Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 651 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

651 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

651 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
404
4 stars
130
3 stars
12
2 stars
25
1 stars
80
1-20 of 583 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews
Most beautiful microwave I've ever seen!
7/9/2011

Customer review by vintagevixen1951

5.0 stars 7/9/2011 by vintagevixen1951
by vintagevixen1951

I thought about returning it because it doesn't have as many features as my old GE, but I'll get used to it because it's just too gorgeous to send back! Everyone notices and compliments on it's appearance. It is stainless steel INSIDE and OUT! It has a door handle instead of the push button opener. ( Note to manufacturers: Many people prefer the door handle-you might want to take a survey.) And when you first open the box and take it out, you might think they sent a blue stainless steel microwave by mistake, but don't panic; it's just a thick blue film they put on to protect it from scratches, although the blue looked nice to me. There's a sticker warning you to peel it off before using the microwave for the first time. All in all, I'm pretty satisfied with what it does so far and it's so quiet , you hardly know it's running.

Was this review helpful? (104) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vintagevixen1951
High Ridge, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent choice for looks and value
9/23/2012

Customer review by 7950XOX

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by 7950XOX
by 7950XOX

This microwave really looks great! Stainless steel inside and all around the outside! I love the vertical chrome handle. Ok, it doesn't have the 'sensor' settings that more expensive models have, but it has all I want to reheat and defrost food. There is a light on inside when the unit runs and it stays on when you open the door. I like all the features and it is easy to use and easy to clean. However, it only beeps a tripple beep when it's finished....no additional beeps later. I read hundreds of reviews on all the other big name brands and the reviews on this model before purchasing it. I am very glad with this purchase! I still can't believe that I paid only $99.99 for this microwave! It is well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (72) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
7950XOX
East Tawas, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this microwave!!!!
12/31/2013

Customer review by catrine

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by catrine
by catrine
Top 1000 contributor

I needed to replace my last microwave and wanted something that works well and also looked nice. This fit the bill for both. I love the stainless interior and the outside looks nice on my countertop. NO!! You cannot use any metal in it. It has all the features I wanted. The size is great! I did not expect the interior to be so roomy. My old micro was 1 cubic ft. I also had a "Push button" type opener, but I like the handle better. I'm glad I got the "magic chef " Hopefully, it will last a few years.

Was this review helpful? (74) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catrine
rockland county ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 1000 contributor
One Word....LOUD!
1/7/2016

Customer review by SaveYourMoney

1.0 stars 1/7/2016 by SaveYourMoney
by SaveYourMoney

I never review products online but after the experience that I've had on just the first day of owning this unit, a review is a must. The microwave design & appearance is very nice but looks are definitely deceiving on this one. We just received the microwave today & used it for the first time this evening, it has an awful, rattling noise coming from the rear of the microwave. I can hear the microwave running from the other end of our house, I never knew a microwave could be this loud. The little pegs/legs on the bottom are uneven, the microwave is off balance & wobbles when the door is opened then closed. I read a lot of the reviews, both good and bad, thought I was making a good decision but have learned since that it was the wrong decision. We have decided to return to the Whirlpool brand since our previous Whirlpool microwave lasted from September 2000 to January 2016. As the saying goes...you get what you pay for, we'll be investing a little more to get better quality.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SaveYourMoney
Would recommend to a friend? No
So far so good
1/17/2016

Customer review by Jamie

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Jamie
by Jamie

We selected this microwave for none other than the fact that it had a handle! Our previous microwave was still working fine but the button that opened it had failed twice (we had gotten it repaired for $75 which bought us another year). It is smaller than the one we had before which is what I wanted so it is a little less powerful. I like the features it has, in particular the Speedy Cook feature where you just press the button for however many seconds/minutes you want and the microwave automatically starts. The popcorn feature also seems to be perfect for popcorn bags and doesn't burn the popcorn. The defrost feature is nice: you press the number of minutes you want and then the power button beside it for the amount of power you want in the defrost (50%, 60%, etc.). Since microwaves don't seem to last more than a year from most of the reviews I have read on microwaves in general, we shall see about this one. But in the week I have had it, it's been fine :).

