Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 613 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

613 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

613 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
374
4 stars
127
3 stars
12
2 stars
24
1 stars
76
1-20 of 545 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 545 total reviews
1-20 of 545 reviews
The Best Microwave Oven
2/9/2011

Customer review by aaronlipa

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by aaronlipa
by aaronlipa

With no disrespect to Wal Mart but who would have thunk. With all the high end (and high priced) stores that sell very high end appliances you'd never think Wal Mart would have this gem. We've owned 4 other microwave ovens and this is by far the very best. I am actually a licensed Quality Engineer and pretty much know what to look for in manufactured products. This all SS inside and out microwave would be an incredible buy at twice the price. They even put an 8 year warranty on the magnatron tube - the heart of the machine. It has a handle on the door that you actually pull rather than a button of some kind like most of the others have and it heats very evenly with a system that directs microwaves from 5 different directions as well as having a rotating dish to further aid even heating. Everyone who has seen this beauty in our home has commented on it's good looks. For me to rave about something like this is very rare. I may not come across something made as well as this for a long long time. So, if you need a microwave of this size, don't even think about it. Just order it while you can.

Was this review helpful? (478) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aaronlipa
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
So far, so good!
9/30/2010

Customer review by nosouldoubt

4.0 stars 9/30/2010 by nosouldoubt
by nosouldoubt

I've only been using this microwave for a couple of weeks, but so far I have no complaints. Stainless steel inside AND out makes for easy cleaning. When the microwave is microwaving it's super quiet, yet powerful and doesn't take up too much space. I can easily fit a full size dinner plate in it. I feel good about recomending this product.

Was this review helpful? (154) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nosouldoubt
Vancouver, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Long life
7/6/2010

Customer review by SassyCook

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by SassyCook
by SassyCook

I am ordering this model because I had the exact model for the past 12 years. My old one might have lasted longer if my daughter didn't microwave something with foil on it a couple of years ago. It has a large capacity and it fits well on an undercabinet microwave shelf.

Was this review helpful? (157) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SassyCook
El Cajon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very impressive microwave
10/13/2013

Customer review by value13

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by value13
by value13

After owning many different microwaves through the years, this unit is everything we were looking for. First of all, the stainless steel outside and inside is beautiful and durable. The finish is easy to keep clean and resists fingerprints. The door closes firmly without that cheap feeling so many units have. The keypad and settings are very easy to use, for any age group. The variable power levels are useful for any task. Even the popcorn setting makes a perfect bag, with few kernals left behind. The inside is quite large and the light illumination is great. My wife really likes the stainless steel and the ease of keeping it clean and bright. Overall this microwave is very powerful, impressive, and exudes quality. It's far better than any we found at the completion. We would definitely buy again. As for shipping, it arrived at our house three days after placing the order!

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
value13
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Microwave extraordinaire!!
8/24/2011

Customer review by DesignDiva56

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by DesignDiva56
by DesignDiva56

I, of course, read the reviews before purchasing this product and I was a bit concerned about the flaws that were noted in some of the reviews. My husband and I tend to have bad luck and I figured we would end up with one that the light stayed on in, got banged up in delivery, or just quit working. Well, it is time for me to buy a lottery ticket. We have a beautiful and awesome microwave!! We were replacing a 1200 watt microwave, but there is no preceptible difference with the 1100 watt. It cooks, reheats, and defrosts well. It operates quietly. In short, it is the best microwave we have had in our 29 years of marriage and it just may be our last. Not only would I recommend this to a friend, I would buy it for my children.

Was this review helpful? (98) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DesignDiva56
Singer, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Microwave
7/19/2010

Customer review by Dryoung

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by Dryoung
by Dryoung

We needed something for our kitchen at work that gets alot of use. I ordered this Magic Chef and it is not only gorgeous, it is so functional as well.

Was this review helpful? (68) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dryoung
Delray Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this microwave!!!!
12/31/2013

Customer review by catrine

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by catrine
by catrine

I needed to replace my last microwave and wanted something that works well and also looked nice. This fit the bill for both. I love the stainless interior and the outside looks nice on my countertop. NO!! You cannot use any metal in it. It has all the features I wanted. The size is great! I did not expect the interior to be so roomy. My old micro was 1 cubic ft. I also had a "Push button" type opener, but I like the handle better. I'm glad I got the "magic chef " Hopefully, it will last a few years.

Was this review helpful? (70) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catrine
rockland county ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent choice for looks and value
9/23/2012

Customer review by 7950XOX

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by 7950XOX
by 7950XOX

This microwave really looks great! Stainless steel inside and all around the outside! I love the vertical chrome handle. Ok, it doesn't have the 'sensor' settings that more expensive models have, but it has all I want to reheat and defrost food. There is a light on inside when the unit runs and it stays on when you open the door. I like all the features and it is easy to use and easy to clean. However, it only beeps a tripple beep when it's finished....no additional beeps later. I read hundreds of reviews on all the other big name brands and the reviews on this model before purchasing it. I am very glad with this purchase! I still can't believe that I paid only $99.99 for this microwave! It is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (62) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
7950XOX
East Tawas, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Most beautiful microwave I've ever seen!
7/9/2011

Customer review by vintagevixen1951

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by vintagevixen1951
by vintagevixen1951

I thought about returning it because it doesn't have as many features as my old GE, but I'll get used to it because it's just too gorgeous to send back! Everyone notices and compliments on it's appearance. It is stainless steel INSIDE and OUT! It has a door handle instead of the push button opener. ( Note to manufacturers: Many people prefer the door handle-you might want to take a survey.) And when you first open the box and take it out, you might think they sent a blue stainless steel microwave by mistake, but don't panic; it's just a thick blue film they put on to protect it from scratches, although the blue looked nice to me. There's a sticker warning you to peel it off before using the microwave for the first time. All in all, I'm pretty satisfied with what it does so far and it's so quiet , you hardly know it's running.

Was this review helpful? (97) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vintagevixen1951
High Ridge, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Microwave
5/11/2011

Customer review by welshgirl

4.0 stars 5/11/2011 by welshgirl
by welshgirl

I really like the look of the microwave and find it a lot more powerful than my last one. I was a bit worried by some of the reviews i.e. light would not turn off. When I got microwave home I noticed I had the same problem with the light when closing the door however after my husband looked at it we noticed it was just the way the door closed in to the latch and you just have to pull slightly down on handle when closing microwave door. I really like this microwave it looks very nice in my kitchen and works very well.

Was this review helpful? (46) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
welshgirl
Richmond Hill,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good choice at a reasonable price.
7/9/2013

Customer review by GJaneM

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by GJaneM
by GJaneM

I spent hours doing research on the internet, before I selected this microwave. Our first microwave lasted for decades. The next, an LG, failed in about two years., and the last, a GE, worked for three. I am hoping for better from this one. Perhaps this smaller company is less advanced in planned obsolescence engineering! If not, it cost less than half of the prices paid for the other two. I wanted one with a light inside, when opened, so I could see how things were doing - which this one has. I like the door handle, which can't fail, as those push-button openers are known to do upon occasion. The beeper has a high, unmusical, slightly annoying sound - but it doesn't repeat itself, which suits us fine. Also, it flashes no annoying messages, like the GE did. Except for "Beverage," we haven't found much use for the single key commands - and I have yet to figure out how best to defrost things. Containers have a tendency to get too hot on the bottom. Overall, it has behaved quite acceptably so far.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GJaneM
Kingston, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful but
3/18/2014

Customer review by Darin2

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Darin2
by Darin2

This microwave is indeed beautiful. Ours lasted 100 days--at that point after a certain period of time, it would stop heating. The machine still ran so you are unaware that it is not cooking. I have had microwaves since Amana came out, and have been cooking rice in them since the 1970's. When we called the repair people, we were told, you should not cook rice in it for over 10 minutes-people have difficulty cooking potatoes also. Last night I cooked onions for 6 minutes, opened the door, and steam poured out, and when I attempted to cook the mushrooms, it ran but did not cook. The response from the repair people--that happens. This is my 4th microwave and never have I had this problem. It is totally unacceptable. The warantee says I must bring it into a repair shop, of which there are 2--60 mile round trip. We have bought a new microwave--definitely not a Magic Chef and will be tossing this one out. Beautiful but not much of a bargain. It was an expensive $200 lesson

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Darin2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product (so far)
6/9/2010

Customer review by handyvandy

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by handyvandy
by handyvandy

I've only had this oven for 2 mo.'s, so my durability rating was 4 not 5. But I like everything about it so far. Cooks quickly and evenly without burning. Power settings actually mean something. Doesn't burn popcorn using the popcorn button. Taller inside than any others I've seen in this size range. Love the door-pull handle - I hate push-button openers! Looks great, easy to clean, pretty quiet. 1.3 cu. ft. for under $100! Definitely recommend this oven!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
handyvandy
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good In-Between Choice
1/21/2014

Customer review by madmacs1958

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by madmacs1958
by madmacs1958

I was indifferent about replacing the one we had; it had some quirks but overall it still worked OK. Well, I was wrong. This offering from Magic Chef proves that all are not the same. This unit looks great and its performance has exceeded my expectations. The unit has a "professional" appearance in that the entire box, inside and out, is made of stainless, unlike so many other models which feature a stainless door or front panel only. Performance-wise, this model cooks more evenly than any microwave I have ever used; it is a little bit faster than others we have had, but the difference is most noticeable in the lack of "hot spots" or "little explosions" when you are heating things like spaghetti sauce in a large volume container. It heats very quietly and very evenly, unlike most all of our previous models. I am pleasantly surprised by both the quality and performance of this unit.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madmacs1958
Ozark, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love it!
4/4/2011

Customer review by ChiefCookBottleWasher

5.0 stars 4/4/2011 by ChiefCookBottleWasher
by ChiefCookBottleWasher

This a lot of microwave for the price. It has performed great and the all stainless steel design is easy to keep clean both inside and out. My previous Magic Chef lasted over 15 years. If this one lasts half as long, I'll be a happy customer. Of course, I've only had it for 2 weeks so durability is is yet to be seen. By all indications, so far, it seems very well made.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChiefCookBottleWasher
Monmouth County, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Quality for the Price - Arrived ON TIME too!
1/4/2014

Customer review by dreilman

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by dreilman
by dreilman

My old ''GE'' microwave was about 7 yrs. old, then the ''light show'' began.. I knew I didn't want to risk anything else happening, so I went to Walmart.com and looked at all their microwaves.. I did my research on a lot of them, and came to this Magic Chef ... It's staineless steel on the outside AND inside ... it should be a whole lot easier to keep clean ... although I always keep mine clean to begin with... It's quieter than the GE was and easier to use too...It arrived in a few days and was ''out of the box'' and set up on my Counter in less than 10 minutes...So far, I've had it a little over a week, .. it's great looking on my countertop too.. For the price, size and design, it was a ''No Brainer'' for me... it cost me less than any microwave I've bought in the past.. I also opened up a Walmart.com credit card which offered $25.00 credit if I used it that day towards my purchase...Can't beat that either!

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dreilman
Littlerock, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
REALLY HAPPY WITH MY NEW STAINLESS STEEL MICROWAVE
5/17/2012

Customer review by JennyFL

5.0 stars 5/17/2012 by JennyFL
by JennyFL

Amazing microwave!! light, cheap, REALLY STAINLESS STEEL (NOT BLACK AND STAINLESS STEEL), big, noiseless... really happy with my mother's day present!!!! :)))))

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JennyFL
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great oven look and partial stainless interior
1/24/2014

Customer review by CapAprzr

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by CapAprzr
by CapAprzr

I am,so far, pleased with this microwave oven. High marks for exterior appearance . A big plus is it's stainless steel interior, however the top of the interior is not stainless steel; it appears to be a painted silver enamel which on casual inspection might be overlooked. I wanted a full stainless interior which is not present on this model. I bought this model due to the fact that my last several microwave ovens interior paint failed and began to rust as paint (and or choice of metal for interior) seems to be of a lesser quality on more recently manufactured microwave ovens and therefore have a shorter life as a result. The areas that rusted on my previous microwave ovens did not occur on the top interior panel so I don't think that the non stainless top interior will really be of consequence on this model. I just purchased this oven so I can't vouch for its durability but based on cost I believe it to be very good value.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CapAprzr
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after 6 months. Worst CS ever!
5/16/2012

Customer review by FUZZTCAT77

1.0 stars 5/16/2012 by FUZZTCAT77
by FUZZTCAT77

Microwaves control panel completely stopped working without any warning almost exactly six months to the day of purchase. Contacted customer service to have it fixed under the 1yr warranty. After some initial hassle of not being contacted like website said I would, finally received email with contact info for a service center that was more than a little out of my way. Contacted service center to arrange drop off and found out there hours where less than accommodating for anyone who works. On top of that there estimated time for repair was two weeks. Contacted Magic Chef CS again and let them know I was unhappy with this remedy and received this response "Based on the problem with your unit we currently don’t have the control panel and we don’t have an ETA for it. Per management our only and next option is to have you cut the end of the power cord plug and mail it to the address below for a refund. Once the cord plug has been received, we will submit a refund request. " REALLY!!! Why did you direct me to the service center in the first place then???? Cut the cord and mail it to you for a refund????? Why do you not exchange it and save a customer????? This is probably the worst service I have ever received. I will never buy Magic Chef again!

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FUZZTCAT77
Knoxville TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Would have been wonderful, if it would have worked
6/19/2011

Customer review by jakobboyz

1.0 stars 6/19/2011 by jakobboyz
by jakobboyz

I loved the features of the microwave and the way it looked. It had everything I wanted and the price was great. Well when something seems to good to be true, it is. It worked 3 times and then quit heating. We tried to heat food and after 6 minutes it was still cold. I wanted to order another one hoping it was just a lemon but they were no longer available on the site.

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jakobboyz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 545 total reviews
1-20 of 545 reviews