Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 353 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

353 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

353 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
266
4 stars
58
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 stars
9
1-20 of 316 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 316 total reviews
1-20 of 316 reviews
Matching Pieces
4/13/2010

Customer review by CathyLuvsABargain

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by CathyLuvsABargain
by CathyLuvsABargain

It would be nice if you offered matching serving pieces (bowls, platters, cream & sugar), placemats & napkins. I love this pattern so much that I bought 12 place settings. My family has commented on how "cool" they are. This pattern is greatly differs from my other dish sets, Noritake, Lenox, Old Country Roses, etc.

Was this review helpful? (82) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CathyLuvsABargain
Superior, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great set
3/4/2010

Customer review by YepBoughtThisToo

5.0 stars 3/4/2010 by YepBoughtThisToo
by YepBoughtThisToo

I'm not celebrating African heritage like other reviewers, I'm just a plain ole' white guy who really liked these. After I bought them, I loved them! They're durable, nice and heavy, and a great value at the price. All the plates, the bowls and the mugs are wonderful. The one thing you have to somewhat get used to is a groove in the plates brought on by the design. Depending on what you're eating your fork can get a bit caught up in it, but it's not a big deal at all. Just an FYI.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YepBoughtThisToo
Seattle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An Excellent Buy
3/31/2011

Customer review by Sluggington

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by Sluggington
by Sluggington

We've had our plates a little over a month now and I'm very satisfied with them. We originally had simple white plates and wanted to find something with non-solid colors that matched our kitchen decor. After looking around in a number of stores and on websites we eventually stumbled upon this set. While the set very closely matches the product pictured, I do feel that the picture presents a lighter shade of brown/tan than the plates actually have. I'm not saying this is a bad thing, and I'm very pleased with their appearance, just a heads up. These plates are actually in store, so if you're considering them, do what we did and go into a Wal-Mart and take a look at them first hand. As some others have noted, they also have little grooves/bumps where the lines go through, but you won't even notice them when eating. Our nearby Wal-Marts didn't have any of the actual sets in stock so we ordered 2 sets online and got site to store shipping. The price is quite good for the set. Ours arrived fairly quickly and there were no broken or chipped items in either set. Having used them for a month they seem quite sturdy and well made - nothing has broken, chipped or cracked. Ours are washed in a dishwasher. A few people have noted that the white lines running through fade away. On one of the plates this did occur ever so slightly - but I mean very slightly. I have specifically look for it to see it and find the plate (I noticed because I was specifically looking for it, having read the reviews). This has not happened on any of the other pieces at all. The size of the plates, mugs and bowls are very nice. The small plates aren't excessively small and the large plates aren't overly large. We like that the bowls aren't too shallow - the set we replaced had extremely shallow soup bowls that could barely hold a can of soup without overflowing. For anyone looking at these plates, I'd definitely recommend them. Like I said, head over to a Wal-Mart - even if they don't have the set available, there should be individual plates to take a look at first hand and decide.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sluggington
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LOVE LOVE LOVE THESE!!
3/3/2010

Customer review by fatboyelk

5.0 stars 3/3/2010 by fatboyelk
by fatboyelk

Every walmart in town was sold out of these, and they were out of stock online. It pays to check the website 10 times a day! I love these! And they look so much nicer in person!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fatboyelk
Clovis, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Bazaar
7/27/2010

Customer review by kalewi

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by kalewi
by kalewi

I bought this set of dinnerware and absolutely love it! I have gotten a lot of compliments on it as well. The only thing I wish is that they had matching canister set.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kalewi
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very nice set!
9/3/2012

Customer review by BChousewife3

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by BChousewife3
by BChousewife3

My husband and I bought this set as one of our wedding gifts from my parents, as soon as i saw it I fell in love with it and my husband liked it a lot too, the design is very unique and elegant. I really like the fact that the plates are not heavy which makes them easy to wash, I'm actually getting another set to complete it! ;)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BChousewife3
Avon, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dissapointed in the finish
9/28/2010

Customer review by SnicksDad

2.0 stars 9/28/2010 by SnicksDad
by SnicksDad

I had read many positive reviews before purchasing this product. But, I noticed right away that the white paint going through the plate, chips away while cutting with a sharp knife.

Was this review helpful? (10) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SnicksDad
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor quality
5/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 5/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I put some food on the plate in the microwave for 1.5 minutes and when I picked the plate up it broke in half. It states they are dishwasher and microwave safe; OBVIOUSLY NOT!!!!!! I would not recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great Value
11/2/2010

Customer review by TDellH

5.0 stars 11/2/2010 by TDellH
by TDellH

I am very pleased with these dishes. They are a great value for the money spent.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDellH
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a beautiful set.
6/8/2013

Customer review by BoaVista

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by BoaVista
by BoaVista

I recommend this set 100%. Just be careful with handling them. Chipping can be an issue due to the minutely raised lin,es. That's it. Go for it. That's my recommendation.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoaVista
Bronx NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply Stunning
2/14/2010

Customer review by AHipOlGranny

5.0 stars 2/14/2010 by AHipOlGranny
by AHipOlGranny

I have been searching for quite some time for dinnerware that would help my family proudly celebrate our African heritage and this set will do JUST that! I will be moving soon and my new dining table will be graced with this beautiful set. The colors are sooo bold and "earthy" tone colors enhances the pattern. I'm so sorry I didn't go ahead and order another set on line so now I'll have to hunt for an additional set. For all who honour their roots - can't go wrong with this set :)

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AHipOlGranny
Bowie, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Love...Love...Love
3/21/2014

Customer review by BigBobsWife

4.0 stars 3/21/2014 by BigBobsWife
by BigBobsWife

This set is beautiful! The cups are a nice size for a coffee drinker...the bowls are big enough for cereal....the small plates are more like a lunch size plate...the large plates are BIG! The only down would be that they do have grooves and raised lines in the pattern. I also just have a regular size dishwasher and have to tip the large plates forward so the upper wash arm don't hit em. Even with the cons...I still love them! Colors are amazing!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBobsWife
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Matching place mats available!
4/8/2013

Customer review by CABINGRL

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by CABINGRL
by CABINGRL

Purchased these dishes for a new cabin vacation home in the Blue Ridge Mountains. I call them "Rustic Sheak"! Love the rich earthy tones & shape. Coffee cups have the colors inside and out - nice. Found them cheaper on line - bundled in sets of two - than in the store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CABINGRL
Blue Ridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent buy
1/1/2011

Customer review by arizonashopper3

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by arizonashopper3
by arizonashopper3

I just purchased and came home and read reviews. Evidently they don't make matching pices to go with the dinnerware. I found serving bowls, platters, etc., from another set sold at Walmart that work great. Colors are very simlar. I like the difference in the products because it is not matchy-matchy. The serving pieces are from another set of Hometrends dinnerware. Not positive of the name but the sticker on the bowls said "mosaic tile". They are a deep brown with top trim of what looks like mosaic tile. Like I said, very similar colors to the Bazaar dinnerware. Check it out.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arizonashopper3
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great quality
3/22/2014

Customer review by Bullseyed

5.0 stars 3/22/2014 by Bullseyed
by Bullseyed

Love these dishes was shopping for dishes for over a year can't believe how nice for the price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bullseyed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just Beautiful !
12/26/2013

Customer review by Happy410

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by Happy410
by Happy410

I have been looking for a set just like this ,, This is so pretty I am so glad I bought it.. yay for me ,....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happy410
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice dishes
1/16/2011

Customer review by persiancat

5.0 stars 1/16/2011 by persiancat
by persiancat

I love the color and that they have large mugs for hot drinks. Nice all around dishes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
persiancat
Lemoore Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/28/2012

Customer review by LargeMarg

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by LargeMarg
by LargeMarg

I am pleasantly surprised! These dishes are comparable to the high-end sets I've been looking at for less than half the money. They have a handmade look and are not completely uniform, but are exactly what I was looking for. These pieces are great in the microwave and do not get too hot like my old stoneware did. You can't beat this deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LargeMarg
Jefferson City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very stylish dishes
8/17/2011

Customer review by eaoverseas

4.0 stars 8/17/2011 by eaoverseas
by eaoverseas

Being hand made dishes, all of the pieces vary a little between the painting, design, and even the shape to a slight degree. A couple of the salad plates in one box were noticeably warped, and the painting sloppy on one cup, so I returned the one defective set and exchanged them for another box of the same thing, The overall effect is very stylish and modern, with several colors to match a variey of decors. I love the dishes. They replaced a fairly recent purchase of dishes from Bed, Bath and Beyond that I paid quite a bit more for (these were $40 and the BBB's were $65 for a 4 piece place setting). The ONLY reason I gave them a 4 was the couple of plates in the original purchase that were warped. Otherwise, I would have given then a 5. My suggestion is to buy more sets than you need and pick out the best pieces from each box until you have a set or two you are happy with.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eaoverseas
League City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful pattern
3/26/2014

Customer review by zen26

3.0 stars 3/26/2014 by zen26
by zen26

The sets of dinnerware are beautiful, however the dinner plates are larger and heavier than I expected.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zen26
Delray Beach, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 316 total reviews
1-20 of 316 reviews