Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

1279 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
780
4 stars
286
3 stars
54
2 stars
44
1 stars
115
1-20 of 1167 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1167 total reviews
1-20 of 1167 reviews
Very Effective Dedicated Ice Maker
8/22/2010

Customer review by MountainDave

5.0 stars 8/22/2010 by MountainDave
by MountainDave
Top 250 contributor

We are building our own home and needed a better, more robust source of ice for drinks during hot weather. A compact refigerator with ice cube trays just didn't work well. This Magic Chef MCIM22 unit is fantastic. The water well holds about a gallon and makes ice amazingly fast, just as the specs say. From first startup, I timed 10.3 minutes for the first batch, which includes about 1-2 minutes of startup initialization. Following cycles were 7.8 minutes each. These times are for small cubes. Medium and large sizes seem to take several minutes longer and are not that much larger. Let me explain the sizing: The "cubes" are actually like thick-walled thimbles formed around 9 freezing "fingers" that stick downward into a tray of water (see photo). Medium and large sizes just let the ice grow thicker walls. The most efficient freezing occurs in the early stages when the walls are thinner, and actually, drinks chill faster with lots of small cubes. As others have said, noise is fairly subdued. Compressor and fan operate with a hum similar to any standard refrigerator. Air intake is from the rear, and warm air vents out the left side, so those two sides need several inches of clearance. I think the right side could go nearly flush against a wall, despite the instructions for clearance on all sides. The rattle of cubes being dumped every 8 minutes is louder but not objectionable (unless perhaps it is located in a small conference room). The features are quite easy to understand. Water-empty and ice-bucket-full have dedicated indicator lights. One caution: the sensor for ice-bucket-full is a shiny, temperature-sensing peg about twice the length of a pencil eraser located in the ice bucket near the top right corner. If you park the ice scoop near or over that sensor (see photo), cubes will not contact the sensor when full, and overfilling and/or jamming will very likely occur. This seems like a good way to damage the unit. For the energy-conscious buyer, rated load is 1.9A, or about the same as two 100-watt light bulbs. When the ice bucket is full, electric consumption is essentially zero. As a dedicated ice-maker, this unit is superb, amazingly fast, and pretty simple to setup and operate.

Was this review helpful? (1156) (116)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MountainDave
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Good Little Ice Maker - If it Meets Your Needs
8/22/2012

Customer review by SkiierGuy

4.0 stars 8/22/2012 by SkiierGuy
by SkiierGuy

Bought this to supplement our refrigerator ice maker, which couldn't keep up w/ demand when we'd have people over. It works for what I'm using it for - making ice ahead of time to bag and store in the freezer. It by no means should be considered if you 1) need a machine that will continuously make enough ice to supply more than 2 people in ice (unless you use very little ice per drink), and/or 2) want a maker that can store ice - this one actually melts the ice after a while if the ice hopper is full and it stops making ice, and/or 3) like clear ice cubes - this machine makes the cloudy type of ice cubes - which I like. It makes the ice pretty quickly, so you need to keep up with emptying the little hopper. Note that the 1st couple of batches of ice cubes may not form all the way and start to melt quickly, but let it run and it will start cranking them out. The maker can make 3 different sizes of cubes, and the ones in my picture are the large ones. It is small enough to fit on the kitchen counter under the upper cabinets, but it can not be opened there - you'll have to slide it out. Because the unit is designed not to slide around, I keep it forward as per the picture. (Suggestion to Magic Chef: use a different rubber on the feet. While large and flexible, they are too soft and leave marks on the counter.) I only gave it 3 stars for Durability because I've only had it for a few months, so I can't comment on durability.

Was this review helpful? (189) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkiierGuy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Ice maker for a Portable one
8/23/2011

Customer review by OKChoctaw

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by OKChoctaw
by OKChoctaw

I love it. Doesn't take up much space. Makes alot of ice. Plus I can use it inside my house or it's great for the RV. We have not have any problems with our ice maker. Great Item. Exactly As Advertised. Definitely Will Do Business With Them Again

Was this review helpful? (79) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OKChoctaw
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love it, does what we needed!
7/31/2012

Customer review by ronniechristine

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by ronniechristine
by ronniechristine

I purchased this machine because our fridge ice maker seems to never keep up with our daily consumption and this is just what we needed. My husband was skeptical at first and now thinks this is the best thing I've ever bought. I purchased this over a month ago and it has been in use ever since. We have ours set on medium sized ice and it dumps a round about every 10-11 minutes. One round of ice fills approx. a regular sized drinking cup. Freezing the ice in your own freezer makes it harder, last longer. Very easy to use, just continue dumping the ice when the basket is full and filling with water to the line shown and it will continue to make ice. Once the basket is full, the red light indicator will come on and the machine will stop making ice until you empty the basket, once emptied it will resume normal operation in about 30 seconds or so. We're very glad we made this purchase and now we're buying another for our daughter who lives in an apartment without an ice maker!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ronniechristine
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Pleased
11/3/2011

Customer review by kpserv

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by kpserv
by kpserv

After reviewing several portable ice makers, I decided to take my chances with this one. After following the mfg. instructions - letting it sit upright for 4 hours after shipment, washing it, placing it on the counter at least 5 inches from a wall, and then letting it sit for another hour - I plugged it in, poured in a gallon of water and had ice within 10 minutes. The first ice was a little small, but after the initial run, the ice is the correct size and does not have a metallic taste. It is a little wet, so if you put it in the freezer it will stick together. I break it apart and it does not stick together after that. It makes much more ice than we can possibly use, so I do not run it continuously. Two baskets of ice fill up my ice bin in my freezer. It makes a basket of ice in about two hours. The fan runs quietly, it is a little noisy as it gets ready to drop the ice. I have had it a week, and am very pleased with its performance and highly recommend it. If anything changes, I will update this post.

Was this review helpful? (41) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kpserv
Hartsville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Quiet Little Workhorse
6/25/2010

Customer review by PawPawBill

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by PawPawBill
by PawPawBill
Top 500 contributor

My wife and I have been using an ice machine for several years because we got tired of messing with ice trays... besides, the ice trays took up valuable room in our refrigerator freezer. We had previously bought a refurbished machine on eBay, but we discovered the machine had issues. It was loud (compressor?) and the metal ice bucket was a magnet for mold. When the old one went kaput we bought this ice machine online from Wal-Mart. It is a little bit smaller than our old machine, but we soon learned that it makes ice at a rate that is nothing less than amazing. Also, it is so quiet that you can only hear it when it dumps ice into the easy-to-clean plastic bucket. We love this machine and use it about twice a week. We have even started putting large freezer bags of ice in our big freezer for fishing trips and outdoor barbeques. You can buy a bigger, more expensive ice machine but I doubt you will find a machine any better than this one. An added bonus is that it doesn't take up much counter space. Again, we love it and give it our highest recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (704) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PawPawBill
Leon, West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Works well, smells bad
11/14/2013

Customer review by Chuck451

4.0 stars 11/14/2013 by Chuck451
by Chuck451
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is indeed a nice little ice maker. It makes 9 cubes every 8 or so minutes once its been running for about an hour. The first hour it will make cubes but their thin and melt almost immediately. This is not a PARTY icemaker. It will keep up with 3 maybe 4 moderate drinkers, but thats about it. For two people it works fantastic. We use it camping and it really works well. The big drawback, if I were using it in my house, is the smell it produces. It blows a rubber type smell out of the cooling fan. I returned my first one thinking there was something wrong, but my new one is the same. I ran it nonstop for a week hoping the smell would disappear and it smelled my whole kitchen up. Anyone that came over noticed it immediately. It works for me because I use it outside, but id never have one in my house. Also its extremely loud when the cubes drop, so I doubt one would keep it on at night. If you can deal those two issues its really a great machine.

Was this review helpful? (74) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck451
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portable Ice Maker
8/22/2011

Customer review by noreiga

5.0 stars 8/22/2011 by noreiga
by noreiga

I don't write many reviews...but I MUST on this one....We got our ice maker for our camper thinking it would save us on ice purchases....We opened the box and set the machine on the counter and let it set for an hour to settle the contents in the unit before filling with water.....we filled the container with enough water to fill to the fill line. after about 8-10 minutes we hear dropping of ice!!! The first few batches of ice looked puny..but after this thing got the insides cold it went to town making nice looking Ice!!! Could not ask for a better machine. It worked flawless all day long and filled the ice bucket up and when the bucket got full it shut down. when we got ice and the ice bucket was no longer full....It kicked back on....we had it making small ice cube, which was plenty big....and it was dropping 9 cubes of ice every 8 minutes like clockwork. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (74) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noreiga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
How to Fix "Add Water" False Error
3/7/2011

Customer review by WhoIsEverFree

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by WhoIsEverFree
by WhoIsEverFree

Many people have complained that when they get a new unit, set it up and turn it on they immediately get the annoying "Add Water" LED false alert! I say flase because you can fill it up with water to the top of the MAX fill line and you will continue to get this alert and NO ice will be made. To fix the add water LED on error - remove the screws that hold on back cover, then remove the screws that hold on the top rear cover. Next you will see a small a small tube that the water comes from located about middle way on the back wall near the top of the unit. There will be a piece of metal that is supposed to be bent to touch the stream of water when the pump is running. Bend the metal so that its in the stream of water when running. This piece of metal is that the on board microprocessor uses to sense water flow, if it not touching the stream of water when its running you will get this false alarm and the until will shut itself off and falsely tell you to add water. A Slight bend with a small screwdriver and you are in business! Now you will not get a false error of "Add Water" when the there is water in the unit.

Was this review helpful? (209) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhoIsEverFree
La Grange, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works as advertized
8/1/2013

Customer review by vasimo

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by vasimo
by vasimo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I’ve had this for about three weeks and used it 10 to 12 times. It makes ice as indicated. I have used the medium and large settings. I cleaned it and ran water through it prior to usage as directed. The ice cubes tasted fine. They also did not crack or shatter as some people indicated. I used them along with refrigerator cubes and they seemed to melt at the same rate. If you leave the cubes in the basket they will melt eventually. This process seemed to work as indicated in the manual. The machine did turn off when the reservoir was empty and the basket was full. You can hear the machine when its running. It didn't seem to be overly loud to me as some people indicated and you can hear the cubes drop if in the same room. The machine has worked exactly as described in the manual so far. My guess is having it on a flat surface inside the house may have a good deal of impact on its performance.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vasimo
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Buy it!!!
9/14/2013

Customer review by TBone03045

5.0 stars 9/14/2013 by TBone03045
by TBone03045

If you are an ice chewer, as am I, you MUST buy this ice maker! I have been in search of the perfect ice cube for years and this machine is the definitive answer! The rocks this baby produces are PERFECT for chewing, and boy does it pump them out faster than I need them! No regrets at all with this purchase, wish I had made it years ago. Read and follow the instructions first. Then plug her in, dump in some nice spring water, and hit go. Ten minutes later, grab a handful of rocks and top off with your favorite bourbon (or whatever is your thing) and you are THERE!!! Start chewing! Good stuff! You will not be disappointed! I am VERY happy with this purchase, and when it dies, as all refrigeration products will eventually do, I will gladly (and very quickly) purchase another one. Cannot beat the price (especially here at Wallyworld) and / or the performance. HIGHLY recommended!!! GO FOR IT!!! T-Bone

Was this review helpful? (86) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TBone03045
New England
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This is great!!!
5/26/2011

Customer review by 4whlngranny

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by 4whlngranny
by 4whlngranny

The ice maker in our refridgerater was not hooked up, so, I purchased the Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker. This was the best buy I have ever made. After following the cleaning and set-up instructions, I filled the resevour with water and hit the start button. Within 15 minutes I had ice. I tried all three size options and found all to be convenient for my different needs. It did not take long before I had enough ice to fill the ice bin in my freezer. I love the convenient drain on the side. It enables me to completely drain all the water out of the machine and dry the inside for storage until it was needed again. This ice maker is great to have for get togethers, picnics, and for vacations. This is a great addition for anyone who entertains a lot or just uses a lot of ice during the summer. It makes twice the ice in half the time as a refridgerater ice maker.

Was this review helpful? (86) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4whlngranny
Sumter, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Ice Producer
12/14/2013

Customer review by Goldbug11

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Goldbug11
by Goldbug11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Our built in ice maker just couldn't keep up with our ice demand on a daily basis and we were tired of emptying ice trays all the time. We bought this machine to supplement this demand for ice. Well it makes so much ice it not only keeps up with our needs, we have filled up an extra ice bin, our built in ice maker bin and zip lock bags. We have not had to use our built in ice maker since we have started using this machine. Looks like we may have to start using it every other day for awhile or we are going to have too much ice. Nice problem to have instead of not enough ice. We have not found the noise to be a bother, most of the noise is when it dumps ice when the bin is empty and not so much after it has dumped a few times...and we find that to be a good noise since it just reminds us how hard of a worker this machine is. It's also nice to just open the lid and scoop out the ice we need and not have to open and close our freezer all day long. If you have the room for this machine and a need for more ice we would certainly recommend this ice maker.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goldbug11
Bloomington, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love my ice maker
7/7/2016

Customer review by Malka613

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Malka613
by Malka613
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ran mine 24/7 for over a year. This is my second one, but this time I bought the service plan using the rollback savings.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malka613
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good.
11/17/2010

Customer review by mugsy79

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by mugsy79
by mugsy79

We've had this ice maker for about three months, and so far it consistently does exactly what we need it to. My boyfriend is in construction and used to buy ice from the gas station every morning at about $3 per bag. Now, we start making ice when we get home for the next day. It makes enough to fill his cooler and he's saving about $60 a month. Tip: when the red light turns on because it's full of ice, it's because the metal rod sticking through the basket is a sensor and detects cold when the ice touches it. We used to just wait for it to reset, thinking it needed time, but you can reset it instantly by either pouring tepid water over the rod or just hold it using the heat from your fingers. Took us a little while to figure this out, maybe it explains it in the manual but we didn't catch it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mugsy79
Miami, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
cool machine
7/13/2016

Customer review by dhah

5.0 stars 7/13/2016 by dhah
by dhah
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Yes it's an ice maker not a cooler or freezer. It does what it's supposed to. The only thing I see that could be improved is some how to add more insulation so the ice that is sitting in the tray don't start to melt fast. I'm not sure if even that would work since when it is making ice and its ready to drop them the tubes that freeze the water also heat up to make it possible to release the cubes and in turn you end up with slightly wetter than your normal freezer ice cubes. Overall I'm completely satisfied. I was able to make enough ice to keep up with our family of 5 adults and have some bagged up for later. I just make ice every weekend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dhah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quality Product
7/10/2016

Customer review by Italialady

5.0 stars 7/10/2016 by Italialady
by Italialady

I purchased this icemaker approximately a year ago and it just suddenly stopped making ice I called Magic Chef as I was about two weeks from the one-year warranty expiration. They had me bring it to a repair store in my neighborhood and after having it for two weeks they decided it was not fixable so they refunded me my entire purchase price. I did buy the extended warranty but didn't use it so they refunded me that money too and now I plan on just repurchasing another one. We ran it 24/7 and it worked marvelous but I'm thinking its not meant for continuous use however it served our need and because of that I will repurchase it and recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Italialady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Meets basic goal of a lot of ice
10/31/2013

Customer review by WifeEatsIce

4.0 stars 10/31/2013 by WifeEatsIce
by WifeEatsIce
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second unit I've recieved. The first unit did nothing! Literally. It was easy to return to Wal-Mart and I went online to order another. Shipping was very fast for me...two days. The second unit is making ice and consistently makes ice (at least for the two weeks we've had it). My wife, the ice eater, absolutely loved the first ice batch it made on the small setting. The thin-walled, bullet-shaped pieces were easy to eat. As the unit continues to make batches, the ice walls get thicker. Although she can still bite through, she prefers to bash the ice with a rubber mallet in a plastic ziploc bag. Not because she likes the extra work, it's much easier to eat. Maybe the third time would be a charm and we'd get a unit that operates perfectly. We've only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't review longevity/durability (average until proven otherwise).

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WifeEatsIce
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really works.
7/23/2016

Customer review by Conky

5.0 stars 7/23/2016 by Conky
by Conky
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Make sure and read the directions. The unit needs to sit upright without plugging in for several hours to get gasses into proper orientation inside unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Conky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Kept asking for refill of water
7/22/2016

Customer review by MLTX

1.0 stars 7/22/2016 by MLTX
by MLTX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quit making ice. Kept asking for refill of water. Checked all areas & read manual. Very disappointed in product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MLTX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1167 total reviews
1-20 of 1167 reviews