Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 752 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

752 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

752 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
406
4 stars
223
3 stars
51
2 stars
20
1 stars
52
1-20 of 681 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews
VERY NICE
4/23/2011

Customer review by Rahouma215

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Rahouma215
by Rahouma215

when i first got it i was shocked by how large the box was i was worried it would be to big since i live in a small duplex. It looks great works great i love the features easy to clean. but it took me atleast a week to get used to the size. It works great and i love it soooooooooooo much! i would recommend to anyone price was fair for a 1.1 cubic ft!!!

Was this review helpful? (84) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rahouma215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magic Chef 1.1 cu ft Microwave Review
6/4/2012

Customer review by ExpressivePerception

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by ExpressivePerception
by ExpressivePerception
Top 1000 contributor

Most people are unaware that Magic Chef products are made by the Maytag Corporation, a subsidiary of Whirlpool products. The manufacturing is completed in the USA, but some imported parts are used. Previously we had a Magic Chef stove and refrigerator that lasted 17 years, still going strong when we moved away. We purchased this microwave based on features that come standard and price value compared to others. So far we are pleased with how well the unit reheats, thaws and functions. The eight pre-programmed button features are: Popcorn - With a feature to select different timing based on how many ounces within the bag. However, be advised that even with the largest setting, it's still not enough to sufficiently pop a bag of popcorn. Potato - With the option of choosing how many potatoes you are intending to cook. Pizza- With the option to chose a time based on how many slices you are reheating. Beverage - With the option to choose either how many mugs or ounces your heating. Soup - With the option of how many ounces your heating. 4-16oz. Fresh Vegetable - With the option to choose how many ounces will be heated. 4-16oz. Dinner Plate - With the option of how many ounces each plate is. 9-16oz. Frozen Vegetable - With the option to choose how many ounces will be heated. 4-16oz. There is a Memory button that gives you the choice to preset up to 5 different reheating times specific to your needs. I seem to really like this feature, and will be using it a lot. Great for finding that magic number for perfectly popped popcorn etc... The ability to multi-section cook. By feature of thawing followed by cooking, or needing 2 different cook times for the same product. Simply set your microwave one time with what you need it to do and walk away. It will complete the first step and immediately begin the second phase after alerting you the first step is complete. The ability to use the kitchen timer while also cooking with microwave. Defrost by weight or time. The weight feature actually allows you to enter the ounces 4-100. Hitting the start button for quick 30 second cooking. Each button 1-9 can be hit once for respective time amount cooking. 1= 1 minute and so on. The microwave starts right away without the need to hit start. Cons: This unit is a bit loud. I'm not sure if that will calm once it's been used for a couple of months. One thing I know won't change is the buzzer, it's really loud. Great for when your busy elsewhere. Not so great for someone midnight snack reheating. Inside there is a small metallic colored piece of cardboard. This is supposed to be a waveguide cover. I potentially see this becoming soiled very easily and breaking downing rather quickly. From research it seems more and more microwaves are incorporating this piece into them. Several places provide replacements parts for this piece. However, I personally feel manufactures should find an alternative or revert back to designing them with the small screen hole design. **My camera is not the greatest in the world, but I'll attach a photo of this piece with this review.** The outer sides are not stainless steel. The only stainless steel pieces are around the door, and 2 small side strips surrounding the key pad. Corporations should not be aloud to mislead the public naming it a stainless steel product, because it's not. The sides are metallic silver painted. The description did mention this, and it really wasn't a deal breaker for me. Just be advised there is only about 5% percent stainless steel on the unit. The child safety feature - The door itself does not lock, but the key pad functions are your lock feature. When holding the stop button for 3 seconds it engages the safety feature. Be advised when this feature is in use, your digital time display will no longer be seen. It removes the time and replaces it with digital squares until the feature is disengaged.

Was this review helpful? (539) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExpressivePerception
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Disappointed in Magic Chef
3/30/2011

Customer review by RetiredEngineerLady

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by RetiredEngineerLady
by RetiredEngineerLady

My Walmart site-to-store experience was terrific. The product was very much a disappointment, however. It arrived with damaged housing and not from shipping, warehousing, or other conveyances / storage but rather it left the factory in that condition. I contacted Magic Chef; there has been no response. It would seem their customer service is on the same par as their quality control. The unit has since been returned to Walmart with the charges reversed and with the professional courtesy I expected.

Was this review helpful? (56) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RetiredEngineerLady
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good performance and looks, poorly designed keypad
4/7/2013

Customer review by RabbitQueen

3.0 stars 4/7/2013 by RabbitQueen
by RabbitQueen

Have had this unit for a month now. It's fairly quiet, looks nice, was the right size for our space, and was inexpensive compared to others. When opening and closing the door it feels a little flimsy and cheap (door works fine however). My only real complaint is the inconvenience of the keypad. Seems like everything takes an excessive amount of button pressing. As an example, to reheat something at 50% power for 2 minutes requires 9 key presses; there is a power level button which starts at 100 or 90% when first touched; with each press the power level drops 10% - so it takes 5 or 6 presses to get to 50% power; following this setting you have to press 2, 0, 0, to get 2 minutes - when used in conjunction with the power button, the time shortcut keys don't work (normally you could just press '2' for 2 minutes). That's a lot of keystrokes in total. The timer is not convenient to use either. I never use the pre-programmed buttons like 'popcorn', so can't critique that feature.

Was this review helpful? (46) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RabbitQueen
N.W. Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great outfit. Functions great and can't beat price
6/21/2014

Customer review by whostolemynick

4.0 stars 6/21/2014 by whostolemynick
by whostolemynick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just had it for a few days but just tried popping corn in my Presto Power- Pop Microwave Popper (which you put inside your microwave) and it did great. Only had 3 or 4 old maids when I got done. My bigger older unit was about 1350 watts and it didn't do as good. Only took a bit over 2 min. and it was done. Only thing I can see that would be an improvement would have background lights on the display figures so you could operate it in a semi-dark room without turning on bright lights or using a flashlight to see the display. I also like the one touch power buttons 1 thru 6 as long as you want full power. Have reheated my coffee a few times also with it and it works great. Oh by the way the popcorn I am using is 2,3 or longer yrs. old because my old microwave wouldn't pop right anymore without just about burning and leaving a ton of old maids. perhaps the old one was losing power and wearing out but this smaller one is doing the job as of now. Ratzaz

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whostolemynick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Overall a nice inexpensive unit
12/31/2015

Customer review by JuliaMM

4.0 stars 12/31/2015 by JuliaMM
by JuliaMM

The Positives: It is inexpensive and is a nice size for the price. Also it has a "clean" look. The best feature is the door handle. The handle is what sets this microwave oven apart from the others. The handle makes it easy to open the oven door. One does not need two hands as with most other ovens that have that pesky door button under the keypad that needs one hand to push it and the other hand to counter balance the oven unit from moving backward every time one opens and closes the door. Not so with this oven - easy open and close of the oven door with one hand. The Negatives: The keypad has a learning curve but it's not rocket science and the touch pad needs a certain push to get it to respond. But overall, I would buy this oven again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JuliaMM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Price Around
1/24/2016

Customer review by Walt

4.0 stars 1/24/2016 by Walt
by Walt

This product had the features I was looking for - 1touch cooking - and at a price that couldn't be beat. Am happy with the product and would not hesitate to purchase it again if I had to do it all again. If there was one drawback it's that I had to wait a few days before it was available for 'pick-up' at my Walmart location. Overall, very happy with the product thus far.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it's cool
1/28/2016

Customer review by firstmynini

3.0 stars 1/28/2016 by firstmynini
by firstmynini

I like this product. it's a little more complicated than my previous microwave; and, I'm not up to speed....but, I'm doing most of what I wanna do. don't fret. I haven't read the instructions completely yet.....when I do, I just Believe that all will be Well!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
firstmynini
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Two thumbs up!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Microwave

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Microwave
by Microwave

Works very nice and the price was just right!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Microwave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great medium size oven, so far. Beat expectations
4/4/2014

Customer review by vjbeagle

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by vjbeagle
by vjbeagle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched many other ovens, with the following criteria for comparison : Cost VG, 1 cu ft. or better but less than 1.3, 1000 w, handle on door vs. push button latch , cabinet overall dimensions and features. We use the oven primarily for reheating and it works very good. Makes good popcorn, great for reheating that cup of coffee or tea, water for hot breakfast cereal or that meal that got cold when you get called to the phone or the door to buy some Girl Scout cookies. I also read the reviews. The machine is not that loud, the cabinet isn't humongous and a big difference for me, the interior height was just a little higher allowing a deeper dish to be reheated, Fits on my counter top with about 3 inches clearance from over head cabinets. Only had it a month so not really long enough to express. No buttons or knobs wasn't that hard to operate , if you want just keep hitting start to add 30 sec. on, watch count down timer, open door to stop, clear timer by hitting stop 2 times. If you do your own tax return one could figure how to program it. Hope it last longer then my old, 5 years.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vjbeagle
Scranton, PA area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice Microwave
12/29/2015

Customer review by Houston

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Houston
by Houston

I actually like this microwave. It looks nice on the counter with my other stainless items and stainless fridge. I like the fact that it has a handle to open the door. It doesn't slide on the kitchen counter when I pull the door handle to open it. There is a light that comes on when it's cooking. I like that in order the reduce the power level setting, all that is needed is to press the power button until the desired number of the power level shows up. It's not noisy to me and I like that it dings 4 or 5 times when the microwave is done cooking. The turn table doesn't revolve around very fast so it cooks the food adequately. My last microwave was 700 watts and this one is 1000 watts. This is much better on the cooking time. I've been using it for about a month now, and have had no problems. I like it

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value, Better Than Expected
2/19/2013

Customer review by jlang88

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by jlang88
by jlang88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a small stainless steel microwave as a second unit. This had the best price that I could find with good reviews. I had read all the reviews before I made the purchase. Most complains regarding this microwave are about its build, noise, and control. I can tell its build is not as good as my GE microwave or the Panasonic that I returned. It has some rough edges and the door is a bit flimsy but it also costs as half as the others. Its turnable does make some noises but overall it is actually quieter than my GE microwave so it is completely acceptable to me. I actually like the control of this microwave. For cooking with full power between 1 to 6 minutes, I can simply press a single button, and then use the start button to add 30 seconds if necessary. Other than that, I can use Power button to select the power and enter any time I want, which is clearly described in the manual. The kitchen timer is not so useful since the buzzer will ring just 5 times which is very short and can be missed easily. It heats evenly and looks great. Overall it is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (64) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jlang88
Mount Airy, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value, handle instead of a push-button!
6/7/2014

Customer review by NycGorodok

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by NycGorodok
by NycGorodok
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome value for such a good looking microwave. Also, it is a rarity for counter-top microwave to have an actual handle. I don't know why, but it seems that most manufacturers decided that handles belong only to over-the-range microwaves. How do stainless steel and big buttons that need to be pushed by fingers that are famous for fingerprinting stainless finishes, go together is beyond my comprehension.... Also, for microwave of this size, 1000w power is a rarity too; this is also not clear to me why most cases the smaller the microwave, the less powerful it is; so if I don't want to waste my counter space, I need to spend more time waiting for my Food to warm up? As for bells and whistles, this microwave has everything I would ever need, but we mostly use 30 sec button, anyway :). I am really glad they make this model and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NycGorodok
Nyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy!
7/4/2011

Customer review by petcrazy

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by petcrazy
by petcrazy

This microwave was a great price and I love how it looks! I gave it a 3 in durability because I'm not sure since we've only had it for a little less than 2 mos. Someone commented in an earlier review that you cannot use anything but 30 second intervals - NOT TRUE - hit the Power button and then the time you want to micro. Maybe that guy should have read the manual. Anyway, the microwave is very quiet, but is a little less powerful than the bigger microwaves. We downgraded in size and just have to adjust to how much extra time we need to give things - it doesn't equate to a lot of extra time, just a few seconds or so. Really like this microwave. It looks great, it has all of the programmed buttons we love (popcorn!), it runs quiet and it even has a kitchen timer. Good buy - highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (162) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petcrazy
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fine for a single person.
4/12/2013

Customer review by TheBottomLineIs

3.0 stars 4/12/2013 by TheBottomLineIs
by TheBottomLineIs
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

*This is a nice unit but this microwave is smaller than I anticipated. *Again, it looks nice but it is loud. Also, the 'end' notification ding sounds 5 times, period. If you open the door on the second ding, it makes no difference, you will hear it three more times. *If you normally cook or reheat large items in your microwave, I would keep looking. It's really, only wide enough to accommodate a dinner sized plate. I now know there is a big difference in 1000 watts and 1100 watts, I genenerally have to add more time to completely cook through an item. For example, the popcorn button feature does not fully pop a normal bag of popcorn. You will need to watch so you can add 30 seconds until fully popped. *All in all, if you are the chef type and you have the counter space...go for an 1100 watt microwave. If you need a unit to do the most basic of microwave cooking, then this should work just fine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBottomLineIs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Microwave, worked Great!!! But
1/13/2016

Customer review by automan73

3.0 stars 1/13/2016 by automan73
by automan73

The Microwave works Great, takes a little time to get used to the buttons, much different to use then most microwaves that We used before. The 1-6 buttons, start immediately for that number of minutes, if you wish to add more time, can push start button, for 30 sec add's! Reason we are returning is the Buttons have a protective plastic material that seems Very Cheap & within the first two months of use, it is peeling off already :( Really wish this would not of happened, but it is a bit Cosmetic, within two Months???

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
automan73
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
100% satisfied
1/25/2016

Customer review by Chris

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Excellent value

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great size--Great Price
1/20/2016

Customer review by Cathy

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Cathy
by Cathy

We were looking for a replacement for our microwave. Didn't have a lot of money to spend but didn't want anything too small. This fit the bill perfectly--larger than most of the comparable units in that price range. Have only had it for a few weeks but very happy so far.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cathy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Great
1/22/2016

Customer review by Chefd

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Chefd
by Chefd

I got a great deal and works better than any other microwave I ve ever had!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chefd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hot food in a flash!
3/12/2013

Customer review by SciFiArtMan

4.0 stars 3/12/2013 by SciFiArtMan
by SciFiArtMan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Appears to be working as expected. Heats food as quick or maybe even quicker as my old (20 years) Sharp 1200 watter (RIP). Spacious, attractive, with nice 12 inch platter, and love the handle. One concern - the button labels are not in white on black background, but instead in a mid-ranged gray (and fairly small size type), and therefore some what hard to read even in bright light. But since I keep my kitchen in softer light (except when actually doing a major cooking job) it's quite a problem, and would have been a deal-breaker if I'd know this beforehand! As it is, I'll deal with it, but beware. As for durability, can't really say as only had it for a month. But a 1 year warranty, with 5 years on the magnetron (the heart of the microwave) is reassuring! Also, I have to mention the world's fasted shipping! Ordered online on a Tuesday, received email that item had shipped Wednesday morning, delivered to home by Wednesday at noon! Can't get much better than that! But of course, your actual mileage may vary!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SciFiArtMan
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews