Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 94 reviews
5 stars
51
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
9
Sort by: 
1-20 of 93 reviews
1-20 of 93 reviews
Good!
8/10/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've owned this Magic Chef 1.1 cu ft microwave just under 2 weeks; It is working good so far. My food gets hot, it has a turntable and the light comes on when cooking. It also has a couple other features that I like. It has a kitchen timer and it allows you to choose the ounce size when popping popcorn. It's accurate and I can see the dials easily. It's pretty roomy inside; it fits a full size dinner plate and a huge mixing bowl. The only downfall is that it moves on the counter and the button to open the door is very firm. You just have to brace your fingers on the side as you open with your thumb or brace your hand on the top of the door while pushing the button. It is also a little noisy when it first comes on but so far these features are not a deal breaker for me because I've read a lot of worse reviews when shopping for a microwave and this one is the best one for my money so far! I will update if there are any changes in it's performance!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked great until the warranty expired!
10/6/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this in February 2015 with the 2 year Walmart Product Care Plan, which expired in February 2017. A few months out from the expiration date of the extended warranty it stopped working. Worked perfectly up until this point but I expected to get more than 2 1/2 years of use out of it. Microwaves are not "disposable" products. I went to use it last night and it started fine but at the end of the time the internal and outside panels all went out and it just loudly hummed and stopped rotating. I opened the door and the humming stopped. Closed the door and it started again. Unplugged it and plugged it back in and it just hums. Each of my two previous Panasonic Microwaves lasted 15 plus years each. Tell me Magic Chef . . . What gives?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I would not purchase again
7/29/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We purchased this microwave 4 years ago. I disliked it almost immediately. My real issue is with the defrost buttons. There is a defrost button based on weight of what you are defrosting or a defrost where you set the time yourself. So often I defrosted something and ended up with it being half cooked. That is the main reason I did not like the microwave. Now, it started something new. After we use the microwave and it stops and beeps, we open the door to get our stuff out and the microwave turns on while the door is open. I slam the door shut and try again and sure enough it turns on again as soon as I open the door. I'm not sure if it is actually "cooking" or just making the sound without actually doing anything???? I slam it shut, unplug it and then get my stuff out. I'm actually happy it is doing this cause I can now convince my "frugal" husband that we DO IN FACT need a new microwave!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Microwave of my choice
1/29/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is my 3rd purchase for this model and size. I continue to purchase the same model because of its standard automatic programprogramed features. Takes all the guesswork out if you read the instructions. It does last far beyond the warranty. However, the first one I bought in 1999 lasted much longer than the one I just replaced. I noticed there have been some upgrades in the auto programed features which are very convenient for me. All of them can be individually adjusted to personal specifications and put into memory. I like that. It is attractive and fits perfectly in my microwave hutch. Probably will never change models, just replace when it no longer works. The heating element guaranteed for life. Its the turntable that stops working after 5+ years. Considering the price, excellent product for the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product
3/16/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great 1000 watt microwave for a great price. wanted to buy from a US manufacturer (that is why I picked this product) and I could not be happier with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (61)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good microwave
5/15/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This microwave has all the features that a person could want. You can program the time you want as well as use the speed button with the time already programed in. I have found no problems with the microwave performance. The timer bell could be louder, if you are no in the same room you can not hear when it goes off. Its a good product. This was a replacement and I only had it for a few weeks to review. That is why I am giving it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's all you need unless you're doing a turkey.
7/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When our 16 year old Sharp died we were lost. Went on-line to shop & compare. This unit is the best "bang for your buck". Push-button door is fine. Our old oven had one and was still "buttoning" when it passed away. We did'nt understand why it took a little over 2 weeks to get to our store but that's life.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome microwave! Nice features!