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS MICROWAVE! It's JUNK!
7/20/2014

Customer review by Nroyal0610

1.0 stars 7/20/2014 by Nroyal0610
by Nroyal0610

It's JUNK! I would give no stars if I could. The first couple of weeks were wonderful and then it started acting crazy. It would not cook longer than 20 minutes before shutting down and now after 5 minutes of use.. it completely shuts down and will not work. It automatically comes back on after a while. It makes horrible loud noises and seems to be possessed..lol I thought maybe it was just overheating but the manual gives no information about this. I called Magic Chef and they said that if it over heats it will shut down. Really? in just 5 minutes of use? and I would have to set up a service call where I would have to take my microwave somehere to be dropped off and repaired. My thought here is... well what am I suppose to do for a microwave in the mean time ? First Magic Chef I have ever owned and will never own another. Called my local walmart and they said just return it to store with online receipt. Taking back now!! Do not risk this happening to you. It's been very fustrating! :(

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nroyal0610
Would recommend to a friend? No
A good choice at a reasonable price.
7/9/2013

Customer review by GJaneM

4.0 stars 7/9/2013 by GJaneM
by GJaneM

I spent hours doing research on the internet, before I selected this microwave. Our first microwave lasted for decades. The next, an LG, failed in about two years., and the last, a GE, worked for three. I am hoping for better from this one. Perhaps this smaller company is less advanced in planned obsolescence engineering! If not, it cost less than half of the prices paid for the other two. I wanted one with a light inside, when opened, so I could see how things were doing - which this one has. I like the door handle, which can't fail, as those push-button openers are known to do upon occasion. The beeper has a high, unmusical, slightly annoying sound - but it doesn't repeat itself, which suits us fine. Also, it flashes no annoying messages, like the GE did. Except for "Beverage," we haven't found much use for the single key commands - and I have yet to figure out how best to defrost things. Containers have a tendency to get too hot on the bottom. Overall, it has behaved quite acceptably so far.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GJaneM
Kingston, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful but
3/18/2014

Customer review by Darin2

1.0 stars 3/18/2014 by Darin2
by Darin2

This microwave is indeed beautiful. Ours lasted 100 days--at that point after a certain period of time, it would stop heating. The machine still ran so you are unaware that it is not cooking. I have had microwaves since Amana came out, and have been cooking rice in them since the 1970's. When we called the repair people, we were told, you should not cook rice in it for over 10 minutes-people have difficulty cooking potatoes also. Last night I cooked onions for 6 minutes, opened the door, and steam poured out, and when I attempted to cook the mushrooms, it ran but did not cook. The response from the repair people--that happens. This is my 4th microwave and never have I had this problem. It is totally unacceptable. The warantee says I must bring it into a repair shop, of which there are 2--60 mile round trip. We have bought a new microwave--definitely not a Magic Chef and will be tossing this one out. Beautiful but not much of a bargain. It was an expensive $200 lesson

Was this review helpful? (41) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Darin2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would Have Given This an Excellent Rating BUT...
6/19/2014

Customer review by PGK57

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by PGK57
by PGK57

I love the look and the convenience of this microwave. I wanted a stainless model with a handle. The product is also stainless inside which tickled my fancy! It has more/less buttons for adding or deleting time, instant-on when hitting a button once and the one-plate reheat (I THINK it's a reheat button) makes figuring out proper time a breeze. Here's the BUT... when I received the product, it came UPS and packaged in a shipping box and NOT the original packaging. I didn't think about this until the microwave started going on BY ITSELF! It just goes on when it wants and there isn't any food in it at the time it decides to do so. After the third time of turning on by itself, I tried to heat a cup of coffee. No luck, no heat. The point is -- the microwave is just about everything I want but the shipping situation may have caused it to become defective due to possible mishandling and definitely bad packaging. TO BE FAIR TO MAGIC CHEF -- I am purchasing another one! To be continued...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PGK57
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Microwave Oven
2/9/2011

Customer review by aaronlipa

5.0 stars 2/9/2011 by aaronlipa
by aaronlipa
Top 1000 contributor

With no disrespect to Wal Mart but who would have thunk. With all the high end (and high priced) stores that sell very high end appliances you'd never think Wal Mart would have this gem. We've owned 4 other microwave ovens and this is by far the very best. I am actually a licensed Quality Engineer and pretty much know what to look for in manufactured products. This all SS inside and out microwave would be an incredible buy at twice the price. They even put an 8 year warranty on the magnatron tube - the heart of the machine. It has a handle on the door that you actually pull rather than a button of some kind like most of the others have and it heats very evenly with a system that directs microwaves from 5 different directions as well as having a rotating dish to further aid even heating. Everyone who has seen this beauty in our home has commented on it's good looks. For me to rave about something like this is very rare. I may not come across something made as well as this for a long long time. So, if you need a microwave of this size, don't even think about it. Just order it while you can.

Was this review helpful? (514) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aaronlipa
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Very impressive microwave
10/13/2013

Customer review by value13

5.0 stars 10/13/2013 by value13
by value13

After owning many different microwaves through the years, this unit is everything we were looking for. First of all, the stainless steel outside and inside is beautiful and durable. The finish is easy to keep clean and resists fingerprints. The door closes firmly without that cheap feeling so many units have. The keypad and settings are very easy to use, for any age group. The variable power levels are useful for any task. Even the popcorn setting makes a perfect bag, with few kernals left behind. The inside is quite large and the light illumination is great. My wife really likes the stainless steel and the ease of keeping it clean and bright. Overall this microwave is very powerful, impressive, and exudes quality. It's far better than any we found at the completion. We would definitely buy again. As for shipping, it arrived at our house three days after placing the order!

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
value13
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good In-Between Choice
1/21/2014

Customer review by madmacs1958

4.0 stars 1/21/2014 by madmacs1958
by madmacs1958
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was indifferent about replacing the one we had; it had some quirks but overall it still worked OK. Well, I was wrong. This offering from Magic Chef proves that all are not the same. This unit looks great and its performance has exceeded my expectations. The unit has a "professional" appearance in that the entire box, inside and out, is made of stainless, unlike so many other models which feature a stainless door or front panel only. Performance-wise, this model cooks more evenly than any microwave I have ever used; it is a little bit faster than others we have had, but the difference is most noticeable in the lack of "hot spots" or "little explosions" when you are heating things like spaghetti sauce in a large volume container. It heats very quietly and very evenly, unlike most all of our previous models. I am pleasantly surprised by both the quality and performance of this unit.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madmacs1958
Ozark, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great oven look and partial stainless interior
1/24/2014

Customer review by CapAprzr

4.0 stars 1/24/2014 by CapAprzr
by CapAprzr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am,so far, pleased with this microwave oven. High marks for exterior appearance . A big plus is it's stainless steel interior, however the top of the interior is not stainless steel; it appears to be a painted silver enamel which on casual inspection might be overlooked. I wanted a full stainless interior which is not present on this model. I bought this model due to the fact that my last several microwave ovens interior paint failed and began to rust as paint (and or choice of metal for interior) seems to be of a lesser quality on more recently manufactured microwave ovens and therefore have a shorter life as a result. The areas that rusted on my previous microwave ovens did not occur on the top interior panel so I don't think that the non stainless top interior will really be of consequence on this model. I just purchased this oven so I can't vouch for its durability but based on cost I believe it to be very good value.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CapAprzr
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent microwave!
12/29/2015

Customer review by KPK87015

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by KPK87015
by KPK87015

Great size, fits a couple of bowls instead of just one. Looks fantastic in our stainless kitchen. I've had a number of Magic Chef appliances and this one adds to them all being reliable, good looking, reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KPK87015
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
12/29/2015

Customer review by Ally

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Ally
by Ally

I love everything about this Microwave.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ally
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Quality for the Price - Arrived ON TIME too!
1/4/2014

Customer review by dreilman

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by dreilman
by dreilman
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old ''GE'' microwave was about 7 yrs. old, then the ''light show'' began.. I knew I didn't want to risk anything else happening, so I went to Walmart.com and looked at all their microwaves.. I did my research on a lot of them, and came to this Magic Chef ... It's staineless steel on the outside AND inside ... it should be a whole lot easier to keep clean ... although I always keep mine clean to begin with... It's quieter than the GE was and easier to use too...It arrived in a few days and was ''out of the box'' and set up on my Counter in less than 10 minutes...So far, I've had it a little over a week, .. it's great looking on my countertop too.. For the price, size and design, it was a ''No Brainer'' for me... it cost me less than any microwave I've bought in the past.. I also opened up a Walmart.com credit card which offered $25.00 credit if I used it that day towards my purchase...Can't beat that either!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dreilman
Littlerock, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Magic Chef Microwave
4/8/2014

Customer review by Red26288

1.0 stars 4/8/2014 by Red26288
by Red26288
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When it first arrived I was so excited and it was a lovely machine. Stainless steel inside and out, so my son helped me to get it hooked up and I set the clock and it worked perfect. There was nothing I needed to use the microwave for that day, so next day I wanted to heat up some can green beans. I put them in and set the timer for 2 min and when they were done , they never even got warm, was as cold as when I put them in. I tried this 4 more times and then got instruction book and read it again and then tried it again and still would not heat. I called Magic Chef Co. because I thought it was their product and they might be able to help me. What I was asked if I purchased it from them and I said no I purchased on line from Walmart. They said take it back where you purchased it we can not help you. So, no I would not recommend a product that the Mfg does not even stand by or even try to help solve the problem.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Red26288
Webster Springs, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Microwave.
12/20/2015

Customer review by Hope

5.0 stars 12/20/2015 by Hope
by Hope

I replaced my Emerson 900 watt microwave that was good for 4 years. This microwave is amazing. It has a great carousel that truly heats everything evenly. No hot/cold spots. I really enjoy the fully stainless steel interior. Also, the light is bright and you can clearly see the food through the door as it is cooking. I would definitely recommend this microwave!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hope
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not worth it.
1/19/2016

Customer review by Caramy2

1.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Caramy2
by Caramy2

This microwave looks good and with Magic Chef you would think it would work properly, but that's not the case. It works fine up until you go over about 11 minutes of continuous use. Then, it sounds like it's working, but nothing will heat up. I have to let it sit for about 10 minutes before it is usable again. Never had this happen with another microwave and I will not buy Magic Chef again. I have had this item for a little over a year (of course, right past the warranty) and this has been happening since about the 6 month mark. Should have returned it then instead of hoping it would get better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Caramy2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great, easy to use microwave!
8/12/2014

Customer review by momof3beautifullittleones

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by momof3beautifullittleones
by momof3beautifullittleones
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I chose this microwave after reading a lot! of reviews. Though some of the reviews were not so great on this one, It seemed as though the majority of people were happy with it. I have not had it too long, so I can't speak for the durability of the product, but so far I haven't had any major complaints. One of the reviews had mentioned a strong odor when using the machine. I have noticed an odor that smells a bit like melted plastic, but to me it is not unusual to have some leftover smells from manufacturing in new items. At this point I am attributing it to being a new microwave. I have been very pleased with the ease of use of the keypad. One touch of the start button sets the time for 30 seconds, and touching the start button again adds another 30 seconds at a time. The power level has been good, and I haven't had any trouble getting food to heat in a timely manner. Overall very pleased with this microwave! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momof3beautifullittleones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews