Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

37 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
7
1-20 of 37 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
nuisance barking stopped the same day!
7/13/2015

Customer review by Mugsy 1996

5.0 stars 7/13/2015 by Mugsy 1996
by Mugsy 1996

I read the reviews and liked that this device worked on the vibration made by the dog (not on randomly generated noise) and that it starts with a warning hum and then slowly escalates the correction if the yapping continues. I have two very smart English bull terriers (Don Cherry dogs) who were entertaining themselves by always barking at all the users of the recently constructed municipal bike path that now runs the full length of our yard. Sometimes the trigger was other dogs, sometimes old folks, sometimes bratty boys who delight in teasing dogs, & sometimes it was late night strollers.This is a very popular bike path. Needless to say, I was not entertained by the constant rat-a-tat-tat and I doubt that my immediate neighbors were, either. I bought 1 collar to share between the dogs. I put this collar first on my Sparky and let her out. Within an hour, she had "clued in". Next it went on Rocky. He only took about 20 minutes to "get the idea". By the next day, blissful silence even when both dogs were out at once - even without the collar! But even with the collar on, they both realized that they could still do an intermittent yap without consequence ... so now they just slowly "bark -wait-bark-wait-bark" when they want in. Perfect !

Mugsy 1996
Montreal, QC, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
It Works!
5/10/2015

Customer review by GreatDaneMom

5.0 stars 5/10/2015 by GreatDaneMom
by GreatDaneMom

This collar works best on short/thin hair dogs. It only took one correction for the Great Dane. My lab mix took a little longer. Her hair is longer and thicker and you have to put it on really tight (it's supposed to be snug anyway) so she doesn't move the box?shock part away from her throat when she shakes her head. She will shy away from me when I try to put in on her, but my Great Dane doesn't mind it, he knows he gets to go outside so he is more than happy to put on. It has also helped with having to put him out at 3 am. we let him out at 10pm for the last pee but he ALWAYS woke us up by barking to be let out at 3 am. Now he sleeps through the night and so do we. The neigbors don't complain anymore and the dog gets to spend quality time outside. We didn't have to replace the batteries for a year and a half. It seems the collar allows the dog to bark once and then he gets corrected. Overall, I am very pleased with this collar!

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatDaneMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
works great!
5/13/2015

Customer review by dbarrett924

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by dbarrett924
by dbarrett924

This bark collar WORKS. I have 6 dogs and one is a problem barker and will bark at anything and everything. I bought a red bark collar before with a remote control and it barely worked. I decides to try this one because of the great reviews and I`m so glad I did. It works great. The dog relates its barking to punishment and stops barking. I am so thankful for this collar. The batteries seem to last a long time I haven't replaced them. It takes 2 of the watch batteries. you wont be disappointed if you buy this one. Just so you know the dog this was needed for was a big dog and there was plenty of room for adjustments. Just remember to allow a generous finger to fit under the collar .

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbarrett924
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too Strong for Small Dogs
4/27/2017

Customer review by Notforsmalldogs

1.0 stars 4/27/2017 by Notforsmalldogs
by Notforsmalldogs

The product is too strong for small dogs. My small dog weighs 11 lbs. The first level (shock) surprised him and would have been more than enough. The second level had him crying and literally jumped in the air. He was in pain, urinated on the floor and shook for a good five minutes straight. I would not recommend this product for small dogs.

Notforsmalldogs
ottawa
Works reasonably well!
3/21/2017

Customer review by bella07

3.0 stars 3/21/2017 by bella07
by bella07
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It helps with the barking. There is a high pitch warning to let the dog know to quiet down. Doesn't always prevent the barking unless it is very tight on the neck. There are three protruding posts which should be snug against the dog's neck in order for the best results but are concerning to me for the dog's comfort level.

bella07
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This collar works
3/14/2017

Customer review by rosiembanks

5.0 stars 3/14/2017 by rosiembanks
by rosiembanks
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My dog was barking non-stop when he was left alone for a few hours in my new place. I was apprehensive about buying the collar, because I was scared it would hurt him or scare him, but I didn't have much of a choice. I read a review where the reviewer wore the collar himself and tested it, so I decided to give it a try. My dog stopped his stubborn barking and calmed down. So happy!

rosiembanks
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I bought 4 of these collars.
4/30/2015

Customer review by KellyT

5.0 stars 4/30/2015 by KellyT
by KellyT

We have 4 dogs of all sizes. The smallest is a toy poodle and the largest is a chocolate lab/pit bull mix. We needed to quiet the dogs down from barking because we now have a baby that I don't like woken up during nap time. These collars have worked great! It only took for my dogs 1 time of feeling the correction and my dogs quit barking at everything they see. I can take them off for days and only every once in a while do they need to be reminded by putting the collar back on. One downfall is the collars slip loose so I fixed that by duct taping the extra length together and it hasn't slipped since. I did recommend these to a friend and they got 5 of them and they are amazed at how quiet there house now is.

Was this review helpful? (19) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KellyT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazed
5/30/2015

Customer review by Kingsfaniam

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by Kingsfaniam
by Kingsfaniam

I was afraid the Guardian Bark Collar would not work well since it is one of the cheapest I looked at but it has worked from day one. I don't have to use it everyday but when I do, my dogs let me put it on so they aren't afraid of it. It does send a high pitched sound before it "shocks" them but I think the sound may be what stops mine from barking. With these on they can see another dog outside and they just ignore it where before they went CRAZY! They would bark at everything. I knew I had to do something and I'm so glad I got this. Thanks Guardian!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kingsfaniam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works great
5/27/2015

Customer review by yappingdog

5.0 stars 5/27/2015 by yappingdog
by yappingdog

The problems I had is that it does become loose, so be carful. I had to purchase another one. The other problem is that if a dog is very close that my dog and barks then my dog gets a shock. Other that that they work great and it only takes a few times. I was able to take mine off and only put it on ever onece in a while.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yappingdog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really works
1/3/2017

Customer review by LJ 66

4.0 stars 1/3/2017 by LJ 66
by LJ 66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great...was very skeptical especially because of the price...bought 2 one for each of our dogs....very quiet in our house now!

LJ 66
Simcoe, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Its does work!
7/4/2016

Customer review by CdnDare

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by CdnDare
by CdnDare
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this collar about a month ago now for my newly adopted 8 month old dog due to a complaint to Animal Services by a overly sensitive neighbour. I tried the collar on my self first and after barking a couple of times I heard a faint beep, figuring it would be another 30 seconds before any shock would happen I continued to bark, but to my surprise, I was zapped about 2 barks later, it wasn't painful but more of a surprise shock, I however did not want venture any further beyond the 1st level. It has stopped my dog from barking to a point, he started to realize what he could get away with within a couple of days of using it. Well worth the money.

CdnDare
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible
10/25/2016

Customer review by gouch77

1.0 stars 10/25/2016 by gouch77
by gouch77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This product does not work... I tried it on my large dog and small, waste of money!

gouch77
Windsor, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very efficient
10/6/2016

Customer review by Ape14

5.0 stars 10/6/2016 by Ape14
by Ape14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Within the day we saw results with our dog, just the beeping kept her from barking excessively like she had been. Was easy to put together and worked really well

Ape14
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very impress with this device!
7/3/2016

Customer review by rm_ottawa

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by rm_ottawa
by rm_ottawa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This device works as described. My 4-year Coton de Tulear has always been barky while indoors. I tried training, muzzle, coaching, etc.; none truly worked. I was really skeptical when I bought the device so imagine my surprise when after 1 day of wearing the collar, my dog learned how to self-manage/minimize his barking. After 4 days, my dog no longer barks when the door bell rings, when the phone rings, or when he watches other dogs pass the front lawn. He's also calmer and more relax than before. The collar is expensive but it's worth it!!!

rm_ottawa
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great within a few minutes
8/13/2016

Customer review by Dot1234

5.0 stars 8/13/2016 by Dot1234
by Dot1234
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fixed Beagle's over barking first try! Dogs can still whine (which is fine). Highly recommend!

Dot1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
AMAZING
4/15/2012

Customer review by DogLover

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by DogLover
by DogLover

Initially I was a little hesitant to buy this because I felt bad at the prospect of shocking my dog. But I had actually tried everything to get him to stop, we have been training him for a year (he was a stray) and he barks at every little noise (not a barker because he is bored). I tried the collar myself and it is a quick zap (very much like static electricity shocks). The collar emits a beep when it shocks. My dog cries when it shocks him (but he also cries at just about everything in general). He doesn't appear to be afraid if it, he sits and lets us put it on him no problem. He has figured out that he can whine and growl with it on and it doesn't correct him. This is fine with us, I would prefer that he is able to make noise, this just keeps him from actually barking which is what can be heard through our apartment walls and bothers our neighbours. We also verbally correct him when he starts growling or whining, we say "NO" and "be quiet." We have been rewarding him with a small treat after we say be quiet and he is quiet for a few minutes. This collar is a great training tool for those that use it properly. I LOVED THAT IT DOESN'T REACT TO SOUND! This collar, if you didn't know, detects the vibration of the dog barking, it doesn't shock when it hears a sound, this is great because I have read terrible reviews of the shock collars that shock your dog when a loud noise occurs. Such a great product

DogLover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Moyen
6/29/2016

Customer review by Kattbouche

2.0 stars 6/29/2016 by Kattbouche
by Kattbouche
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I try ony dog but it very good o think for now it didn't work !!?

Kattbouche
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works but too big ...
5/29/2015

Customer review by York8lb

4.0 stars 5/29/2015 by York8lb
by York8lb

... for +/- 10lb as advertised plus 2 batteries... hence expensive maintenance. I had to adjust it to my needs, so to speak. It is strong shock so I successfully taught my dogs to feel uncomfortable to bark as soon as they see it. That is where size matters - easy to recognize - because it is really big and little too heavy for small dogs(advertised for smallest as well). Moreover shocks seem too strong to let dogs wear it longer that few minutes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
York8lb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ease of use!
3/23/2016

Customer review by Sanity

5.0 stars 3/23/2016 by Sanity
by Sanity
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this product 1 month ago, our puppy was a chronic barker he is 16 months old and if a leaf blows by the window he barks. He had this collar on for 2 weeks and has since ceased barking, we know when someone arrives at our door now as he does a very quiet growl! I would recommend this product!

Sanity
Acton, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work on my bark-prone terrier.
5/30/2015

Customer review by patsdogs

3.0 stars 5/30/2015 by patsdogs
by patsdogs

I've used the bark collar before, on larger dogs, and had it be effective. However, with my little barking terrier, I could have saved my money. I don't think there is anything at all that will prevent him from barking, and I have trained a whole lot of dogs in my time. He's just determined to do it. The collar had no effect at all. I don't want to go with an expensive radio-controlled collar, and I doubt that even that would work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
patsdogs
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews