and large sizes seem to take several minutes longer and are not that much larger. Let me explain the sizing: The "cubes" are actually like thick-walled thimbles formed around 9 freezing "fingers" that stick downward into a tray of water (see photo). Medium and large sizes just let the ice grow thicker walls. The most efficient freezing occurs in the early stages when the walls are thinner, and actually, drinks chill faster with lots of small cubes. As others have said, noise is fairly subdued. Compressor and fan operate with a hum similar to any standard refrigerator. Air intake is from the rear, and warm air vents out the left side, so those two sides need several inches of clearance. I think the right side could go nearly flush against a wall, despite the instructions for clearance on all sides. The rattle of cubes being dumped every 8 minutes is louder but not objectionable (unless perhaps it is located in a small conference room). The features are quite easy to understand. Water-empty and ice-bucket-full have dedicated indicator lights. One caution: the sensor for ice-bucket-full is a shiny, temperature-sensing peg about twice the length of a pencil eraser located in the ice bucket near the top right corner. If you park the ice scoop near or over that sensor (see photo), cubes will not contact the sensor when full, and overfilling and/or jamming will very likely occur. This seems like a good way to damage the unit. For the energy-conscious buyer, rated load is 1.9A, or about the same as two 100-watt light bulbs. When the ice bucket is full, electric consumption is essentially zero. As a dedicated ice-maker, this unit is superb, amazingly fast, and pretty simple to setup and operate.

Was this review helpful? (1028) (98)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainDave
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
How to Fix "Add Water" False Error
3/7/2011

Customer review by WhoIsEverFree

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by WhoIsEverFree
by WhoIsEverFree

Many people have complained that when they get a new unit, set it up and turn it on they immediately get the annoying "Add Water" LED false alert! I say flase because you can fill it up with water to the top of the MAX fill line and you will continue to get this alert and NO ice will be made. To fix the add water LED on error - remove the screws that hold on back cover, then remove the screws that hold on the top rear cover. Next you will see a small a small tube that the water comes from located about middle way on the back wall near the top of the unit. There will be a piece of metal that is supposed to be bent to touch the stream of water when the pump is running. Bend the metal so that its in the stream of water when running. This piece of metal is that the on board microprocessor uses to sense water flow, if it not touching the stream of water when its running you will get this false alarm and the until will shut itself off and falsely tell you to add water. A Slight bend with a small screwdriver and you are in business! Now you will not get a false error of "Add Water" when the there is water in the unit.

Was this review helpful? (148) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhoIsEverFree
La Grange, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/28/2011

Customer review by RetiredInABQ

4.0 stars 5/28/2011 by RetiredInABQ
by RetiredInABQ

This arrived in good time, Site to Store, and was easy to pick up. It's a little heavy and takes up a bit more counter space than I would like but it makes Ice fast and plenty of it. I move the Ice to the freezer in plastic bags when the bin becomes full. The next morning it's easy to drop the bag onto the counter and bust up the lumps. Some have said it's noisy but we don't find it to be annoying at all. We us it in our RV and by making one or two bins in the evening we have plenty of Ice for the next day without using too much space in the freezer. We bought through the Discover Card shopping portal and received $6.00 cash back bonus.

Was this review helpful? (219) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredInABQ
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Little Ice Maker - If it Meets Your Needs
8/22/2012

Customer review by SkiierGuy

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by SkiierGuy
by SkiierGuy

Bought this to supplement our refrigerator ice maker, which couldn't keep up w/ demand when we'd have people over. It works for what I'm using it for - making ice ahead of time to bag and store in the freezer. It by no means should be considered if you 1) need a machine that will continuously make enough ice to supply more than 2 people in ice (unless you use very little ice per drink), and/or 2) want a maker that can store ice - this one actually melts the ice after a while if the ice hopper is full and it stops making ice, and/or 3) like clear ice cubes - this machine makes the cloudy type of ice cubes - which I like. It makes the ice pretty quickly, so you need to keep up with emptying the little hopper. Note that the 1st couple of batches of ice cubes may not form all the way and start to melt quickly, but let it run and it will start cranking them out. The maker can make 3 different sizes of cubes, and the ones in my picture are the large ones. It is small enough to fit on the kitchen counter under the upper cabinets, but it can not be opened there - you'll have to slide it out. Because the unit is designed not to slide around, I keep it forward as per the picture. (Suggestion to Magic Chef: use a different rubber on the feet. While large and flexible, they are too soft and leave marks on the counter.) I only gave it 3 stars for Durability because I've only had it for a few months, so I can't comment on durability.

Was this review helpful? (149) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkiierGuy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Very good ice maker
5/9/2010

Customer review by grandmajl

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by grandmajl
by grandmajl

My old ice maker finally gave out and the new one I got from Wal-Mart is wonderful. It makes ice quicker than my old machine and also a lot more of it. I would highly recommend this ice maker to anyone that want's to save money.

Was this review helpful? (225) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grandmajl
Manhattan, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it
6/29/2010

Customer review by KubotaMan

5.0 stars 6/29/2010 by KubotaMan
by KubotaMan

After reading all the other reviews about this product I was skeptical but I bought one anyway. I figured I could always return it if it was a piece of junk. I figured I'd better get my use out of the thing early while I could still bring it back, but I don't need to bring it back. It makes plenty of ice and the ice does NOT taste bad because I cleaned my machine like the directions say. It has been running ever since I received it and it has no problems. I love this little thing!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KubotaMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is great!!!
5/26/2011

Customer review by 4whlngranny

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by 4whlngranny
by 4whlngranny

The ice maker in our refridgerater was not hooked up, so, I purchased the Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker. This was the best buy I have ever made. After following the cleaning and set-up instructions, I filled the resevour with water and hit the start button. Within 15 minutes I had ice. I tried all three size options and found all to be convenient for my different needs. It did not take long before I had enough ice to fill the ice bin in my freezer. I love the convenient drain on the side. It enables me to completely drain all the water out of the machine and dry the inside for storage until it was needed again. This ice maker is great to have for get togethers, picnics, and for vacations. This is a great addition for anyone who entertains a lot or just uses a lot of ice during the summer. It makes twice the ice in half the time as a refridgerater ice maker.

Was this review helpful? (76) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4whlngranny
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Portable Ice Maker
8/22/2011

Customer review by noreiga

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by noreiga
by noreiga

I don't write many reviews...but I MUST on this one....We got our ice maker for our camper thinking it would save us on ice purchases....We opened the box and set the machine on the counter and let it set for an hour to settle the contents in the unit before filling with water.....we filled the container with enough water to fill to the fill line. after about 8-10 minutes we hear dropping of ice!!! The first few batches of ice looked puny..but after this thing got the insides cold it went to town making nice looking Ice!!! Could not ask for a better machine. It worked flawless all day long and filled the ice bucket up and when the bucket got full it shut down. when we got ice and the ice bucket was no longer full....It kicked back on....we had it making small ice cube, which was plenty big....and it was dropping 9 cubes of ice every 8 minutes like clockwork. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noreiga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Buy it!!!
9/14/2013

Customer review by TBone03045

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by TBone03045
by TBone03045

If you are an ice chewer, as am I, you MUST buy this ice maker! I have been in search of the perfect ice cube for years and this machine is the definitive answer! The rocks this baby produces are PERFECT for chewing, and boy does it pump them out faster than I need them! No regrets at all with this purchase, wish I had made it years ago. Read and follow the instructions first. Then plug her in, dump in some nice spring water, and hit go. Ten minutes later, grab a handful of rocks and top off with your favorite bourbon (or whatever is your thing) and you are THERE!!! Start chewing! Good stuff! You will not be disappointed! I am VERY happy with this purchase, and when it dies, as all refrigeration products will eventually do, I will gladly (and very quickly) purchase another one. Cannot beat the price (especially here at Wallyworld) and / or the performance. HIGHLY recommended!!! GO FOR IT!!! T-Bone

Was this review helpful? (71) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TBone03045
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Ice maker for a Portable one
8/23/2011

Customer review by OKChoctaw

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by OKChoctaw
by OKChoctaw

I love it. Doesn't take up much space. Makes alot of ice. Plus I can use it inside my house or it's great for the RV. We have not have any problems with our ice maker. Great Item. Exactly As Advertised. Definitely Will Do Business With Them Again

Was this review helpful? (59) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OKChoctaw
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
5/12/2010

Customer review by Jazzercisergirl

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by Jazzercisergirl
by Jazzercisergirl

I ordered a refurbished ice-maker that looked almost identical off of ebay and it crashed twice and there was a no return policy that I missed. Anyway, this machine runs great and was easier to start then the other one. I am using it for our Surgery center's recovery area and it keeps up beautifully with our demand with the 7-10 minutes it takes to make a batch. I wished I would have found WalMart's first. I used the 2-5 day shipment and it was here in 3 days! Knowing WalMart has a great return policy will keep me shopping online with them.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jazzercisergirl
Pomona/Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a very dependable ice maker
6/9/2011

Customer review by NothappyinShpt

1.0 stars 6/9/2011 by NothappyinShpt
by NothappyinShpt

This is the Third one of these icemakers made by Magic Chef I have owned and each one has had problems. The first lasted a little over a year and the tray under where the cubes are made broke out of the wall of the unit. The second lasted 2 weeks and started making a loud grinding noise. The last one lasted 8 months and now makes only 2 cubes per cycle.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NothappyinShpt
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent product
5/24/2011

Customer review by BettyJoh

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by BettyJoh
by BettyJoh

This product performs quietly and efficiently as advertised. I am extremely pleased with this purchase. I highly recommend the product for others. This is one of the few times I have relied on a product review and have been pleased with the accuracy of the reviews.

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BettyJoh
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works well, smells bad
11/14/2013

Customer review by Chuck451

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Chuck451
by Chuck451

This is indeed a nice little ice maker. It makes 9 cubes every 8 or so minutes once its been running for about an hour. The first hour it will make cubes but their thin and melt almost immediately. This is not a PARTY icemaker. It will keep up with 3 maybe 4 moderate drinkers, but thats about it. For two people it works fantastic. We use it camping and it really works well. The big drawback, if I were using it in my house, is the smell it produces. It blows a rubber type smell out of the cooling fan. I returned my first one thinking there was something wrong, but my new one is the same. I ran it nonstop for a week hoping the smell would disappear and it smelled my whole kitchen up. Anyone that came over noticed it immediately. It works for me because I use it outside, but id never have one in my house. Also its extremely loud when the cubes drop, so I doubt one would keep it on at night. If you can deal those two issues its really a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (56) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuck451
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice
3/7/2011

Customer review by DoctorTran

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by DoctorTran
by DoctorTran

If you are looking to buy an ice maker for smoothies, coolers, or whatever, this ice maker will fit the bill. Ignore the bad reviews of the unit breaking quickly. When you first buy it, let it sit overnight to let the coolant settle. If you don't, the unit may malfunction...permanently. Use a little common sense, have a little patience when you first set it up, and you will have ice for every occasion.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoctorTran
Craig, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
better than gong to store for Ice
5/30/2011

Customer review by dawn11854

5.0 stars 5/30/2011 by dawn11854
by dawn11854

Makes 8 ice cubes about every 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dawn11854
Ballston spa,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Add on and party ice maker
1/6/2011

Customer review by wishuwerehere

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by wishuwerehere
by wishuwerehere

I have a Bosch refrigerator that doesn't make enough ice in a day and can't handle times when I need more ice. Also when I have a party, I hate having to go buy a bag of ice. This machine solved it and I'm impressed with its design and operation. After a cleaning rub down, I ran 1 fresh fill of water until it made all the ice, then I started fresh and now have clean fresh ice with filtered water. The speed is amazing for such a small machine. I like the way it recycles the water. I made big cubes at first to run the machine clean. I find big cubes last longer when you first turn the machine on. After a few rounds, then you can switch to a lower cube size for faster cubes and they won't melt as fast. My unit is very quiet. You can hear the compressor rattle a little when you move it, but when sitting on a flat level surface, my unit is very quiet. I also like the design of the exhaust fan turning on and off as the unit gets hot instead of being on all the time. That all depends on the ambient outside temperature too. It operates like a compact version of a professional ice maker and am very happy with the purchase. The price is also fantastic as many other machines were much more expensive. I had to order site to store and it arrived in under 5 days and faster than the anticipated delivery time. This is a great unit I'll be using for smoothies in the house and at parties when I need ice on the spot. I'll prepare about 3 to 4 hours in advance and then it should have the ice made up for me. I thought the manual could be a little better with more information in a more organized order. They tell you how to clean it but have you plug it in before telling you the filling procedure. Also, no detailed power specifications in the manual. Just dimensions and weight. I won't move the unit without unplugging it and waiting several minutes to restart. This seems to operate like a refrigeration heat pump to melt the cubes from the evaporator and therefore, while the warranty is 1 year parts and 5 years compressor, I suspect the internal heat pump controls can fail more often which is why people mention it a year after purchase. All types of heat pump controls seem to have a higher rate of failure than a normal refrigeration system. I like this unit and am very happy with my purchase. It works like a charm and is fun to watch the dump and recycle. Even if it failed a year from now, this price is reasonable and I'd still get another one as it will pay for itself in one year of ice savings from going to the store to buy a bag of ice.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wishuwerehere
mcallen, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is our second one!
5/18/2014

Customer review by guidooo

5.0 stars 5/18/2014 by guidooo
by guidooo

We were given one of these as a gift for our house boat. We have had it for two years now, and we have learned the trick to producing ice very quickly. when we first operated it, it wouldn't work. after a few hours we put in ice cold water from the fridge and it began blowing out ice. so now we start it up, let run for 30 minutes, pour in cold water it off it goes, everytime. at the lake in 115-120 degree weather ice is like gold and costly. we have not purchased ice for two years now. normaly its $15-$20 a day. once you have bags going just keep them going, by the end of the day your looking at 20-25 Lbs of ice. we just purchased a second one for our Idaho floathome because this one worked so well. ice in 7, 11 or 15 minutes, depending on size.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guidooo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good.
11/17/2010

Customer review by mugsy79

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by mugsy79
by mugsy79

We've had this ice maker for about three months, and so far it consistently does exactly what we need it to. My boyfriend is in construction and used to buy ice from the gas station every morning at about $3 per bag. Now, we start making ice when we get home for the next day. It makes enough to fill his cooler and he's saving about $60 a month. Tip: when the red light turns on because it's full of ice, it's because the metal rod sticking through the basket is a sensor and detects cold when the ice touches it. We used to just wait for it to reset, thinking it needed time, but you can reset it instantly by either pouring tepid water over the rod or just hold it using the heat from your fingers. Took us a little while to figure this out, maybe it explains it in the manual but we didn't catch it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mugsy79
Miami, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 1092 total reviews
1-20 of 1092 reviews