Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 663 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

663 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

663 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
367
4 stars
191
3 stars
41
2 stars
16
1 stars
48
1-20 of 592 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews
Magic Chef 1.1 cu ft Microwave Review
6/4/2012

Customer review by ExpressivePerception

4.0 stars 6/4/2012 by ExpressivePerception
by ExpressivePerception

Most people are unaware that Magic Chef products are made by the Maytag Corporation, a subsidiary of Whirlpool products. The manufacturing is completed in the USA, but some imported parts are used. Previously we had a Magic Chef stove and refrigerator that lasted 17 years, still going strong when we moved away. We purchased this microwave based on features that come standard and price value compared to others. So far we are pleased with how well the unit reheats, thaws and functions. The eight pre-programmed button features are: Popcorn - With a feature to select different timing based on how many ounces within the bag. However, be advised that even with the largest setting, it's still not enough to sufficiently pop a bag of popcorn. Potato - With the option of choosing how many potatoes you are intending to cook. Pizza- With the option to chose a time based on how many slices you are reheating. Beverage - With the option to choose either how many mugs or ounces your heating. Soup - With the option of how many ounces your heating. 4-16oz. Fresh Vegetable - With the option to choose how many ounces will be heated. 4-16oz. Dinner Plate - With the option of how many ounces each plate is. 9-16oz. Frozen Vegetable - With the option to choose how many ounces will be heated. 4-16oz. There is a Memory button that gives you the choice to preset up to 5 different reheating times specific to your needs. I seem to really like this feature, and will be using it a lot. Great for finding that magic number for perfectly popped popcorn etc... The ability to multi-section cook. By feature of thawing followed by cooking, or needing 2 different cook times for the same product. Simply set your microwave one time with what you need it to do and walk away. It will complete the first step and immediately begin the second phase after alerting you the first step is complete. The ability to use the kitchen timer while also cooking with microwave. Defrost by weight or time. The weight feature actually allows you to enter the ounces 4-100. Hitting the start button for quick 30 second cooking. Each button 1-9 can be hit once for respective time amount cooking. 1= 1 minute and so on. The microwave starts right away without the need to hit start. Cons: This unit is a bit loud. I'm not sure if that will calm once it's been used for a couple of months. One thing I know won't change is the buzzer, it's really loud. Great for when your busy elsewhere. Not so great for someone midnight snack reheating. Inside there is a small metallic colored piece of cardboard. This is supposed to be a waveguide cover. I potentially see this becoming soiled very easily and breaking downing rather quickly. From research it seems more and more microwaves are incorporating this piece into them. Several places provide replacements parts for this piece. However, I personally feel manufactures should find an alternative or revert back to designing them with the small screen hole design. **My camera is not the greatest in the world, but I'll attach a photo of this piece with this review.** The outer sides are not stainless steel. The only stainless steel pieces are around the door, and 2 small side strips surrounding the key pad. Corporations should not be aloud to mislead the public naming it a stainless steel product, because it's not. The sides are metallic silver painted. The description did mention this, and it really wasn't a deal breaker for me. Just be advised there is only about 5% percent stainless steel on the unit. The child safety feature - The door itself does not lock, but the key pad functions are your lock feature. When holding the stop button for 3 seconds it engages the safety feature. Be advised when this feature is in use, your digital time display will no longer be seen. It removes the time and replaces it with digital squares until the feature is disengaged.

Was this review helpful? (434) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ExpressivePerception
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great mid-sized microwave
8/25/2010

Customer review by alur

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by alur
by alur

Unbelievable price ... at least $20 below anything I could find on other websites! It has a turntable and it not mini-sized, but rather it is really roomy at 1.1 cu. ft. Anything larger is the max capacity styles. This is bigger than those little microwaves that take forever to heat something. I haven't seen a turntable in anything this low priced. I recommend this over those tiny units.

Was this review helpful? (291) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrific value
11/25/2013

Customer review by wimaine

5.0 stars 11/25/2013 by wimaine
by wimaine

I researched a lot of microwaves to replace my 1.1 cubic foot Emerson that was starting to have problems. I wanted a few things; Defrost settings, at least the size of my old one, at least 1000w, and... a door with a handle. I have always hated the push-button door openers, and do not understand how that has become the norm; I have read countless reviews of microwaves stating that the mechanism wears out or doesn't work well to begin with. I also did not want to buy a microwave that had a bad reputation for poor durability or poor function. I probably reviewed 30 microwaves out there. For every single one, I found very mixed reviews, ranging from mostly negative for some models, to perhaps a 50/50 ratio of good to bad. Then I happened upon this Magic Chef model. It had what I wanted (including a handle!), predominantly VERY good reviews, and at the amazing price of $79! I ordered it for home delivery. Although the stated estimated delivery date was about 10 days after purchase, I received it in 2 days. We started using it, and couldn't be more pleased. The way to input times other than 30-second intervals is not the norm, but it's only one extra button, and not a big deal. The other thing for which I've seen people give this low ratings is the fact that it beeps 5 times to alert you that it is done. Honestly, I don't understand at all how this could be a big deal when the purpose of the microwave is to COOK things, and this unit does that quite well. Is beeping 5 times instead of 3 REALLY bad enough to be a deal breaker and give it a terrible rating?? It's just something to get used to, and doesn't bother me at all. I'm thrilled with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent microwave that doesn't need every bell and whistle (in my opinion that's just more things that can break).

Was this review helpful? (169) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wimaine
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy!
7/4/2011

Customer review by petcrazy

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by petcrazy
by petcrazy

This microwave was a great price and I love how it looks! I gave it a 3 in durability because I'm not sure since we've only had it for a little less than 2 mos. Someone commented in an earlier review that you cannot use anything but 30 second intervals - NOT TRUE - hit the Power button and then the time you want to micro. Maybe that guy should have read the manual. Anyway, the microwave is very quiet, but is a little less powerful than the bigger microwaves. We downgraded in size and just have to adjust to how much extra time we need to give things - it doesn't equate to a lot of extra time, just a few seconds or so. Really like this microwave. It looks great, it has all of the programmed buttons we love (popcorn!), it runs quiet and it even has a kitchen timer. Good buy - highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (112) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
petcrazy
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Microwave
6/28/2010

Customer review by MoosicMom

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by MoosicMom
by MoosicMom

I had to replace my old microwave and this one worked out great. I love all the preset buttons. The price was just right for this microwave. I would recommend this to anyone. It is so easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (200) (44)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoosicMom
Moosic, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
VERY NICE
4/23/2011

Customer review by Rahouma215

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by Rahouma215
by Rahouma215

when i first got it i was shocked by how large the box was i was worried it would be to big since i live in a small duplex. It looks great works great i love the features easy to clean. but it took me atleast a week to get used to the size. It works great and i love it soooooooooooo much! i would recommend to anyone price was fair for a 1.1 cubic ft!!!

Was this review helpful? (73) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rahouma215
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent! Product
5/11/2010

Customer review by mapdiego

4.0 stars 5/11/2010 by mapdiego
by mapdiego

Great size for the money Heats up fast Looks beautiful

Was this review helpful? (104) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mapdiego
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome
7/27/2010

Customer review by gurlsgirl

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by gurlsgirl
by gurlsgirl

this product fits my needs perfectly. big enough, has all the settings i like, and works GREAT!

Was this review helpful? (79) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gurlsgirl
st. cloud,mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value, Better Than Expected
2/19/2013

Customer review by jlang88

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by jlang88
by jlang88

I was looking for a small stainless steel microwave as a second unit. This had the best price that I could find with good reviews. I had read all the reviews before I made the purchase. Most complains regarding this microwave are about its build, noise, and control. I can tell its build is not as good as my GE microwave or the Panasonic that I returned. It has some rough edges and the door is a bit flimsy but it also costs as half as the others. Its turnable does make some noises but overall it is actually quieter than my GE microwave so it is completely acceptable to me. I actually like the control of this microwave. For cooking with full power between 1 to 6 minutes, I can simply press a single button, and then use the start button to add 30 seconds if necessary. Other than that, I can use Power button to select the power and enter any time I want, which is clearly described in the manual. The kitchen timer is not so useful since the buzzer will ring just 5 times which is very short and can be missed easily. It heats evenly and looks great. Overall it is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jlang88
Mount Airy, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very happy so far....
7/8/2011

Customer review by pJerrell

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by pJerrell
by pJerrell

I bought this mainly because of on all the reviews here. I couldn't comment on durability yet. I haven't had but only a few days. It has everything I want in a microwave oven. It is very nice looking also! My Whirlpool that I bought in the "mid- 80's " finally gave out ... Magic Chef is now owned by Whirlpool ( used to be by Maytag ) . Thanks for all your reviews. It helped a lot with my decision. I would recommend this, and do think I made the right purchase. Loved having the free shipping to my door too!

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pJerrell
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Completely Exceeds Expectations
5/3/2011

Customer review by HAMOS

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by HAMOS
by HAMOS

When I buy items, products, whenever possible I buy the most durable thing I can find. This microwave really is stainless steel, well except for part of the door including the handle (which has metal hinges) and the buttons. The inside is nice and clean so you could literally cook an entire chicken. However, to type in a specific cook time you need to press power first because all the numbers are express buttons. It's very easy on the eyes. Last thing, I did not notice, this microwave has a 8 YEAR WARRANTY!

Was this review helpful? (65) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HAMOS
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FLEW THE COOP AT EXACTLY 6 MONTHS
12/23/2010

Customer review by jsmata1977

1.0 stars 12/23/2010 by jsmata1977
by jsmata1977

I have had this product exactly 6 months to the day and it has started acting up. It does not stop running when the timer goes off. Even if I open the door it will start back up upon closing it. It has also started making a weird noise. It is now permanently unplugged because whenever I plug it back in it starts running.

Was this review helpful? (38) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsmata1977
Va Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good performance and looks, poorly designed keypad
4/7/2013

Customer review by RabbitQueen

3.0 stars 4/7/2013 by RabbitQueen
by RabbitQueen

Have had this unit for a month now. It's fairly quiet, looks nice, was the right size for our space, and was inexpensive compared to others. When opening and closing the door it feels a little flimsy and cheap (door works fine however). My only real complaint is the inconvenience of the keypad. Seems like everything takes an excessive amount of button pressing. As an example, to reheat something at 50% power for 2 minutes requires 9 key presses; there is a power level button which starts at 100 or 90% when first touched; with each press the power level drops 10% - so it takes 5 or 6 presses to get to 50% power; following this setting you have to press 2, 0, 0, to get 2 minutes - when used in conjunction with the power button, the time shortcut keys don't work (normally you could just press '2' for 2 minutes). That's a lot of keystrokes in total. The timer is not convenient to use either. I never use the pre-programmed buttons like 'popcorn', so can't critique that feature.

Was this review helpful? (39) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RabbitQueen
N.W. Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/29/2010

Customer review by onetowfive

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by onetowfive
by onetowfive

I ordered this online, unable to get it in the stores, Ordered it Monday and got it that Friday. Now thats service. It is exactly what i need not to big and not to small. Just perfect

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onetowfive
Waterford, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice. Good size
11/6/2013

Customer review by charjmick

5.0 stars 11/6/2013 by charjmick
by charjmick

I love it! It is quieter that any one that I've owned in the past. I was shocked to learn that it comes with an 8 Year Warrenty. Nothing comes with an 8 year warrenty!

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charjmick
Houston Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pros & Cons
4/1/2011

Customer review by X2gen

4.0 stars 4/1/2011 by X2gen
by X2gen

This microwave is very nice for the price. The only thing I don't like about it is that you cannot enter the specific amount of time you want. All the times are either in one minute or 30 second intervals. So if you wanted to heat something up for 10 seconds (like a piece of bread) you would have to enter 30 seconds and count which prevents you from multi-tasking. Despite this, it's a nice microwave for the price...a great size too, not too large, not too small.

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
X2gen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed in Magic Chef
3/30/2011

Customer review by RetiredEngineerLady

1.0 stars 3/30/2011 by RetiredEngineerLady
by RetiredEngineerLady

My Walmart site-to-store experience was terrific. The product was very much a disappointment, however. It arrived with damaged housing and not from shipping, warehousing, or other conveyances / storage but rather it left the factory in that condition. I contacted Magic Chef; there has been no response. It would seem their customer service is on the same par as their quality control. The unit has since been returned to Walmart with the charges reversed and with the professional courtesy I expected.

Was this review helpful? (54) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RetiredEngineerLady
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Exactly what I wanted and NEEDED
8/19/2010

Customer review by MrWoozits

5.0 stars 8/19/2010 by MrWoozits
by MrWoozits

works great, looks fine,great size and fits perfectly in the Amish Hutch I had made for it! runs quietly and I love the handle so much more than a push button to open the door. I would buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrWoozits
Clearwater, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, handle instead of a push-button!
6/7/2014

Customer review by NycGorodok

5.0 stars 6/7/2014 by NycGorodok
by NycGorodok

Awesome value for such a good looking microwave. Also, it is a rarity for counter-top microwave to have an actual handle. I don't know why, but it seems that most manufacturers decided that handles belong only to over-the-range microwaves. How do stainless steel and big buttons that need to be pushed by fingers that are famous for fingerprinting stainless finishes, go together is beyond my comprehension.... Also, for microwave of this size, 1000w power is a rarity too; this is also not clear to me why most cases the smaller the microwave, the less powerful it is; so if I don't want to waste my counter space, I need to spend more time waiting for my Food to warm up? As for bells and whistles, this microwave has everything I would ever need, but we mostly use 30 sec button, anyway :). I am really glad they make this model and would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NycGorodok
Nyc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great medium size oven, so far. Beat expectations
4/4/2014

Customer review by vjbeagle

4.0 stars 4/4/2014 by vjbeagle
by vjbeagle

I researched many other ovens, with the following criteria for comparison : Cost VG, 1 cu ft. or better but less than 1.3, 1000 w, handle on door vs. push button latch , cabinet overall dimensions and features. We use the oven primarily for reheating and it works very good. Makes good popcorn, great for reheating that cup of coffee or tea, water for hot breakfast cereal or that meal that got cold when you get called to the phone or the door to buy some Girl Scout cookies. I also read the reviews. The machine is not that loud, the cabinet isn't humongous and a big difference for me, the interior height was just a little higher allowing a deeper dish to be reheated, Fits on my counter top with about 3 inches clearance from over head cabinets. Only had it a month so not really long enough to express. No buttons or knobs wasn't that hard to operate , if you want just keep hitting start to add 30 sec. on, watch count down timer, open door to stop, clear timer by hitting stop 2 times. If you do your own tax return one could figure how to program it. Hope it last longer then my old, 5 years.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vjbeagle
Scranton, PA area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 592 total reviews
1-20 of 592 reviews