5/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 250 contributer
So far I am very happy with this microwave. This microwave is very nice looking. It cooks fast and has several nice features. The glass turn table is large, a nice 12”. I’ve read other reviews where it says the door is hard to open. But there is a couple of notches located right below where you push, clear underneath the microwave. You just have to hook a finger into one of those notches and push the button. Then it opens super slick and easy! It has my favorite feature and that is the 30 second button. I won’t get a microwave without that button. It’s quick buttons are a bit different. You just hit the button the number of times you need. The beverage button has options for 1, 2 or 3 cups. And it’s dinner plate button has options for 3 plate sizes. I’ve used the soup button the most, it has options according to ounces and it seems to be pretty accurate in it’s preset heating times. For a large bowl of soup I just hit the soup button 4 times then hit start. I haven’t tried the popcorn or pizza quick buttons yet. But according to the instructions you can reprogram and save the popcorn cooking times if it’s not what you want. That will be nice since most of the microwaves I’ve had always burn my popcorn with their preset time. There’s also fresh vegetable and frozen vegetable buttons. It has express cook where you push 1 for 1 min or 2 for 2 mins, etc. It has a kitchen timer. It has a time defrost and a weight defrost. It beeps 5 times to let you know when it’s done and the beeps are not real loud. It’s a little louder than my last microwave but it doesn’t bother me. There is a light that turns on when you open the door and when it’s cooking. While looking at the front, you see vents on the top back left, left side lower back, and the right side on the back. The cord is 3 ft long.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not perfect but pretty darn close!
11/17/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have liked everything about the microwave except one thing. When it first starts going it has a sound that is like it is going to take off. Then after a few seconds it "calms down" and sounds OK. I asked a guy friend his thoughts and he said it was fine for him so maybe it is just a girl thing or is just me.... Otherwise, it is a good size. I like the way the panel for selecting times is set up. Instructions are easy to understand, the door opens and closes easily and the 1000 watts is just right for heating/ cooking things without over or under doing the amount of time things take. I had paid a significant amount more for a Panasonic and after 3 years the door would not secure. Could not find where to fix it so was forced to find the next microwave. If I had to over again, I should have started with the Magic Chef.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poorly Made Microwave
8/1/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The microwave was in my home for only five days. It stopped working on the the fifth day. I cannot recommend anyone purchasing this item. Walmart allowed me to return it with out any problems.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
replaced a smaller version
3/25/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This microwave is large inside and worth the price. However, it does make a loud noise which I think is the fan. It gets quiet when the microwave runs for a minute. Not sure if it is normal noise still, after just one week of use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for the price
4/25/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this microwave oven to replace my Samsung microwave that died after about 7 years. I didn't want to spend a lot because honestly, we really only use it to reheat food, make popcorn and steam vegetables. After doing much research, I decided to purchase this one. I have had it for about a month and use it most days. I find it is pretty quiet and the inside is a generous size that can fit a larger Corningware dish. I like the push button door open feature because I think it looks more streamlined than an oven with a door handle - just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great microwave for the price
3/21/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a smaller unit then what we have previously owned. I had concerns that it would not do as good a job but have been happily surprised. It heats food faster and more evenly than the Panasonic we replaced. It comfortably holds a large dinner plate and reheats food without drying it out . I purchased the insurance offered after reading reviews saying it quit within 2 years, Walmarts insurance is very reasonable and eliminated the dependability factor. At the sale price you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lasted less than 9 months!
11/29/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lasted less than 9 months, then started making weird noises and stopped heating!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Microwave for the Price
8/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We bought a smaller Magic Chef for our camper and liked it very much, so when our other microwave stopped working we decided to go with this one. It heats the food very fast and is easy to use. Very nice microwave.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful!
5/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This microwave is great! It is easy to use, and is really big inside. I Love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good buy
1/14/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Home depot has these for 64.99, walmart will match it if you mention it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Deal
5/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Looks good, works good with a great price and quick delivery. Definately would reccomend it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great for our type of usage.
4/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We needed to down size to fit our needs and space. This unit does just what we wanted.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
magic chef microwave
7/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
nice size for counter, easy to use and nice looking. I like the turn-table and easy ability to clean. helpful buttons so you don't have to program it for a cup of coffee or bowl of sooup.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642843, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-