Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

20 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-19 of 19 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

One of the best kegerator options for beginners
8/23/2011

Customer review by goosehunter88

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by goosehunter88
by goosehunter88

At first I did not want to bother writing a review, but other's reviews have helped me so much that I decided to write a semi-detailed review about this kegerator. First of all, I do recommend this kegerator because it holds full 1/2 barrel kegs, it does get the beer cold enough for proper performance, Magic Chef's quality is great, and the whole set up is aesthetically pleasing. The instructions are easy to follow, it has wheels with locks (comes in handy when wheeling the kegerator out from the wall to change CO2 tank/check the regulator), it contains everything you need but the keg of beer, and the 5lb CO2 bottle is enough to charge about 7 kegs if you get it filled to capacity and have no CO2 leaks. The refrigerator is Magic Chef quality and functions flawlessly... it's the 'Draught Technologies USA' beer equipment that I had problems with. I personally had a leaky coupler (the part that screws into the actual keg and taps into the beer). This wasn't too big of a deal, however, because a good quality new coupler is only $25 and hooks right to the lines supplied with this kegerator. Also, the regulator supplied with this kegerator is a single guage regulator. This regulator only tells you how much pressure you have going to the keg; it does not tell you how much charge is left in the CO2 bottle. The problem with not knowing what's in the bottle is that you won't know when to get ready to fill it back up until it's out, and you won't know if you have a slow CO2 leak until you're out of CO2. I would recommend you purchase a dual guage regulator. You can get them just about anywhere for $50-$75 and it will hook right up to your equipment. You will just need to purchase gaskets for between the new regulator and your CO2 bottle, as they will be different than the one that comes with this kegerator. Aside from the coupler and regulator (both very easy to replace), the beer gets nice and cold and I have had no other major issues with it. The only issue you may notice is foam when you first draw a beer. That's because the beer tower itself is not cooled. This is a very common issue with all kegerators. Since the beer line going up to the tower isn't cooled, CO2 escapes the liquid much easier when poured. To solve this problem, I purchased a $35 fan that plugs into the wall and blows cold air up a tube into the beer tower. This got rid of my foam, and I've been enjoying cold beer ever since.

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goosehunter88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everyone should have one!
8/27/2010

Customer review by DJandKathy

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by DJandKathy
by DJandKathy

The only thing I would say bad about it is I didn't realize the CO2 canister was installed on the back of it so you can't push it flush against the wall and it sticks out alot further than we anticipated. You can't see that from the picture though but I will say it is a very nice, durable product for a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DJandKathy
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Buy
3/9/2011

Customer review by JasonGraftonOhio

4.0 stars 3/9/2011 by JasonGraftonOhio
by JasonGraftonOhio

Only bad thing is foam. Get a bit of foam with the pressure set at 2 psi. Working with the pressure/lines to play with this. Pretty common issue with all kegerators. Apparently the line in the tower does not keep the beer cold enough and that results in a bit of foam before the beer starts flowing out good. Basically, will get 8 ozs of foam and then will be good for as much as I want to poor. But easy to assemble and best deal I could find. Runs good so far.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JasonGraftonOhio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First rate product
7/17/2010

Customer review by gandolph31

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by gandolph31
by gandolph31

It was other reviews that made me buy this kegerator and they were right. Well built with heavy duty tapper and a real co2 tank had me up and running in no time. Quality and low price buy this one.

Was this review helpful? (12) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gandolph31
Kansas City MO.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good, but you should be aware of a few things
10/12/2011

Customer review by BStrunkorBNothing

4.0 stars 10/12/2011 by BStrunkorBNothing
by BStrunkorBNothing

First, be aware that you will have to fill the CO2 tank when you get the box open. Second, the recommended pressure listed in the poorly written instructions is a bit high. You can probably operate between 9-6 PSI. Also, you should be aware that the beer tower itself is not cooled. As such, the first few ounces after letting the beer sit are foam. One solution is to set up a fan and hose that runs up the tower, delivering cool air from main unit to the top. Other than those points, I love this unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BStrunkorBNothing
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleased as a whole
12/11/2011

Customer review by Happybeerguy

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by Happybeerguy
by Happybeerguy

I bought this from a local handyman shop already assembled. I basically had to reassemble the thing, but once I filled the CO2 tank and got everything assembled the right way this kegerator has been fantastic! It's a tight fit with the standard 1/2 keg but it does fit and the beer stays VERY cold. As stated in other reviews I plan on replacing the regulator that comes with it so I can see what the PSI is in the tank but other than that this is a fantastic buy. The assembly is as simple as can be. I look forward to enjoying this for a long time. I would DEFINITELY recommend this for people looking for a great rig.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happybeerguy
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My buddies love me (their wives hate me)!
2/16/2013

Customer review by Marc315

5.0 stars 2/16/2013 by Marc315
by Marc315

I did a fair amount of research on these before my wife bought this one for me for a fathers day gift last year. Most reviews complained of a shoddy tap head or a door that wouldn't close. This Magic Chef unit had decent reviews so I chose this one. It was perfect out of the box. I am on my fifth 1/2 keg and the 5lb co2 btl is still not empty. I will agree with previous reviewers...the mfr recommends setting the co2 gauge to 10. I dialed it back to about 7-8 and it flows perfectly. I raved about this so much, a family member bought one too. He loves it as well This kegerator is a winner. Absolutely the best gift I ever received.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marc315
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value - nice product
7/9/2010

Customer review by nonickname1313

4.0 stars 7/9/2010 by nonickname1313
by nonickname1313

Fridge is very nice looking, works well, easy to put together. Great value - did a lot of web search and this really is the best deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nonickname1313
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Plug & Play
2/13/2011

Customer review by JMac17

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by JMac17
by JMac17

Product arrived to my local store via the Ship-to-Site feature in less than 4 days. Once I got it home, I had the unit operational in less than an hour (manual says you should let unit run for 24 hours before installing keg). I purchased separately a dual gauge regulator rather than the single that comes with it. Other than that, I did not need any other type of adjustment. Beer is cold and works like a charm!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMac17
East Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Magic Chef 4.9 Cubic Foot Keg Cooler
7/21/2010

Customer review by bonkersbingo

3.0 stars 7/21/2010 by bonkersbingo
by bonkersbingo

We are having a lot of trouble getting too much foam and the beer isn't that cold enough. With the bottle on the back it makes the cooler stick out too far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bonkersbingo
Lake havasu City, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Needs Improvement
2/13/2013

Customer review by WhoGoosetheMoose

2.0 stars 2/13/2013 by WhoGoosetheMoose
by WhoGoosetheMoose

This product needs improvement in the following areas.... 1) Instructions are vague at best. 2) Keg is very tight in unit. 3) Dripping dispenser. 4) So far nothing but foam after waiting 24 hrs to settle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhoGoosetheMoose
Dillon, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/22/2013

Customer review by onedown

2.0 stars 4/22/2013 by onedown
by onedown

This unit looks great, chills great, but will not fit a standard size 1/2 keg..the door will not shut tight, the keg hits,1/6, will fit fine but thats it. I contacted Magic chef and they told me they have had this complaint before, so buyer beware!!!!! I have returned to Walmart know problem they are great ! I have since purchased the Danby 5.8 and no problems at all works great fits all, with room for glasses or a couple of bottles..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onedown
N.Y
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't hold a keg
7/20/2013

Customer review by pointlessname

1.0 stars 7/20/2013 by pointlessname
by pointlessname

Bought it, assembled what needed to be assembled. Got the CO2 cartridge filled. Bought a keg of beer and it doesn't fit. Very disappointing... Don't buy it unless you are going to remove the tap and use it as a mini fridge...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pointlessname
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Not cold enough to enjoy
6/8/2012

Customer review by ConcernedConsumer14

1.0 stars 6/8/2012 by ConcernedConsumer14
by ConcernedConsumer14

I have been researching kegerators for the past couple weeks, and ended up going with this one. I am sorely disappointed in the actual refrigerator. Never did the temp fall below 44-43 deg F. I bought a 1/2 barrel of my favorite brew, which is not cheap. I was unable to fully enjoy the beer because the refrigerator would not get cold enough. I EVEN TRIED THE SCREW METHOD that previous reviews say and it DID NOT WORK. Also had to place a piece of wood under the keg to get the door to shut. What a stupid design this thing is. For this amount of money you should get something that performs as expected, and this DOES NOT. This fridge was located in my kitchen, so it was in a cool area. I returned this piece of junk as soon as keg was empty. I am now going to buy a cheap refrigerator off of Craigslist, verify it gets cold, then convert to kegerator. This will likely be cheaper anyways.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConcernedConsumer14
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not worth the money
1/27/2013

Customer review by hotcaro7

2.0 stars 1/27/2013 by hotcaro7
by hotcaro7

when we got it home we got a quarter and the co2 tank filled. hooked it up and NOTHING. So a buddy of mine owed a tavern so he cam to look at it. again NOTHING. hmmmm so I called the home brew store and with a $40 service call and a $40 coupling that was bad. we are in business. once replaced the defective parts it wooks great. Also barrels that have plastic on the outside will not fit. Measure before you buy your beer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hotcaro7
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Couldn't be easier
5/22/2012

Customer review by CabanaBoy1838

5.0 stars 5/22/2012 by CabanaBoy1838
by CabanaBoy1838

Quick set up + No problems = Cold Beer. Simple as that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CabanaBoy1838
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for the value
9/11/2012

Customer review by Stacey001

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by Stacey001
by Stacey001

Have had no problems, alot of people complain about it being to foamy, not try the Keg cooler isn't the problem knowing how much CO2 to put in is the problem, it takes some trial and error.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stacey001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/20/2012

Customer review by hrview

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by hrview
by hrview

No problems. Worked but took about 24 hours to initially cool the keg.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hrview
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Poor Quality, workmanship, customer service
3/7/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/7/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This unit was a nightmare. The co2 holder was bent and had to be modified to fit. Nothing but foam, finally troubleshooted parts were missing. Called "customer service 4 times to get parts. Called me back a few days later and they lost the order and didn't even know what part was previously ordered. Been over a month and we are returning the product. A complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never