Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

203 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 stars
5
1-20 of 153 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews
Seems good for the price paid
8/14/2010

Customer review by LadyMadonna1112

4.0 stars 8/14/2010 by LadyMadonna1112
by LadyMadonna1112

I've only had this microwave for a few weeks, but it works fine. The settings have some shortcuts, which I appreciate (such as one button push for 30 second cooking, push twice for 1 minute cooking). When not using a shortcut, however, the manufacturer decided we needed to press 'Power' before entering a cooking time. (Upon pressing, it automatically defaults to High, and you keep pressing to change it). Most foods are cooked on High, and I feel it's just an extra button to push before entering the cooking time. After cooking cycle is completed, my old microwave used to stop beeping when the door was opened. This unit insists on completing its 5 loud beeps while you're retrieving the food. Door is rather noisy to close, but most microwave doors are. I don't mean to be so negative, I'm just pointing out some things that may bother you. Other than these minor drawbacks, it seems to be a very good value for the money. Microwaves aren't cheap, and I appreciated the low price for this one.

Was this review helpful? (225) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyMadonna1112
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Large Plate
2/5/2016

Customer review by nospinguy

5.0 stars 2/5/2016 by nospinguy
by nospinguy

This has a 12.25 inch diameter plate which I really like. The microwave that I replaced was the same size (1.1) but the plate was an inch smaller. It is quieter than my old microwave. It has a light that stays on when you open the door. I am very pleased with this microwave. I have had no issues with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nospinguy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy and excellent product.
2/27/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 2/27/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far we love everything about this microwave, except that you must press the large button to open it very hard, but I'm sure I'll eventually get used to that and not even notice it. It also has a bit of a tinny sound when you close the door, but this is only a personal annoyance. Overall, it looks great, works great, and is a perfect fit on my SMALL countertop under a corner cabinet. I would recommend it to anyone who has limited space because despite it small size it has plenty of room inside. We definitely didn't want a microwave over our stove, but really needed something that wouldn't take up too much of our limited counter space. How great to find exactly what we needed at such a great price as well. We have had this item about three months... worth every penny and then some so far. The low height also provides plenty of room on top to keep my new microwave plate cover handy (another great investment). I don't write a lot of reviews, but those of others helped me find this microwave, so I wanted to add mine to the number of 5 star reviews.

Was this review helpful? (61) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dutchess County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great price for quality and size
12/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I read others reviews on this product. The negative reviews were that the door is hard to open, loud to close and the beeping went to excess when done cooking something saying that 5 beeps are way too long and way too loud. People complained that there is no way to turn off the beeping and that it has to go through 5 beeps before ending a cook schedule. I found that under the door release button there is an area you can grasp with your index and middle finger and push on the door release button with your thumb. I found the door opens quite easily this way. Even though the door shuts a little loud, the fact that the microwave runs smoothly and quietly is more of an important feature to me. As far as the excessive 5 beeps go, I haven't found it to be any louder than any of the other microwaves I have owned. Their average number of beeps were 3. We did not find the extra 2 beeps hard to get used to.

Was this review helpful? (126) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Deltona, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its a microwave
1/16/2016

Customer review by MikeL

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by MikeL
by MikeL

Well here's my review. I don't know what my opinion matters but here we go. I bought a microwave a cheap one at that 79 dollars cheap. Its does what a microwave is suppose to do it heats my food,it has buttons,its white and a little light comes on when its running. So there you go 5 stars. Thanks for your time and attention.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great features but takes 9 days to arrive.
11/7/2011

Customer review by DobbsFerryGuy

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by DobbsFerryGuy
by DobbsFerryGuy

We really like this microwave. It has a carousel that turns by itself and holds a dinner-size plate, a feature which we wanted. Nifty, really functional features, e.g., push START once and it cooks 30 seconds automatically; push START twice and it cooks 60 seconds; push START three times and it cooks 90 seconds. Or, push POWER once, followed by 2, 4, 5, and START, and it cooks for 2:45 minutes, etc. Or, just push the number 2, and it immediately starts cooking for 2 minutes, or push just 3, and it immediately starts cooking for 3 minutes. It's far easier to use than our last microwave. It seems as if it has plenty of power. And the price was really great. Only deficit was that it was advertised as coming on or before a certain date. We, who live in the NYC metro area, thought it would come before, but actually it comes from California and it came one day AFTER the "delivered by" date, 9 days total wait. So if you need this model fast, try to get it at the store first. If you can't, then it's definitely worthwhile to wait for it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DobbsFerryGuy
Dobbs Ferry, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great features, great price
1/16/2016

Customer review by Lorraine

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by Lorraine
by Lorraine

I bought this oven to replace one that cost twice as much. Although a bit smaller and a littlr less powerful, this one does the job and has features the other one didn't. Very happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lorraine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Few features, loud beeping
6/24/2012

Customer review by voltaic

2.0 stars 6/24/2012 by voltaic
by voltaic

While the microwave cooks food well, it has a number of annoying features that will force us to return the item. First of all, the door opener is stiff and you literally push the microwave forward when opening the door. There is no legitimate need for a difficult to push door opener. You cannot set the timer, unless it's in 30 second increments. Come on. If you want to cook something for a 45 seconds, you have to push the 30-second timer button after 15 seconds have elapsed or wait until the timer hits 15 seconds and then manually stop the cooking process. It's an obnoxious way to set a timer. Would it be rocket science to be able to set the time desired? No. Lastly, this machine beeps loudly five times for every cooking cycle! Want to set the timer to not beep? Can't do it. Want the beep to be less loud? Can't do it. If you cook something in the morning or late at night, be prepared to wake the entire household when this obnoxious beeping machine stops cooking. It is a decent looking machine and it cooks well, but has too many limitations and drawbacks to be recommended.

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
voltaic
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BASIC MICROWAVE AT ECONOMY COST
5/18/2010

Customer review by SKEETER1832

4.0 stars 5/18/2010 by SKEETER1832
by SKEETER1832

THIS WAS A CHEAP PURCHASE AND HAS ALL THE POWER TO COOK ANYTHING AND ENOUGH ROOM FOR MOST ANY MICROWAVE DINNNERS OR DISHES OUT THERE SO IT WORKS WELL FOR ME! DOESN'T COME WITH THE THRILLS AND FRILLS OF A LOT OF MODELS DO BUT FOR THE PRICE IS AN EXCEPTIONAL BUY AND SO FAR WELL PLEASED HAD IT ABOUT A MONTH AND IT WORKING GREAT AND ALWAYS HAVE HAD GOOD LUCK WITH MAGIC CHEF PRODUCTS HONESTLY FOR VALUE AND QUALITY WOULD RECOMMEND

Was this review helpful? (91) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SKEETER1832
CRUMPLER, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best for the Money!!!
11/3/2013

Customer review by artwerx

5.0 stars 11/3/2013 by artwerx
by artwerx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have owned several Magic Chef 1.1 cu ft microwaves over the years and found them to be reliable and easy to use. The controls are easy to master and a full sized plate fits easily. My only beef is that the door slams closed with a very LOUD clank, which was easily fixed with thin self-adhesive rubber non-slip pads for vases, etc.. A couple of those, on the body of the microwave where the door closes on it ,dampens the sound. I just bought this one to replace my old Magic Chef that expired after 7+ years of daily use. For the money this is the best deal out there on medium sized microwaves and ship to store had it in my hands in 4 days after ordering it. I recommend the Magic Chef to my friends and aquaintances.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artwerx
Seminole, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Debs review
11/24/2013

Customer review by jcglowworm

2.0 stars 11/24/2013 by jcglowworm
by jcglowworm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the second Microwave we bought in a month from Walmart. The first was a GE and there was several issues. Glass round plate jumped, LED lights some not working, open button didn't work half the time. We returned and bought this one Magic Chef. This one is nice as far as looks, size, buttons, but the housing was not put together correctly and it makes this real loud vibrating sound when working. Also, I was a little disappointed with the black screen front, you can not see the food cooking, so we will return this one also. I liked this one and it was a manufacture flaw when they put it together, so I will try again "I think" with same model, hoping this will be the last time. Luckly our old microwave is still working, otherwise I would be a little more upset. Be sure to open your microwave right away to check it out!

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcglowworm
Scottsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent microwave for the price
11/27/2015

Customer review by Pianoman

4.0 stars 11/27/2015 by Pianoman
by Pianoman

The upsides are: Nice and powerful vs my over-the-range. Extremely good price for the power and size. Downsides: The open/shut button seems hard to push. You definitely need the unit against a wall or have a non-slip under it. It "glides". However, these are not "deal-breaking" negatives. We're getting used to the stiffness of the Open/Shut. We have solved the "slide problem"...so we're pretty happy campers. Oh...the five beeps indicating "times-up" are not as loud as I expected from other comments. Five just seems like a bit of overkill. As I indicated: 1) I would buy it all over again, 2) I would recommend it to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pianoman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
MORE POWER
4/28/2010

Customer review by MEMEE56

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by MEMEE56
by MEMEE56

PURCHASED FOR MY MOTHER WHO LIKES THE EXTRA POWER AND QUICKER COOKING TIME. THE LARGER TURNTABLE IS VERY NICE.

Was this review helpful? (121) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEMEE56
LANSING, MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magic Chef, you failed me!
2/14/2011

Customer review by LeaveWellEnoughAlone

2.0 stars 2/14/2011 by LeaveWellEnoughAlone
by LeaveWellEnoughAlone

The name, together with the sale price, influenced my purchase in Dec., 2010. I've just finished reading all the reviews (before buying, just went by the ratings. Mistake! I share the opinions of those who voiced their disappointment. Takes too long to heat food and does not heat evenly. Popcorn in an air popper burns if left long enough to pop most, and pops about 1/2 the kernels in 3 minutes. (And, no, it wasn't the popcorn moisture content.) The beeper is so loud I can hear it outside my home (!) and 5 beeps signaling "done" is a bit much. The door is VERY hard to open and clunky, noisy when closing. The turntable has started making a rumbling noise, too. I would NOT recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (34) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LeaveWellEnoughAlone
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
too hot
9/22/2010

Customer review by BMB75

1.0 stars 9/22/2010 by BMB75
by BMB75

I boughit this product a little over a week ago and when I used it it got terribly hot and quit working. Therefore I have to return it to the store and either get my money back or another microwave. Hopefully I can get a good one.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMB75
Benton City , Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
junk.
2/2/2011

Customer review by lovestoknow

2.0 stars 2/2/2011 by lovestoknow
by lovestoknow

There is no way this microwave is more than 800 watts. It takes forever to hear items, microwave popcorn frequently burns without cooking half the bag. There are so many cold spots on heated food it takes forever to cook. about 8 mins for 5 slices of bacon with the center raw but edges brown. the wave cover is made of cardboard. It looks like a packing piece not a permanent fixture of microwave. I have had my microwave about a month and the turntable has started making strange noises and not turning well. This is with single servings of food. You get what you pay for. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovestoknow
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Microwaves are our friends!
5/21/2011

Customer review by Loanarranger59

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Loanarranger59
by Loanarranger59

This unit is actually the second one I've used, the first one I've owned. My wife moved out last month and the original Magic Chef unit was hers, so I had to replace it, and I have to tell you, for the money, this unit cannot be beat. In fact, I don't even see how they can sell it at WalMart prices! The only negative I have, and it's so petty, is that with the old one, when reheating my coffee, 30 seconds made the carrousel go around and stop in the same orientation as the starting point, with my cup handle pointed at me. This new unit has to be set on 20 seconds for the same effect. Terrible, huih? Buy it, and buy it now.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loanarranger59
Metamora, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value!
6/25/2010

Customer review by Cookiiiiiiiiiiiiie

5.0 stars 6/25/2010 by Cookiiiiiiiiiiiiie
by Cookiiiiiiiiiiiiie

I've only had it a few weeks so I can't speak to its durability, but the product works really well so far! It's powerful and has a big interior, probably the best for its price.

Was this review helpful? (65) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookiiiiiiiiiiiiie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Cheaply Made Microwave
8/30/2010

Customer review by caffenejolt

1.0 stars 8/30/2010 by caffenejolt
by caffenejolt

This was order in the middle of July for my parents. It's a simple looking microwave w/o all of the fancy bells and whistles. They received it and used it no more than twice a week ( 8 times ) and the door is already jamming. Once, the food was stuck in there and they were unable to get it out until multiple tries later, the door finally opened. Do not buy this product unless you are handy w/ tools and don't mind being frustrated.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
caffenejolt
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Microwave
2/19/2014

Customer review by Syndilsfire

5.0 stars 2/19/2014 by Syndilsfire
by Syndilsfire
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Microwave works fantastic, is small enough not to take up too much counter space, but big and powerful enough to take care of all my microwave needs. Would recommend this to anyone. Fantastic value!!!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Syndilsfire
Fort Smith, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 153 total reviews
1-20 of 153 reviews